relnotes devel - en to zh translation catalogue (692 entries)

en: Red Hat, Inc. and others
zh: Red Hat, Inc. 及其他

en: Fedora Release Notes
zh: Fedora 发行注记

en: Important information about this release of Fedora
zh: 关于 Fedora 本次发布的重要信息

en: Release notes for F9
zh: Fedora 9 发行注记

en: X Window System (Graphics)
zh: X 窗口系统 (图形界面)

en: Latest Release Notes on the Web
zh: 网上最新的发行注记

en: These release notes may be updated. To view the latest release notes for Fedora, visit:
zh: 发行注记可能已更新。要查看最新版本的 Fedora 发行注记，请访问：

en: This section contains information related to the X Window System implementation, X.Org, provided with Fedora.
zh: 这一节包含与 Fedora 中采用的 X 窗口系统相关的信息。

en: Faster X Start-up and Shutdown
zh: 更快地启动和退出

en: Fedora 9 features a number of changes designed to make X faster in starting and shutting down and to make other improvements. Full details of the project can be found through this feature page:
zh: Fedora 9 中的 X 窗口系统包含了一系列改进，包括但不局限于更快速地启动和退出 X 窗口系统。详情请访问特性页面：

en: X Configuration Changes
zh: X 窗口系统配置方式的变动

en: The X.Org 1.4.99 X server has been modified to automatically detect and configure most hardware, eliminating the need to modify the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file. The only hardware configured by default in the <filename>xorg.conf</filename> configuration file written by <application>Anaconda</application> is:
zh: X 窗口系统的服务器程序 <application>X.org 1.4.99</application> 现在可以自动探测和配置大多数硬件。用户和系统管理员不再需要手工修改 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 文件。Anaconda 安装程序在 <filename>xorg.conf</filename> 中添加的硬件配置信息只包括:

en: the graphics driver, and
zh: 显卡驱动信息

en: the keyboard map
zh: 键盘映射配置

en: All other hardware, such as monitors (both LCD and CRT), USB mice, and touchpads, should be detected and configured automatically.
zh: 所有其他设备，如显示器 (包括液晶平板显示器和显像管显示器)，USB 鼠标，以及触摸板都由 X 窗口系统的服务器程序自动探测和配置。

en: The X server queries the attached monitor for supported resolution ranges, and attempts to pick the highest resolution available with the correct aspect ratio for the display. Set the preferred resolution in <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Screen Resolution</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, and the default resolution for the system in <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Administration</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: X 窗口系统的服务器程序自动从显示器支持的分辨率中选择具有正确长宽比的最高的分辨率。用户可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>屏幕分辨率</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置用户首选的分辨率。系统默认的分辨率可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>管理</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>显示</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置。

en: If the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file is not present, X automatically detects the appropriate driver, and assumes a 105-key US keyboard layout.
zh: 如果 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 配置文件不存在，服务器程序会自动探测合适的显示驱动程序，并且假设键盘是美式 105 键布局。

en: In certain situations, the <computeroutput>evdev</computeroutput> driver was used, even when the <computeroutput>kbd</computeroutput> driver was specified in <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename>. Removing the <computeroutput>evdev</computeroutput> driver caused errors and warnings such as the following:
zh: 在某些特殊情况下，即使 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 中指定的是 <computeroutput>kbd</computeroutput> 驱动，服务器程序仍然会加载<computeroutput>evdev</computeroutput> 驱动。所以强行删除 <computeroutput>evdev</computeroutput> 驱动有可能会造成以下错误:

en: In Fedora 9, the XKB settings are read from <filename>/etc/sysconfig/keyboard</filename>, which gives users the correct layout. The <option>KEYTABLE</option> option, configured in <filename>/etc/sysconfig/keyboard</filename>, also sets the layout for X. The <option>XKB_VARIANT</option> and <option>XKB_OPTIONS</option> variables can be configured to customize XKB.
zh: 在 Fedora 9 中， XKB 模块从 <filename>/etc/sysconfig/keyboard</filename> 中获取键盘布局的配置信息。文件中的 <option>KEYTABLE</option> 选项设置了 X 窗口系统所使用的布局。选项 <option>XKB_VARIANT</option> 和 <option>XKB_OPTIONS</option> 可以用来为 XKB 模括添加自定义选项。

en: Third Party Video Drivers
zh: 来自第三方的显示卡驱动程序

en: Refer to the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Xorg/3rdPartyVideoDrivers">Xorg third-party drivers</ulink> page for detailed guidelines on using third-party video drivers.
zh: 请参阅 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Xorg/3rdPartyVideoDrivers">Xorg 第三方驱动程序</ulink> 页面，了解如何使用来自第三方的显示卡驱动程序。

en: Welcome to Fedora
zh: 欢迎使用 Fedora

en: The Fedora Project is a Red Hat sponsored and community supported open source project. Its goal is the rapid progress of free and open source software and content. The Fedora Project makes use of public forums, open processes, rapid innovation, meritocracy, and transparency in pursuit of the best operating system and platform that free and open source software can provide.
zh: Fedora 项目是由 Red Hat 和社群支持的开源项目。它的目标在于快速推进自由开源软件和开源内容。Fedora 项目利用大众论坛，开放的程序，快速的革新，英明的管理以及高度的透明来完成一个完全由自由开源的软件构成的完美的操作系统和平台。

en: Older Release Notes on the Web
zh: 网上旧版本的发行注记

en: If you are migrating from a release of Fedora older than the immediately previous one, you should refer to older Release Notes for additional information. You can find older Release Notes at <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/"/>.
zh: 如果是从较旧的 Fedora 升级，而不是前一版本，应当参考过去的发行注记以获得更多信息。旧版本的发行注记可以在 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/"/> 看到。

en: You can help the Fedora Project community continue to improve Fedora if you file bug reports and enhancement requests. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/> for more information about bugs. Thank you for your participation.
zh: 您只要提交错误报告以及功能增强请求，就可以帮助 Fedora 项目和社区不断地改进 Fedora。请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。感谢您的参与。

en: To find out more general information about Fedora, refer to the following Web pages:
zh: 想知道更多 Fedora 的信息，请访问下列页面:

en: Fedora Overview
zh: Fedora 概述

en: Help and Discussions
zh: 帮助和讨论

en: Participate in the Fedora Project
zh: 参与 Fedora 工程

en: Document Links
zh: 文档链接

en: Many links may not work properly from within the installation environment, due to resource constraints. The release notes are also available post-installation as part of the desktop Web browser's default home page. If you are connected to the internet, use these links to find other helpful information about Fedora and the community that creates and supports it.
zh: 如果您在 Fedora 安装过程中阅读这份发行注记，可能无法访问外部链接。安装后，仍然可以继续阅读它。它是互联网浏览器的默认首页。连接到互联网后，就可以访问这些链接，获得关于 Fedora 和创造它、支持它的社区的更多信息了。

en: Web Servers
zh: 网络服务器

en: PostgreSQL DBD Driver
zh: PostgreSQL DBD 驱动

en: Users of the <filename>mod_dbd</filename> module should note that the <filename>apr-util</filename> DBD driver for PostgreSQL is now distributed as a separate dynamically-loaded module. The driver module is now included in the <package>apr-util-pgsql</package> package. A MySQL driver is now also available, in the <package>apr-util-mysql</package> package.
zh: 使用<filename>mod_dbd</filename>的用户请注意，PostgreSQL的<filename>apr-util</filename> DBD 驱动已经被包含进发行当中。这个驱动模块是作为单独的动态载入模块包含进来的，它在<package>apr-util-pgsql</package>包中。现在也可以在<package>apr-util-mysql</package>包中找到MySQL的驱动。

en: TurboGears Applications
zh: TurboGears 应用程序

en: SQLAlchemy has been updated to 0.4.x. TurboGears Applications developed using SQLAlchemy for their database layer will need to update their startup scripts. Instead of:
zh: SQLAlchemy 更新为 0.4.x 版。使用 SQLAlchemy 作为数据库层的 TurboGears 应用程序需要更新启动脚本。不使用：

en: the start script needs to have:
zh: 启动脚本需要包含：

en: Drupal has been updated from the 5.x series to 6.2. For details, refer to:
zh: Drupal 从 5.x 系列更新到 6.2，详情请见：

en: Remember to log in to your site as the admin user, and disable any third-party modules before upgrading this package. After upgrading the package:
zh: 在升级此软件包前，请以管理员身份登录网站，禁用任何第三方模块。升级后：

en: Copy <filename>/etc/drupal/default/settings.php.rpmsave</filename> to <filename>/etc/drupal/default/settings.php</filename>, and repeat for any additional sites' settings.php files.
zh: 复制 <filename>/etc/drupal/default/settings.php.rpmsave</filename> 为 <filename>/etc/drupal/default/settings.php</filename>，再对所有其他站点的 settings.php 做相同操作。

en: Browse to <ulink url="http://host/drupal/update.php"/> to run the upgrade script.
zh: 浏览 <ulink url="http://host/drupal/update.php"/> 页面以运行升级脚本。

en: Squid has been updated from version 2.6 to 3.0.STABLE2. The configuration files are not entirely backwards compatible. For further details, refer to the Squid release notes:
zh: Squid的版本已经从2.6更新到3.0.STABLE2。配置文件不是完全的向后兼容。更多信息请参考Squid发行注记：

en: As well, due to a bug, the transparent proxy does not work. This should be resolved after the first update.
zh: 还有，由于一个bug，透明代理不能工作。这应该在之后更新中被解决。

en: Virtualization
zh: 虚拟化

en: Virtualization in Fedora 9 includes major changes, and new features, that continue to support the Xen and KVM platforms.
zh: Fedora 9 中的虚拟化包含重大修改和新特性，依然继续支持 Xen 和 KVM 平台。

en: Kernel Integration Improvements
zh: 内核整合改进

en: The Xen kernel is now based on the paravirt ops implementation from the upstream kernel. Previously, the Xen kernel was created by forward-porting Xen bits from the 2.6.18 kernel into the current Fedora kernel. This task was arduous and labor intensive, and resulted in the Xen kernel being several releases behind the bare-metal kernel. The inclusion of paravirt ops now makes this process unnecessary. Once paravirt ops is merged upstream, Xen will no longer require a separate kernel.
zh: Xen 内核现在基于上游的 paravirt ops 实现方式。过去，Xen 内核是将 2.6.18 的 Xen 补丁重复地向前移植到最新的 Fedora 内核。那样做非常费时费力，Xen 内核总是会落后最新内核好几个版本。现在有了 paravirt ops，就不必如此费力了。当 paravirt ops 合并到上游后，Xen 甚至不再需要单独的内核。

en: However, the Xen kernel now lacks Dom0 support. An existing Xen host/Dom0 must continue to run Fedora 8. Xen Dom0 support will be added back in Fedora 10.
zh: 不过，目前的 Xen 内核缺少 Dom0 支持。Xen Dom0 主机仍然需要继续运行 Fedora 8。Xen Dom0 支持将在 Fedora 10 中恢复。

en: Fully virtualized Linux guests now have 3 possible installation methods:
zh: 现在有三种方式安装完全虚拟的 Linux:

en: PXE boot from the network.
zh: 通过 PXE 启动。

en: Local CDROM drive / ISO image.
zh: 本地光驱/ISO 镜像。

en: Network install from a FTP/HTTP/NFS hosted distribution tree.
zh: 使用 FTP/HTTP/NFS 导出的安装树，通过网络安装。

en: The latter allows for fully automated installation through the use of kickstart files. This provides parity between Xen HVM and KVM guests in terms of installation methods.
zh: 最后一种可以用 kickstart 实现无人职守安装。Xen HVM 和 KVM 自此在安装方式上又成平手。

en: For more information refer to: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XenFullvirtKernelBoot"/>.
zh: 要了解更多关于内核开发以及内核定制，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XenFullvertKernelBoot"/>.。

en: Improved Storage Management
zh: 增强的存储管理

en: Previously, Fedora introduced the ability to manage existing guest domains remotely using <package>libvirt</package> . It was not possible to create new guests due to the lack of storage management capabilities. In Fedora 9, new storage management can create and delete storage volumes from a remote host using <package>libvirt</package> .
zh: 过去，Fedora 通过 <package>libvirt</package>，可以远程管理虚拟客户。然而由于缺少存储管理功能，无法远程创建新客户。在 Fedora 9 中，使用 <package>libvert</package> 新的存储管理功能，可以创建和删除远程系统的存储卷。

en: PolicyKit Integration
zh: PolicyKit 整合

en: Previously, the <command>virt-manager</command> application ran as root when managing a local hypervisor, and used <command>consolehelper</command> to authenticate from a desktop session. Running GTK applications as root is bad practice. PolicyKit integration now permits running <command>virt-manager</command> as a regular user.
zh: 过去， <command>virt-manager</command> 应用程序在管理本地 hypervisor 时需要以 root 运行，在桌面环境中使用 <command>consolehelper</command> 来认证。以 root 运行 GTK 应用程序不合适。PolicyKit 整合后，可以以普通用户运行 <command>virt-manager</command> 了。

en: Improved Remote Authentication
zh: 增强的远程认证

en: Previously, Fedora introduced support for secure remote management using TLS/SSL, and x509 certificates. Fedora 9 improves remote management capabilities by adding support for authentication by password database, Kerberos domain controller, or system authentication using PAM. This feature applies to all tools using <package>libvirt</package> .
zh: 过去，Fedora 通过 TLS/SSL, 以及 x509 证书实现安全的远程管理。Fedora 9 增强了远程管理能力，支持密码认证，Kerberos 域控制器，或使用 PAM 的系统认证方式。所有应用了 <package>libvirt</package> 的工具都增加了此特性。

en: Other Improvements
zh: 其他改进

en: Fedora also includes the following virtualization improvements:
zh: Fedora也包含了下列虚拟化改进

en: a new P2V tool, shipping as a Live CD, for converting a bare-metal install to a virtual guest
zh: 新的 P2V Live CD 可以用于从物理系统到虚拟机客户的迁移

en: a new tool, <command>xenner</command>, for running Xen-paravirtual kernels on top of KVM
zh: 新的 <command>xenner</command> 工具，在 KVM 之上运行 Xen-paravirtual 内核

en: storage and network paravirtual-drivers for KVM guests
zh: KVM 客户的存储和网络半虚拟的驱动

en: full support for monitoring network and block statistics of QEMU and KVM in <package>libvirt</package> and <package>virt-top</package> , bringing parity with statistics monitoring, previously only available to Xen guests
zh: 在 <package>libvirt</package> 和 <package>virt-top</package> 完整支持 QEMU 和 KVM 的网络和块设备的监控，在统计监控方面与过去 Xen 客户特有的功能持平

en: Security
zh: 安全

en: This section highlights various security items from Fedora.
zh: 这一章记述 Fedora 的安全措施。

en: Security Enhancements
zh: 安全增强

en: Fedora continues to improve its many proactive <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features">security features</ulink>.
zh: Fedora继续改进许多主动性<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features">安全特征</ulink>.

en: Support for SHA-256 and SHA-512 passwords
zh: 支持 SHA-256 和 SHA-512 密码

en: The <package>glibc</package> package in Fedora 8 had <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/drepper/sha-crypt.html">support</ulink> for passwords using SHA-256 and SHA-512 hashing. Previously, only DES and MD5 were available. These tools have been extended in Fedora 9. Password hashing using the SHA-256 and SHA-512 hash functions is now supported.
zh: Fedora 8 中 <package>glibc</package> 包含了密码的 <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/drepper/sha-crypt.html">SHA256 和 SHA512 散列模式支持</ulink>。而过去，只有 DES 和 MD5 可用。在Fedora 9中，这些工具已经被更新。已经可以创建基于 SHA-256 和 SHA-512 散列模式的密码。

en: To switch to SHA-256 or SHA-512 on an installed system, use <command>authconfig --passalgo=sha256 --update</command> or <command>authconfig --passalgo=sha512 --update</command>. Alternatively, use the <command>authconfig-gtk</command> GUI tool to configure the hashing method. Existing user accounts will not be affected until their passwords are changed.
zh: 要将已安装的系统切换到 SHA-256 或 SHA-512 方式，使用 <command>authconfig --passalgo=sha256 --update</command> 或 <command>authconfig --passalgo=sha512 --update</command> 命令。或者，运行 <command>authconfig-gtk</command> 图形工具来配置散列方式。已有的用户帐号不会受影响，直到他们改变密码。

en: SHA-512 is used by default on newly installed systems. Other algorithms can be configured only for kickstart installations, by using the <option>--passalgo</option> or <option>--enablemd5</option> options for the kickstart <option>auth</option> command. If your installation does not use kickstart, use <command>authconfig</command> as described above, and then change the root user password, and passwords for other users created after installation.
zh: SHA-512 在新安装的系统中默认启用。其他算法只能在 kickstart 安装时进行配置，方法是在 kickstart 的 <option>auth</option> 命令中传递 <option>--passalgo</option> 或 <option>--enablemd5</option> 选项。如果你的系统不是用 kickstart 安装的，可以用 <command>authconfig</command> 切换，像上面说的那样，然后改变 root 的密码，以及其他用户的密码。

en: New options now appear in <package>libuser</package> , <package>pam</package> , and <package>shadow-utils</package> to support these password hashing algorithms. Running <command>authconfig</command> configures all these options automatically, so it is not necessary to modify them manually.
zh: <package>libuser</package> , <package>pam</package> , 和 <package>shadow-utils</package> 现在支持新的选项，以支持不同的密码散列算法。运行 <command>authconfig</command> 会自动配置这些选项，不需要手动修改。

en: New values for the <option>crypt_style</option> option, and the new options <option>hash_rounds_min</option>, and <option>hash_rounds_max</option>, are now supported in the <option>[defaults]</option> section of <filename>/etc/libuser.conf</filename>. Refer to the <command>libuser.conf(5)</command> man page for details.
zh: <option>crypt_style</option>选项支持新的设置值。同时，在<filename>/tect/libuser.conf</filename>中的<option>[defaults]</option>部分，提供了对选项<option>hash_rounds_min<option>和<option>hash_rounds_max</option>的支持。参见<command>libuser.conf(5)</command>的 man 手册。

en: New options, <option>sha256</option>, <option>sha512</option>, and <option>rounds</option>, are now supported by the <filename>pam_unix</filename> PAM module. Refer to the <command>pam_unix(8)</command> man page for details.
zh: <filename>pam_unix</filename> PAM模块现在支持新的选项<option>sha256</option>，<option>sha512</option>和<option>rounds</option>。参见<command>pam_unix(8)</command>的 man 手册。

en: New options, <option>ENCRYPT_METHOD</option>, <option>SHA_CRYPT_MIN_ROUNDS</option>, and <option>SHA_CRYPT_MAX_ROUNDS</option>, are now supported in <filename>/etc/login.defs</filename>. Refer to the <command>login.defs(5)</command> man page for details. Corresponding options were added to <command>chpasswd(8)</command> and <command>newusers(8)</command>.
zh: <filename>/etc/login.defs</filename>现在支持新的选项<option>ENCRYPT_METHOD</option>，<option>SHA_CRYPT_MIN_ROUNDS</option>和<option>SHA_CRYPT_MAX_ROUNDS</option>。参见<command>login.defs(5)</command>的 man 手册。相应的选项也被添加到 <command>chpasswd(8)</command> 和 <command>newusers(8)</command> 中。

en: FORTIFY_SOURCE extended to cover more functions
zh: FORTIFY_SOURCE 现在覆盖了更多的函数。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features#FORTIFY_SOURCE">FORTIFY_SOURCE</ulink> protection now covers <systemitem>asprintf</systemitem>, <systemitem>dprintf</systemitem>, <systemitem>vasprintf</systemitem>, <systemitem>vdprintf</systemitem>, <systemitem>obstack_printf</systemitem> and <systemitem>obstack_vprintf</systemitem>. This improvement is particularly useful for applications that use the <package>glib2</package> library, as several of its functions use <systemitem>vasprintf</systemitem>.
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features#FORTIFY_SOURCE">FORTIFY_SOURCE</ulink> 保护机制现在覆盖了以下函数： <systemitem>asprintf</systemitem>，<systemitem>dprintf</systemitem>，<systemitem>vasprintf</systemitem>，<systemitem>vdprintf</systemitem>，<systemitem>obstack_printf</systemitem> 和 <systemitem>obstack_vprintf</systemitem>。这些改进对于使用 <package>glib2</package> 库的应用程序特别有益，因为这些函数使用了 <systemitem>vasprintf</systemitem>。

en: SELinux Enhancements
zh: SELinux 安全增强

en: Different roles are now available, to allow finer-grained access control:
zh: 提供多种“角色”，从而支持更细致的权限控制。

en: <systemitem>guest_t</systemitem> does not allow running setuid binaries, making network connections, or using a GUI.
zh: <systemitem>guest_t</systemitem> 角色不被允许运行 setuid 的二进制程序，不被允许建立网络连接，甚至使用图形界面程序。

en: <systemitem>xguest_t</systemitem> disallows network access except for HTTP via a Web browser, and no setuid binaries.
zh: <systemitem>xguest_t</systemitem> 禁用除了通过网络浏览器的 HTTP 网络存取，同时也禁用了 setuid 二进制程序。

en: <systemitem>user_t</systemitem> is ideal for office users: prevents becoming root via setuid applications.
zh: <systemitem>user_t</systemitem> 对于日常办公用户来说是最理想的，因为该角色无法通过运行 setuid 程序获得 root 权限。

en: <systemitem>staff_t</systemitem> is same as <systemitem>user_t</systemitem>, except that root access via <command>sudo</command> is allowed.
zh: <systemitem>staff_t</systemitem> 角色跟 <systemitem>user_t</systemitem> 拥有相同的权力，再加上可以运行 <command>sudo</command> 获得 root 权限。

en: <systemitem>unconfined_t</systemitem> provides full access, the same as when not using SELinux.
zh: <systemitem>unconfined_t</systemitem> 角色可获得完全的权限，效果上将，跟禁用 SELinux 是一样的。

en: As well, browser plug-ins wrapped with <package>nspluginwrapper</package>, which is the default, now run confined.
zh: 另外，由<package>nspluginwrapper</package> 包裹的浏览器插件，默认运行在一个受限的上下文中。

en: Default Firewall Behavior
zh: 默认的防火墙行为

en: In Fedora 9, the default firewall behavior has changed. There are no default ports open, except for SSH (22), which is opened by <application>Anaconda</application>.
zh: 在 Fedora 9 中，默认的防火墙行为同过去不同。除了 由 <application>Anaconda</application> 打开的 22 号 SSH 端口，所有端口都被禁用。

en: General Information
zh: 一般信息

en: A general introduction to the many proactive security features in Fedora, current status, and policies is available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security"/>.
zh: 对 Fedora 中各种主动的安全特性的一般介绍，当前状态，以及安全策略，都可以在 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security"/> 看到。

en: The SELinux project pages have troubleshooting tips, explanations, and pointers to documentation and references. Some useful links include the following:
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面包括排错提示，解释，以及到文档和参考内容的链接。一些有用的链接如下:

en: New SELinux project pages: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux"/>
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux"/>

en: Troubleshooting tips: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting"/>
zh: 排错提示: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting"/>

en: Frequently Asked Questions: <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/"/>
zh: 常见问题: <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/"/>

en: Listing of SELinux commands: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands"/>
zh:  SELinux 命令列表: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands"/>

en: Details of confined domains: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains"/>
zh: 有关受控域的细节: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains"/>

en: Free IPA is a centrally managed identity, policy, and audit installation.
zh: Free IPA 是一套集中管理的身份，策略和审计系统。

en: The IPA server installer assumes a relatively clean system, installing and configuring several services:
zh: IPA 服务器安装程序在一个相对干净的系统上安装和配置以下服务:

en: a Fedora Directory Server instance
zh: Fedora 目录服务器

en: KDC
zh: KDC Kerbose 数据中心服务器

en: Apache
zh: Apache Web 服务器

en: ntpd
zh: ntpd 网络时钟服务器

en: TurboGears
zh: TurboGears 应用程序

en: Some effort is made to be able to roll back the changes made but they are not guaranteed. Similarly the <command>ipa-client-install</command> tool overwrites PAM (<filename>/etc/pam.conf</filename>) and Kerberos (<filename>/etc/krb5.conf</filename>) configurations.
zh: 虽然我们尽力提供对策略回滚的支持，但是仍然无法确保其可靠性。另外，<command>ipa-client-install</command>工具会覆盖老的 PAM (<filename>/etc/pam.conf</filename>) 和 Kerberos (<filename>/etc/krb5.conf</filename>)的配置。

en: IPA does not support other instances of Fedora Directory Server on the same machine at install time, even listening on different ports. In order to install IPA, other instances must be removed. IPA itself can handle this removal.
zh: IPA 不支持在安装时在同一个物理主机上的多个 Fedora 目录服务器，即使它们运行在不同的端口上。为了正常安装 IPA，确保其他 Fedora 目录服务器被删除。IPA 可以自行完成这个操作。

en: There is currently no mechanism for migrating existing users into an IPA server.
zh: 尚没有可行的方案来把现存的用户整合到 IPA 服务器中。

en: The server self-configures to be a client of itself. If the Directory Server or KDC fail to start on bootup, boot into single-user mode in order to resolve the issue.
zh: 服务器自身也是自己的一个身份认证客户端。如果目录服务器或者 KDC 在启动时失败，必须进入单用户模式来解决问题。

en: For more information, refer to this feature page:
zh: 更多信息，请访问下列页面:

en: Fedora Project
zh: Fedora 项目

en: The goal of the Fedora Project is to work with the Linux community to build a complete, general-purpose operating system exclusively from open source software. The Fedora Project is driven by the individuals that contribute to it. As a tester, developer, documenter, or translator, you can make a difference. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/join-fedora.html"/> for details. For information on the channels of communication for Fedora users and contributors, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>.
zh: Fedora 项目的目的是与 Linux 社区一起构建一个完整的，通用的操作系统，仅由自由软件构成。Fedora 项目是由贡献者个人驱动的。作为测试者，开发者，文档作者或译者，你可以改变它。要加入 Fedora 项目请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Join"/>。关于 Fedora 用户和贡献者的交流渠道，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: The Fedora Project is driven by the individuals that contribute to it. As a tester, developer, documenter, or translator, you can make a difference. See <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join</ulink> for details. For information on the channels of communication for Fedora users and contributors, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 项目是由贡献者推动的。作为测试者，开发者，文档作者或翻译人员，您能让它与众不同。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Join"/>。关于 Fedora 用户与贡献者的交流通道，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: In addition to the website, the following mailing lists are available:
zh: 在网站之外，还可以使用下列邮件列表:

