RELEASE-NOTES - en to zh translation catalogue (706 entries)

en: Red Hat, Inc. and others
zh: Red Hat, Inc. 及其他

en: Fedora Core Release Notes
zh: Fedora Core 发行注记

en: Important information about this release of Fedora Core
zh: 关于 Fedora Core 本次发布的重要信息

en: Push new version for final
zh: 为最终版发布新版本

en: Push new version for test3
zh: 为 test3 发布新版本

en: Prepare new wiki snapshot for Web release
zh: 为网络发布截取最新的 wiki 快照

en: Fix copyright holder information
zh: 改变版权声明信息

en: Bring version number into line with reality
zh: 采用与实际相符的版本号

en: FC6 test2 rollout for translation
zh: FC6 test2 内容更新，有待翻译

en: Welcome to Fedora Core 6!
zh: 欢迎使用 Fedora Core 6!

en: This page is where you can learn more about Fedora and the Fedora Project in general. Use the resources listed here to get started with this release, and to find solutions to common problems you might encounter.
zh: 您可以在这里读到关于 Fedora 和 Fedora Project 的一些信息。从这里列出的资源链接开始，您将逐步了解本次发布，同时看到如何解决您可能遇到的问题。

en: Documents that are not stored on your system and require a connection to the Internet are marked with the following icon: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 必须连接到互联网才能阅读的文档被标记为这样的图标: <placeholder-1/>

en: Fedora Documentation
zh: Fedora 文档

en: Fedora Core 6 Release Notes
zh: Fedora Core 6 发行注记

en: The Release Notes provide a detailed overview of this release of Fedora Core, including what's new, notes specific to your computer architecture, and tips for smoother system operation. This document is highly recommended for every installation or upgrade of your Fedora system.
zh: 发行注记(Release Notes)是对 Fedora Core 本次发布的概览，内容包括新组件，特定计算机体系的要点，以及使系统顺畅运行的技巧等。在安装和升级 Fedora 系统之前，应当仔细阅读这份文档。

en: Installation Guide
zh: 安装向导

en: The <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/install-guide/"><phrase role="external">Installation Guide</phrase></ulink> helps you install Fedora Core on desktops, laptops and servers.
zh: 安装向导(<ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/install-guide/"><phrase role="external">Installation Guide</phrase></ulink>)指引您在桌面系统、笔记本电脑和服务器上安装 Fedora Core。

en: Fedora Desktop User Guide
zh: Fedora 桌面用户向导

en: The Desktop User Guide explains how to accomplish specific tasks using desktop applications. It covers activities such as using the desktop, accessing media, communicating on the Internet, using office productivity applications, and playing multimedia and games.
zh: 桌面用户向导解释了如何利用桌面应用程序完成特定的任务。其中的任务包括使用桌面、访问存储介质、连接到互联网，使用办公软件，以及播放多媒体，运行游戏等等。

en: The Desktop User Guide is currently available as a <emphasis>draft</emphasis> in <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Drafts/DesktopUserGuide"><phrase role="external">US English</phrase></ulink>.
zh: 桌面用户向导草案的<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Drafts/DesktopUserGuide"><phrase role="external">英文版</phrase></ulink>。

en: Other Resources
zh: 其他资源

en: The Fedora Project website contains a wealth of information. Here are some pages of interest:
zh: Fedora Project 网站包含很多信息，这里是其中一些:

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview"><phrase role="external">Overview of Fedora</phrase></ulink>: What Fedora is, and what makes it special
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview"><phrase role="external">Fedora 概览</phrase></ulink>: Fedora 是什么，为什么与众不同

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ"><phrase role="external">Fedora FAQ</phrase></ulink>: Frequently asked questions about Fedora and their answers
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ"><phrase role="external">Fedora 常见问题(FAQ)</phrase></ulink>: 关于 Fedora 的常见问题和解答

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"><phrase role="external">Communicate</phrase></ulink>: Ways to interact with a strong, global community of users and contributors that is ready to help you and listen to your feedback
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"><phrase role="external">交流</phrase></ulink>: 与广大的用户和贡献者交流，获得帮助，给出反馈

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"><phrase role="external">Participate</phrase></ulink>: Ways you can make a change by helping with Fedora
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"><phrase role="external">参与</phrase></ulink>: 您可以帮助 Fedora，使之与众不同

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/people/"><phrase role="external">Planet Fedora</phrase></ulink>: Read what Fedora Project contributors around the planet have to say
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/people/"><phrase role="external">Fedora 贡献者</phrase></ulink>: Fedora 贡献者的博客聚集

en: Community Websites
zh: 社区网站

en: The documentation provided in these sites is provided <emphasis>as is</emphasis>, and neither Red Hat nor the Fedora Project have any control over their content.
zh: 这些网站的文档<emphasis>不保证可用</emphasis>，Red Hat 和 Fedora Project 对其内容没有控制权。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoranews.org"><phrase role="external">Fedora News</phrase></ulink>: A public community news and information site for Fedora users
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoranews.org"><phrase role="external">Fedora 新闻</phrase></ulink>: 一个面向 Fedora 的公众新闻和信息站点

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraforum.org"><phrase role="external">Fedora Forum</phrase></ulink>: The formally endorsed forums of the Fedora Project
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraforum.org"><phrase role="external">Fedora 论坛</phrase></ulink>: 受 Fedora Project 正式支持的论坛

en: The unofficial Fedora FAQ
zh: 非官方 Fedora 常见问题(FAQ)

en: Discs
zh: 光盘

en: Introduction
zh: 介绍

en: The Fedora Core distribution is provided in the form of ISO 9660 standard filesystem images. You can copy these ISO images onto either CDROM or DVD media to produce a bootable disc.
zh: Fedora Core 发行版以 ISO 9660 文件系统镜像的方式提供(用户可以下载数个以.iso结尾的文件)。您可将这些 ISO 镜像复制到 CDROM 或 DVD 介质上，创建为启动光盘。