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for users of Fedora releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink> ， Fedora 发行版的用户邮件列表

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for testers of Fedora test releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink> - Fedora 测试发布的测试人员

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for developers, developers, developers
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 针对开发者

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for participants of the Documentation Project
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 文档项目的参与者

en: To subscribe to any of these lists, send an email with the word "subscribe" in the subject to <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;-request</replaceable>, where <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> is one of the above list names. Alternately, you can subscribe to Fedora mailing lists through the Web interface at <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/">http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/</ulink>.
zh: 要订阅任何邮件列表，以 "subscribe" 为主题，发送邮件到 <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;-request</replaceable>，这里 <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> 是上面邮件列表的名字之一。或者，也可以在网页上订阅，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/"/>。

en: The Fedora Project also uses several IRC (Internet Relay Chat) channels. IRC is a real-time, text-based form of communication, similar to Instant Messaging. With it, you may have conversations with multiple people in an open channel, or chat with someone privately one-on-one. To talk with other Fedora Project participants via IRC, access the Freenode IRC network. Refer to the Freenode website at <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/">http://www.freenode.net/</ulink> for more information.
zh: Fedora 项目也使用多个 IRC (Internet Relay Chat) 频道。IRC 是一个实时的，文本的交流形式。使用 IRC，您可以在一个开放的频道中与多人同时会话，也可以私下一对一地与某个人交谈。要通过 IRC 与其他 Fedora 项目贡献者，首先连接到 Freenode IRC 网络。请参考 Freenode 网站上的指引，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/">http://www.freenode.net/</ulink>。

en: Fedora Project participants frequent the #fedora channel on the Freenode network, while Fedora Project developers may often be found on the #fedora-devel channel. Some of the larger projects may have their own channels as well. This information may be found on the webpage for the project, and at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 项目参与者通常访问 Freenode 网络的 #fedora 频道，而 Fedora Project 开发者总可以在 <systemitem>#fedora-devel</systemitem> 频道找到。一些大型项目也会有自己的频道；可以在项目网站找到，还可以访问网页 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: In order to talk on the #fedora channel, you need to register your nickname, or <firstterm>nick</firstterm>. Instructions are given when you <command>/join</command> the channel.
zh: 为了在 #fedora  频道交谈，您需要注册一个昵称 (<firstterm>nick</firstterm>)。当您第一次 <command>/join</command> 这个频道时，将看到指令。

en: IRC Channels
zh: IRC 频道

en: The Fedora Project and Red Hat have no control over the Fedora Project IRC channels or their content.
zh: Fedora 项目和 Red Hat 对 Fedora 项目 IRC 频道及其内容没有控制权。

en: Package Notes
zh: 特定软件包

en: The following sections contain information regarding software packages that have undergone significant changes for Fedora 9. For easier access, they are generally organized using the same groups that are shown in the installation system.
zh: 下列章节包含了在 Fedora 中发生了重要变化的软件包的相关信息。为了方便查找，以安装程序使用的分类进行组织。

en: Sound Card Utility
zh: 声卡工具

en: The <command>system-config-soundcard</command> utility has been removed, due to <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-list/2008-March/msg02148.html">numerous</ulink> legacy design and implementation issues. Modern technologies, including udev and the HAL, have made certain sound cards work out of the box. Any sound card not working out of the box should be reported as a <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/enter_bug.cgi?product=Fedora">bug</ulink>. Preferences can still be fine-tuned within the desktop environment, using, among others, the PulseAudio tools.
zh: 由于<ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-list/2008-March/msg02148.html">大量的</ulink>问题，包括过时的设计，以及新技术(udev 和 HAL)对声卡的免配置支持， <command>system-config-soundcard</command> 被移除。请将不能自动识别的声卡作为一个 <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/enter_bug.cgi?product=Fedora">Fedora Bug</ulink> 来汇报。使用 PulseAudio 的配套工具来进行个人偏好的设置。

en: Fedora 9 now includes Perl 5.10.0, the first "major" release update in perl5 in some time. The Perl interpreter itself is faster with a smaller memory footprint, and has several UTF-8 and threading improvements. The Perl installation is now relocatable, a blessing for systems administrators and operating system packagers. Perl 5.10.0 also adds a new smart match operator, a switch statement, named captures, state variables, and better error messages.
zh: Fedora 9 囊括了 Perl 5.10.0，长期以来 Perl 5 的第一次重大更新。更少的内存使 Perl 解释器运行的更快。另外的进步在 UTF-8 支持和多线程方面。长期以来系统管理员和操作系统软件包管理员呼吁的安装位置重定位已经被实现。 Perl 5.10.0 还增加了一个智能匹配算符，一个switch 语句，命名的捕获操作，状态变量，和更好的错误消息。

en: For more information, refer to:
zh: 更多信息，请参考

en: Yum Changes
zh: Yum 的变化

en: The <systemitem>installonlyn</systemitem> plugin functionality has been folded into the core <package>yum</package> package. The <option>installonlypkgs</option> and <option>installonly_limit</option> options are used by default to limit the system to retain only two kernel packages. You can adjust the package set or the number of packages, or disable the option entirely to match your preferences. More details are available in the man page for <filename>yum.conf</filename>.
zh: <systemitem>installonlyn</systemitem> 插件功能被整合到核心 <package>yum</package> 软件包。<option>installonlypkgs</option> 和 <option>installonly_limit</option> 选项默认被打开，以限制系统总是只保留两个内核软件包。你可以调整软件包集合或保留的数量，或者禁用选项以适应需求。细节请查看 <filename>yum.conf</filename> 手册页。

en: The <command>yum</command> command now retries when it detects a lock. This function is useful if a daemon is checking for updates, or if you are running <command>yum</command> and one of its graphical frontends simultaneously.
zh: 命令 <command>yum</command> 探测到锁定时将重试。这个功能在有守护进程检测更新时，或者如果同时运行 <command>yum</command> 和图形前端时会用到。

en: The <command>yum</command> command now understands a cost parameter in its configuration file, which is the relative cost of accessing a software repository. It is useful for weighing one software repository's packages as greater or less than any other. The cost parameter defaults to 1000, with lower costs given priority.
zh: 命令 <command>yum</command> 支持配置文件中的 cost 参数，指访问软件仓库时的相对成本。它可以用来将一个仓库的软件包的权重调整为比其他要高。默认权重是 1000。

en: In Fedora 9 Rawhide, the <filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo</filename> file has been changed to <filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-rawhide.repo</filename>. References to <computeroutput>development</computeroutput> in <filename>fedora-rawhide.repo</filename> have been changed to <computeroutput>rawhide</computeroutput>. Due to the way that RPM deals with configuration files, the existing <filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo</filename> file is saved as <filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo.rpmsave</filename> if it was previous modified. Users of the development repository may need to update scripts custom configuration files to use the new name.
zh: 在 Fedora·9·最新开发版本中,·<filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo</filename>·文件已经改变为·<filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-rawhide.repo</filename>.·参考到·<computeroutput>development</computeroutput>·在·<filename>fedora-rawhide.repo</filename>·已经改变为·<computeroutput>rawhide</computeroutput>.·由于 RPM 处理配置文件的方式,·文件·<filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo</filename>如果已经修改，则存为·<filename>/etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-development.repo.rpmsave</filename>·.·开发版本的用户可能需要升级自定义的配置文件以便能使用新的名称。

en: The <systemitem>pam_mount</systemitem> facility now uses a configuration file written in XML. The <filename>/etc/security/pam_mount.conf</filename> file will be converted to <filename>/etc/security/pam_mount.conf.xml</filename> during update with <command>/usr/bin/convert_pam_mount_conf.pl</command>, which removes all comments. Any per-user configuration files must be converted manually, with the conversion script if desired. A sample <filename>pam_mount.conf.xml</filename> file with detailed comments about the available options appears at <filename>/usr/share/doc/pam_mount-*/pam_mount.conf.xml</filename>.
zh: <systemitem>pam_mount</systemitem> 现在使用 XML 格式的配置文件。 在更新时，原来的文件 <filename>/etc/secutiry/pam_mount.conf</filename> 将被 <command>/usr/bin/convert_pam_mount_conf.pl</command> 自动转换到 <filename>/etc/security/pam_mount.conf.xml</filename>。文件中所有的注释都会丢失。针对单独用户的配置文件需要手动转换。要查看<filename>pam_mount.conf.xml</filename>的例子，参见<filename>/usr/share/doc/pam_mount-*/pam_mount.conf.xml</filename>。

en: <ulink url="http://www.tug.org/texlive/">TeXLive</ulink> is a replacement for the old, unmaintained TeX package. It offers new style packages and fixes many security problems with the old distribution.
zh: <ulink url="http://www.tug.org/texlive/">TeXLive</ulink> 替换了原来的 TeX 软件包。TeXLive 提供新的文档风格，同时修正了很多安全性问题。

en: The Linux Terminal Server Project (LTSP) has been included directly into Fedora 9. Work is ongoing. For the latest news and documentation, refer to:
zh: Linux 终端服务器工程已经被直接纳入 Fedora 9。该工作还在进行中，要获得新闻和文档，请参见：

en: Utility Packages
zh: 工具包

en: The <package>nautilus-open-terminal</package> package now uses a GConf key to control its behavior when launched by right-clicking the Desktop. To enable its previous behavior, which opens the resulting terminal in the user's home directory, use this command:
zh: 软件包 <package>nautilus-open-terminal</package> 现在使用 GConf 来控制它的动作，当在桌面上用右键点击启动的时候。启动终端命令行后，会在用户的主目录下，要使用前面的行为，请使用命令：

en: The <package>i810switch</package> package has been removed. This functionality is now available through the <command>xrandr</command> command in the <package>xorg-x11-server-utils</package> package.
zh: 软件包 <package>i810switch</package> 被移除。它的功能可以完全由 <package>xorg-x11-server-utils</package> 软件包中的 <command>xrandr</command> 命令实现。

en: The <package>evolution-exchange</package> package replaces <package>evolution-connector</package> , and provides a capability under the old name.
zh: 软件包 <package>evolution-exchange</package> 替换了 <package>evolution-connector</package>，提供相同的能力。

en: The <package>system-config-firewall</package> and <package>system-config-selinux</package> packages replace <package>system-config-security-level</package> . The <package>system-config-selinux</package> package is part of the <package>policycoreutils-gui</package> package.
zh: 软件包 <package>system-config-firewall</package> 和 <package>system-config-selinux</package>替换了<package>system-config-security-level</package>。<package>system-config-selinux</package>软件包是<package>policycoreutils-gui</package>软件包的一部分。

en: pilot-link and HAL/PolicyKit Interaction
zh: pilot-link 和 HAL/PolicyKit 整合

en: The <package>pilot-link</package> package now blacklists the <computeroutput>visor</computeroutput> module by default. Users are encouraged to try the direct USB access present in recent versions of <package>pilot-link</package>. This is enabled by passing the <option>--port usb:</option> option to the various <package>pilot-link</package> tools, instead of the serial devices used in the past (typically <filename>/dev/pilot</filename> or <filename>/dev/ttyUSB0</filename>, <filename>/dev/ttyUSB1</filename>, and so forth). For example:
zh: <package>pilot-link</package>软件包现在默认把<computeroutput>visor</computeroutput>模块列入黑名单中。在最新版本的<package>pilot-link</package>中，鼓励用户尝试直接USB访问。通过传递<option>--port usb:</option>选项到各种<package>pilot-link</package>工具中来启用它，替代了过去的串行设备（典型的<filename>/dev/pilot</filename>或<filename>/dev/ttyUSB0</filename>, <filename>/dev/ttyUSB1</filename>，和更早的）。例如：

en: The <package>hal-info</package> and <package>hal</package> packages have been updated to correctly set permissions for the necessary USB devices using PolicyKit. If you have any existing manual configurations, revert the changes to avoid possible conflicts.
zh: <package>hal-info</package>和<package>hal</package>软件包已经更新，这样可以通过PolicyKit对必要的USB设备正确地设置权限。如果你有任何现存的手工配置，那么还原这些改变来避免可能的冲突。

en: For further information, refer to the <filename>README.fedora</filename> included in the <package>pilot-link</package> package.
zh: 更多的信息，参见 <package>pilot-link</package> 软件包中的文件 <filename>README.fedora</filename>。

en: Legal Information
zh: 法律信息

en: The following legal information concerns some software in Fedora.
zh: 以下法律信息适用于 Fedora 中某些软件。

en: Package Changes
zh: 软件包的变化

en: For a list of packages that were updated since the previous release, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages</ulink>. You can also find a comparison of major packages between all Fedora versions at <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora">http://distrowatch.com/fedora</ulink>.
zh: 关于自前一版本以来的软件包更新列表，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages</ulink>。您还可以在 <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora">http://distrowatch.com/fedora</ulink> 看到所有 Fedora 每一版的主要软件包对比。

en: Release Highlights
zh: 本次发布亮点

en: Fedora Tour
zh: Fedora 之旅

en: You can find a tour filled with pictures and videos of this exciting new release at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/Fedora9"/>.
zh: 您将看到这一全新发布的大量截图和视频资料，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/Fedora9"/>。

en: Release Summary
zh: 本次发布摘要

en: For a less technical user friendly summary of the important changes in this release, refer to:
zh: 要获得一个面向非专业用户的重大变更摘要，参见：

en: New in Fedora
zh: Fedora 新增内容

en: This release includes significant new versions of many key components and technologies. The following sections provide a brief overview of major changes from the last release of Fedora.
zh: 本次发布包括很多关键软件包和技术的新版本。下面的章节对自前一版本以来的主要更改做出概览。

en: Spins
zh: 发布集(Spins)

en: Fedora includes several different <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/CustomSpins"><firstterm>spins</firstterm></ulink>, which are variations of Fedora built from a specific set of software packages. Each spin has a combination of software to meet the requirements of a specific kind of end user. In addition to a very small <filename>boot.iso</filename> image for network installation, users have the following spin choices:
zh: Fedora 包括多种发布集(<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/CustomSpins"><firstterm>spins</firstterm></ulink>)，这是使用特定软件包集合产生的 Fedora 变种。每个发布集都通过软件包的组合来适应特定用户的需求。除网络安装时使用的很小的 <package>boot.iso</package> 镜像之外，用户可以在下列发布集中选择：

en: A regular Fedora image for desktops, workstations, and server users. This spin provides a good upgrade path and similar environment for users of previous releases of Fedora.
zh: 通常的 Fedora 镜像，适于桌面、工作站和服务器用户。这一发布集为过去版本 Fedora 的用户提供了良好的升级路径和熟悉的环境。

en: One of several Live images that can be run from a disc or USB flash device, and can be installed to hard disk as desired. Refer to the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Live">"Live"</ulink> section for more information about the Live images.
zh: 四种 Live 镜像之一，可以在光盘或 USB 闪存设备上运行，也可以在需要时安装到硬盘。更多信息，请参阅<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Live"/>

en: More custom spins are available at <ulink url="http://spins.fedoraproject.org"/>. These Live images can be used on USB media via the <package>livecd-iso-to-disk</package> utility available in the <package>livecd-tools</package> package.
zh: 更多自定义发布集可以在 <ulink url="http://spins.fedoraproject.org"/> 找到。任何 Live 镜像都可以运行在 USB 存储设备上，制作时需要用到 <package>livecd-tools</package> 软件包中的 <package>livecd-iso-to-disk</package> 工具。

en: Fedora releases are also available via Jigdo. This distribution method can improve the speed of obtaining the installation ISO images. Instead of waiting for torrent downloads to complete, Jigdo seeks the fastest mirrors it can find via the Fedora Project Mirror Manager infrastructure, and downloads the bits it needs from these mirrors. To optimize seeking these bits, you can tell Jigdo to scan a DVD or CD you already have, and cut down on redundant downloads. This feature becomes particularly useful if you:
zh: 也可以通过 Jigdo 下载 Fedora 发行版。Jigdo 可以加速下载安装盘的 ISO 镜像。同 BT 下载等待任务完全完成所不同，Jidgo 自动定位最快的镜像服务器(通过 Fedora 镜像管理器)，并且从中下载所需要的文件。为了减少所需的网络流量，可以让 Jigdo 扫描现存的 DVD 或 CD 介质。这个功能对于以下用户特别有用。

en: Download all the test releases and then get the final release, in which case you have 90% of the data already with each subsequent download.
zh: 下载所有的测试发行版，之后下载最终的发行版。这样每次新的下载中，九成数据都已经被下载过了。

en: Download both the DVD and the CD set, in which case the DVD holds 95% of the data needed for the CD sets.
zh: 下载 DVD 和 CD。DVD 包括了 CD 中 95% 以上的数据。

en: Download any combination of the above.
zh: 下载以上组合中的任意一套即可。

en: Upgrading using PreUpgrade
zh: 使用PreUpgrade升级

en: PreUpgrade is an application users run on an existing Fedora 7 or 8 installation, that resolves and downloads packages required to upgrade Fedora. While PreUpgrade downloads the necessary packages, users are free to continue using their systems.
zh: PreUpgrade针对正在使用Fedora 7 或 8的用户的程序，它解决并下载升级Fedora所需要的软件包。在PreUpgrade下载必须的软件包时，用户可以继续使用他们的系统。

en: To use PreUpgrade to upgrade Fedora 8 to Fedora 9:
zh: 使用PreUpgrade将Fedora 8升级到Fedora 9:

en: Back up all important data before upgrading.
zh: 升级前备份所有重要的数据。

en: Run the <command>yum update</command> command as root to make sure all packages are updated to their latest versions.
zh: 以root用户运行<command>yum update</command>命令，确保所有的软件包被升级到他们的最新版本。

en: Run the <command>yum install preupgrade</command> command as root to install PreUpgrade.
zh: 以root用户运行<command>yum install preupgrade</command>命令来安装PreUpgrade。

en: Run the <command>preupgrade</command> command as root to start the PreUpgrade application.
zh: 以root用户运行<command>preupgrade</command>命令来启动PreUpgrade程序。

en: Select <guimenuitem>Fedora 9 (Sulphur)</guimenuitem> on the <computeroutput>Choose desired release</computeroutput> screen, and click the <guibutton>Apply</guibutton> button.
zh: 在<computeroutput>Choose desired release</computeroutput>屏幕中，选择<guimenuitem>Fedora 9 (Sulphur)</guimenuitem>，然后点<guibutton>应用</guibutton>按钮。

en: When all of the packages have downloaded, reboot your system to start the Fedora 9 installer.
zh: 当所有的软件包下载完，重启你的系统开始安装Fedora 9。

en: For further information, refer to the PreUpgrade Wiki:
zh: 更多信息，请参考PreUpgrade Wiki：

en: Features
zh: 特性

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.22/notes/C/">GNOME 2.22</ulink>. GNOME now includes a webcam photo and video creation utility called <application>Cheese</application>, improved network filesystem support, a new international clock applet, Google Calendar support and custom email labels in Evolution, a new Remote Desktop Viewer, improved accessibility features, and <application>PolicyKit</application> integration.
zh: 这次发布包含 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.22/notes/C/">GNOME 2.22</ulink>。GNOME 中新加入的软件包 <application>Cheese</application> 可以利用网络摄像头，创作照片和视频。其他改进包括，改进的网络文件系统支持，新的国际化时钟小程序，Evolution中对 Google 日历和自定义标签的支持，新的远程桌面查看器，增强的辅助特性，以及对<application>PolicyKit</application>的整合。

en: KDE 4.0.3 is available in the KDE Live image as well as the regular DVD.
zh: KDE 4.0.3 在 KDE Live 镜像及 DVD 中可用。

en: Xfce 4.4.2 is available as part of this release.
zh: Xfce 4.4.2 作为发布的一部分。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NetworkManager"> NetworkManager</ulink> 0.7 provides improved mobile broadband support, including GSM and CDMA devices, and now supports multiple devices and ad-hoc networking for sharing connections. It is now enabled by default on installations from DVD, CD, the network, and Live images.
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NetworkManager"> NetworkManager</ulink>  0.7 提供更好的移动宽带支持，包括对 GSM 和 CDMA 设备的支持，以及对多设备和特别网络共享连接的支持。现在 NetworkManager 在所有的安装方法(DVD，CD，和 Live 镜像)中都被默认启用。

en: The Fedora installer, <application>Anaconda</application>, now supports partition resizing for ext2/3, NTFS filesystems, creating and installing to encrypted file systems, improved Rescue Mode with FirstAidKit, independent locations for the second stage installer and the software packages. A redesigned, larger <filename>netboot.iso</filename> image now features a second stage installer partly for this reason.
zh: Fedora 安装程序，<application>Anaconda</applicatoin>现在支持调整 ext2/3和 NTFS文件系统的的大小，创建和安装到加密文件系统(EFS)，更好的故障恢复模式(由 FirstAidKit 提供)，独立的第二步安装器和软件包源。<filename>netboot.iso</filename>被重新设计，提供了更大的空间，以将第二步安装器也囊括其中。

en: Live USB images now support persistence, so your data and setting changes will be preserved even after rebooting.
zh: Live USB 镜像的写入支持可以帮助你保存作出的变更，甚至在重新启动之后！

en: <ulink url="http://www.packagekit.org/">PackageKit</ulink>, a new set of graphical and console tools, with a framework for cross-distribution software management, has replaced <application>Pirut</application> in this release of Fedora. The <application>PackageKit</application> graphical updater is available instead of <application>Pup</application>. Behind <application>PackageKit</application>, the performance of <command>yum</command> has been significantly improved.
zh: <ulink url="http://www.packagekit.org/">PackageKit</ulink> 是一系列新的用于管理软件包的图形和命令行工具。这些工具提供了对跨平台软件管理的支持。在这次发行中，<application>Pirut</application> 被其替换。同样<application>PackageKit</application>中的软件更新程序替换了<application>Pup</application>。在后台 <command>yum</command>的性能也获得了大幅提高。

en: FreeIPA makes managing auditing, identity and policy processes easier by providing web-based and command line provisioning, and administration tools to ease system administration. FreeIPA combines the power of the Fedora Directory Server with FreeRADIUS, MIT Kerberos, NTP and DNS to provide an easy, out of the box solution.
zh: 利用 Web 和命令行界面的查看和管理工具，FreeIPA 提供更简便的方法来管理审计，身份认证和策略。FreeIPA 将功能强大的 Fedora 目录服务器、FreeRaDIUS、MIT Kerberos、NTP和DNS组合到一起，为用户提供一揽子解决方案。

en: <ulink url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext4">Ext4</ulink>, the next version of the mature and stable ext3 filesystem is available as a option in this release. Ext4 features better performance, higher storage capacity and several other new features.
zh: <ulink url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext4">Ext4</ulink> 是成熟稳定的 Ext3 文件系统的下一个版本。这次发布提供Ext4，作为一个可选安装项目。Ext4 拥有更好的性能，更大的存储容量，以及其它激动人心的新特性。

en: This release of Fedora uses <ulink url="http://upstart.ubuntu.com/"><application>Upstart</application></ulink>, an event-based replacement for the <filename>/sbin/init</filename> daemon.
zh: 本次发布使用了<ulink url="http://upstart.ubuntu.com/"><application>Upstart</application></ulink>，一个事件驱动的系统来替换老的<filename>/sbin/init</filename> 服务程序。

en: Firefox 3 (beta 5) brings a number of major improvements including a native look and feel, desktop integration, the new Places replacement for bookmarks, and a re-worked address bar.
zh: Firefox 3 (beta 5)带来一些重大的改进，包括：本地的外观和感觉，桌面集成，新的替换书签的地方，和新样式的地址栏。

en: The completely free and open source Java environment OpenJDK 6 is installed by default. <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea">IcedTea</ulink> 7, derived from OpenJDK 1.7, is no longer the default. <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea">IcedTea</ulink> includes a browser plug-in based on GCJ, and is available for both x86 and x86_64 architectures. GCJ is still the default on PPC architecture.
zh: 完全自由和开源的 Java 环境 OpenJDK 6 被默认安装。由 OpenJDK 1.7 派生的<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea">IcedTea 7</ulink>不再被默认安装。<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea"包括一个基于 GCJ 的浏览器插件，可用于 x86 和 x86_64 体系。GCJ 在 PPC 体系仍是默认环境。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/OpenOffice">OpenOffice.org</ulink> 2.4, with many new features, is available as part of Fedora 9.
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/OpenOffice">OpenOffice.org 2.4</ulink> 包含许多新特性，也是 Fedora 9 的一部分。

en: Fedora now includes <ulink url="http://perldoc.perl.org/perldelta.html"><application>Perl 5.10.0</application></ulink>, which features a smaller memory footprint and other improvements.
zh: Fedora 现在包括 <ulink url="http://perldoc.perl.org/perldelta.html"><application>Perl 5.10.0</application></ulink>。Perl 5.10.0 占用更少的内存，并提供其它进步。

en: Fedora now includes <ulink url="http://www.tug.org/texlive/">TeXLive</ulink> to replace the older, unmaintained TeX distribution.
zh: Fedora·现在包含 <ulink·url="http://www.tug.org/texlive/">TeXLive</ulink> 来替换旧的、无人维护的 Tex 发行版。

en: Fedora 9 features a 2.6.25 based kernel.
zh: Fedora 9 包含基于 2.6.25 版本的内核。

en: Kernel crashes can be more automatically reported to <ulink url="http://www.kerneloops.org/"/> and diagnosed in a friendly way via the <package>kerneloops</package> package installed by default. Crash signatures are commonly referred to as oopses in Linux.
zh: 现在可以自动向<ulink url="http://www.kerneloops.org/"/>报告内核崩溃。同时，<package>kerneloops</package> 提供友好的诊断模式。该软件包默认被安装。注：内核崩溃在 Linux 中被叫做 oops。

en: Work on the start-up and shutdown in X has yielded noticeable improvements.
zh: 在 X 的启动和关闭中进行的工作，带来了可喜的进步。

en: Road Map
zh: 路线图

en: The proposed plans for the next release of Fedora are available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RoadMap"/>.
zh: 有关下一版 Fedora 的发布计划，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/RoadMap"/>

en: Multimedia
zh: 多媒体

en: Fedora includes applications for assorted multimedia functions, including playback, recording, and editing. Additional packages are available through the Fedora Package Collection software repository. For additional information about multimedia in Fedora, refer to the Multimedia section of the Fedora Project website at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia"/>.
zh: Fedora 包含了各种多媒体相关的应用程序，包括播放，录制和编辑程序。附加的软件包可以在 Fedora 软件仓库找到。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Multimedia"/> 。

en: Multimedia Players
zh: 多媒体播放器

en: The default installation of Fedora includes <application>Rhythmbox</application> and <application>Totem</application> for media playback. The Fedora repositories include many other popular programs such as the <application>XMMS</application> player and KDE's <application>amaroK</application>. Both GNOME and KDE have a selection of players that can be used with a variety of formats. Third parties may offer additional programs to handle other formats.
zh: Fedora 的默认安装包含 <application>Rhythmbox</application> 和 <application>Totem</application> 执行媒体播放。Fedora 软件仓库中包含更多其他程序，例如 <application>XMMS</application> 播放器和 KDE 的 <application>amaroK</appcation>。GNOME 和 KDE 都有一整套播放器，可以播放各种格式。第三方仓库还提供其他程序以播放其他格式。

en: <package>Totem</package>, the default movie player for GNOME, now has the ability to switch playback back-ends without recompilation or switching packages. To install the xine back-end, run the following command as root:
zh: 要切换 GNOME 的默认电影播放程序 <package>Totem</package> 的支持库，再也不用重新编译软件或者切换软件包。要安装 xine 后台，以 root 身份运行以下命令:

en: To run <package>Totem</package> with the xine back-end once, run the following command as root:
zh: 要使用基于xine的<package>Totem</package>软件包，以root登录运行命令:

en: To change the default back-end to xine for the entire system, run the following command as root:
zh: 要使用xine提供整个系统的多媒体支持，以root登录运行命令:

en: While using the xine back-end, it is possible to temporarily use the GStreamer back-end. To use the GStreamer back-end, run the following command as root:
zh: 在使用 xine 后台时，可以临时启用 GStreamer 后台。要启用 GStreamer 后台，以 root 身份运行以下命令：

en: Ogg and Xiph.Org Foundation Formats
zh: Ogg 和 Xiph.Org 基金会的文件格式

en: Fedora includes complete support for the Ogg media container format and the Vorbis audio, Theora video, Speex audio and FLAC lossless audio formats. These freely-distributable formats are not encumbered by patent or license restrictions. They provide powerful and flexible alternatives to more popular, restricted formats. The Fedora Project encourages the use of open source formats in place of restricted ones. For more information on these formats and how to use them, refer to the Xiph.Org Foundation's web site at <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/">http://www.xiph.org/</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 包含了对 Ogg 媒体容器格式的完整支持，包括 Vorbis 音频，Theora 视频，Speex 音频和 FLAC 无损音频格式。这些可以自由发布的格式不受专利或许可限制的威胁，提供了强大而灵活的替代方案。Fedora 项目鼓励使用这些开源格式，代替有限制的那些。更多信息请访问 Xiph.Org 基金会的网站: <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/">http://www.xiph.org/</ulink>.。

en: Xiph.Org Formats
zh: Xiph.Org 基金会的文件格式

en: MP3, DVD, and Other Excluded Multimedia Formats
zh: MP3, DVD 和其他被排除的多媒体格式

en: Fedora cannot include support for MP3 or DVD video playback or recording. The MP3 formats are patented, and the patent holders have not provided the necessary licenses. DVD video formats are patented and equipped with an encryption scheme. The patent holders have not provided the necessary licenses, and the code needed to decrypt CSS-encrypted discs may violate the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, a copyright law of the United States. Fedora also excludes other multimedia software due to patent, copyright, or license restrictions, including Adobe's Flash Player and Real Media's Real Player. For more on this subject, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库不能包含支持 MP3 或 DVD 的播放或录制的支持。MP3 格式受专利保护，而专利持有人没有提供足够许可。DVD 视频格式受专利保护，还有一套加密方案。专利所有人没有提供足够许可，并且解密 CSS 加密盘片的代码可能违反了数字千年版权法案，美国的一个版权法案。Fedora 也排除由于专利、版权或许可限制无法包含的软件，例如 Adobe 的 Flash 播放器，Real Media 的 Real 播放器。相关内容请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/ForbiddenItems"/>。

en: While other MP3 options may be available for Fedora, Fluendo now offers an MP3 plugin for GStreamer that has the related patents licensed for end users. This plugin enables MP3 support in applications that use the GStreamer framework as a backend. We cannot distribute this plugin in Fedora for licensing reasons, but it offers a new solution for an old problem. For more information, refer to the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia/fluendo-mp3">Installing Fluendo MP3 Plug-in</ulink> or <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia/Codeina">Installing MP3 Plug-in with Codeina</ulink> pages.
zh: 在各种 MP3 方案之外，Fluendo 为最终用户提供了 MP3 插件及其使用许可。插件配合 GStreamer 使用，所有以 GStreamer 为后端的应用程序都可通过其支持 MP3。由于许可协议的问题，Fedora 无法包含插件，但这个插件仍然不失为解决老问题的一种新办法。参见<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia/fluendo-mp3"> 安装 Fluendo MP3 插件</ulink>或者<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia/Codeina"> 使用 Codeina 安装 MP3 插件</ulink>

en: MP3 Support
zh: 支持MP3

en: DVD Support
zh: 支持DVD

en: Flash Support
zh: 支持Flash

en: CD and DVD Authoring and Burning
zh: CD 和 DVD 创建和烧录

en: Fedora include a variety of tools for easily mastering and burning CDs and DVDs. GNOME users can burn directly from the Nautilus file manager. The Fedora software repositories also contain additional software, such as <package>brasero</package> , <package>gnomebaker</package> , or <package>k3b</package> , for these tasks. Console tools include <command>wodim</command>, <command>readom</command>, <command>genisoimage</command>, and other popular applications.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库包含一系列工具，用于简化烧录 CD 和 DVD。GNOME 用户可以在 Nautilus 文件管理器中直接烧录，或者选择<package>brasero</pakcage>，<package>gnomebaker</package> 或 <package>k3b</package> 软件包。命令行工具包括 <command>wodim</command>，<command>readom</command>，<command>genisoimage</command> 和其他流行的应用程序。

en: Screencasts
zh: 屏幕录像

en: You can use Fedora to create and play back screencasts, which are recorded desktop sessions, using open technologies. Fedora includes <package>istanbul</package> , which creates screencasts using the Theora video format, and 'byzanz', which creates screencasts as animated GIF files. You can play back these videos using one of several players included in Fedora. This is the preferred way to submit screencasts to the Fedora Project for either developers or end-users. For more comprehensive instructions, refer to the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ScreenCasting">ScreenCasting</ulink> page.
zh: 您可以使用 Fedora 来创建和回放屏幕录像(<firstterm>screencast</firstterm>)，也就是桌面会话的录制，使用开放的技术。Fedora 软件仓库包含 <package>istanbul</package>，它可以创建 Theora 视频格式的屏幕录像。这些视频文件可以用 Fedora 中各种播放器来回放。这是提交开发和最终用户屏幕录像的首选方式。具体的用法请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/tools/ScreenCasting"/>。

en: Extended Support through Plugins
zh: 通过插件的扩展支持

en: Most of the media players in Fedora support the use of plugins to add support for additional media formats and sound output systems. Some use powerful backends like the <package>gstreamer</package> package to handle media format support and sound output. Fedora offers plugin packages for these backends and for individual applications, and third parties may offer additional plugins to add even greater capabilities.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库中的大多数媒体播放器都可以通过插件，支持其他媒体格式和声音输出方式。一些程序使用强大的后端 <filename>gstreamer</filename> 来处理媒体格式支持和声音输出。Fedora 软件仓库 包含了针对这些后端和应用程序的插件软件包。第三方可以提供更多软件包可以在第三方找到，实现更多功能。

en: System Services
zh: 网络服务器

en: Fedora 9 features the Upstart initialization system. All System V init scripts should run fine in compatibility mode. However, users who have made customizations to their <filename>/etc/inittab</filename> file will need to port those modifications to upstart. For information on how upstart works, see the <command>init(8)</command> and <command>initctl(8)</command> man pages. For information on writing upstart scripts, see the <command>events(5)</command> man page, and also the Upstart Getting Started Guide:
zh: Fedora 9 提供了 Upstart 启动系统。所有的 System V 启动脚本都可在兼容模式中正常运行。但是用户自定义的 <filename>/etc/inittab</filename> 需要针对 Upstart 系统进行修改。要了解 Upstart 的工作机制，参见 Man 手册 <command>init(8)</command> 和 <command>initctl(8)</command>。要了解如何为 Upstart 系统编写启动脚本，参见 <ulink url="http://upstart.ubuntu.com/getting-started.html">Upstart Getting Started Guide</ulink> 中的描述。

en: Due to the change of init systems, it is recommended that users who do an upgrade on a live file system to Fedora 9, reboot soon afterwards.
zh: 由于初始化系统的改变，建议那些在现有文件系统上升级到Fedora 9上的用户，之后马上重启。

en: Fedora 9 features <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NetworkManager">NetworkManager</ulink>. NetworkManager 0.7 provides improved mobile broadband support, including GSM and CDMA devices, and now supports multiple devices, ad-hoc networking for sharing connections, and the use of system-wide network configuration. It is now enabled by default on all installations. When using NetworkManager, be aware of the following:
zh: Fedora 9 提供了 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NetworkManager"> NetworkManager</ulink>。NetworkManager 0.7 提供更好的移动宽带支持，包括对 GSM 和 CDMA 设备的支持，以及对多设备和特别网络共享连接的支持。现在 NetworkManager 在所有的安装方法(DVD，CD，和 Live 镜像)中都被默认启用。

en: NetworkManager does not currently support all virtual device types. Users who use bridging, bonding, or VLANs may need to switch to the old network service after configuration of those interfaces.
zh: NetworkManager 目前仍然不支持所有的虚拟设备类型。要控制桥接，bonding，或者 VLAN，仍然需要使用旧的网络工具，即便相应的设备接口已经被配置。

en: NetworkManager starts the network asynchronously. Users who have applications that require the network to be fully initialized during boot should set the <option>NETWORKWAIT</option> variable in <filename>/etc/sysconfig/network</filename>. Please <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/enter_bug.cgi?product=Fedora">file bugs</ulink> about cases where this is necessary, so we can fix the applications in question.
zh: NetworkManager异步启动网络。有需要在启动时网络被完全初始化的应用程序的用户，应该设置<option>NETWORKWAIT</option>变量在<filename>/etc/sysconfig/network</filename>文件中。请<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/enter_bug.cgi?product=Fedora">填写bugs</ulink>关于必须这样做的情况，这样我们能修正存在问题的应用程序。

en: Autofs is no longer installed by default. Users who wish to use Autofs can choose it from the <guimenu>System Tools</guimenu> group in the installer, or with the package installation tools.
zh: Autofs不再被默认安装。希望使用Autofs的用户可以从安装程序的<guimenu>系统工具</guimenu>组中选中，或者用包安装工具。

en: Mail Servers
zh: 网络服务器

en: This section concerns electronic mail servers or mail transfer agents (MTAs).
zh: 本节是关于电邮服务器和邮件转发代理（MTAs）。

en: By default, the <application>Sendmail</application> mail transport agent (MTA) does not accept network connections from any host other than the local computer. To configure <application>Sendmail</application> as a server for other clients:
zh: 缺省情况下，<application>Sendmail</application> 邮件传输代理 （MTA）不接受除了本地计算机的任何主机的网络连接。请为其它客户端配置 <application>Sendmail</application> 为服务器：

en: Edit <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.mc</filename> and either change the <option>DAEMON_OPTIONS</option> line to also listen on network devices, or comment out this option entirely using the <option>dnl</option> comment delimiter.
zh: 编辑文件 <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.mc</filename>。修改 <option>DAEMON_OPTIONS</option>，增加相应的网络设备；或者完全禁用该选项(使用 <option>dnl</option> 来将之注释)。

en: Install the <package>sendmail-cf</package> package:
zh: 按照下面的步骤安装 <package>sendmail-cf</package>:

en: Regenerate <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.cf</filename>:
zh: 重新生成 <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.cf</filename>:

en: Fedora Live Images
zh: Fedora Live 镜像

en: The Fedora release includes several live ISO images in addition to the traditional installation images. These ISO images are bootable, and you can burn them to media and use them to try out Fedora. They also include a feature that allows you to install the Live image content to your hard drive for persistence and higher performance.
zh: Fedora 的这次发行中在传统安装介质基础之外，还包含了多种可引导 Live 镜像文件。这些镜像文件是可启动的，烧录后，就可以体验最新版的 Fedora。Live 镜像文件中的系统还支持“安装到硬盘”。安装到硬盘的系统可以保存自定义的文档和配置，而且具有更佳的性能。

en: Available Images
zh: 可用镜像文件列表

en: For a complete list of current spins available, and instructions for using them, refer to:
zh: 当前可用的发布集列表和使用指导手册位于：

en: Usage Information
zh: 使用信息

en: To boot from the Live image, insert it into your computer and restart. To log in and use the desktop environment, enter the username <systemitem class="username">fedora</systemitem>. Hit <keycap>Enter</keycap> at the password prompt, since there is no password on this account. The Live images do not automatically login so users can select a preferred language. After logging in, if you wish to install the contents of the live image to your hard drive, click on the <guilabel>Install to Hard Drive</guilabel> icon on the desktop.
zh: 要从 Live 镜像启动，插入 CD 并重启机器。要登录并使用桌面环境，输入用户名 <systemitem class="username">Fedora</systemitem>。提示密码时按下回车，因为此用户没有密码。这份 Live 镜像不会自动登录，从而使用户有机会选择首选语言。登录后，如果想把 live 镜像上的内容安装到硬盘上，请单击桌面图标 <guilabel>Install to Hard Drive</guilabel>。

en: Text Mode Installation
zh: 文本模式安装

en: You can do a text mode installation of the Live images using the <command>liveinst</command> command in the console.
zh: 在终端下可以用 <command>liveinst</command> 命令，以文本模式安装 Live 镜像。

en: Direct Installation
zh: 直接安装

en: You can add <option>liveinst</option> or <option>textinst</option> as a boot loader option to perform a direct installation without booting up the live CD/DVD.
zh: 要在不启动到 live CD/DVD 中的系统的情况下直接进行安装，可以在启动选项中增加 <option>liveinst</option> 或 <option>textinst</option>，

en: USB Booting
zh: 使用 USB 存储设备

en: Another way to use these Live images is to put them on a USB stick. To do this, install the <package>livecd-tools</package> package from the development repository. Then, run the <command>livecd-iso-to-disk</command> script:
zh: 另一种使用 Live 镜像的方法是将之复制到 USB 存储设备中。要这样做，首先安装“开发”仓库中的 <package>livecd-tools</package> 软件包，然后运行 <command>livecd-iso-to-stick</command> 脚本：

en: Replace <replaceable>/dev/sdb1</replaceable> with the partition where you want to put the image.
zh: 如果不想把镜像放置到 <replaceable>/dev/sdb1</replaceable>，将之替换为具体的分区标识符。

en: This is <emphasis>not</emphasis> a destructive process; any data you currently have on your USB stick <emphasis>is preserved</emphasis>.
zh: 以上过程<emphasis>不会</emphasis>擦除 USB 存储设备中的数据，USB 存储设备中原有的数据<emphasis>保持不变</emphasis>。

en: Live USB Persistence
zh: 实时 USB 加载

en: Support for persistent changes with a Live image exists for Fedora 9. The primary use case is booting from a Live image on a USB flash drive and storing changes to that same device. To do this, download the Live image and then run the following command:
zh: Fedora 9 支持对 Live 镜像的永久性修改。永久性修改的一个例子是使用一个 USB 闪存驱动器启动，所有的修改都会被保存的该驱动器上。要激活该功能，下载 Live 镜像，运行以下命令：

en: Replace <replaceable>512</replaceable> with the desired size in megabytes of the persistent data, or overlay. The <command>livecd-iso-to-disk</command> shell script is stored in the <filename class="directory">LiveOS</filename> directory at the top level of the CD image. The USB media must have sufficient free space for the Live image, plus the overlay, plus any other data to be stored on the media.
zh: 用希望的持久性数据的大小 (以MB为单位) 来替换 <replaceable>512</replaceable>。命令脚本 <command>livecd-iso-to-disk</command> 位于 CD 镜像的 <filename class="directory">LiveOS</filename> 目录。USB 媒介必须有足够的剩余空间以存放持久性数据，以及其它数据。

en: Tool Changes
zh: 工具的变化

en: Work has continued to better integrate the Live images with the rest of the system, and improve the tools used for building them. The <command>livecd-creator</command> utility now provides an API for building alternative front-ends, as well as tools for other types of images.
zh: Live 镜像的系统整合和创建工具得到了长足进展。<command>livecd-creator</command> 工具现在提供 API 来建立不同的前端界面和其它类型的镜像。

en: Differences From a Regular Fedora Install
zh: 与Fedora常规安装方式的区别

en: The following items are different from a normal Fedora install with the live images.
zh: 以下列出的是使用Live镜像安装和常规安装方式的几点区别。