en: Before you can install Fedora Core on a computer, you must transfer, or <firstterm>burn</firstterm>, the ISO files to blank disc media (CD-R/RW or DVD-R/RW). This document describes the procedure for burning these files using a few common tools. This document assumes that you have no experience with Linux, and that you are using Microsoft Windows for the purpose of downloading and burning the files.
zh: 在安装 Fedora Core 之前，必须将 ISO 文件刻录("烧录")到空白的光盘介质中(CD-R/RW 或 DVD-R/RW)。本文档描述了烧录所用的工具和过程。文档不介绍 Linux 工具，而是假设您将在 M$ Win32 中下载并烧录文件。

en: Downloading
zh: 下载

en: The ISO files are large, and it may take a long time to download them, especially using a dial-up modem. You may want to use a download manager.
zh: ISO 文件体积较大，需要很长的下载时间。您应当使用某种专门的下载工具。

en: Choosing CD or DVD
zh: 选择 CD 还是 DVD

en: Fedora Core is distributed on multiple CD-sized ISO image files, or a single DVD-sized ISO image file. You can use the single DVD ISO file if your computer meets the following requirements:
zh: Fedora Core 发行版有多个 CD 镜像文件，也可以只用一个 DVD 镜像文件。如果您的计算机满足下面的要求，就可以用单个 DVD 镜像文件了。

en: It has a DVD-writable or DVD-rewritable drive
zh: 带有可烧录/复写 DVD 的光驱

en: It has a NTFS drive with sufficient space to hold the image file
zh: 包含足够空间，可以容纳镜像文件的 NTFS 分区

en: To write the DVD ISO file to a disc, your computer needs to have a drive that will write to DVD media. If your computer has a drive that only writes CD media and not DVD media, download the CD-sized files instead.
zh: 要将 DVD 镜像文件写入光盘，您的机器应带有可写入 DVD 介质的光驱。如果只能写入 CD 介质，应下载 CD 镜像文件。

en: Some file systems cannot store files larger than 2 GB, such as the DVD image. The commonly-used NTFS file system does not have this limitation, but many other non-NTFS formats do, such as FAT32. To check the format of a drive under Windows such as <systemitem>C:</systemitem>, select the <guilabel>Start</guilabel> menu and then <guilabel>My Computer</guilabel>. Right-click the drive you want to check, and choose <guilabel>Properties</guilabel>. The resulting dialog displays the format for that file system. If you do not have an NTFS drive with enough free space, download the CD-sized files instead.
zh: 一些文件系统不支持超过 2GB 的大文件，如 DVD 镜像文件。通常使用的 NTFS 文件系统没有这个限制，但 FAT32 和其他一些文件系统有限制。想查看 win32 中分区的格式，如 <systemitem>C:</systemitem>，在 <guilabel>开始</guilabel> 菜单中选择 <guilabel>我的电脑</guilabel>，右击要查看的分区，(在上下文菜单中)选择 <guilabel>属性</guilabel>。弹出对话框中显示了文件系统的格式。如果您没有 NTFS 分区，或者没有足够空闲空间，就下载 CD 镜像文件。

en: Create a new directory where you can download all of these files. You need approximately 700 MiB of free space available for each CD-sized ISO file, or approximately 3.5 GiB for the DVD-sized ISO file. This document assumes you have downloaded the files to the folder <filename class="directory">C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\My Downloads\Fedora Core</filename>.
zh: 创建一个新目录，将下载的文件保存其中。每张 CD 需要大约 700MiB 空间，而 DVD 镜像文件需要大约 3.5GiB 空间。本文档假设您将文件保存在目录 <filename class="directory">C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\My Downloads\Fedora Core</filename> 中。

en: Choosing the ISO Files
zh: 选择 ISO 文件

en: The exact files you need from the download server depend upon your system and the version of Fedora Core you are downloading. The files you need are named in the form of <filename>FC-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>-<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>-disc<replaceable>&lt;count&gt;</replaceable>.iso</filename>, where "<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>" is the version of Fedora Core you wish to download, "<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>" is your computer's processor architecture, and "<replaceable>&lt;count&gt;</replaceable>" is the disc number for each of the installation CDs.
zh: 要下载的文件取决于您计算机的体系和 Fedora Core 的版本。文件名的形式是 <filename>FC-<replaceable>&lt;版本&gt;</replaceable>-<replaceable>&lt;体系&gt;</replaceable>-disc<replaceable>&lt;编号&gt;</replaceable>.iso</filename>，这里 "<replaceable>&lt;版本&gt;</replaceable>" 是您需要下载的 Fedora Core 版本，"<replaceable>&lt;体系&gt;</replaceable>" 是您计算机的处理器体系，而 "<replaceable>&lt;编号&gt;</replaceable>" 是每张安装 CD 的顺序号码。

en: The computer processor architecture is usually <systemitem>i386</systemitem> for 32-bit PCs, including the Pentium and Athlon processor families. The architecture is usually <systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> for 64-bit PCs, including the Athlon 64 processor family. The architecture is usually <systemitem>ppc</systemitem> for PowerPC computers, including most of Apple's Mac offerings. If in doubt, your system probably requires the <systemitem>i386</systemitem> versions.
zh: 计算机处理器的体系通常是下列之一: <systemitem>i386</systemitem> 针对 32 位个人电脑，包括奔腾和速龙处理器族；<systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> 针对 64 位个人电脑，包括速龙 64 处理器族；<systemitem>ppc</systemitem> 针对 PowerPC 计算机，包括大多数 Apple 出品的 Mac 电脑。您的系统很可能是 <systemitem>i386</systemitem> 体系。

en: If you are downloading Fedora Core 6 for a Pentium 4 computer, for example, you need these files:
zh: 例如，您要下载针对奔腾 4 计算机的 Fedora Core 6，就下载这些文件:

en: Or, if you prefer to install from a single DVD, you only need this file:
zh: 或者，如果您选择了单张 DVD 的方式，就需要文件:

en: You may also need the <code>SHA1SUM</code> file to verify that the files you have downloaded are complete and correct.
zh: 您应该也下载对应的 <code>SHA1SUM</code> 文件，来校验您下载到的文件是否完整和正确。