en: Live images provide a subset of packages available in the regular DVD image. Both connect to the same repository that has all the packages.
zh: Live 镜像提供了 DVD 镜像中软件的子集。它们连接到同一个包含所有软件的仓库。

en: SSH is disabled by default. SSH is disabled because the default username in the Live images does not have any password. However, installation to hard disk prompts for creating a new username and password.
zh: Live 镜像中，SSH 被默认禁用，SSH 被禁用，因为 Live 镜像的默认用户名没有密码。不过，安装到硬盘时，会提示创建新的用户和设置密码。

en: Live image installations do not allow any package selection or upgrade capability since they copy the entire file system from media or USB disks, to the hard disk. After the installation is complete, and your system has been rebooted, you can add and remove packages as desired with the <application>Add/Remove Packages</application> tool, <command>yum</command>, or the other software management tools.
zh: Live 镜像安装时不允许选择软件包或升级，因为它只是将完整的文件系统从所在介质中复制到硬盘或 USB 存储设备上。安装完成并重启后，可以用 <application>添加／删除程序</application><command>yum</command> 命令或其他软件管理工具按照需要安装软件包。

en: Live images do not work on <systemitem>i586</systemitem> architecture.
zh: Live 镜像不能在 <systemitem>i586</systemitem> 体系工作。

en: Fedora Legacy - Community Maintenance Project
zh: Fedora Legacy - 社区维护

en: The Fedora Legacy Project was a community-supported open source project to extend the lifecycle of select "maintenance mode" Red Hat Linux and Fedora Core distributions. The current model for supporting maintenance distributions has been re-examined. Fedora Legacy was unable to extend support to older Fedora Core releases as it had planned. As of now, Fedora Core 4 and earlier distributions are no longer being maintained. Fedora Core 5 will no longer be maintained 30 days after the Fedora 7 release.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目是社区维护的开源项目，目的是延长"维护模式"下的 Red Hat Linux 和 Fedora Core 发行版的生命周期。重新考虑了当前的发行维护模式，Fedora Legacy 项目不能像先前计划的那样支持老版本的 Fedora Core 。现在 Fedora core 4 和更老的版本已经不再被维护。Fedora Core 5也将在 Fedora 7 发行后的30天取消支持。

en: Legacy Repo was included in Fedora Core 6
zh: Fedora Core 6 中包含了 Legacy Repo 配置

en: Fedora Core 6 shipped with a software repository configuration for Fedora Legacy. This repository was not enabled by default in the Fedora Core 6 release.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含一份 Fedora Legacy 仓库的配置文件。仓库在 Fedora Core 6 发布版本中没有默认启用。

en: Linux Kernel
zh: Linux 内核

en: This section covers changes and important information regarding the 2.6.25 based kernel in Fedora 9. The 2.6.25 kernel includes:
zh: 这一节覆盖了 Fedora 9 中 基于 2.6.25 版本的内核中所引进的变动及重要信息。2.6.25 内核包括:

en: Tickless support for x86 64-bit systems (32-bit was added previously), which greatly improves power management.
zh: x86 64 位系统的 Tickless 支持(32 位系统早已支持)，它能显著改进电源管理。

en: Some elements of the realtime kernel project.
zh: 实时内核项目的一些元素。

en: The kernel has a new version naming scheme to more closely match the upstream version naming scheme.
zh: 内核采用了新的命名方案。新的方案同主流的版本命名更接近。

en: The kernel spec file is now named <filename>kernel.spec</filename> rather than <filename>kernel-2.6.spec</filename>.
zh: 内核 spec 文件现在叫做 <filename>kernel.spec</filename> 而不是 <filename>kernel-2.6.spec</filename>。

en: The kernel spec file has new macros that ease the kernel building process. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/> for further information.
zh: 内核 spec 增加了新的宏，以简化内核构建过程。更多信息请阅读 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>。

en: The kernel in Fedora 9 no longer loads modules by default for ISA sound cards. Load the module by hand using the command <command>modprobe module-name</command>, or put an entry in <filename>/etc/modprobe.conf</filename>. For example, for the Creative SoundBlaster AWE64, add the following entry:
zh: Fedora 9 内核不再为 ISA 声卡加载模块。使用命令 <command>modprobe module-name</command> 手动加载模块，或者在 <filename>/etc/modprobe.conf</filename> 中加一行。例如，对于 Creative SoundBlaster AWE64 声卡，添加这样一行记录：

en: The Fedora kernel offers <filename>paravirt_ops</filename> support in <filename>domU</filename>, as part of the kernel team's efforts to reduce the work required to produce current Xen kernels.
zh: Fedora 内核在<filename>domU</filename> 中提供 <filename>paravirt_pos</filename>。该功能是内核开发小组为减小生成当前的 Xen 内核而设计的。

en: <application>Xen</application> fully virtualized guests can directly boot a kernel and initrd image and pass kernel boot args. For more details refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XenFullvirtKernelBoot"/>.
zh: <application>Xen</application> 中全虚拟的客户机可以直接引导内核和 initrd 镜像，并传递内核参数。要了解更多的细节，参见<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XenFullvirtKernelBoot"/>。

en: Version
zh: 版本

en: Fedora may include additional patches to the kernel for improvements, bug fixes, or additional features. For this reason, the Fedora kernel may not be line-for-line equivalent to the so-called <firstterm>vanilla kernel</firstterm> from the kernel.org web site:
zh: Fedora 可能包含了附加的补丁，来改进，修正或添加附加特性。因此，Fedora 内核与被称为纯正(<firstterm>vanilla kernel</firstterm>)的，来自 kernel.org 网站的内核不是完全相同的。

en: To obtain a list of these patches, download the source RPM package and run the following command against it:
zh: 要获得这些补丁的列表，下载源 RPM 软件包，运行下列命令:

en: Changelog
zh: 更新日志

en: To retrieve a log of changes to the package, run the following command:
zh: 软件包修订记录可以用下列命令看到:

en: If you need a user friendly version of the changelog, refer to <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges"/>. A short and full diff of the kernel is available from <ulink url="http://kernel.org/git"/>. The Fedora version kernel is based on the Linus tree.
zh: 如果您希望看到更友好的修订日志，请访问 <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges">http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges</ulink> 。<ulink url="http://kernel.org/git">http://kernel.org/git</ulink>提供了内核不同之处的摘要和完全两种版本。Fedora 基于 Linus 的内核树。

en: Customizations made for the Fedora version are available from <ulink url="http://cvs.fedoraproject.org"/>.
zh: Fedora 版本做出的定制可以在 <ulink url="http://cvs.fedoraproject.org">http://cvs.fedoraproject.org</ulink> 找到。

en: Kernel Flavors
zh: 内核配置

en: Fedora 9 includes the following kernel builds:
zh: Fedora 9 包含了下列内核构建

en: Native kernel, for use in most systems. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-devel</package> package.
zh: 基本的内核，用于大多数系统，已配置的代码在 <package>kernel-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: The kernel-PAE, for use in 32-bit x86 systems with more than 4GB of RAM, or with CPUs that have an NX (No eXecute) feature. This kernel support both uniprocessor and multi-processor systems. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-PAE-devel</package> package.
zh: kernel-PAE，用于拥有超过 4GB RAM 的 32-bit x86 系统中，或者 CPU 带有 "NX (No eXecute)" 特性的系统中。它同时支持单/多处理器系统。已配置的代码在 <package>kernel-PAE-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: Virtualization kernel for use with the Xen emulator package. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-xen-devel</package> package.
zh: 虚拟机内核，用于 Xen 模拟器。已配置的源代码包含在 <package>kernel-xen-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: You may install kernel headers for all kernel flavors at the same time. The files are installed in the <filename class="directory">/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>version</replaceable>[-PAE|-xen|-kdump]-<replaceable>arch</replaceable>/</filename> tree. Use the following command:
zh: 所有内核变种的内核头文件可以同时安装。文件安装在 <filename class="directory">/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>version</replaceable>[-PAE|-xen|-kdump]-<replaceable>arch</replaceable>/</filename>。使用命令：

en: Select one or more of these flavors, separated by commas and no spaces, as appropriate. Enter the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> password when prompted.
zh: 选择一个或多个变种，以逗号分隔，不要有空格。在提示时输入系统管理员密码。

en: x86 Kernel Includes Kdump
zh: x86内核包括Kdump

en: Both the x86_64 and the i686 kernels are now relocatable, so they no longer require a separate kernel for kdump capability. PPC64 still requires a separate <package>kdump</package> kernel.
zh: i686 内核和 x86_64 内核现在都支持重定位，所以已经不再需要单独的内核来提供kdump功能特性。PPC64 系统仍然需要安装<package>kdump</package>内核。

en: Default Kernel Provides SMP
zh: 默认内核提供了 SMP

en: There is no separate SMP kernel available for Fedora on i386, x86_64, and ppc64. Multiprocessor support is provided by the native kernel.
zh: Fedora 没有单独的 SMP 内核，无论是 i386, x86_64 还是 ppc64。基本内核提供了多处理器支持。

en: PowerPC Kernel Support
zh: PowerPC 内核支持

en: There is no support for Xen or kdump for the PowerPC architecture in Fedora. 32-bit PowerPC does still have a separate SMP kernel.
zh: Fedora 没有为 PowerPC 体系提供 Xen 或 Kdump 支持。32位的PPC系统仍然有单独的SMP内核。

en: Preparing for Kernel Development
zh: 为内核开发作准备

en: Fedora 9 does not include the <package>kernel-source</package> package provided by older versions since only the <package>kernel-devel</package> package is required now to build external modules. Configured sources are available, as described in <xref linkend="sn-Kernel-Flavors"/>.
zh: Fedora9不包含老版本提供的<package>kernel-source</package> 软件包，因为要编译外部模块，只需要 <package>kernel-devel</package>软件包。要得到已配置的源代码，请阅读 <xref linkend="sn-Kernel-Flavors"/>。

en: Custom Kernel Building
zh: 定制内核

en: For information on kernel development and working with custom kernels, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>.
zh: 要了解更多关于内核开发以及内核定制，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>.。

en: Reporting Bugs
zh: 报告错误

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html"/> for information on reporting bugs in the Linux kernel. You may also use <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com"/> for reporting bugs that are specific to Fedora.
zh: 请参考 <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html">http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html</ulink> 中，报告 Linux 内核错误时的注意事项。您也可以访问 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com">http://bugzilla.redhat.com</ulink> 来报告针对 Fedora 的错误。

en: Fedora 9 includes OpenJDK 6, a Free Software implementation of the Java Platform, Standard Edition. OpenJDK 6 is not yet Java compatible; work is underway to certify it.
zh: Fedora 9包括了OpenJDK 6， 一个自由软件实现的 Java平台标准版本。OpenJDK 6 尚未获得 Java 兼容性认证（验证工作正在进行中）。

en: Fedora will track Sun's stable OpenJDK 6 branch.
zh: Fedora将跟踪Sun的稳定版OpenJDK6分支

en: OpenJDK Replaces IcedTea
zh: OpenJDK 代替 IcedTea

en: The OpenJDK 6 packages, <filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk*</filename>, replace their <ulink url="https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea">IcedTea</ulink> counterparts, <filename>java-1.7.0-icedtea*</filename>. The Fedora 8 IcedTea packages track the unstable OpenJDK 7 branch, whereas the <filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk*</filename> packages track the stable OpenJDK 6 branch. The decision to have OpenJDK 6 replace IcedTea was made for several reasons:
zh: The OpenJDK 6 软件包， <filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk*</filename> 代替原来的<ulink url="https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/IcedTea">IcedTea</ulink>。相关部分, <filename>java-1.7.0-icedtea*</filename>。Fedora 8 IcedTea 软件包跟踪不稳定的OpenJDK 7分支, 然而<filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk*</filename> 软件包跟踪稳定的OpenJDK 6分支。用OpenJDK 6代替IcedTea的决定是由于一些原因：

en: Sun has replaced most of the encumbrances for which IcedTea was providing replacements. For the rest of the encumbrances, replacements have been merged from the IcedTea project.
zh: Sun 已经去除了大部分阻碍软件进入 Fedora 的限制。其他一些障碍则通过合并IcedTea 项目中的代码来完成。

en: IcedTea's mandate is to merge as much as possible with OpenJDK, so the differences between IcedTea and OpenJDK should diminish over time.
zh: IcedTea的指令将被尽可能地合并到OpenJDK中，这样IcedTea和OpenJDK之间的差异将随着时间而消失。

en: OpenJDK 6 is a stable branch, whereas OpenJDK 7 is unstable, and is not expected to ship a stable release until 2009.
zh: OpenJDK6是一个稳定的分支，然而OpenJDK7是不稳定的，并且在2009年前不指望成为稳定版本。

en: Sun has licensed the OpenJDK trademark for use in Fedora.
zh: Sun已经许可OpenJDK商标被Fedora使用。

en: Shipping both OpenJDK 6 and IcedTea would have been confusing, and would have added size to the distribution.
zh: 同时带上OpenJDK 6和IcedTea将产生冲突，并且增加了发行版的大小。

en: IcedTea continues to provide autotools support ( <package>autoconf</package> , <package>automake</package> , <package>libtool</package> , and so on), a portable interpreter for PowerPC and 64-bit PowerPC architectures, plugin support, Web Start support, and patches to integrate OpenJDK into Fedora. The IcedTea sources are included in the <filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk</filename> SRPM.
zh: IcedTea继续为自动化工具提供支持(<package>autoconf</package> , <package>automake</package> , <package>libtool</package> 等)，一个为PowerPC和64位PowerPC体系的可移植解释器，插件支持，Web Start支持，和补丁到Fedora中集成的OpenJDK。IcedTea源被包括在<filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk</filename> SRPM中。

en: If IcedTea is already installed, the package changeover does not happen automatically. The packages related to IcedTea based on OpenJDK 7 must first be erased, then the new OpenJDK 6 packages installed.
zh: 如果IcedTea已经安装，软件包不会进行自动转换。基于OpenJDK 7的IcedTea的相关软件包必须首先被删除，然后安装新的OpenJDK 6软件包。

en: Handling Java Applets
zh: 运行 Java 小程序

en: Upstream OpenJDK does not provide a plugin. The Fedora OpenJDK packages include an adaptation of <filename>gcjwebplugin</filename>, that runs untrusted applets safely in a Web browser. The plugin is packaged as <filename>java-1.6.0-openjdk-plugin</filename>.
zh: 主流的 OpenJDK 没有提供 Java 插件。Fedora 的 OpenJDK 软件包提供一个名为<filename>gcjwebplugin</filename> 的程序以在浏览器中运行不受信的 Java 小程序。这个插件被打包为 <package>java-1.6.0-openjdk-plugin</package>。

en: The <filename>gcjwebplugin</filename> adaptation has no support for the <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304021">bytecode-to-JavaScript bridge (LiveConnect)</ulink>. Applets that rely on this bridge will not work. Experimental LiveConnect support exists in the IcedTea repository, but is not ready for deployment in Fedora.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 不支持<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304021">尚未支持二进制到 Javascript 通信</ulink>，依赖于这个特性的小程序无法运行。体验性的支持在 IcedTea 代码中被提供，但是不够成熟，没有部署到 Fedora。

en: The <filename>gcjwebplugin</filename> adaptation does not support <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304031">signed applets</ulink>. Signed applets will run in untrusted mode. Experimental support for signed applets is present in the IcedTea repository, but it is not ready for deployment in Fedora.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 不支持<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304021">尚未支持签名的小程序</ulink>，依赖于签名的小程序也会以未受信的模式运行。体验性的支持在 IcedTea 代码中被提供，但是不够成熟，没有部署到 Fedora。

en: The <filename>gcjwebplugin</filename> security policy may be too restrictive. To enable restricted applets, run the <command>firefox -g</command> command in a terminal window to see what is being restricted, and then grant the restricted permission in the <filename>/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-openjdk-1.6.0.0/jre/lib/security/java.policy</filename> file.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 安全策略可能过于严格。要启用受限小程序，在终端下运行 <command>firefox -g</command>，查看被限制的内容，然后在 <filename>/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-openjdk-1.6.0.0/jre/lib/security/java.policy</filename> 文件中授予权限。

en: Handling Web Start Applications
zh: 处理Web Start应用

en: Upstream OpenJDK does not provide Web Start support. Experimental Web Start support via <ulink url="http://jnlp.sourceforge.net/netx/">NetX</ulink> is present in the IcedTea repository, but is not ready for deployment in Fedora.
zh: OpenJDK不提供Web Start的支持。实验性的通过<ulink url="http://jnlp.sourceforge.net/netx/">NetX</ulink>支持的Web Start现在在IcedTea仓库中，但不准备在Fedora中开发。

en: Fedora and JPackage
zh: Fedora 与 JPackage

en: Fedora includes many packages derived from the <ulink url="http://jpackage.org/">JPackage Project</ulink>. Some of these packages are modified in Fedora to remove proprietary software dependencies, and to make use of GCJ's ahead-of-time compilation feature. Use the Fedora repositories to update these packages, or use the JPackage repository for packages not provided by Fedora. Refer to the <ulink url="http://jpackage.org/">JPackage website</ulink> for more information about the project, and the software it provides.
zh: Fedora 包含很多来自 JPackage Project 的软件包。其中一些软件在被包括到 Fedora 中时被修改，以避免依赖于专有软件，并利用 GCJ 的先进的编译功能。使用 Fedora 仓库来更新这些软件包。使用 JPackage 仓库更新其他 Fedora 未提供的软件包。请参考 JPackage 网站 <ulink url="http://jpackage.org">http://jpackage.org</ulink> 有关网站和它提供的软件包的信息。

en: An incompatibility between Fedora and the JPackage <package>jpackage-utils</package> , that prevented installing JPackage's <package>jpackage-utils</package> on Fedora, is <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=260161">resolved</ulink> in this release.
zh: 在这个版本中，原来的Fedora和JPackage <package>jpackage-utils</package>软件包间的不兼容问题已经<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=260161">解决</ulink>了，这个不兼容是为了防止安装JPackage的<package>jpackage-utils</package>软件包。

en: Mixing Packages from Fedora and JPackage
zh: 混合 Fedora 和 JPackage 的软件包

en: Research package compatibility before you install software from both the Fedora and JPackage repositories on the same system. Incompatible packages may cause complex issues.
zh: 在相同系统中安装 Fedora 和 JPackage 仓库的软件包前要查明软件包相容性。不相容的软件包会造成复杂的问题。

en: Installation Notes
zh: 安装要点

en: Fedora Installation Guide
zh: 安装向导

en: To learn how to install Fedora, refer to <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/</ulink>.
zh: 学习如何安装Fedora，见 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/</ulink>。

en: Installation issues not covered in these release notes
zh: 发行注记未包含的安装问题。

en: If you encounter a problem or have a question during installation that is not covered in these relese notes, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ</ulink> and <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common</ulink>.
zh: 如果你在安装时遇到了发行注记中没有包含的问题，请参考：<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/FAQ"/> 以及 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common"/>

en: <application>Anaconda</application> is the name of the Fedora installer. This section outlines issues related to <application>Anaconda</application> and installing Fedora 9.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 是 Fedora 安装程序。这一节描述与 <application>Anaconda</application> 以及与安装 Fedora 9 有关的一般话题。

en: Downloading Large Files
zh: 下载大文件

en: If you intend to download the Fedora DVD ISO image, keep in mind that not all file downloading tools can accommodate files larger than 2 GiB in size. Tools without this limitation include <command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 and above, <command>curl</command>, and <command>ncftpget</command>. <application>BitTorrent</application> is another method for downloading large files. For information about obtaining and using the torrent file, refer to <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/">http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/</ulink>.
zh: 如果您需要下载 Fedora DVD ISO 镜像文件，记住并不是所有下载工具都支持大于 2GB 的文件。<command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 或更高版本, <command>curl</command> 和 <command>ncftpget</command> 没有此限制，可以顺利下载大于 2GB 的文件。 <application>BitTorrent</application> 也可以用来下载大文件。要下载 torrent 种子文件请访问 <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/">http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/</ulink>。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> tests the integrity of installation media by default. This function works with the CD, DVD, hard drive ISO, and NFS ISO installation methods. The Fedora Project recommends that you test all installation media before starting the installation process and before reporting any installation-related bugs. Many of the bugs reported are actually due to improperly-burned CDs or DVDs.
zh: 安装程序 <application>Anaconda</application> 默认会检测安装媒介的完整性。它可以在 CD, DVD, 硬盘镜像文件和 NFS 镜像安装方式中工作。Fedora 项目建议您在安装过程开始前，在提交与安装有关的错误报告之前，检测安装介质。很多错误报告实际是由于 CD 或 DVD 烧录不正确造成的。

en: The <command>mediacheck</command> function is highly sensitive, and may report some usable discs as faulty. This result is often caused by disc writing software that does not include padding when creating discs from ISO files. To use this test, at boot time hit any key to enter the menu. Then press the <keycap>Tab</keycap> key, add the option <option>mediacheck</option> to the parameter list, and press <keycap>Enter</keycap>.
zh: <option>mediacheck</option> 功能是非常敏感的，可能将正常的光盘报告为有错。这通常是由于光盘刻录软件在从 ISO 文件刻录时，没有包含合适的 padding。要进行测试，在启动时按任意一键来进入菜单，然后按下 <keycap>Tab</keycap> 键，再添加 <option>mediacheck</option> 到参数列表，然后按回车(<keycap>Enter</keycap>)。

en: After you complete the <command>mediacheck</command> function successfully, reboot to return the system to its normal state. On many systems, this results in a faster installation process from the disc. You may skip the <option>mediacheck</option> option when rebooting.
zh: 当 <command>mediacheck</command> 顺利完成后，重启使 DMA 模式恢复到正常的状态。在很多系统中，这样做会让安装过程更快一些。重启时可以跳过 <option>mediacheck</option> 选项。

en: BitTorrent Automatically Verifies File Integrity
zh: BitTorrent 自动验证文件完整性

en: If you use <application>BitTorrent</application>, any files you download are automatically validated. If your file completes downloading, you do not need to check it. Once you burn your CD or DVD, however, you should still use <command>mediacheck</command> to test the integrity of the media.
zh: 如果您使用 <application>BitTorrent</application>, 您下载的文件会被自动验证。如果您的下载已完成，不必再验证它。不过，在烧录到 CD 或 DVD 后，还是应该做一下介质检测(<command>mediacheck</command)。

en: To perform memory testing before you install Fedora, press any key to enter the boot menu, then select <guimenuitem>Memory Test</guimenuitem>. This option runs the <application>Memtest86</application> stand alone memory testing software in place of <application>Anaconda</application>. <application>Memtest86</application> memory testing continues until you press the <keycap>Esc</keycap> key.
zh: 要在安装 Fedora 前进行内存测试，启动时按任意一键，选择 <guimenuitem>Memory Test</guimenuitem>。这会运行 <application>Memtest86</application> 独立内存检测工具而不是 <application>Anaconda</application>。<application>Memtest86</application> 会一直运行，直到按下了 <keycap>Esc</keycap> 键。

en: Memtest86 Availability
zh: Memtest86 可用性

en: You must boot from Installation Disc 1, the DVD, or a rescue CD in order to use this feature.
zh: 必须从第一张 CD，或者 DVD，或急救 CD-ROM 启动，才能使用这一功能。