en: Validating the Files
zh: 验证文件

en: Errors can occur during the download, even if your download manager reports none. Therefore it is <emphasis role="strong">very important</emphasis> to check that the files have not been corrupted in any way. This is the purpose of the <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> file. It contains one line for each of the available ISO files with a content verification code called a <firstterm>hash</firstterm> computed from the original ISO files.
zh: 下载过程中可能出错，即使下载工具并未报错。因此，检测文件未损坏是非常重要的。这就是 <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> 文件的作用。这个文件中，针对每个 ISO 镜像文件都有一行校验码，称为由原始 ISO 文件计算得出的散列值(<firstterm>hash</firstterm>)。

en: BitTorrent Automatic Error Checking
zh: BitTorrent 自动错误检测

en: BitTorrent automatically performs this error checking during downloads. If your BitTorrent application reports all files have been successfully downloaded, you can safely skip this step.
zh: BitTorrent 在下载中自动进行错误检测。如果您的 BitTorrent 客户端成功下载了所有文件，就不必再校验了。

en: Validating in the Windows Graphical Environment
zh: 在 win32 图形环境下校验

en: There are a number of free (as in cost) products available for file validation and hashing that have point and click interfaces. Here are links to a few of them:
zh: 有很多简单的免费软件可以用来校验散列值。这是其中一些的链接:

en: Follow the instructions provided to install the program. When you run the program, use the file selection tools provided to select your downloaded ISO image files. Then select the SHA-1 algorithm for calculation, and run the tool. The program takes some time to complete, since it must read the entire ISO file.
zh: 根据说明安装程序。运行程序，选择已下载的 ISO 镜像文件。然后选择 SHA-1 算法，运行计算。程序运行需要一些时间，因为它要读取整个 ISO 文件。

en: Open the file <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> with a text editor, such as <application>WordPad</application>, to display its contents. Make sure the hash displayed by the hash tool for <emphasis role="strong">each</emphasis> of the downloaded ISO files <emphasis role="strong">exactly</emphasis> matches the corresponding hash in the <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> file.
zh: 用文本编辑器(写字板)打开 <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> 文件，查看文件内容。确定每个 ISO 文件计算出的散列值与 <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> 文件中给出的值完全相符。

en: If all of the hashes match, you can then burn the ISO files to media. If a file does not match, you may have to download it again.
zh: 如果所有散列值都相符，就可以烧录到光盘介质中了。如果哪些文件不相符，您也许需要重新下载(或者利用 BitTorrent/rsync 同步文件)。

en: CAVEAT EMPTOR
zh: 免责声明

en: The Fedora Project and Red Hat, Inc. have no control over external sites such as the ones listed above, or the programs they provide.
zh: Fedora 项目和 Red Hat, Inc. 对上述外部站点的内容及其提供的程序没有控制权。

en: Validating at the Windows Command Prompt
zh: 在 win32 命令行下校验

en: To check the files using the command prompt, you need to download the program <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename>. For instructions and the link to download the program, refer to <ulink url="http://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnupg-announce/2004q4/000184.html"/>.
zh: 要在命令行下校验文件，应当下载 <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> 程序。下载位置请参考 <ulink url="http://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnupg-announce/2004q4/000184.html"/>。

en: The <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> program computes and displays hashes. To use it, save <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> to the same directory as the ISO files. Select <guilabel>Run...</guilabel> from the Start menu and then enter <userinput>cmd</userinput> for the name of the program to start a <application>Command Prompt</application> window. Then change into the download directory. Run <command>sha1sum</command> with each ISO file like this:
zh: <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> 程序计算并显示散列值。首先，将 <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> 复制到已下载的 ISO 文件所在目录。然后，在开始菜单中选择 <guilabel>运行...</guilabel>，然后输入 <userinput>cmd</userinput>，启动命令行。接下来切换到已下载的文件目录。这样运行 <command>sha1sum</command> 程序:

en: The program takes some time to complete, since it must read the entire ISO file.
zh: 程序运行需要一些时间，因为它要读取整个 ISO 文件。

en: Open the file <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> with a text editor, such as <application>WordPad</application>, to display its contents. Make sure the hash displayed by <filename>sha1sum.exe</filename> for <emphasis role="strong">each</emphasis> of the downloaded ISO files <emphasis role="strong">exactly</emphasis> matches the corresponding hash in the <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> file.
zh: 用文本编辑器(写字板)打开 <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> 文件，查看文件内容。确定每个 ISO 文件计算出的散列值与 <filename>SHA1SUM</filename> 文件中给出的值完全相符。

en: If all of the hashes match, the ISO files can be burned to media. If a file does not match, you may have to download it again.
zh: 如果所有散列值都相符，就可以烧录到光盘介质中了。如果哪些文件不相符，您也许需要重新下载(或者利用 BitTorrent/rsync 同步文件)。

en: Burning
zh: 烧录

en: The process of burning a CD is not always obvious to the users of Windows. Windows applications often let users burn data discs by simply dragging the source files into a box and clicking the <guilabel>Burn</guilabel> button.
zh: 对 win32 用户而言，烧录 CD 的过程掩盖了许多东西。Win32 应用程序允许用户简单地将源数据拖放到某个地方，然后点击 <guilabel>烧录</guilabel> 按钮，就可以烧录一张数据 CD。

en: In reality, though, the burning software performs two operations. First, it creates an ISO 9660 standard image, just like the ones used to install Fedora Core, from the source files that were dragged into the box. Second, it transfers that ISO file onto the blank CD. If the original source file was already an ISO image, the resulting CD is not usable for installation purposes.
zh: 实际上，这样的烧录是两步。首先，要根据先前拖放的源数据创建一份 ISO 9660 文件系统镜像，镜像文件大致就像 Fedora Core 安装文件一样。其次，再将 ISO 文件烧录到空白 CD 上。如果本来就是 ISO 镜像，再采用两步走，得到的 CD 就不能用来安装了。

en: To create the Fedora installation CDs, <emphasis role="strong">it is vital that you only perform the second step</emphasis> with the Fedora Core ISO files. The steps required to do this using several popular CD burning applications are listed below.
zh: 要创建 Fedora 安装光盘，必须只执行第二步。各种流行烧录软件的具体用法罗列如下。

en: Using The ISO Recorder V2 Power Toy
zh: 使用 ISO Recorder V2 Power Toy

en: Obtain and install the ISO Recorder power toy from the <ulink url="http://isorecorder.alexfeinman.com/isorecorder.htm"/> web site.
zh: 从 <ulink url="http://isorecorder.alexfeinman.com/isorecorder.htm"/> 网站下载并安装 ISO Recorder Power Toy。

en: In Explorer, right click on the first Fedora Code ISO file
zh: 在文件管理器中，右击第一个 Fedora Core ISO 文件

en: In the context menu, select "Copy image to CD"
zh: 在上下文菜单中，选择 "Copy image to CD"(复制镜像到光盘)

en: Follow the steps given by the "CD Recording Wizard" pop-up
zh: 跟随 "CD 烧录向导" 的指引

en: Repeat for the remaining ISO files
zh: 对其余 ISO 文件重复操作

en: Using Roxio Easy Media Creator 7
zh: 使用 Roxio Easy Media Creator 7

en: Start "Creator Classic"
zh: 运行 "Creator Classic"

en: Select "Other Tasks"
zh: 选择 "Other Tasks"

en: Select "Burn from Disc Image File"
zh: 选择 "Burn from Disc Image File"

en: Choose the first Fedora Core ISO file and burn it
zh: 选择 Fedora Core 的第一张 ISO 镜像，烧录它

en: Repeat the above steps for each of the other ISO files
zh: 对其余 ISO 文件重复操作

en: Using Nero Burning ROM 5
zh: 使用 Nero Burning ROM 5

en: Start the program
zh: 运行程序

en: Open the "File" menu
zh: 打开 "文件" 菜单

en: Select "Burn Image"
zh: 选择 "Burn Image"

en: Using Nero Express 6
zh: 使用 Nero Express 6

en: Select "Disc Image or Saved Project"
zh: 选择 "Disc Image or Saved Project"

en: An Open dialog appears. Select the first Fedora Core ISO file. Click Open.
zh: 在弹出的对话框中，选择 Fedora Core 的第一张 ISO 镜像，点击 Open。

en: The next screen allows you to select Writing Speed. You should set this to 4x for DVD, or 16x for CD, for best performance.
zh: 下一屏幕用来选择写入速度。如果是 DVD 就选择 4x，如果是 CD 就选择 16x，使刻录能较快完成。

en: Click Next to Burn
zh: 点击 Next 开始烧录

en: Repeat the steps above for the other ISO files
zh: 对其余 ISO 文件重复操作

en: Testing Your Discs
zh: 测试光盘

en: In order to be certain the CDs will work on your system, you may wish to burn only disc 1 and then perform the following process before burning the others:
zh: 为确保刻好的 CD 可以在您的计算机上使用，您可以只烧录第一张 CD，在烧录其他 CD 之前，先执行下面的操作:

en: Following the directions from your computer's manufacturer, make sure your computer's BIOS is set to boot from the CD drive.
zh: 按照计算机用户手册，将计算机调整为由光驱启动。

en: Reboot the computer with disc 1 in the CD drive. The boot menu for the Fedora Core installer appears.
zh: 将烧录好的第一张 CD 放入光驱并重新启动。屏幕上将出现 Fedora Core 安装程序的引导菜单。

en: Press <emphasis role="strong">Enter</emphasis>.
zh: 按下回车

en: Follow the directions on-screen until you are asked if you would like to perform a media check.
zh: 跟随屏幕上的指示，直到介质检测这一步。

en: Conduct the check against the first disc. If the check succeeds, your disc is correct. At this point the installer has changed nothing on your computer. Remove the Fedora Core installation disc and restart the system so that the computer boots into Windows.
zh: 对第一张 CD 执行介质检测。如果检测成功，烧录就没有问题。在这一刻安装程序尚未对计算机做出任何变动。将光盘取出，强行重启系统，回到 win32 环境中。

en: Burn the other three ISO images. After burning the other discs, you can repeat the media check to test them all.
zh: 烧录其余 ISO 文件。烧录后，可以再次执行介质检测，确保所有光盘没有问题。

en: Comments and Feedback
zh: 评论及反馈

en: If you have suggestions for this document, send an email to relnotes AT fedoraproject.org. We welcome directions for other tools and platforms.
zh: 如果您有任何建议，请发送邮件到 relnotes AT fedoraproject.org。我们希望加入关于其他平台和工具的操作步骤。

en: Fedora Core 6 README
zh: Fedora Core 6 自述文件

en: The contents of this CD-ROM are Copyright &copy; 2006 Red Hat, Inc. and others. Refer to the End User License Agreement and individual copyright notices in each source package for distribution terms.
zh: 本光盘的内容由 Redhat 及其他团体版权所有。关于分发条款，请参考最终用户协议以及各源代码包中的版权通告。

en: Fedora, Red Hat, Red Hat Network, the Red Hat "Shadow Man" logo, RPM, Maximum RPM, the RPM logo, Linux Library, PowerTools, Linux Undercover, RHmember, RHmember More, Rough Cuts, Rawhide and all Red Hat-based trademarks and logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. in the United States and other countries.
zh: Fedora, Red Hat, Red Hat Network, Red Hat "Shadow Man" 标识, RPM, Maximum RPM, RPM 标识, Linux Library, PowerTools, Linux Undercover, RHmember, RHmember More, Rough Cuts, Rawhide 以及其他 Red Hat 拥有的商标和标识，都是 Red Hat, Inc. 在美国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。

en: Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds.
zh: Linux 是 Linus Torvalds 的注册商标。

en: Motif and UNIX are registered trademarks of The Open Group.
zh: Motif 和 UNIX 是 The Open Group 的注册商标。

en: Intel and Pentium are registered trademarks of Intel Corporation. Itanium and Celeron are trademarks of Intel Corporation.
zh: Intel, 奔腾, Pentium 和酷睿是 Intel 公司的注册商标。Itanium, 赛扬 和 Celeron 是 Intel 公司的商标。

en: AMD, AMD Athlon, AMD Duron, and AMD K6 are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
zh: AMD, AMD Athlon, AMD Duron, 和 AMD K6 是 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc 的商标。