en: Fedora 9 supports graphical FTP and HTTP installations. However, the installer image must either fit in RAM or appear on local storage, such as Installation Disc 1. Therefore, only systems with more than 192MiB of RAM, or which boot from Installation Disc 1, can use the graphical installer. Systems with 192MiB RAM or less fall back to using the text-based installer automatically. If you prefer to use the text-based installer, type <command>linux text</command> at the <prompt>boot:</prompt> prompt.
zh: Fedora 9 支持图形化的 FTP 和 HTTP 安装。但是，安装程序必须完全载入内存，或者存在于本地磁盘如安装光盘 1 上。因此，只有内存多于 192MiB 内存，或从安装光盘 1 启动的情况下，才可以使用图形安装程序。只有 192MiB 或更少内存的系统将自动进入文本安装程序。如果您首选文本安装方式，可以在 <prompt>boot:</prompt> 提示符下输入 <command>linux text</command>。

en: Changes in Anaconda
zh: Anaconda 的变化

en: Built-in support for resizing ext2, ext3, and ntfs partitions.
zh: 内置了变更 ext2，ext3 和 ntfs 分区大小的功能。

en: Support for installation to encrypted block devices, including the root filesystem.
zh: 支持安装到加密的块设备，包括加密的根文件系统。

en: Consolidated network booting ISO image, replacing old <filename>boot.iso</filename>, <filename>diskboot.img</filename>, and <filename>rescuecd.iso</filename>.
zh: 增强了的网络引导 ISO 镜像替换了原有的 <filename>boot.iso</filename>，<filename>diskboot.img</filename>和<filename>rescuecd.iso</filename>。

en: Second stage installer location now independent of software package location.
zh: 安装过程中的第二步的位置现在已经不取决于软件包的位置。

en: Native installation to <systemitem>x86</systemitem> and <systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> machines using EFI and booting via <systemitem>grub</systemitem>.
zh: 直接安装到使用 EFI 的 <systemitem>x86</systemitem> 和 <systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> 系统，并且使用 <systemitem>grub</systemitem> 启动。

en: Hardware probing and detection now based on HAL and <systemitem>udev</systemitem>.
zh: 硬件扫描和探测现在完全基于 HAL 和 <systemitem>udev</systemitem>系统。

en: Support for persistence in Live images on USB flash media.
zh: 支持位于 USB 闪存上的 Live 镜像的持久化。

en: Installation Related Issues
zh: 安装相关的问题

en: IDE Device Names
zh: IDE 设备名称

en: Use of <filename>/dev/hdX</filename> on i386 and x86_64 for IDE drives has changed to <filename>/dev/sdX</filename>. See notes about the importance of labeling devices for upgrades from releases before Fedora 7, and partition limitations.
zh: 在 i386 和 x86_64 体系中使用 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> 作为 IDE 设备名的作法已过时，应当使用 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> 除非是 PPC。如果从 Fedora 7 (Fedora Core 7)之前的版本升级，请务必注意为设备设置卷标，以及前面提到的分区限制。

en: Not all IDE RAID controllers are supported. If your RAID controller is not yet supported by <package>dmraid</package> , you may combine drives into RAID arrays by configuring Linux software RAID. For supported controllers, configure the RAID functions in the computer BIOS.
zh: 并非所有 IDE RAID 控制器都得到了支持，如果您的 RAID 控制器不为 <package>dmraid</package> 软件包支持，您可以通过配置 Linux 软 RAID，将磁盘组合到 RAID 阵列中。至于直接支持的控制器，只要在计算机的 BIOS 中配置 RAID 就可以了。

en: Multiple NICs and PXE Installation
zh: 多 NIC 以及 PXE 安装

en: Some servers with multiple network interfaces may not assign eth0 to the first network interface as BIOS knows it, which can cause the installer to try using a different network interface than was used by PXE. To change this behavior, use the following in <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> config files:
zh: 一些服务器拥有多个网络接口，可能无法将 BIOS 所知的第一个网络接口设定为  eth0 ，这将导致安装程序使用与 PXE 启动时不同的网络接口。要应付这种情况，可以在 <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> 配置文件中添加下面的内容:

en: The configuration options above causes the installer to use the same network interface as BIOS and PXE use. You can also use the following option:
zh: 上面的配置选项使得安装程序使用与 BIOS 和 PXE 相同的网络接口。您也可以添加下面的内容:

en: This option causes the installer to use the first network device it finds that is linked to a network switch.
zh: 这个选项使安装程序使用连接到交换机的第一个网络设备。

en: Upgrade Related Issues
zh: 升级相关的问题

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades</ulink> for detailed recommended procedures for upgrading Fedora.
zh: 请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades"/> 查看详细的升级步骤建议。

en: If you are upgrading to Fedora 9 and use <package>emacs</package>, you must upgrade to the latest version of emacs for your prior release to ensure a clean upgrade. Fedora 8 users must have <package>emacs-22.1-10.fc8</package> or later, while Fedora 7 users must have <package>emacs-22.1-7.fc7</package>.
zh: 如果你升级到Fedora 9并且使用<package>emacs</package>，那你必须把你之前版本的emacs升级到最新版本，以确保干净地升级。Fedora 8用户必须有<package>emacs-22.1-10.fc8</package>或之后版本，同时Fedora 7用户必须有<package>emacs-22.1-7.fc7</package>。

en: To see what version of <package>emacs</package> is installed, run the <command>rpm -q emacs</command> command.
zh: 要查看<package>emacs</package>安装的版本，运行<command>rpm -q emacs</command>命令。

en: SCSI driver partition limits
zh: SCSI 驱动分区限制

en: Whereas older IDE drivers supported up to 63 partitions per device, SCSI devices are limited to 15 partitions per device. <application>Anaconda</application> uses the <systemitem class="library">libata</systemitem> driver in the same fashion as the rest of Fedora, so it is unable to detect more than 15 partitions on an IDE disk during the installation or upgrade process.
zh: 尽管旧的 IDE 驱动支持每个设备多达 63 个分区，SCSI 设备只支持 15 个分区。<application>Anaconda</application> 使用新的 <systemitem class="library">libata</systemitem> 驱动，因此在安装或升级时无法探测到 IDE 硬盘上超过 15 个分区。

en: If you are upgrading a system with more than 15 partitions, you may need to migrate the disk to Logical Volume Management (LVM). This restriction may cause conflicts with other installed systems if they do not support LVM. Most modern Linux distributions support LVM, and drivers are available for other operating systems as well.
zh: 如果你要更新超过 15 个分区的系统，可能需要将磁盘移植到逻辑卷管理(LVM)。这个限制可能与其他已安装系统冲突，如果它们不支持 LVM 的话。较新的 Linux 发行版都支持 LVM，其他操作系统也有相应驱动。

en: Disk partitions must be labeled
zh: 磁盘分区必须有卷标

en: A change in the way that the Linux kernel handles storage devices means that device names like <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> or <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> may differ from the values used in earlier releases. <application>Anaconda</application> solves this problem by relying on partition labels or UUIDs for finding devices. If these are not present, then <application>Anaconda</application> presents a warning indicating that partitions need to be labelled and that the upgrade can not proceed. Systems that use Logical Volume Management (LVM) and the device mapper usually do not require relabeling.
zh: Linux 内核处理存储设备的方式如果发生变化，就意味着 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> 或 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> 这样的设备名可能与过去完全不同。Anaconda 使用分区卷标来应付这一问题。如果没有卷标，Anaconda 将警告分区必须有卷标，否则升级无法继续。使用逻辑卷管理 (LVM) 和 device-mapper 工具的系统无需重新标识。

en: To check disk partition labels
zh: 要设置磁盘分区卷标

en: To view partition labels, boot the existing Fedora installation, and enter the following at a terminal prompt:
zh: 要查看分区卷标，首先启动现有的 Fedora 系统，在终端中输入命令：

en: Confirm that each volume line in the list has a <option>LABEL=</option> value, as shown below:
zh: 确认列表中每个卷都有 <option>LABEL=</option> 这样的内容，如下：

en: Update the file system mount entries
zh: 更新文件系统挂载项

en: If any filesystem labels were added or modified, then the device entries in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> must be adjusted to match:
zh: 如果文件系统卷标被添加或修改，那么 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中的设备条目必须同时更新：

en: An example of a mount by label entry is:
zh: 以指定卷标方式挂载：

en: Update the <filename>grub.conf</filename> kernel root entry
zh: 更新 <filename>grub.conf</filename> 中内核的根文件系统项

en: If the label for the <filename class="partition">/</filename> (root) filesystem was modified, the kernel boot parameter in the grub configuration file must also be modified:
zh: 如果根分区 <filename class="partition">/</filename> 的卷标被修改，必须同时修改 grub 配置文件中内核的启动参数：

en: A matching example kernel grub line is:
zh: 正确的内核启动参数：

en: Test changes made to labels
zh: 测试对卷标的修改

en: If partition labels were adjusted, or the <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> file modified, then boot the existing Fedora installation to confirm that all partitions still mount normally and login is successful. When complete, reboot with the installation media to start the installer and begin the upgrade.
zh: 如果修改了分区卷标，或者修改了 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 文件，应当重启进入现有的 Fedora，保证分区正确挂载，可以成功登录。如果不可以，说明 :( 这段文档不知道是谁写的，这么烂! 全部改好之后，重启使用安装介质来开始升级过程。

en: Upgrades versus fresh installations
zh: 更新还是全新安装

en: In general, fresh installations are recommended over upgrades, particularly for systems that include software from third-party repositories. Third-party packages remaining from a previous installation may not work as expected on an upgraded Fedora system. If you decide to perform an upgrade anyway, the following information may be helpful:
zh: 一般情况下，应选择全新安装而不是升级，如果系统中有第三方仓库的软件就更应如此。如果已安装了第三方仓库的软件，升级后可能无法正常使用。一定要升级的话，请遵守下面的指示。

en: Before you upgrade, back up the system completely. In particular, preserve <filename>/etc</filename>, <filename>/home</filename>, and possibly <filename>/opt</filename> and <filename>/usr/local</filename> if customized packages are installed there. You may wish to use a multi-boot approach with a "clone" of the old installation on alternate partition(s) as a fallback. In that case, create alternate boot media, such as a GRUB boot floppy.
zh: 升级前，请备份整个系统。特别的，保留 <filename>/etc</filename> , <filename>/home</filename>, 可能还有 <filename>/opt</filename> 和 <filename>/usr/local</filename>，如果那里有定制安装的软件包的话。可以考虑使用多启动，在其他分区中复制并保留原来的系统，以备无虞。最好再准备些其他类型的启动盘，例如 GRUB 软盘。

en: System Configuration Backups
zh: 系统配置备份

en: Backups of configurations in <filename>/etc</filename> are also useful in reconstructing system settings after a fresh installation.
zh: 为 <filename>/etc</filename> 目录中的配置文件作备份，全新安装后，重建系统设置时会非常有用。

en: After you complete the upgrade, run the following command:
zh: 升级完毕，运行命令:

en: Inspect the end of the output for packages that pre-date the upgrade. Remove or upgrade those packages from third-party repositories, or otherwise deal with them as necessary. Some previously installed packages may no longer be available in any configured repository. To list all these packages, use the following command:
zh: 在输出的最后，查看升级前安装的软件包。删掉他们或者从第三方仓库升级它们，必要的话小心应付。有些软件包可能不存在于任何仓库中。要列出这样的软件包，执行命令：

en: Kickstart HTTP Issue
zh: Kickstart HTTP 模式的问题

en: When using a Kickstart configuration file via HTTP, kickstart file retrieval may fail with an error that indicates the file could not be retrieved. Click the <guilabel>OK</guilabel> button several times without making modifications to override this error successfully. As a workaround, use one of the other supported methods to retrieve Kickstart configurations.
zh: 使用 HTTP 网络上的 Kickstart 配置文件时可能遇到无法读取文件的错误。遇到错误后，在不修改任何配置的情况下，反复单击<guilabel>确定</guilabel> 按钮，该错误可以被跳过。临时的解决办法是换用其他方法来获得 Kickstart 配置文件。

en: Internationalization (i18n)
zh: 国际化(Internationalization,i18n)

en: This section includes information on language support under Fedora.
zh: 这一节包含 Fedora 中多语种支持相关的信息。

en: Localization (translation) of Fedora is coordinated by the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/L10N">Fedora Localization Project</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 的本地化(翻译)是由 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/L10N">Fedora 本地化项目</ulink>组织的。

en: Internationalization of Fedora is maintained by the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/I18N">Fedora I18n Project</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 的国际化是由 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/I18N">Fedora I18n 项目</ulink>维护的。

en: Language Coverage
zh: 语言覆盖程度

en: Fedora features a variety of software which is translated in <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/languages">many languages</ulink>. For a list of languages refer to the <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/module/anaconda">translation statistics</ulink> for <application>Anaconda</application>, which is one of the core software applications in Fedora.
zh: Fedora 中相当多的软件被翻译到多种语言。参见<ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/languages"/>。要获得　Fedora 核心组件 <application> Anaconda </application> 的可用语言列表，请参见 <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/module/anaconda">翻译统计</ulink>。

en: Language Support Installation
zh: 支持语言安装

en: To install additional language support from the <emphasis>Languages</emphasis> group, use <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, or run this command:
zh: 要从语言组安装附加语种支持，通过使用<guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem>，或者运行命令:

en: language
zh: 语言

en: In the command above, <replaceable>language</replaceable> is one of <option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>, <option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, <option>sinhala</option>, <option>tamil</option>, <option>telegu</option>, <option>thai</option>, and so on.
zh: 在上面的命令中，<replaceable>language</replaceable> 是下列之一: <option>assamese</option>，<option>bengali</option>，<option>chinese</option>，<option>gujarati</option>，<option>hindi</option>,<option>japanese</option>，<option>kannada</option>，<option>korean</option>，<option>malayalam</option>，<option>marathi</option>，<option>oriya</option>，<option>punjabi</option>，<option>sinhala</option>,<option>tamil</option>，<option>telegu</option>，或 <option>thai</option>，以及其它。

en: SCIM users upgrading from earlier releases of Fedora are strongly urged to install <package>scim-bridge-gtk</package> . This application works well with third-party C++ applications linked against older versions of <package>libstdc++</package> .
zh: 从先前版本的 Fedora 升级的用户应当安装 <package>scim-bridge-gtk</package>，它能很好兼容那些使用老版本 <systemitem class="library">libstdc++</systemitem> 的第三方 C++ 程序。

en: To add SCIM support to input a particular language, install <package>scim-lang-<replaceable>LANG</replaceable></package> , where <replaceable>LANG</replaceable> is one of <option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>dhivehi</option>, <option>farsi</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>, <option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>latin</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, <option>sinhalese</option>, <option>tamil</option>, <option>telugu</option>, <option>thai</option>, or <option>tibetan</option>.
zh: 要添加 SCIM 支持以输入某种语言，安装 <package>scim-lang-<replaceable>LANG</replaceable></package>，这里 <replaceable>LANG</replaceable> 是如下之一：<option>assamese</option>(阿萨姆语) ，<option>bengali</option>(孟加拉语) ，<option>chinese</option>(汉语) ，<option>dhivehi</option>，<option>farsi</option>，<option>gujarati</option>，<option>hindi</option>(印地语)，<option>japanese</option>(日语)，<option>kannada</option>，<option>korean</option>(韩语)，<option>latin</option>(拉丁语)，<option>malayalam</option>(马来语)，<option>marathi</option>，<option>oriya</option>，<option>punjabi</option>(旁遮普语)，<option>sinhalese</option>(锡兰语)，<option>tamil</option>(坦米尔语)，<option>telugu</option>，<option>thai</option>(泰语)，或 <option>tibetan</option>(藏语)。

en: <ulink url="https://fedorahosted.org/transifex/">Transifex</ulink> is Fedora's online tool to facilitate contributing translations to projects hosted on remote and disparate version control systems. Many of the core packages use Transifex to receive translations from numerous contributors.
zh: <ulink url="https://fedorahosted.org/transifex/">Transifex</ulink>是Fedora的在线工具，用来简化向那些在远程并且使用不同版本控制系统的项目贡献翻译。许多核心软件包使用了Transifex来接收大量贡献者提交的翻译。

en: Through a combination of <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/">new Web tools</ulink>, community growth, and better processes, translators can contribute directly to any upstream project through one translator-oriented Web interface. Developers of projects with no existing translation community can easily reach out to Fedora's established community for translations. In turn, translators can reach out to numerous projects related to Fedora to easily contribute translations.
zh: 通过 <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/">网站工具</ulink>，不断成长的社区，以及不断改进的过程，译者可以通过单一的面向译者的网站接口，直接向任何上游项目提交翻译工作。缺少译者的项目开发者可以容易地从 Fedora 社区得到翻译。同时，译者可以接触更多与 Fedora 有关的项目，容易地提交作品。

en: Fonts
zh: 字体

en: Fonts for all available languages are installed by default on the desktop to give good default language coverage. <package>dejavu-fonts</package> replaces <package>dejavu-lgc-fonts</package> as the default system font.
zh: 桌面用户默认安装所有语言的字体，以覆盖尽可能多的语言。<package>dejavu-fonts</package> 是新的系统缺省字体，代替了<package>djavu-lgc-fonts</package>

en: Chinese fonts
zh: 中文字体

en: The <package>wqy-zenkai-fonts</package> package has been added.
zh: 新的文全驿字体 <package>wqy-zenkai-fonts</package> 软件包被添加。

en: Indic fonts
zh: 印地语字体

en: The <package>samyak-fonts</package> package has been added.
zh: <package>samyak-fonts</package> 软件包被添加。

en: The <package>sarai-fonts</package> package has been added.
zh: <package>sarai-fonts</package> 软件包被添加。

en: The <package>smc-fonts</package> package has been added for Malayalam.
zh: <package>smc-fonts</package> 软件包被添加，以提供对马来文字的支持。

en: Japanese fonts
zh: 日文字体

en: <package>VLGothic-fonts</package> is the new default font for Japanese in Fedora 9. It now has a subpackage <package>VLGothic-fonts-proportional</package> for its proportional version.
zh: <package>VLGothic-fonts</package> 是 Fedora 9 中新的日文字体. <package>VLGothic-fonts-proportional</package> 是其等比例字体版本。

en: Nepali fonts
zh: 尼泊尔字体

en: The <package>madan-fonts</package> package has been added.
zh: <package>madan-fonts</package> 软件包被添加。

en: Thai fonts
zh: 泰国字体

en: The <package>thaifonts-scalable</package> package has been added, making Thai TrueType fonts available in Fedora.
zh: <package>thaifonts-scalable</package> 软件包被添加。现在的泰语字体已经支持 TrueType 技术。

en: Input Methods
zh: 输入法

en: It is now possible to start and stop the of Input Methods in GTK applications during runtime thanks to the new <emphasis>imsettings</emphasis> framework. The <option>GTK_IM_MODULE</option> environment variable is no longer needed by default but can still be used to override the <emphasis>imsettings</emphasis>.
zh: 利用新的<emphasis>imsetting</emphasis>(输入法设置)框架，现在已经可以在应用程序运行时启动或禁用输入法。已经不再需要<option>GTK_IM_MODULE</option>环境变量，虽然该变量仍然可以用来覆盖<emphasis>imsettings</emphasis>的设置。

en: im-chooser
zh: 输入法选择器

en: With the new <emphasis>imsettings</emphasis> framework, <command>im-chooser</command> can now start and stop Input Method usage dynamically on the GNOME Desktop.
zh: 利用新的<emphasis>imsettings</emphasis>框架，<command>输入法选择器</command>程序现在可以实时启动或禁用 GNOME 桌面环境中的输入法支持。

en: Input methods only start by default on desktops running in an Asian locale. The current list is: <systemitem>as</systemitem>, <systemitem>bn</systemitem>, <systemitem>gu</systemitem>, <systemitem>hi</systemitem>, <systemitem>ja</systemitem>, <systemitem>kn</systemitem>, <systemitem>ko</systemitem>, <systemitem>ml</systemitem>, <systemitem>mr</systemitem>, <systemitem>ne</systemitem>, <systemitem>or</systemitem>, <systemitem>pa</systemitem>, <systemitem>si</systemitem>, <systemitem>ta</systemitem>, <systemitem>te</systemitem>, <systemitem>th</systemitem>, <systemitem>ur</systemitem>, <systemitem>vi</systemitem>, <systemitem>zh</systemitem>. Use <application>im-chooser</application> via <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>Personal</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Input Method</guimenuitem></menuchoice> to enable or disable Input method usage on your desktop.
zh: 核心的 SCIM 软件包被默认安装，但输入法只有在桌面是某个亚洲语言环境时才启动。当前列表为：<systemitem>as</systemitem>，<systemitem>bn</systemitem>，<systemitem>gu</systemitem>，<systemitem>hi</systemitem>，<systemitem>ja</systemitem>，<systemitem>kn</systemitem>，<systemitem>ko</systemitem>，<systemitem>ml</systemitem>，<systemitem>mr</systemitem>，<systemitem>ne</systemitem>，<systemitem>or</systemitem>，<systemitem>pa</systemitem>，<systemitem>si</systemitem>，<systemitem>ta</systemitem>，<systemitem>te</systemitem>，<systemitem>th</systemitem>，<systemitem>ur</systemitem>，<systemitem>vi</systemitem>，<systemitem>zh</systemitem>)。可以用 <application>im-chooser</application> 位于 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>个人</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>输入法</guimenuitem></menuchoice>来启用或禁用桌面的 SCIM 输入法，或者选择其他输入法。要在非亚洲语言环境的桌面中激活 SCIM 输入法，应当设置 <application>im-chooser</application> 中的 <menuchoice><guimenu>使用自定义输入法</guimenu><guimenuitem>scim</guimenuitem></menuchoice>。

en: SCIM hotkeys
zh: SCIM 热键

en: SCIM now only defines trigger hotkeys for Asian languages as in the following table:
zh: SCIM 现在只为亚洲语言定义切换热键：

en: Hotkeys
zh: 热键

en: Language
zh: 语言

en: Trigger hotkeys
zh: 触发热键

en: Chinese
zh: 中文

en: Indic
zh: 印地语

en: Japanese
zh: 日文

en: <code>Zenkaku_Hankaku</code>, <code>Alt-`</code>, or <code>Ctrl-Space</code>
zh: <code>Zenkaku_Hankaku</code>, <code>Alt-`</code>, 或者 <code>Ctrl-Space</code>

en: Korean
zh: 韩文

en: <code>Shift-Space</code>, <code>Hangul</code>, or <code>Ctrl-Space</code>
zh: <code>Shift-Space</code>, <code>Hangul</code>, 或者 <code>Ctrl-Space</code>

en: This release adds the <package>scim-python</package> package, which allows writing Input Method Engines for SCIM in python.
zh: 这次发行中新加入了 <package>scim-python</package> 软件包，提供编写基于 python 的 SCIM 输入发引擎。

en: The <package>scim-python</package> package also includes a subpackage <package>scim-python-pinyin</package> that provides PinYin and ShuangPin Input Methods for improved input of Simplified Chinese. The PinYin Input Method replaces <package>scim-pinyin</package> as the default input method for Simplified Chinese. The <package>scim-python-xingma</package> package provides a number of tables for other Chinese input methods.
zh: 软件包<package>scim-python</package> 中还提供了 <package>scim-python-pinyin</package>。该程序支持全拼和双拼输入法。其中的拼音输入法替换了<package>scim-pinyin</package>，称为系统默认输入法。<package>scim-python-xingma</package> 则提供了一系列码表以支持多种中文输入方法。