en: Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation.
zh: Windows 是 Microsoft Corporation 的注册商标。

en: SSH and Secure Shell are trademarks of SSH Communications Security, Inc.
zh: SSH 和 Secure Shell 是 SSH Communications Security, Inc 的商标。

en: FireWire is a trademark of Apple Computer Corporation.
zh: FireWire 是 Apple Computer Corporation 的商标。

en: All other trademarks and copyrights referred to are the property of their respective owners.
zh: 所有其他商标和版权都是其各自所有者的私产。

en: The GPG fingerprint of the <computeroutput>"Fedora Project
            &lt;fedora@redhat.com&gt;"</computeroutput> key is:
zh: <computeroutput>"Fedora Project
            &lt;fedora@redhat.com&gt;"</computeroutput> 公钥的 GPG 指纹是:

en: DIRECTORY ORGANIZATION
zh: 目录组织

en: Fedora Core is delivered on multiple CD-ROMs consisting of installation CD-ROMs and source code CD-ROMs.
zh: Fedora Core 以多张 CD-ROM 的形式发布，包括安装光盘以及源代码光盘。

en: The first installation CD-ROM can be directly booted into the installation on most modern systems, and contains the following directory structure (where <filename>/mnt/cdrom</filename> is the mount point of the CD-ROM):
zh: 安装光盘的第一张可以在大多数较新的系统中引导安装过程。它包含的目录结构如下(假设 <filename>/mnt/cdrom</filename> 是光盘的挂载点):

note: <remark os="test">(x86)</remark>
en: 
    /mnt/cdrom
      |----&gt; Fedora
      |        |----&gt; RPMS         -- binary packages
      |        `----&gt; base         -- information on this release of Fedora
      |                               Core used by the installation process
      |----&gt; images                -- boot and driver disk images
      |----&gt; isolinux              -- files necessary to boot from CD-ROM
      |----&gt; repodata              -- repository information used by the 
      |                               installation process
      |----&gt; README                -- this file
      |----&gt; RELEASE-NOTES         -- the latest information about this release
      |                               of Fedora Core
      `----&gt; RPM-GPG-KEY           -- GPG signature for packages from Red Hat
zh: 
    /mnt/cdrom
      |----&gt; Fedora
      |        |----&gt; RPMS         -- 二进制软件包
      |        `----&gt; base         -- 此版本 Fedora Core 的信息，为安装程序所需
      |----&gt; images                -- 引导和驱动磁盘镜像
      |----&gt; isolinux              -- 光盘引导必需的文件
      |----&gt; repodata              -- 安装过程需要的仓库信息
      |----&gt; README                -- 本文件
      |----&gt; RELEASE-NOTES         -- 此版本 Fedora Core 的最新信息
      `----&gt; RPM-GPG-KEY           -- 来自 Red Hat 的软件包的 GPG 签名

note: repetitive for the moment <screen arch="x86_64"> <remark os="test">(x86_64)</remark> <computeroutput> /mnt/cdrom |- - - -> Fedora |        |- - - -> RPMS         - - binary packages |        `- - - -> base         - - information on this release of Fedora |                               Core used by
en: The remaining Installation CD-ROMs are similar to Installation CD-ROM 1, except that only the <filename>Fedora</filename> subdirectory is present.
zh: 其他安装光盘的内容大同小异，不过只包含 <filename>Fedora</filename> 子目录。

en: The directory layout of each source code CD-ROM is as follows:
zh: 源代码光盘的目录结构如下:

en: 
    /mnt/cdrom
      |----&gt; SRPMS                 -- source packages
      `----&gt; RPM-GPG-KEY           -- GPG signature for packages from Red Hat
zh: 
    /mnt/cdrom
      |----&gt; SRPMS                 -- 源代码软件包
      `----&gt; RPM-GPG-KEY           -- 来自 Red Hat 的软件包的 GPG 签名

en: If you are setting up an installation tree for NFS, FTP, or HTTP installations, you need to copy the <filename>RELEASE-NOTES</filename> files and all files from the <filename>Fedora</filename> directory on discs 1-5. On Linux and Unix systems, the following process will properly configure the /target/directory on your server (repeat for each disc):
zh: 如果您需要设置一份安装文件树，以备 NFS, FTP 或 HTTP 安装，请复制 <filename>RELEASE-NOTES</filename> 文件以及安装盘 1-5 的 <filename>Fedora</filename> 目录下的所有文件。在 Linux 和 Unix 系统中，下面的过程可以设置好系统中的 /target/directory 文件树。对每张光盘:

en: Insert disc
zh: 插入光盘

en: (Do this only for disc 1)
zh: (只对第一张光盘操作)

en: INSTALLING
zh: 安装

en: Many computers can now automatically boot from CD-ROMs. If you have such a machine (and it is properly configured) you can boot the Fedora Core CD-ROM directly. After booting, the Fedora Core installation program will start, and you will be able to install your system from the CD-ROM.
zh: 绝大多数计算机可以由光驱引导启动。如果您的计算机可以由光驱引导，并且配置为这样，就可以直接用 Fedora Core 安装光盘启动。之后，Fedora Core 安装过程开始，您就能用光盘安装系统了。

en: The <filename>images/</filename> directory contains the file <filename>boot.iso</filename>. This file is an ISO image that can be used to boot the Fedora Core installation program. It is a handy way to start network-based installations without having to use multiple diskettes. To use <filename>boot.iso</filename>, your computer must be able to boot from its CD-ROM drive, and its BIOS settings must be configured to do so. You must then burn <filename>boot.iso</filename> onto a recordable/rewriteable CD-ROM.
zh: <filename>images/</filename> 目录包含文件 <filename>boot.iso</filename>。这个文件是一个 ISO 镜像，可以用来启动 Fedora Core 安装程序。如果是基于网络的安装方式，使用它就可以避免再用多张光盘。要使用 <filename>boot.iso</filename>，您的计算机必须可以从光驱引导启动，并且必须将 BIOS 配置为这样。然后，使用烧录好的 <filename>boot.iso</filename> 启动。

en: Another image file contained in the <filename>images/</filename> directory is <filename>diskboot.img</filename>. This file is designed for use with USB pen drives (or other bootable media with a capacity larger than a diskette drive). Use the <command>dd</command> command to write the image.
zh: <filename>images/</filename> 目录包含的另一个镜像文件是 <filename>diskboot.img</filename>。这个文件用于 USB 存储器设备(或其他容量比高密磁盘大的可引导介质)。使用 <command>dd</command> 命令将镜像文件写入设备。

en: Note
zh: 注意

note: <remark os="test">(x86;x86_64)</remark>
en: The ability to use this image file with a USB pen drive depends on the ability of your system's BIOS to boot from a USB device.
zh: 能否与 USB 存储器设备搭配使用这个镜像文件，取决于您的计算机的 BIOS 是否支持由 USB 设备引导启动。

en: GETTING HELP
zh: 获取帮助

en: For those that have web access, see <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com">http://fedora.redhat.com</ulink>. In particular, access to Fedora Project mailing lists can be found at:
zh: 如果可以访问网络，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com">http://fedora.redhat.com</ulink>。最重要的，Fedora 项目的邮件列表可以在这里看到:

en: The complete Fedora Installation Guide is available at <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/"/>.
zh: 完整的 Fedora 安装向导可以在 <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/"/> 找到。

en: EXPORT CONTROL
zh: 输出控制

en: The communication or transfer of any information received with this product may be subject to specific government export approval. User shall adhere to all applicable laws, regulations and rules relating to the export or re-export of technical data or products to any proscribed country listed in such applicable laws, regulations and rules unless properly authorized. The obligations under this paragraph shall survive in perpetuity.
zh: 使用本软件进行通讯或信息传输可能受到特别的输出限制。用户应当遵循所有适用的法律、条例和规范，不向法律、条例和规范中列出的受管制国家输出或转发技术数据或产品，除非有适当的许可。本节规定的义务是永久有效的。

en: README Feedback Procedure
zh: 自述文件反馈过程

en: (This section will disappear when the final Fedora Core release is created.)
zh: (本节在最终 Fedora Core 发布时不会出现)

en: If you feel that this README could be improved in some way, submit a bug report in Red Hat's bug reporting system:
zh: 如果您认为这份 README 有待改进，请在 Red Hat 的错误报告系统中提交一个错误报告:

en: When posting your bug, include the following information in the specified fields:
zh: 在提交报告时，在特定的表单栏目中填入下列信息:

en: <guilabel>Summary:</guilabel> A short description of what could be improved. If it includes the word "README", so much the better.
zh: <guilabel>Summary:</guilabel> 简要介绍内容。最好包含 "README" 这个词在内。

en: <guilabel>Description:</guilabel> A more in-depth description of what could be improved.
zh: <guilabel>Description:</guilabel> 详细地描述应当做些什么。

en: About Fedora
zh: 关于 Fedora

en: The Fedora Project community
zh: Fedora 项目的社区

en: Fedora is an open, innovative, forward looking operating system and platform, based on Linux, that is always free for anyone to use, modify and distribute, now and forever. It is developed by a large community of people who strive to provide and maintain the very best in free, open source software and standards. Fedora Core is part of the Fedora Project, sponsored by Red Hat, Inc.
zh: Fedora 是一个开放的、创新的、前瞻性的操作系统和平台，基于 Linux，允许任何人自由地使用、修改和重发布，无论现在还是将来。它由一个庞大的社群开发，这个社群的成员以自己的不懈努力，提供并维护自由、开放源码的软件和开放的标准。Fedora Core 是 Fedora Project 的一部分，得到了 Red Hat, Inc. 的支持。

en: Visit the Fedora community Wiki at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/"/>.
zh: 访问 Fedora 社区 Wiki，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/"/>。

en: The Fedora Extras project, sponsored by Red Hat and maintained by the Fedora community, provides hundreds of high-quality software packages to augment the software available in Fedora Core. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Extras"/>.
zh: Fedora Extras 项目，由 Red Hat 支持，由 Fedora 社区维护，为 Fedora Core 提供了成百上千高质量的附加软件包。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Extras"/>。

en: The Fedora Documentation Project provides 100% Free/Libre Open Source Software (FLOSS) content, services, and tools for documentation. We welcome volunteers and contributors of all skill levels. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DocsProject"/>.
zh: Fedora 文档项目为文档提供 100% 自由软件的内容、服务和工具。我们欢迎所有志愿者和贡献者加入。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DocsProject"/>。

en: Fedora Translation
zh: Fedora 翻译

en: The goal of the Translation Project is to translate the software and the documentation associated with the Fedora Project. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Translation"/>.
zh: Fedora 翻译项目的目标是翻译 Fedora 项目有关的软件和文档。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Translation"/>。

en: The Fedora Legacy Project is a community-supported open source project to extend the lifecycle of select 'maintenace mode' Red Hat Linux and Fedora Core distributions. Fedora Legacy project is a formal Fedora Project supported by the Fedora Foundation and sponsored by Red Hat. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目是社区维护的开源项目，目的是延长"维护模式"下的 Red Hat Linux 和 Fedora Core 发行版的生命周期。 Fedora Legacy 项目是一个正式的 Fedora 项目，由 Fedora Foundation 支持，得到 Red Hat 支持。请访问网页 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>。

en: Fedora Bug Squad
zh: Fedora 除虫小组

en: The primary mission of the Fedora Bug Squad is to track down and clear bugs in <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla">Bugzilla</ulink> that are related to Fedora, and act as a bridge between users and developers. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugZappers"/>.
zh: Fedora Bug Squad 的主要任务是跟踪和清除 <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla">Bugzilla</ulink> 中与 Fedora 有关的臭虫，作为联系用户和开发者的桥梁。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugZappers"/>。

en: Fedora Marketing
zh: Fedora 营销

en: The Fedora Marketing Project is the Fedora Project's public voice. Our goal is to promote Fedora and to help promote other Linux and open source projects. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Marketing"/>.
zh: Fedora 营销项目是 Fedora 项目的窗口。我们的目标是推广 Fedora，推广其他 Linux 和开源项目。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Marketing"/>。