en: File Systems
zh: 文件系统

en: Fedora 9 provides basic support for encrypted swap partitions and non-root file systems. To use it, add entries to <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> and reference the created devices in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>.
zh: Fedora 9 对加密交换分区和除了根分区之外的分区提供基本的支持。要使用它，在 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中添加条目，并在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中引用这些设备。

en: New in Fedora 9, the installer <application>Anaconda</application> has support for creating encrypted file systems during installation. For more information on that, refer to the <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide">Fedora Installation Guide</ulink>.
zh: 在 Fedora 9 中，安装程序<application>Anaconda</application> 支持在安装过程中创建加密文件系统。更多信息参见 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide">Fedora Installation Guide</ulink>。

en: Installing to encrypted volumes, including the root file system, is now supported. There is no configuration tool for adding or removing keys from volumes at a later time, or otherwise doing modification of the encryption. Refer to this feature page for more information:
zh: 现在已经提供对向加密文件系统安装的支持。但是尚未提在安装后添加或删除密码，以及对加密系统的其他修改的支持。参见以下页面：

en: For full instructions on using encrypted file systems, refer to the <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/encryption-privacy-guide">Fedora Encryption and Privacy Guide</ulink>.
zh: 加密文件系统的使用方法，见 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/encryption-privacy-guide">Fedora 加密和隐私保护手册</ulink>。

en: Ext4 Preview
zh: Ext4 预览

en: The new ext4 file system is available in Fedora 9 as a nearly feature complete preview. While an ext3 file system can be mounted as ext4, an ext3 to ext4 conversion tool is planned that converts existing ext3 on-disk format to ext4.
zh: Fedora 9 提供对新的 ext4 文件系统的一个“几乎完成了的技术预览”。虽然 ext3 文件系统可以直接被作为 ext4 文件系统挂载，计划中仍然会提供一个讲现存 ext3 格式文件系统转换到 ext4 的转换器。

en: Fedora 9 may be installed onto an ext4 file system by adding the <option>ext4</option> option to the installer boot parameters and selecting custom partitioning.
zh: 通过添加<option>ext4</option>选项到安装程序启动参数中并且选择定制分区，Fedora 9可以被安装到一个ext4文件系统上。

en: <command>e2fsprogs</command> userspace tools
zh: <command>e2fsprogs</command> 用户空间工具

en: The <command>e2fsprogs</command> userspace tools shipping with Fedora 9 are not yet fully ext4-capable. In particular, <command>fsck</command> ability is limited.
zh: Fedora 9中装载的<command>e2fsprogs</command>用户空间工具还不是完全具备ext4能力。特别是<command>fsck</command>能力被限制了。

en: For more information about this feature:
zh: 更多信息，请访问下列页面:

en: Feedback
zh: 反馈

en: Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, suggestions, and bug reports to the Fedora community. By doing so, you help improve the state of Fedora, Linux, and free software worldwide.
zh: 感谢您花时间向 Fedora 社区提出评论、建议和错误报告。通过这些，您帮助了 Fedora, Linux 乃至自由软件世界的进步。

en: Providing Feedback on Fedora Software
zh: 提交关于 Fedora 软件包的反馈

en: To provide feedback on Fedora software or other system elements, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests</ulink>. A list of commonly reported bugs and known issues for this release is available from <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/F9Common"/>.
zh: 要提交关于 Fedora 软件包或其他部分的反馈，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。本次发布的常见问题和已知问题可以在这里看到 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/F9Common"/>。

en: Providing Feedback on Release Notes
zh: 提交关于发行注记的反馈

en: Feedback for Release Notes Only
zh: 仅指针对发行注记的反馈

en: This section concerns feedback on the release notes themselves.
zh: 本节是关于发行注记本身的反馈过程

en: If you feel these release notes could be improved in any way, you can provide your feedback directly to the beat writers. Here are several ways to do so, in order of preference:
zh: 如果您认为可以以某种方式改进发行注记，可以直接向作者提交反馈。这里列出了多条反馈的途径，按首选排序:

en: If you have a Fedora account, edit content directly at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats</ulink>.
zh: 如果您有 Fedora 帐号，直接编辑 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats</ulink> 。

en: Fill out a bug request using this template: <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u">http://tinyurl.com/nej3u</ulink> - <emphasis role="strong">This link is ONLY for feedback on the release notes themselves.</emphasis> Refer to the admonition above for details.
zh: 使用模板 <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u">http://tinyurl.com/nej3u</ulink> - <emphasis role="strong"> 添加错误报告。<emphasis role="strong">本链接只用于发行注记本身的反馈</emphasis>。

en: Email <ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink>.
zh: 向<ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink> 发送电子邮件。

en: Games and Entertainment
zh: 游戏和娱乐

en: Fedora provides a selection of games that cover a variety of genres. Users can install a small package of games for GNOME (called <package>gnome-games</package> ) and KDE ( <package>kdegames</package> ). There are also many additional games that span every major genre available in the repositories.
zh: Fedora 提供了各种类型的游戏。用户可以为 GNOME(<package>gnome-games</package>) 和 KDE (<package>kdegames</package>) 安装一部分游戏。仓库中有更多的各种类型的附加游戏。

en: The Fedora Project website features a section dedicated to games that details many of the available games, including overviews and installation instructions. For more information, refer to:
zh: Fedora 项目网站有一个介绍游戏的专区，记录了很多游戏，包括简介和安装指导，更多信息请参考:

en: For a list of other games that are available for installation, select <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add / Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, or via the command line:
zh: 要获取可以安装的游戏列表，使用图形化工具<menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem></menuchoice>，或者通过命令行：

en: For help using <command>yum</command> to install the assorted game packages, refer to the guide available at
zh: 要获取使用 <command>yum</command> 安装分类游戏软件包的帮助，请参考有效指南：

en: Development
zh: 开发工具

en: This section covers various development tools and features.
zh: 这一节覆盖了各种开发工具和特性。

en: Tools
zh: 工具

en: GCC Compiler Collection
zh: GCC 编译器集合

en: This release of Fedora has been built with GCC 4.3.0, which is included with the distribution.
zh: 这一版本的 Fedora 使用 GCC 4.3.0 构建，同时将其包含在发行版中。

en: For more information on GCC 4.3, refer to:
zh: 关于 GCC 4.3 的更多信息，参见：

en: Code Generation
zh: 代码生成

en: Starting with <package>gcc-4.1.2-25</package> and <package>glibc-2.6.90-14</package> , the <option>-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2</option> option protects not only C code, but also C++. There have been several security issues already which would not have been exploitable if this checking was in place earlier. Refer to this announcement:
zh: 从 <package>gcc-4.1.2-25</package> 和 <package>glibc-2.6.90-14</package> 开始，<option>-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2</option> 选项不仅保护 C 代码，也保护 C++。如果这个选项早些可用，就能让几个安全问题不会发生。细节请参考以下公告:

en: <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html"/> for more details.
zh: <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html"/>以获得更多信息。

en: This release of Fedora includes Fedora Eclipse, based on the Eclipse SDK version 3.3.2. The 3.3.x series of releases has a <ulink url="http://archive.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3-200706251500/whatsnew/eclipse-news.html">"New and Noteworthy"</ulink> page, and <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/development/readme_eclipse_3.3.2.html">release notes</ulink> specific to 3.3.2 are also available.
zh: 本次发布包含 Fedora Eclipse，基于Eclipse SDK 3.3.2版本。3.3.x 系列的版本有<ulink url="http://archive.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3-200706251500/whatsnew/eclipse-news.html">"New and Noteworthy"</ulink>页面，和<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/development/readme_eclipse_3.3.2.html">发行注记</ulink>细节。

en: The Eclipse SDK is known variously as "the Eclipse Platform," "the Eclipse IDE," and "Eclipse." The Eclipse SDK is the foundation for the combined release of twenty-one Eclipse projects under the Callisto combined release umbrella:
zh: Eclipse SDK，有时被称为 "Eclipse 平台", "Eclipse IDE" 或 "Eclipse"。Eclipse SDK 是 21 个 按照 Callisto 计划发布的 Eclipse 项目的基础:

en: Some of the Europa projects are included in Fedora:
zh: Europa（木卫二）项目中的一部分已经包括在Fedora中:

en: CDT for C/C++ development:
zh: C/C++ 开发 - CDT

en: GEF, the Graphical Editing Framework:
zh: 图形编辑框架 - CEF

en: Mylyn, a task-focused UI for Eclipse, along with task connectors for Bugzilla and Trac:
zh: Mylyn 一个面向任务的 Eclipse 界面，以及 Bugzilla 和 Trac 的任务连接器。

en: Other Eclipse projects available in Fedora include:
zh: Fedora 中其他 Eclipse 项目有：

en: Subclipse, for integrating Subversion version control:
zh: Subclipse，集成版本控制:

en: PyDev, for developing in Python:
zh: PyDev，用来开发Python：

en: PHPeclipse, for developing in PHP:
zh: PHPeclipse，用来开发PHP：

en: E.P.I.C, for developing perl:
zh: E.P.I.C，用来开发perl：

en: Photran, for developing in Fortran:
zh: Photran，用来开发Fortran：

en: Assistance in getting more projects packaged and tested with GCJ is always welcome. Contact the interested parties through fedora-devel-java-list and/or #fedora-java on freenode:
zh: 欢迎参加更多的项目的软件打包以及用 GCJ 测试项目。通过 fedora-devel-java-list 邮件列表和freenode上的#fedora-java頻道联系感兴趣的项目团体:

en: Fedora also includes plugins and features that are particularly useful to FLOSS hackers, ChangeLog editing with <package>eclipse-changelog</package> , and Bugzilla interaction with <package>eclipse-mylyn-bugzilla</package> . Our CDT package, <package>eclipse-cdt</package> , includes a snapshot release of work to integrate with the GNU Autotools. There is also <package>eclipse-rpm-editor</package> for editing RPM specfiles.
zh: Fedora 中也包含了特别对FLOSS hackers有用的插件和特性，用来编辑ChangeLog的 <package>eclipse-changelog</package>；用来同 Bugzilla 交互的 <package>eclipse-mylyn-bugzilla</package>。我们的 CDT 软件包，<package>eclipse-cdt</package>，包括一个与GNU Autotools集成工作的快照版本。还有用来编辑RPM规格的<package>eclipse-rpm-editor</package>。

en: The latest information regarding these projects can be found at the Fedora Eclipse Project page:
zh: 这些项目的最新信息可以在 Fedora Eclipse Project 网页中找到:

en: Non-packaged Plugins and Features
zh: 未打包的插件和特性

en: Fedora Eclipse allows non-root users to make use of the Update Manager functionality for installing non-packaged plugins and features. Such plugins are installed in the user's home directory under the <filename>.eclipse</filename> directory.
zh: Fedora Eclipse允许非 root 用户使用更新管理器(Update Manager)来安装未打包的插件和特性。这些插件将安装到用户的主目录中的<filename>.eclipse</filename>目录下。

en: Upgrading from Fedora 8
zh: 从Fedora 8升级

en: Users upgrading from Fedora 8 should be aware that cached content in their home directory may not be flushed properly (see Eclipse bug <ulink url="https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=215034">#215034</ulink>). To work around this issue, run Eclipse from a terminal with the <option>-clean</option> option. Note: this only needs to be done once.
zh: 从Fedora 8升级的用户应该意识到在他们主目录中的缓存内容可能不能适当地清除 (查看Eclipse的bug<ulink url="https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=215034">#215034</ulink>)。要绕过这个问题，从终端中运行带<option>-clean</option>选项的Eclipse。注意：这只需要做一次。

en: 64-bit Java Runtime Environments and JNI
zh: 64位Java运行环境和JNI

en: Do not try to run Fedora's x86_64 Eclipse packages on Sun's 32-bit JRE. They will fail. Either switch to a 64-bit proprietary JRE, or, if available, install the 32-bit version of the packages. To install a 32-bit version, run the following command (SWT is given as an example):
zh: 不要尝试在Sun的32位JRE上运行Fedora的x86_64 Eclipse软件包。它会失败。要么转换到64位专有JRE，要么如果可以的话安装32位版本的软件包。要安装32位的版本，运行下面命令(以SWT为例)：

en: Likewise, the 32-bit JNI libraries shipped by default on ppc64 systems do not run with a 64-bit JRE. To install the 64-bit version, use the following command:
zh: 同样，ppc64 系统默认的 32 位 JNI 库不能在 64 位 JRE 中运行。要安装 64 位版本，执行下面的命令:

en: package_name
zh: 软件包名称

en: Fedora Desktop
zh: Fedora 桌面

en: This section details changes that affect Fedora graphical desktop users.
zh: 本节详述影响 Fedora 图形桌面用户的改变。

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.22/">GNOME</ulink> 2.22.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.22/">GNOME</ulink> 2.22。

en: The GNOME splash screen has been disabled upstream intentionally. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: GNOME 欢迎屏幕被上游开发者禁止了。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: The lock screen dialog theme is not connected to the selected screensaver in this release. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: 本次发布中，锁定屏幕对话框并未连接到指定的屏幕保护程序。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: Blinking cursors are enabled by default in this release, and are centrally managed via a gconf setting. To turn it off, run the following command:
zh: 这次发布中，插入点（光标）闪烁被默认激活。该配置由一个 gconf 注册表条目来控制。要将之禁用，运行以下命令：

en: GNOME 2.22 features the new Gvfs, a userspace virtual file-system with back-ends for sftp, ftp, dav, smb, obexftp, and others. The Gvfs system is the replacement/successor of <systemitem class="service">gnome-vfs</systemitem>.
zh: GNOME 2.22 提供了全新的 Gvfs，一个用户空间的虚拟文件系统。该系统支持 sftp，ftp，dav，smb，obexftp，以及其他多种协议。Gvfs系统接替了其前身<systemitem class="service">gnome-vfs</systemitem>。

en: Gvfs consists of two parts:
zh: Gvfs 包含两个部分：

en: GIO, which is a new shared library that is part of GLib and provides the API for <systemitem class="service">gvfs</systemitem>
zh: GIO，一个共享库，是 GLib 的一部分，并且为· <systemitem·class="service">gvfs</systemitem> 提供 API。

en: Gvfs itself, a package that contains back-ends for the various file system types and protocols
zh: Gvfs是一个包含多种文件系统类型和协议的工具。

en: The Gvfs system runs a single master daemon, <systemitem class="daemon">gvfsd</systemitem>, that keeps track of the current <systemitem class="service">gvfs</systemitem> mounts. Most mounts are run in a separate daemon process. Clients talk to the mounts with a combination of DBus calls (on the session bus and using peer-to-peer DBus) and a custom protocol for file contents.
zh: Gvfs 系统启动一个单独的服务程序，<systemitem class="daemon">gvfsd</systemitem> 来维护 <systemitem class="service">gvfs</systemitem> 连接。客户通过 DBus调用和一个自定义协议来完成通讯（后者用来传输文件内容）。

en: A few file-system types previously supported by <systemitem class="service">gnome-vfs</systemitem> may not be yet supported by <systemitem class="service">gvfs</systemitem>. Work continues to provide completed solutions for all these types.
zh: 一些过去被<systemitem class="service">gnome-vfs</systemitem> 支持的文件系统，现在可能尚未被<systemitem class="service">gvfs</systemitem>所支持。相应的工作正在紧锣密鼓的进行中。

en: GNOME Display Manager
zh: GNOME 显示管理工具

en: The GNOME Display Manager (<systemitem class="service">gdm</systemitem>) has been updated to the latest upstream code, which is a complete rewrite driven by Fedora developers.
zh: GNOME 显示管理器 (<systemitem class="service">gdm</systemitem>) 被更新到最新的主流版本，该版本是对代码的一次完整重写。该工作由 Fedora 开发人员主导。

en: <ulink url="/wiki/PolicyKit">PolicyKit</ulink> can be used to control shutdown and reboot. The configuration tool <command>gdmsetup</command> is currently missing, and is set to be replaced. For configuration changes, refer to the following:
zh: <ulink url="/wiki/PolicyKit">PolicyKit</ulink> 可以被用来控制系统的关机和重启。由于将要被新的工具替代，配置工具 <command>gdmsetup</command> 没有被提供。参阅以下内容来了解关于配置的变动：

en: New features available on the login screen include:
zh: 登录屏幕中其他的新功能包括:

en: power management and monitoring on the login screen, so the laptop hibernates or shuts down when the battery gets low
zh: 登录屏幕上的电源和监测,·所以笔记本电脑会在电池电量低的时候休眠或关机。

en: smarter user list
zh: 用户列表

en: common default background between the login window and the desktop session, with no intermediate flicker
zh: 在登录窗口和桌面会话之间的公共默认背景，中间不闪烁

en: For more information on this feature:
zh: 这个特点的更多信息：

en: Other notes:
zh: 其它注意：

en: <filename>~/.Xclients</filename> and <filename>~/.xsession</filename> are no longer read automatically at login time. If you use either of these files, install the <package>xorg-x11-xinit-session</package> package.
zh: <filename>~/.Xclients</filename> 和 <filename>~/.xsession</filename> 在登录时不再自动读取。如果你使用了这些文件之一，那么要安装<package>xorg-x11-xinit-session</package>软件包。

en: Due to a bug introduced at the end of the development cycle (<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=445631">bug 445631</ulink>), users will be unable to select their language the first time the login screen appears. Users should log in once, and then logout again to get language selection. Unfortunately, this bug also effects the LiveCD.
zh: 由于在开发周期的最后引入的一个bug(<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=445631">bug 445631</ulink>)，导致用户在第一次登录屏幕出现的时候不能选择语言。用户可以登录一次，然后注销来选择语言。不幸地是这个bug也影响到了LiveCD。

en: The shipped version of GDM does not support old style theme formats, and is considerably plainer than the version shipped in Fedora 8. A priority for Fedora 10 will be greeter aesthetics.
zh: 装载的GDM版本不支持过去的主题风格样式，这比Fedora 8中装载的版本受到相当大的抱怨。Fedora 10的一个优先考虑就是要从审美上更受欢迎。

en: This release features <ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-4.0.3.php">KDE</ulink> 4.0.3. As the <package>kdepim</package> and <package>kdevelop</package> packages are not part of KDE 4.0 and <package>kdewebdev</package> is only partially available (no <application>Quanta</application>) in KDE 4.0, the KDE 3.5.9 versions of those packages are shipped.
zh: 这次发行集成了 <ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-4.0.3.php">KDE</ulink> 4.0.3。由于软件包<package>kdepim</package> 和 <package>kdevelop</package> 不是 KDE 4.0 的一部分，以及<package>kdewebdev</package> 的 KDE 4.0 版本尚为完成，以上软件仍采用 KDE 3.5.9 中的版本。

en: <ulink url="http://www.kde.org/announcements/4.0/">KDE 4.0</ulink> features upgrades to core components such as the port to Qt 4. It also introduces a number of brand new frameworks such as the <application>Phonon</application>, a multimedia API; <application>Solid</application>, a hardware integration framework; <application>Plasma</application>, a re-written desktop and panel with many new concepts; integrated desktop search; compositing as a feature of <application>KWin</application>; and a brand new visual style called Oxygen. <ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-4.0.3.php">KDE 4.0.3</ulink> is a bugfix release from the KDE 4.0 release series.
zh: <ulink url="http://www.kde.org/announcements/4.0/">KDE 4.0</ulink> 提供了对核心组件的重大更新；比如，升级到 QT 4。KDE 4.0 同时也提供了一系列新的框架，比如：一套新的多媒体 API：<application>Phonon</application>，一套硬件整合框架：<application>Solid</application>，一套新的桌面和面板管理工具：<application>Plasma</application>，整合的桌面搜索，<application>KWin</application>中的桌面特效，新的视觉主题 Oxygen。<ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-4.0.3.php">KDE 4.0.3</ulink> 是 KDE 4 系列的一个 错误修正版。

en: Fedora 9 does <application role="strong">not</application> include the legacy KDE 3 Desktop. It does include a compatibility KDE 3 Development Platform, which can be used to build and run KDE 3 applications within KDE 4 or any other desktop environment. Refer to the <application>Backwards Compatibility</application> section for more details about what is included.
zh: Fedora 9 <emphasis>不包含</emphasis> 老的 KDE 3 桌面。但是 Fedora 提供一个兼容 KDE 3的开发环境，以用在 KDE 4 和其他桌面环境下来编译和运行 KDE 3 程序。参阅<application>向前兼容性</application> 部分以获得更多的信息。

en: Since <systemitem class="service">networkmanager</systemitem> does not work with the version of <application>NetworkManager</application> available in this release, the KDE Live images use <systemitem class="service">nm-applet</systemitem> from <package>NetworkManager-gnome</package> as a replacement. The <systemitem class="daemon">gnome-keyring-daemon</systemitem> facility saves passwords for these encryption technologies. (The dummy <package>knetworkmanager</package> package from Fedora 8 that only called <systemitem class="service">nm-applet</systemitem> is no longer used.)
zh: 由于 <systemitem class="service">networkmanager</systemitem> 同这次发行中包括的 <application>NetworkManager</application> 不相容，KDE Live 镜像使用<package>NetworkManager-gnome</package> 中的 <systemitem class="service">nm-applet</systemitem> 来作为替代。注意 <systemitem class="daemon">gnome-keyring-daemon</systemitem> 被用来存储网络密码。(已经不再需要 Fedora 8 中的 <package>knetworkmanager</package>，因为其仅仅安装一个符号链接来调用 <systemitem class="service">nm-applet</systemitem>。)

en: As the native <application>KWin</application> window manager now optionally supports compositing and desktop effects, the KDE Live images no longer include <application>Compiz/Beryl</application>. The <application>KWin</application> compositing/effects mode is disabled by default, but can be enabled in <command>systemsettings</command>. <application>Compiz</application> (with KDE 4 integration) is available from the repository by installing the <package>compiz-kde</package> package.
zh: 由于内置的窗口管理器 <application>KWin</application> 现在可选地支持合成和桌面特效，KDE Live 镜像不再包括 <application>Compiz/Beryl</application>。<application>KWin</application> 中合成/特效模式默认被禁用，但是可以通过 <command>systemsettings</command> 来启用。<application>Compiz</application> (和KDE 4集成)可以通过安装<package>compiz-kde</package>软件包从资源库中获得。

en: Workspace Changes
zh: 工作区的变化

en: <application>Plasma</application> replaces the old <application>Kicker</application> and <application>KDesktop</application>. <application>Plasma</application> manages both the panel and the desktop, and it is now possible to place the same <application>Plasma</application> applets (<application>plasmoids</application>) on both the panel and the desktop if the applet supports the size restrictions imposed by the panel.
zh: <application>Plasma</application> 替换了原来的 <application>Kicker</application> 和 <application>KDesktop</application> 程序。<application>Plasma</application> 同时管理面板和桌面。所以，现在可以将<application>Plasma</application> 小程序放置到桌面和面板上，如果面板可以容得下该小程序。

en: The old KDE Control Center (<application>KControl</application>) has been replaced by <application>System Settings</application> (<command>systemsettings</command>).
zh: 旧的·KDE·控制中心·(<application>KControl</application>)·被·<application>System·Settings</application>·(<command>systemsettings</command>) 替代.