en: Fedora Ambassadors
zh: Fedora 大使

en: Fedora Ambassadors are people who go to places where other Linux users and potential converts gather and tell them about Fedora &mdash; the project and the distribution. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Ambassadors"/>.
zh: Fedora 大使是在其他 Linux 用户或潜在用户的聚集地，宣传 Fedora &mdash; 包括项目和发行版本身 &mdash; 的人。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Ambassadors"/>。

en: Fedora Infrastructure
zh: Fedora 基础设施

en: The Fedora Infrastructure Project is about helping all Fedora contributors get their stuff done with minimum hassle and maximum efficiency. Things under this umbrella include the Extras build system, the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Infrastructure/AccountSystem">Fedora Account System</ulink>, the <ulink url="http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com/">CVS repositories</ulink>, the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">mailing lists</ulink>, and the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Websites">Websites</ulink> infrastructure. Visit our Web site at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Infrastructure"/>.
zh: Fedora 基础设施项目是为了帮助所有 Fedora 贡献者以最少的麻烦和最高的效率，实现自己的目标。其中包含的内容有 Extras 编译系统，帐号系统 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Infrastructure/AccountSystem">Fedora Account System</ulink>，<ulink url="http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com/">CVS 仓库</ulink>，<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">邮件列表</ulink>，以及 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Websites">网站</ulink> 基础结构。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Infrastructure"/>。

en: Fedora Websites
zh: Fedora 网站

en: The Fedora Websites initiative aims to improve Fedora's image on the Internet. The key goals of this effort include:
zh: Fedora 网站项目的创立目标是为了在互联网上推广 Fedora。关键的目标包括:

en: Trying to consolidate all the key Fedora websites onto one uniform scheme
zh: 将所有关键的 Fedora 网站联合起来，成为统一的风格

en: Maintaining the content that doesn't fall under any particular sub-project
zh: 维护不属于任何特殊分类的内容

en: Generally, making the sites as fun and exciting as the project they represent!
zh: 最后，将网站变得如同项目本身一般快乐而激动人心！

en: Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Websites"/>.
zh: 请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Websites"/>。

en: Fedora Artwork
zh: Fedora 美工

en: Making things look pretty is the name of the game... Icons, desktop backgrounds, and themes are all parts of the Fedora Artwork Project. Visit our Web page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork"/>.
zh: 把它变得漂亮一点，是这里的主要任务: 图标，桌面背景还有主题，这些都是 Fedora 美工项目的内容。请访问项目页面，位于 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork"/>。

en: Fedora People
zh: Fedora 贡献者

en: You can read weblogs of many Fedora contributors at our official aggregator, <ulink url="http://planet.fedoraproject.org/"/>.
zh: 您可以在我们的聚集页面，阅读许多 Fedora 贡献者的博客文章，位于 <ulink url="http://planet.fedoraproject.org/"/>。

en: X Window System (Graphics)
zh: X 窗口系统 (图形界面)

note: RAW HTML: <h2>X Window System (Graphics)</h2>
en: This section contains information related to the X Window System implementation provided with Fedora.
zh: 这一节包含了与 Fedora 的 X 窗口系统实现有关的信息。

en: X Configuration Changes
zh: X 配置的变动

en: The <application>X.org 7.1</application> X server has been modified to automatically detect and configure most hardware, eliminating the need for users or administrators to modify the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file. The only hardware configured by default in the <filename>xorg.conf</filename> file written by anaconda is:
zh: X 服务器 <application>X.org 7.1</application> 被改进，可以自动探测和配置大多数硬件。用户和系统管理员不需要再修改 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 文件。Anaconda 安装程序在 <filename>xorg.conf</filename> 中配置的硬件只包括:

en: the graphics driver
zh: 显卡驱动

en: the keyboard map
zh: 键盘映射

en: All other hardware, such as monitors (both LCD and CRT), USB mice, and touchpads should be detected and configured automatically.
zh: 所有其他设备，如显示器(包括 LCD 和 CRT)，USB 鼠标，以及触摸板都可以自动探测和配置。

en: The X server queries the attached monitor for supported resolution ranges, and attempts to pick the highest resolution available with the correct aspect ratio for the display. Users can set their preferred resolution in <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Screen Resolution</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, and the default resolution for the system can be changed with <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Administration</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: X 服务器向显示器查询所支持的分辨率范围，然后尝试选择正确的宽高比例中，最高的分辨率。用户可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>屏幕分辨率</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置首选分辨率，而系统默认分辨率可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>管理</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置。

en: If the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file is not present, X also automatically detects the appropriate driver, and assumes a 105-key US keyboard layout.
zh: 如果 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 配置文件不存在，X 仍然会自动探测合适的驱动，并且假设键盘是 105 键布局。

en: Intel Driver notes
zh: Intel 驱动注意

en: Fedora Core 6 contains two drivers for Intel integrated graphics controllers:
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含两种 Intel 集成显卡驱动:

en: The default <systemitem>i810</systemitem> driver, which contains support for Intel graphics chipsets up to and including i945 and i965
zh: 默认是 <systemitem>i810</systemitem> 驱动，支持 Intel 图形芯片中，直到 i945 和 i965 的那些。

en: The experimental <systemitem>intel</systemitem> driver, which contains support for Intel graphics chipsets up to and including i945
zh: 实验中的 <systemitem>intel</systemitem> 驱动，支持的 Intel 图形芯片直到 i945。

en: The <systemitem>i810</systemitem> driver is limited to resolutions available in the BIOS. If you need support for non-standard resolutions, such as those used in some widescreen displays, you may want to switch to the <systemitem>intel</systemitem> driver. You may switch drivers by using <systemitem>system-config-display</systemitem>, available in the menus under <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Administration</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: 驱动 <systemitem>i810</systemitem> 可使用的分辨率只有 BIOS 中包括的那些。如果您需要使用一些非标准分辨率，例如宽屏显示，可以尝试 <systemitem>intel</systemitem> 驱动。使用 <systemitem>system-config-display</systemitem> 切换分辨率，这个工具的位置是 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>管理</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice>。