en: The <application>KDM</application> login manager uses a new theme format. Therefore, <application>KDM</application> themes written for KDE 3 do not work with the <application>KDM</application> in KDE 4. <application>KDM</application> now includes support for theme configuration, thus the external <command>kdmtheme</command> tool is no longer needed.
zh: <application>KDM</application> 登录屏幕使用一个新的主题文件格式。因此，KDE 3中的 <application>KDM</application> 主题无法在 KDE 4 中工作。<application>KDM</application> 现在内置了主题配置功能，所以不再需要单独的 <command>kdmtheme</command> 命令。

en: All the above applications can be found in the <package>kdebase-workspace</package> package.
zh: 以上所有应用程序可以在 <package>kdebase-workspace</package> 软件包中找到。

en: Package and Application Changes
zh: 软件包和应用程序的变化

en: The packages <package>qt</package> , <package>kdelibs</package> , and <package>kdebase</package> now represent the KDE 4 version, obsoleting the <package>qt4</package> , <package>kdelibs4</package> , and <package>kdebase4</package> packages in previous releases of Fedora.
zh: 软件包·<package>qt</package>·,·<package>kdelibs</package>·和·<package>kdebase</package>·现在代表 KDE 4 版本,·在以前的 Fedora 版本中以·<package>qt4</package>·,·<package>kdelibs4</package>·和·<package>kdebase4</package>·出现.

en: The Qt/KDE 3 versions have been renamed <package>qt3</package> , <package>kdelibs3</package> , and <package>kdebase3</package> . Fedora 9 only includes parts of <package>kdebase3</package> . Refer to the <application>Backwards Compatibility</application> section for details.
zh: Qt 3 和 KDE 3 被命名为 <package>qt3</package>，<package>kdelibs3</package> 和 <package>kdebase3</package>。 Fedora 9 只包括了 <package>kdebase3</package> 中的一部分。参见 <application>前向兼容性</application> 部分。

en: Upstream KDE has split the <package>kdebase</package> module into three modules: <package>kdebase-runtime</package> , <package>kdebase</package> (sometimes called <package>kdebase-apps</package> to distinguish it from the old monolithic <package>kdebase</package> ), and <package>kdebase-workspace</package> . This split is reflected in the Fedora packages.
zh: 主流 KDE 将 <package>kdebase</package> 模块分为了 3 个部分：<package>kdebase-runtime</package>，<package>kdebase</package> (有时也被称为 <package>kdebase-apps</package>，以示同 <package>kdebase</package> 的区别)，和 <package>kdebase-workspace</package>。 Fedora 中体现了这一变化。

en: Fedora 9 adds a <package>kdegames3</package> package containing the games not yet ported to KDE 4.
zh: Fedora 9 新增了 <package>kdegames3</package> 软件包，提供尚未移植到 KDE 4 环境的 KDE 游戏。

en: <application>Dolphin</application>, which is part of <package>kdebase</package> , replaces <package>d3lphin</package> .
zh: <application>Dolphin</application> 进入了 <package>kdebase</package>，并且替换了原有的<package>d3lphin</package>。

en: The <package>kdebase-workspace</package> package now includes support for <application>KDM</application> theme configuration, and therefore obsoletes <package>kdmtheme</package> .
zh: <package>kdebase-workspace</package> 软件包现在提供对<application>KDM</application> 主题的配置，从而替换了<package>kdmtheme</package>。

en: <application>Okular</application> replaces <application>KPDF</application>, <application>KGhostView</application>, and <application>KFax</application> in <package>kdegraphics</package> .
zh: <application>Okular</application> 替换了 <application>KPDF</application>，<application>KGhostView</application>，和 <package>kdegraphics</package> 中的 <application>KFax</application>。

en: The package <package>kaider</package> replaces <application>KBabel</application>, which used to be part of <package>kdesdk</package> .
zh: <package>kaider</package> 软件包替换了 <application>KBabel</application>。后者曾是 <package>kdesdk</package> 的一部分。

en: The <package>okteta</package> package replaces <application>KHexEdit</application>, which used to be part of <package>kdeutils</package> .
zh: <package>okteta</package> 软件包替换了<application>KHexEdit</application>。后者曾作为 <package>kdeutils</package> 的一部分。

en: The packages <package>kalgebra</package> and <package>marble</package> are now part of <package>kdeedu</package> .
zh: <package>kalgebra</package> 软件包和 <package>marble</package> 现在成为了 <package>kdeedu</package> 软件包的一部分。

en: The <package>ksudoku</package> package is now part of <package>kdegames</package> .
zh: <package>ksudoku</package> 软件包现在是 <package>kdegames</package> 的一部分。

en: The package <package>gwenview</package> is now part of <package>kdegraphics</package> .
zh: <package>gwenview</package> 现在是 <package>kdegraphics</package> 的一部分。

en: The <package>kiconedit</package> and <package>kcoloredit</package> packages, which used to be part of <package>kdegraphics</package> , are now separate packages.
zh: <package>kiconedit</package> 和 <package>kcoloredit</package> 软件包， 已经从 <package>kdegraphics</package> 中独立出来了。

en: The package <package>kmid</package> , which used to be part of <package>kdemultimedia</package> , is now a separate package.
zh: <package>kmid</package> 曾是 <package>kdemultimedia</package> 的一部分，现在已经是一个独立的软件包。

en: The Fedora KDE team has decided to drop the <package>-extras</package> sub-packages, which contained deprecated or unstable applications, because those applications have been either fixed or dropped in KDE 4.
zh: Fedora KDE 团队决定抛弃 <package>-extras</package> 系列子软件包。这些软件包包括很多老的和不稳定的 KDE 应用程序。这些程序有的被 KDE 4所抛弃，生下的则已经被修复。

en: The package <package>kdeadmin-kpackage</package> has been split out of <package>kdeadmin</package> because <application>KPackage</application> now depends on <package>smart</package> .
zh: <package>kdeadmin-kpackage</package> 被从<package>kdeadmin</package> 中分离开来。因为 <application>KPackage</application> 现在依赖于 <package>smart</package>。

en: KDE 4 dropped the <package>kdeaddons</package> module. Therefore, there is no <package>kdeaddons</package> package in Fedora 9. The <application>Atlantik Designer</application>, for use with <package>kdegames3</package> , is still available as <package>kdeaddons-atlantikdesigner</package>. The <package>ksig</package> application and the <package>konq-plugins</package> Konqueror plugins are now their own packages, and <package>extragear-plasma</package> replaces the Kicker addons.
zh: KDE 4 去除了 <package>kdeaddons</package> 模块。因此 Fedora 9 中没有 <package>kdeaddons</package> 软件包。为了支持 <package>kdegames3</package>， <application>Atlantik Designer</application> 仍然可用，但是软件包名为 <package>kdeaddons-atlantikdesigner</package>。<package>ksig</package> 程序和 Konqueror 插件 <package>konq-plugins</package> 现在在独立的软件包中发布。<package>extragear-plasma</package> 替换了 Kicker 插件。

en: PackageKit is the new, default distribution-neutral package management framework and frontend. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PackageKit"/> for further details.
zh: PackageKit是一个新的默认发行中立的软件包管理框架和前端。更多信息请参考<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PackageKit"/>。

en: Bluetooth
zh: 蓝牙

en: The Bluetooth feature in Fedora 9 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/BluetoothFedora9">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/BluetoothFedora9</ulink>) has several enhancements specific to this release. The future generations of this feature are covered with greater detail at:
zh: Fedora·9 中的蓝牙·(<ulink·url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/BluetoothFedora9">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/BluetoothFedora9</ulink>)·有一些在这个版本中特有的增强特性。这个特征的未来功能会包含以下特点：

en: File sending to a Bluetooth device is now handled with the <command>bluetooth-sendto</command> program from the <package>bluez-gnome</package> package, which replaces <command>gnome-obex-sen</command>. Send a file in <application>Nautilus</application> from the <guimenuitem>Send to...</guimenuitem> function in the right-click context menu.
zh: 发送到蓝牙设备的文件现在由 <package>bluez-gnome</package> 中的 <command>bluetooth-sendto</command> 程序来处理。这个程序替换了<command>gnome-obex-sen</command>。在<application>Nautilus</application> 的<guimenuitem>发送到...</guimenuitem> 上下文菜单中，添加了相应的条目。

en: Pulling files from a Bluetooth device is now included in <package>gnome-user-share</package> , which has ObexFTP and <ulink url="/wiki/ObexPush">ObexPush</ulink> support built-in. Share files via <guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>Internet and Network</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>Personal File Sharing</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Share Public files over Bluetooth</guimenuitem> (ObexFTP support), or pull files using <ulink url="/wiki/ObexPush">ObexPush</ulink> with <guimenu>Personal</guimenu><guisubmenu>File Sharing</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Receive files in Downloads folder over Bluetooth</guimenuitem>.
zh: 从蓝牙设备中下载文件，可以使用<package>gnome-user-share</package> 软件。该软件提供对 ObexFTP 和 <ulink url="/wiki/ObexPush">ObexPush</ulink> 的支持。要共享文件：<guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>Internet 和网络</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>个人文件共享</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>通过 Bluetooth 蓝牙共享文件 </guimenuitem>。或者使用 <ulink url="/wiki/ObexPush">ObexPush</ulink> 来下载文件：<guimenu>个人</guimenu><guisubmenu>文件共享</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>通过蓝牙接收文件</guimenuitem>。

en: Files on the remote Bluetooth device can be viewed directly in <application>Nautilus</application> through GVFS, which supports Bluetooth devices. Synchronizing a Bluetooth device with a personal information manager (PIM) device is done using <command>gnome-pilot</command>
zh: 远程蓝牙设备上的文件可以经由 GVFS 被 <application>Nautilus</application> 直接存取。同蓝牙设备同步个人信息(PIM)可以使用 <command>gnome-pilot</command>。

en: Browsing of Bluetooth devices is done via the right-click context menu from the Bluetooth icon on the desktop panel.
zh: 通过在桌面面板上右键单机蓝牙图标，可以浏览蓝牙设备。

en: Applications that require the <application>Gecko</application> engine have had to depend on the entirety of <application>Firefox</application>. <application>XULRunner</application> is the Mozilla effort to split the browser engine for applications that require only that functionality, and no user interface parts. This split provides more API/ABI stability and a cleaner build environment for applications using <application>Gecko</application>. Many of the applications in Fedora that previously used <application>Gecko</application> now are built against <application>XULRunner</application>.
zh: 过去基于 <application>Gecko</application> 引擎的程序需要 <application>Gecko</application> 才能正常运行。现在，由于 Mozilla 的不断努力，浏览器引擎已经从用户界面部分分离出来，成为 <application>XULRunner</application>。这样的结构提供更好的 API/ABI 稳定性，并且简化了编译基于 <application>Gecko</application> 的程序的过程。很多过去使用 <application>Gecko</application> 的 Fedora 程序现在都已经基于 <application>XULRunner</application。

en: For a current status, visit <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XULRunner">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XULRunner</ulink>. To help with development, visit <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureXULRunnerAPIChanges">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureXULRunnerAPIChanges</ulink>.
zh: 要了解当前的状态，点击连接 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XULRunner">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/XULRunner</ulink>。 要参与到开发中来，点击连接 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureXULRunnerAPIChanges">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureXULRunnerAPIChanges</ulink>。

en: For full upstream documentation, refer to <ulink url="http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/XULRunner">http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/XULRunner</ulink>.
zh: 要获得完整的主流文档，参见 <ulink url="http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/XULRunner">http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/XULRunner</ulink>.

en: Web Browsers
zh: Web 浏览器

en: This release of Fedora includes version 3.0 (beta 5) of the popular <application>Firefox</application> web browser. Refer to <ulink url="http://firefox.com/">http://firefox.com/</ulink> for more information about Firefox. The <package>nspluginwrapper</package> package is included by default even on 32-bit systems since it separates the plug-ins to run in their own address space, which increases security and reliability of the browser.
zh: Fedora的这次发行包含了当前流行的<application>Firefox</application>网页浏览器的3.0 (beta 5)版本，更多关于Firefox的信息请参阅<ulink url="http://firefox.com/">http://firefox.com/</ulink>。<package>nspluginwrapper</package> 软件包在 32 位系统上也被默认安装，因为它使插件在独立的地址空间中运行，所有增加了浏览器的安全性和稳定性。

en: For information about <application>Firefox</application> in Fedora, refer to this feature page:
zh: 要获得 Fedora 中 <application>Firefox</application> 的信息，参阅以下页面：

en: <package>nspluginwrapper</package> is now installed by default, which makes web browser plug-ins run in a separate memory address. This increases browser stability, as plug-in crashes will not affect the web browser itself. As well, this increases security, as Fedora 9 has optional SELinux policies to sandbox plug-ins, to decrease the impact of security issues.
zh: <package>nspluginwrapper</package>现在默认安装，它使浏览器插件运行在单独的地址空间里。这增强了浏览器的稳定性，因为插件的崩溃不会影响到浏览器自身。这也增强了安全性，因为Fedora 9有可选的SELinux策略使插件在沙箱内运行以减少安全问题的影响。

en: Enabling Flash Plugin
zh: 启用 Flash 插件

en: Fedora includes <package>swfdec</package> and <package>gnash</package>, which are free and open source implementations of Flash. We encourage you to try either of them before seeking out Adobe's proprietary Flash Player plug-in software. The Adobe Flash Player plug-in uses a legacy sound framework that does not work correctly without additional support. Run the following command to enable this support:
zh: Fedora 包含自由和开源版本的 Flash 实现，<package>swfdec</package>和<package>gnash</package>。我们鼓励您在寻求 Adobe 的专有 Flash 播放器插件前，先试用他们中的任何一个。Adobe Flash播放器插件使用了遗留的声音框架，如果没有额外的支持它将不能正确的工作。运行下面的命令来启用这个支持：

en: Users of Fedora x86_64 must install the <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package> package to enable the 32-bit Adobe Flash Player plug-in in Firefox, and the <package>libflashsupport.i386</package> package to enable sound from the plug-in.
zh: Fedora x86_64 用户必须安装 <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package> 软件包，使<application>Firefox</application> 中启用 32 位的 Adobe Flash 插件，并安装 <package>libflashsupport.i386</package> 软件包，以使插件启用音效。

en: Create the 32bit mozilla plugin directory:
zh: 要创建 32 位的 mozilla 插件目录，使用以下命令：

en: Install the <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package> , <package>nspluginwrapper.x86_64</package> , and <package>libflashsupport.i386</package> packages:
zh: 安装 <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package>, <package>nspluginwrapper.x86_64</package>, 和 <package>libflashsupport.i386</package> 软件包：

en: Install <package>flash-plugin</package> as shown above.
zh: 按照上面的步骤安装 <package>flash-plugin</package>。

en: Run <command>mozilla-plugin-config</command> to register the flash plugin:
zh: 运行 <command>mozilla-plugin-config</command> 来注册 flash 插件：

en: Close all <application>Firefox</application> windows, and then relaunch <application>Firefox</application>.
zh: 关闭所有 <application>Firefox</application> 窗口，重新运行 <application>Firefox</application>。

en: Type <userinput>about:plugins</userinput> in the URL bar to ensure the plugin is loaded.
zh: 在地址栏输入 <userinput>about:plugins</userinput>，查看插件是否已被加载。

en: Mail Clients
zh: 邮件客户端

en: The <package>mail-notification</package> package has been split. The <application>Evolution</application> plug-in is now in a separate package, <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>. When the <package>mail-notification</package> package is updated, this plug-in is added automatically.
zh: 软件包 <package>mail-notification</package> 被拆分。<application>Evolution</application> 插件位于单独的软件包中，称为 <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>。升级 <package>mail-notification</package> 软件包时，会自动添加它。

en: Fedora 9 includes <application>Mozilla Thunderbird</application> version 2.0, which has numerous performance improvements, folder viewing enhancements, and enhanced mail notification support. For further details, refer to the Mozilla Thunderbird 2.0 release notes:
zh: Fedora 9包含 <application>Thunderbird</application> 2.0版本，它包括许多性能提升，文件夹视图改进以及更好的邮件通知。更多信息，请参考Mozilla Thunderbird 2.0 发行注记：

en: Disabling PC Speaker
zh: 禁用 PC 机扬声器

en: PC speaker is enabled by default in Fedora. If you do not prefer this, there are two ways to circumvent the sounds:
zh: 在 Fedora 中，PC 扬声器默认被启动。如果你不喜欢该扬声器的声音，有两种办法来禁用之：

en: Reduce its volume to a acceptable level or completely mute the PC speaker in <command>alsamixer</command> with the setting for <guimenuitem>PC Speak</guimenuitem>.
zh: 在 <command>alsamixer</command> 中 <guimenuitem>PC 扬声器</guimenuitem>条目里可以减小该扬声器的音量，或者将之设置为静音。

en: Disable the PC speaker system wide by running the following commands in a console.
zh: 要在系统范围内禁用 PC 扬声器，可以运行以下命令。

en: International Clock Applet
zh: 世界时钟小程序

en: The new clock applet in the GNOME panel has expanded to support additional international timezones in the display, as well as weather information for each configured timezone displayed. This work, which involved merging <command>intlclock</command> with the GNOME clock applet, provides all the functionality of <command>system-config-date</command> and the weather applet. Additional features include: users can choose arbtirary locations instead of principal timezones; UI enhancements for new and old functions; and full weather information shown in a tool tip.
zh: GNOME 面板中的时钟程序被增强。现在可以同时显示多个时区的始终，以及每个时区的天气信息。这项工作将 <command>intlclock</command>， <command>system-config-time</command>和天气小程序中的大量功能整合到 GNOME 时钟小程序中。附加的功能包括：用户可以任意选择除了预定时区之外的位置，用户界面的到改善，在浮动信息中显示完整的天气信息等。

en: Read more about this feature:
zh: 获取更多信息：

en: Dictionaries Consolidated
zh: 字典整合

en: There is a new default spell checking back-end, <command>hunspell</command>, for both the GNOME and KDE desktops, as well as applications such as <application>OpenOffice.org</application>, <application>Firefox</application>, and other <application>XULRunner</application>-based applications. This common back-end includes a set of shared, multi-lingual dictionaries for use with <command>hunspell</command>. This feature uses a single set of common dictionaries regardless of the application, which gives consistent suggestions for misspelled words and uses less diskspace by eliminating duplicate dictionaries.
zh: <command>hunspell</command>，一个新的拼写检查支持程序，被整合到 GNOME 和 KDE 桌面环境，<application>OpenOffice.org</application>，<application>Firefox</application>，和其他基于 <application>XULRunner</application> 的程序中。这个公用支持程序包括可由<command>hunspell</command> 使用的一套共用的多语言字典。多个应用程序使用单独的一套字典可以提供一致的拼写检查，并且占用更少的磁盘空间。

en: Details on this effort are here:
zh: 详情如下：

en: Compiz
zh: Compiz 桌面特效

en: Fedora 9 ships with Compiz 0.7.2, which improves multi-display support, adds KDE4 support, adds a configurable middle and right-click button, and mouse wheel actions for GTK Window Decorator. Compiz 0.7.2 adds many improvements and bug fixes.
zh: Fedora·9·发行包括·Compiz·0.7.2,·它改进了多显示支持，添加 KDE4 支持，增加对 GTK Window 显示的鼠标中键、右键以及滚轮的配置。同时 Compiz·0.7.2 增添了很多改进并且对一些 bug 进行了修复。

en: For further details, refer to the Compiz 0.7.2 release announcement:
zh: 需要更多详情，请参考 Compiz·0.7.2 发行声明：

en: vmmouse Driver
zh: vmmouse 驱动程序

en: Due to a bug in the shipping <package>xorg-x11-drv-vmmouse</package> driver, the mouse position may not be correctly positioned on a virtual machine guest's display. As a workaround until an update, add <option>Option NoAutoAddDevices</option> to the <option>ServerFlags</option> section of <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> in the guest machine. Create the section if necessary:
zh: 由于在装载<package>xorg-x11-drv-vmmouse</package>驱动时的一个bug，在客户虚拟机的显示中，鼠标位置可能不正确。直到被更新前，在客户机中添加<option>Option NoAutoAddDevices</option>到<filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename>文件的<option>ServerFlags</option>节中。如果需要，创建这个节：

en: Database Servers
zh: 数据库服务器

en: Fedora now provides MySQL 5.0.51.a. For a list of the enhancements provided by this version, refer to <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-nutshell.html"/>.
zh: Fedora 提供了 MySQL 5.0.51.a。这一版各种增强的列表请参考 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-nutshell.html"/>。

en: For more information on upgrading databases from previous releases of MySQL, refer to the MySQL website at <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>.
zh: 从过去版本的 MySQL 数据库升级，请参考 <application>MySQL</application> 网站文档 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>。

en: DBD Driver
zh: DBD 驱动

en: The MySQL DBD driver has been dual-licensed and the related licensing issues have been resolved (<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=222237"/>). The resulting <package>apr-util-mysql</package> package is now included in the Fedora software repositories.
zh: MySQL DBD驱动已经有双重许可证，监听相关的问题也已经解决。(<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=222237"/>)。<package>apr-util-mysql</package>软件包现在包含在 Fedora 软件仓库中。

en: This release of Fedora includes PostgreSQL 8.3.0. For more information on this new version, refer to <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.3/static/release-8-3.html"/>.
zh: 这一版的 Fedora 包含 PostgreSQL 8.3.0。关于这个新版本的更多信息，请参考 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.3/static/release-8-3.html"/>。

en: Upgrading Databases
zh: 升级数据库

en: Before upgrading an existing Fedora system with a PostgreSQL database, check and then follow, if necessary, the procedure described at <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.3/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/>. Otherwise the data may be not accessible by the new version of PostgreSQL.
zh: 升级包含 PostgreSQL 数据库的 Fedora 前，必须按照 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.3/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/> 所描述的过程。否则新版的PostgreSQL可能无法使用原有的数据。

en: Colophon
zh: 文档题署

en: As we use the term, a <emphasis>colophon</emphasis>:
zh: 我们使用 colophon (题署)这个词的含义在于:

en: recognizes contributors and provides accountability, and
zh: 承认贡献者的努力，同时提供负责制度，以及

en: explains tools and production methods.
zh: 解释工具及创建过程。

en: Contributors
zh: 贡献者

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BobJensen">Bob Jensen</ulink> (beat writer)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BobJensen">Bob Jensen</ulink>(beat writer)

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NikosCharonitakis">Nikos Charonitakis</ulink> (translator - Greek)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NikosCharonitakis">Nikos Charonitakis</ulink> (translator - Greek

en: ... and many more translators. Refer to the Web-updated version of these release notes as we add translators after release:
zh: ... 以及大量的翻译人员。请参考发行注记的网络更新版本，发布后将包含译者名单。

en: Production Methods
zh: 工作方式

en: Beat writers produce the release notes directly on the Fedora Project Wiki. They collaborate with other subject matter experts during the test release phase of Fedora to explain important changes and enhancements. The editorial team ensures consistency and quality of the finished beats, and ports the Wiki material to DocBook XML in a revision control repository. At this point, the team of translators produces other language versions of the release notes, and then they become available to the general public as part of Fedora. The publication team also makes them, and subsequent errata, available via the Web.
zh: 区块作者直接在 Fedora 项目的 Wiki 中撰写发行注记。他们在 Fedora 测试过程中与其他同主题的专家合作，解释重要的变化和增强。编辑团队保证最终文档的一致性以及品质，然后将 Wiki 内容导出为 DocBook XML，存入版本控制仓库。其后，在翻译团队帮助下，生成其他版本的发行注记，将它们作为 Fedora 的一部分被公众获得。发布团队也生成它们以及后续的修正版本，供网络访问之用。

en: Backwards Compatibility
zh: 向后兼容

en: Fedora provides legacy system libraries for compatibility with older software. This software is part of the <guilabel>Legacy Software Development</guilabel> group, which is not installed by default. Users who require this functionality may select this group either during installation or after the installation process is complete. To install the package group on a Fedora system, use <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice> or enter the following command in a terminal window:
zh: Fedora 包含兼容旧软件包的过时系统库。这些软件属于<guilabel>Legacy Software Development</guilabel>组。默认情况下，它们不被安装。需要这些功能的用户，可以在初始安装时选择这个组，或者以后再添加。要在Fedora系统上安装一个软件组，使用 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除程序</guimenuitem></menuchoice> (<application>Pirut</application>)，或者在终端下执行下面的命令:

en: Enter the password for the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> account when prompted.
zh: 提示时输入 <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 密码。

en: Compiler Compatibility
zh: 编译器兼容性

en: The <package>compat-gcc-34</package> package has been included for compatibility reasons:
zh: 软件包 <package>compat-gcc-34</package> 包含在内，以处理兼容性问题:

en: KDE 3 Development Platform / Libraries
zh: KDE 3 开发平台

en: Fedora now features KDE 4.0, and no longer offers KDE 3 as a full desktop environment. Fedora does provide the following KDE 3.5 library packages to run and build the many existing KDE 3 applications:
zh: Fedora 现在提供 KDE 4.0，并且不再提供完整的 KDE 3 桌面环境。但是，Fedora 提供以下 KDE 3.5 运行库软件包来确保编译和运行大多数的 KDE 3 应用程序：

en: <package>qt3</package> , <package>qt3-devel</package> (and other <package>qt3-*</package> packages): Qt 3.3.8b
zh: <package>qt3</package> , <package>qt3-devel</package> (和其他)<package>qt3-*</package> packages): Qt 3.3.8b

en: <package>kdelibs3</package> , <package>kdelibs3-devel</package> : KDE 3 libraries
zh: <package>kdelibs3</package> , <package>kdelibs3-devel</package> : KDE 3 运行库

en: <package>kdebase3</package> , <package>kdebase3-devel</package> : KDE 3 core files required by some applications
zh: <package>kdebase3</package>， <package>kdebase3-devel</package>： 提供默写程序需要的 KDE 3 核心运行库。

en: In addition, Fedora offers a <package>kdegames3</package> package that includes games not ported to KDE 4 yet, and a KDE 3 version of <package>libkdegames</package> required by some third-party KDE 3 games.
zh: 另外，Fedora 在 <package>kdegames3</package> 软件包中提供尚未移植到 KDE 4 中的游戏。其他一些第三方 KDE 3 游戏也许需要 <package>libkdegames</package>才能正常运行。

en: Moreover, the KDE 4 <package>kdebase-runtime</package> package, which provides <package>khelpcenter</package> , also sets up <package>khelpcenter</package> as a service for KDE 3 applications, so help in KDE 3 applications works. The KDE 3 version of <package>khelpcenter</package> is no longer provided, and the KDE 4 version is used instead.
zh: 还有，KDE 4 <package>kdebase-runtime</package> 软件包中的 <package>khelpcenter</package>，会将 KDE 3 的默认帮助程序设置成自己。KDE 3 版本的<package>khelpcenter</package> 将不被提供。

en: These packages are designed to:
zh: 这些软件包被设计用来：

en: comply with the Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS), and
zh: 满足文件系统层次结构标准(FHS)，以及

en: be completely safe to install in parallel with KDE 4, including the <package>-devel</package> packages.
zh: 安全地与 KDE 4 并行安装，包括 <package>-devel</package> 软件包。

en: In order to achieve this goal, Fedora KDE SIG members have made two changes to the KDE 4 <package>kdelibs-devel</package> packages:
zh: 为达到这个目标，Fedora KDE SIG 成员向 KDE 4 <package>-devel</package> 软件包做出如下修改：

en: The library symlinks are installed to <filename>/usr/lib/kde4/devel</filename> or <filename>/usr/lib64/kde4/devel</filename> depending on system architecture.
zh: 库符号链接被安装到 <filename>/usr/lib/kde4/devel</filename> 或 <filename>/usr/lib64/kde4/devel</filename>，取决于系统体系。

en: The <command>kconfig_compiler</command> and <command>makekdewidgets</command> tools have been renamed <command>kconfig_compiler4</command> and <command>makekdewidgets4</command> , respectively.
zh: 工具 <command>kconfig_compiler</command> 和 <command>makekdewidgets</command> 被更名为 <command>kconfig_compiler4</command> 和 <command>makekdewidgets4</command>。

en: These changes should be completely transparent to the vast majority of KDE 4 applications that use <command>cmake</command> to build, since <filename>FindKDE4Internal.cmake</filename> has been patched to match these changes. The KDE SIG made these changes to the KDE 4 <package>kdelibs-devel</package> rather than to <package>kdelibs3-devel</package> because KDE 4 stores these locations in a central place, whereas KDE 3 applications usually contain hardcoded copies of the library search paths and executable names.
zh: 大多数使用 <command>cmake</command> 的 KDE 4 应用程序应该都无法察觉这些变化，因为已经在<filename>FindKDE4Internal.cmake</filename> 中进行了相应的修改。KDE SIG 仅对 KDE 4 <package>kdelibs-devel</package> 进行了修改，而没有修改 <package>kdelibs3-devel</package>，因为 KDE 4讲这些位置存储在一起，而 KDE 3 程序通常内置固定的查找路径。

en: Note that <package>kdebase3</package> does <emphasis role="strong">not</emphasis> include the following:
zh: 注意 <package>kdebase3</package> <emphasis·role="strong">没有</emphasis>包括以下应用程序：

en: A complete KDE 3 desktop (workspace) which could be used instead of KDE 4; in particular, KDE 3 versions of KWin, KDesktop, Kicker, KSplash and KControl are <emphasis role="strong">not</emphasis> included.
zh: 一个可以替代 KDE 4 的完整的 KDE 3 桌面（工作空间）；特别的，KDE 3 版本中的 KWin、KDesktop、Kicker、KSplash 和 KControl <emphasis·role="strong">没有</emphasis>包含在里面。

en: The KDE 3 versions of <package>kdebase</package> applications such as Konqueror and KWrite, which are redundant with the KDE 4 versions and would conflict with them.
zh: KDE·3·版本中的 <package>kdebase</package>·程序，如：Konqueror·和·KWrite,·在 KDE 4 版本中是多余的，可能会发生冲突。

en: The <package>libkdecorations</package> library required for KWin 3 window decorations, as those window decorations cannot be used in the KDE 4 version of KWin.
zh: <package>libkdecorations</package>·库需要 KWin·3·window 修饰，是因为那些窗口的显示不能在·KDE·4·版本的 KWin 上使用。

en: The <package>libkickermain</package> library required by some Kicker applets, as there is no Kicker in Fedora 9 and thus Kicker applets cannot be used.
zh: <package>libkickermain</package>·可能被一些·Kicker·小程序使用, 由于 Fedora 9 中没有 Kicker，所以 Kicker 小程序不能使用。

en: Developing against the legacy API is discouraged
zh: 不鼓励基于过时的 API 来进行程序开发。

en: As with any backwards-compatibility library, developing new software against the legacy API is discouraged.
zh: 考虑到向后兼容性，不鼓励开发与旧式 API 冲突的新的软件。

en: Architecture Specific Notes
zh: 关于特定硬件平台的注记

en: This section provides notes that are specific to the supported hardware architectures of Fedora.
zh: 本节包含在特定硬件平台上运行 Fedora 所需要的信息。

en: RPM multiarch support on 64-bit platforms (x86_64, ppc64)
zh: 64 位平台下(x86_64, ppc64) RPM 多体系支持

en: <application>RPM</application> supports parallel installation of multiple architectures of the same package. A default package listing such as <command>rpm -qa</command> might appear to include duplicate packages, since the architecture is not displayed. Instead, use the <command>repoquery</command> command, part of the <package>yum-utils</package> package, which displays architecture by default. To install <package>yum-utils</package> , run the following command:
zh: <application>RPM</application> 支持同时安装一个软件包位于多种平台的版本。运行 <command>rpm -qa</command> 列出软件包时可能包含重复的软件包，因为平台信息没有被列出。要获得包含平台信息的软件包列表，使用 <package>yum-utils</package> 软件包 中的 <command>repoquery</command> 命令。要安装 <package>yum-utils</package>，运行以下命令:

en: To list all packages with their architecture using <command>rpm</command>, run the following command:
zh: 要用 <code>rpm</code> 列出所有软件包以及其体系，运行命令:

en: You can add this to <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (for a system wide setting) or <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (for a per-user setting). It changes the default query to list the architecture:
zh: 您可以将它添加到 <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (系统范围的设置)或 <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (用户各自的设置)。它改变默认的查询方式，以列出体系:

en: PPC Specifics for Fedora
zh: 在 Power PC ( PPC ) 平台上运行 Fedora

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the PPC hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 在 PPC 硬件平台上运行 Fedora 所需的信息。

en: Hardware Requirements for PPC
zh: PPC 硬件需求

en: Processor and memory
zh: 处理器及内存

en: Minimum CPU: PowerPC G3 / POWER3.
zh: 最低 CPU 配置: PowerPC G3 / POWER3

en: Fedora 9 supports only the "New World" generation of Apple Power Macintosh, shipped from circa 1999 onward. Although "Old World" machines should work, they require a special bootloader which is not included in the Fedora distribution.
zh: Fedora 9 只支持 Apple 在 1999 左右及其后发布的 “新生代”  Power Macintosh。虽然原则上讲， “旧生代” 主机也可正常工作，但是针对其的引导程序没有包括在 Fedora 发行版中。

en: Fedora 9 supports IBM RS/6000, pSeries, iSeries, and Cell Broadband Engine machines.
zh: Fedora 9 也支持 IBM pSeries, IBM iSeries, IBM RS/6000, 和 IBM Cell Broadband Engine 机型。

en: Fedora 9 also supports the Sony PlayStation 3 and Genesi Pegasos II and Efika.
zh: Fedora 9 也支持 Sony 的 PlayStation 3 和 Genesi Pegasos II，以及 Efika。

en: Fedora 9 includes new hardware support for the P.A. Semiconductor 'Electra' machines.
zh: Fedora 9 包含了对 P.A. 半导体生产的 “Electra” 机型的支持。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 233 MHz G3 or better, 128MiB RAM.
zh: 推荐配置 (文本模式): 233MHz G3 或更佳，128MiB 内存。

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz G3 or better, 256MiB RAM.
zh: 推荐配置 (图形模式): 400MHz G3 或更佳，256MiB 内存。

en: Hard disk space
zh: 硬盘空间需求

en: The complete packages can occupy over 9 GB of disk space. Final size is entirely determined by the installing spin and the packages selected during installation. Additional disk space is required during installation to support the installation environment. This additional disk space corresponds to the size of <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> (on Installation Disc 1) plus the size of the files in <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> on the installed system.
zh: 安装全部软件包会占用 9 GB 的磁盘空间。实际需要的空间取决于具体的发布集 (Spin) 以及选择的软件包。安装过程中，安装程序还会分配附加的磁盘空间。该部分空间的大小相当于位于第一张安装盘中的 <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> 的大小及 <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> 的大小的和。

en: In practical terms, additional space requirements may range from as little as 90 MiB for a minimal installation to as much as an additional 175 MiB for a larger installation.
zh: 具体的讲，最小安装需要 90MiB 附加的空间，而完全安装需要 175MiB 附加的空间。

en: Additional space is also required for any user data, and at least 5% free space should be maintained for proper system operation.
zh: 除此之外，还需要额外的存储空间存放用户数据。还应保留至少 5% 空闲空间为系统正常运作所用。

en: 4 KiB Pages on 64-bit machines
zh: 64位机上的4 KiB 页面文件

en: After a brief experiment with 64KiB pages in Fedora Core 6, the PowerPC64 kernel has now been switched back to 4KiB pages. The installer should reformat any swap partitions automatically during an upgrade.
zh: 虽然 Fedora Core 6 上对 64KiB 页面支持进行了实验性支持，但是现在 PowerPC 64 内核仍然使用 4KiB 页面。升级过程中，安装程序会自动重新格式化所有的交换分区。

en: The Apple keyboard
zh:  Apple 键盘

en: The <keycap>Option</keycap> key on Apple systems is equivalent to the <keycap>Alt</keycap> key on the PC. Where documentation and the installer refer to the <keycap>Alt</keycap> key, use the <keycap>Option</keycap> key. For some key combinations you may need to use the <keycap>Option</keycap> key in conjunction with the <keycap>Fn</keycap> key, such as <keycombo><keycap>Option</keycap><keycap>Fn</keycap><keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> to switch to virtual terminal tty3.
zh: Apple 系统中的 <keycap>Option</keycap> 键相当于 PC 中的 <keycap>Alt</keycap>键。安装过程中提到 <keycap>Alt</keycap> 键时，使用 <keycap>Option</keycap> 代替。有些组合键需要同时按下 <keycap>Option</keycap> 键与 <keycap>Fn</keycap> 键，例如 <keycombo><keycap>Option</keycap>
    	  <keycap>Fn</keycap>
    	  <keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> 可以切换到虚拟终端 tty3。

en: PPC installation notes
zh: PPC 安装注记

en: Fedora Installation Disc 1 is bootable on supported hardware. In addition, a bootable CD image appears in the <filename class="directory">images/</filename> directory of this disc. These images behave differently according to your system hardware:
zh: Fedora 安装盘 1 是可以在所支持的硬件平台上启动的。另外，可以在 CD 的 <filename class="directory">images/</filename> 目录找到一份可启动的 CD 镜像。硬件不同，它们的行为也不同:

en: On most machines, the bootloader automatically boots the appropriate 32-bit or 64-bit installer from the install disc.
zh: 在大多数主机上，引导器会自动启动正确的 32 位或 64 位安装程序。

en: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), current iSeries models
zh: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), 新近的 iSeries 机型

en: After using OpenFirmware to boot the CD, the bootloader, <command>yaboot</command>, automatically boots the 64-bit installer.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 引导 CD 后，引导管理器 (<command>yaboot</command>) 自动运行 64 位的安装程序。

en: So-called "Legacy" iSeries models, which do not use OpenFirmware, require use of the boot image located in the <filename class="directory">images/iSeries</filename> directory of the installation tree.
zh: 被称为 "Legacy" 的 iSeries 不使用 OpenFirmware。应当使用安装树的 <filename class="directory">images/iSeries</filename> 目录中的引导镜像。

en: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 and others)
zh: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 及其他)

en: After using OpenFirmware to boot the CD, select the <filename>linux32</filename> boot image at the <prompt>boot:</prompt> prompt to start the 32-bit installer. Otherwise, the 64-bit installer starts and fails.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 启动 CD 后，在 <prompt>boot:</prompt> 提示符下选择 <filename>linux32</filename> 镜像，引导 32 位的安装程序。否则，64 位安装程序会自动引导，而它无法运行。

en: The Fedora kernel supports both Pegasos and Efika without the need to use the "Device Tree Supplement" from powerdeveloper.org. However, the lack of full support for ISO9660 in the firmware means that booting via yaboot from the CD is not possible. Boot the 'netboot' image instead, either from the CD or over the network. Because of the size of the image, you must set the firmware's <option>load-base</option> variable to load files at a high address such as 32MiB instead of the default 4MiB:
zh: Fedora·内核同时支持 Pegasos 和 Efika，不必使用来自 powerdeveloper.org 的 "Device·Tree·Supplement".·然而缺乏 ISO9660 在固件中的完全支持意味着从 CD 上通过 yaboot 启动是不可能的。·使用 'netboot' 启动,·要么从 CD上启动，要么从网络启动。由于 image 文件的大小，你必须把固件的 <option>load-base</option> 选项上载入文件的变量设置为更高的地址，如 32MiB，而不是缺省的 4MiB。

en: At the OpenFirmware prompt, enter the following command to boot the Efika update, if necessary, or the netboot image from the CD:
zh: 在 OpenFirmware 提示符下，输入以下命令来启动 Efika 更新。如果需要，使用 CD 中的网络启动镜像:

en: Or from the network:
zh: 或者从网络上：

en: You must also manually configure OpenFirmware to make the installed Fedora system bootable. To do this, set the <option>boot-device</option> and <option>boot-file</option> environment variables appropriately, to load yaboot from the <filename>/boot</filename> partition. For example, a default installation might require the following:
zh: 您还需要手动配置 OpenFirmware 来使得装好的 Fedora 系统可以启动。您需要设置 <envar>boot-device</envar> 和 <envar>boot-file</envar> 环境变量为<filename>/boot</filename>分区中的 yaboot。比如，一个默认安装结束后，可能需要进行如下设置:

en: The Electra firmware does not yet support yaboot; to install on Electra, you can boot the <filename>ppc64.img</filename> netboot image. After the installation, you will need to manually configure the firmware to load the installed kernel and initrd from the <filename>/boot</filename> partition. Refer to the firmware documentation for further details.
zh: Electra 的固件不支持 yaboot。要在 Electra 上安装 Fedora，可以引导网络启动镜像 <filename>ppc64.img</filename>。安装之后，需要手工配置固件以从 <filename>/boot</filename> 分区加载内核和 initrd。参见 Electra 固件手册。

en: For installation on PlayStation 3, first update to firmware 1.60 or later. The "Other OS" boot loader must be installed into the flash, following the instructions at <ulink url="http://www.playstation.com/ps3-openplatform/manual.html"/>. A suitable boot loader image can be found on Sony's "ADDON" CD, available from <ulink url="ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/geoff/cell/"/>.
zh: 要在 PlayStation·3 上安装,·请升级固件版本至 1.60 或更高.·"Other·OS" 引导必须安装在 flash 上,·请见说明·<ulink·url="http://www.playstation.com/ps3-openplatform/manual.html"/>.·合适的引导镜像文件可以在 Sony 的·"ADDON"·CD 上找到,·在这里 <ulink·url="ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/geoff/cell/"/> 也有.

en: Once the boot loader is installed, the PlayStation 3 should be able to boot from the Fedora install media. Please note that network installation works best with NFS, since that takes less memory than FTP or HTTP methods. Using the <command>text</command> option also reduces the amount of memory taken by the installer.
zh: 一旦启动引导工具装入，PlayStation3 则应该可以从 Fedora 安装介质上启动。请注意：用 NFS 进行网络安装会更好，因为它比 FTP 和 HTTP 方式使用更少的内存。用<command>text</command> 选项会更加降低安装使用的内存大小.

en: For more information on Fedora and the PlayStation3 or Fedora on PowerPC in general, join the <ulink url="http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/fedora-ppc">Fedora-PPC mailing list</ulink> or the <systemitem class="resource">#fedora-ppc</systemitem> channel on <ulink url="http://freenode.net/">FreeNode</ulink>.
zh: 需要更多关于 Fedora 与 PlayStation3、或者 PowerPC 上的 Fedora 的一般信息，请加入<ulink url="http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/fedora-ppc">Fedora-PPC mailing list</ulink> 或者在·<ulink·url="http://freenode.net/">FreeNode</ulink>中的<systemitem·class="resource">#fedora-ppc</systemitem>·频道.

en: Network booting
zh: 网络启动

en: Combined images containing the installer kernel and ramdisk are located in the <filename class="directory">images/netboot/</filename> directory of the installation tree. They are intended for network booting with TFTP, but can be used in many ways.
zh: 在安装树的 <filename class="directory">images/netboot/</filename> 目录有包含安装程序内核与 ramdisk 的一组镜像文件。它们主要用途是通过 TFTP 实现网络启动，但是可留作它用。

en: The <command>yaboot</command> loader supports TFTP booting for IBM pSeries and Apple Macintosh. The Fedora Project encourages the use of <command>yaboot</command> over the <command>netboot</command> images.
zh: <command>yaboot</command> 支持用 TFTP 引导 IBM eServer pSeries 和 Apple Macintosh。Fedora 项目建议使用 <command>yaboot</command>。不推荐使用<command>netboot</command> 镜像。

en: PPC Specific Packages
zh: PPC 平台上的特殊软件包

en: The <package>ppc64-utils</package> package has been split out into individual packages reflecting upstream packaging (<package>ps3pf-utils</package>, <package>powerpc-utils</package>, <package>powerpc-utils-papr</package>). Although the <command>mkzimage</command> command is no longer supplied, you can use the <command>wrapper</command> script from the <package>kernel-bootwrapper</package> package:
zh: <package>ppc64-utils</package> 软件包已经拆分为三个独立的软件包 (<package>ps3pf-utils</package>, <package>powerpc-utils</package>, <package>powerpc-utils-papr</package>)。不再提供 <command>mkzimage</command> 命令。要完成相同的操作，使用来自<package>kernel-bootwrapper</package> 软件包的 <command>wrapper</command> 脚本来完成:

en: x86 Specifics for Fedora
zh: 在 x86 平台上运行 Fedora

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the x86 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 在 x86 硬件平台上运行 Fedora 所需的信息。

en: Hardware requirements for x86
zh: x86 平台上的硬件需求

en: In order to use specific features of Fedora 9 during or after installation, you may need to know details of other hardware components such as video and network cards.
zh: Fedora 9 的某些功能需要您知道其它硬件组件，如显示卡和网络接口卡的信息，才能在安装中或安装后正常工作。

en: The following CPU specifications are stated in terms of Intel processors. Other processors, such as those from AMD, Cyrix, and VIA that are compatible with and equivalent to the following Intel processors, may also be used with Fedora.
zh: 下列 CPU 特性采用 Intel 处理器型号来描述。Fedora 也可以运行于其他处理器厂商 (包括 AMD, Cyrix 和 VIA ) 的兼容产品上。

en: Fedora 9 requires an Intel Pentium or better processor, and is optimized for Pentium 4 and later processors.
zh: Fedora 9 需要 Intel 奔腾或更高配置的处理器。事实上，Fedora 9 针对奔腾 4 (含)之后处理器进行了优化。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 200 MHz Pentium-class or better.
zh: 推荐处理器 (文本模式): 200 MHz 奔腾或以上

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz Pentium II or better.
zh: 推荐处理器 (图形模式): 400 MHz 奔腾 II 处理器或以上。

en: Minimum RAM for text-mode: 128MiB.
zh: 必备内存大小 (文本模式): 128MiB

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 192MiB.
zh: 必备内存大小 (图形模式): 192MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 256MiB.
zh: 推荐内存大小 (图形模式): 256MiB

en: x86_64 Specifics for Fedora
zh: 在 64 位 x86 平台 (x86_64) 上运行 Fedora

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the x86_64 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含要在 x86_64 硬件平台上运行 Fedora 所需了解的信息。

en: Hardware requirements for x86_64
zh: x86_64 平台上对硬件配置的需求

en: Memory requirements for x86_64
zh: x86_64 平台上的内存需求

en: Minimum RAM for text-mode: 256MiB.
zh: 必备内存大小 (文本模式): 256MiB

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 384MiB.
zh: 必备内存大小 (图形模式): 384MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 512MiB.
zh: 推荐内存大小 (图形模式): 512MiB

en: Hard disk space requirements for x86_64
zh: x86_64 平台上的硬盘空间需求