en: We welcome feedback on the experimental <systemitem>intel</systemitem> driver. Please report success in <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/">Bugzilla</ulink>, attaching the full output of <command>lspci -vn</command> for your machine. Given success reports, various chipsets may be switched to use the <systemitem>intel</systemitem> driver by default.
zh: 欢迎对实验的 <systemitem>intel</systemitem> 测试并反馈。请将成功应用的情况报告到 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/">Bugzilla</ulink>，并将完整的 <command>lspci -vn</command> 的输出作为附件。有了成功应用的报告，更多芯片就可以默认换用 <systemitem>intel</systemitem> 驱动了。

en: Welcome to Fedora Core
zh: 欢迎使用 Fedora Core

en: Fedora is a set of projects sponsored by Red Hat and guided by the contributors. These projects are developed by a large community of people who strive to provide and maintain the very best in free, open source software and standards. Fedora Core, the central Fedora project, is an operating system and platform based on Linux which is always free for anyone to use, modify, and distribute, now and forever.
zh: Fedora 是一系列由 Red Hat 支持的项目，由贡献者领导。这些项目由一个庞大的社群开发，这个社群的成员以自己的不懈努力，提供并维护自由、开放源码的软件和开放的标准。Fedora Core 是 Fedora 项目的核心，是一个操作系统和平台，基于 Linux，允许任何人自由地使用、修改和重发布，无论现在还是将来。

en: Latest Release Notes on the Web
zh: 网上的最新版本

en: These release notes may be updated. Visit <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/release-notes/"/> to view the latest release notes for Fedora Core 6.
zh: 这些发行注记也许已被更新。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/release-notes/"/> 来查看最新的 Fedora Core 发行注记。

en: You can help the Fedora Project community continue to improve Fedora if you file bug reports and enhancement requests. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/> for more information about bugs. Thank you for your participation.
zh: 您只要提交错误报告以及功能增强请求，就可以帮助 Fedora 项目和社区不断地改进 Fedora。请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。感谢您的参与。

en: To find out more general information about Fedora, refer to the following Web pages:
zh: 想知道更多 Fedora 的信息，请访问下列页面:

en: Fedora Overview (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview"/>)
zh: Fedora 概览 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview"/>)

en: Fedora FAQ (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ"/>)
zh: 常见问题(Fedora FAQ) (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ"/>)

en: Help and Support (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>)
zh: 帮助和支持 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>)

en: Participate in the Fedora Project (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/>)
zh: 参与 Fedora 项目 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/>)

en: About the Fedora Project (<ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/About/"/>)
zh: 关于 Fedora 项目 (<ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/About/"/>)

en: Document Links
zh: 文档链接

en: If you are reading these release notes during the Fedora Core installation process, many links may not work properly. The release notes are also available post-installation as part of the desktop Web browser's default home page. If you are connected to the internet, use these links to find other helpful information about Fedora and the community that creates and supports it.
zh: 如果您在 Fedora Core 安装过程中阅读这份发行注记，可能无法访问外部链接。安装后，仍然可以继续阅读它。它是互联网浏览器的默认首页。连接到互联网后，就可以访问这些链接，获得关于 Fedora 和创造它、支持它的社区的更多信息了。

en: Web Servers
zh: 网络服务器

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Web Servers</h2>
en: Fedora Core 6 includes version 2.2 of the <application>Apache HTTP Server</application>. Users upgrading from version 2.0 (included in Fedora Core 4 and earlier) need to make changes to their <command>httpd</command> configuration; refer to <ulink url="http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/upgrading.html"/> for more details.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含 <application>Apache HTTP</application> 服务器的 2.2 版本。从 2.0 版本(包含于 Fedora Core 4 或更早)升级的用户需要对 <command>httpd</command> 配置文件作出修改，请参考 <ulink url="http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/upgrading.html"/>。

en: Virtualization
zh: 虚拟化

en: Virtualization in Fedora Core is based on Xen 3.0.2, and is integrated within the Fedora Core 6 installer. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tools/Xen"/> for more information about Xen.
zh: Fedora Core 中的虚拟化基于 Xen 3.0.2，集成在 Fedora Core 6 安装程序中。更多信息请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tools/Xen"/>。

en: Types of Virtualization
zh: 虚拟化的类型

en: Under Fedora Core 6 using Xen 3.0.2, both paravirtualization and full virtualization can be implemented. Full virtualization requires a VT-capable processor. Paravirtualization does not require special hardware, but does require the guest OS to be modified. To learn more about how to configure and use Xen, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedoraXenQuickstartFC6"/>.
zh: 在 Fedora Core 6 中，使用 Xen 3.0.2，半虚拟化和完全虚拟都可以实现。完全虚拟需要包含 VT 支持的处理器。半虚拟化不需要特殊的硬件，但是需要修改客户操作系统。配置和使用 Xen 请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedoraXenQuickstartFC6"/>。

en: Guest Operating Systems
zh: 客户操作系统

en: The Fedora Core 6 development team has tested Xen with Fedora Core 6 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Beta1 guests. Other guests have not been tested. With paravirtualization, however, users can expect reasonable success running any Linux guest OS that was built for Xen 3.0.2. With full virtualization using VT hardware, users can expect reasonable success with a larger variety of operating systems, including some proprietary operating systems.
zh: Fedora Core 6 开发团队已使用 Fedora Core 6 和 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Beta1 测试过 Xen。其他客户操作系统尚未测试。在半虚拟化的情况下，您应当可以运行所有为 Xen 3.0.2 构建的 Linux 客户操作系统。在拥有 VT 硬件，完全虚拟的情况下，您应当可以运行多种操作系统，甚至是专有的那些。

en: Changes to the Xen Packages
zh: Xen 软件包的变化

en: In Fedora Core 6 a single kernel supports both the host and the guest operating systems. In previous versions, there was one kernel, <package>kernel-xenU</package>, for the host or hypervisor and a separate kernel, <package>kernel-xen0</package>, for the guests. In Fedora Core 6 the <package>kernel-xen</package> package is the only kernel needed.
zh: 在 Fedora Core 6 中，单一内核同时可用于宿主和客户操作系统中。在前一版本中，宿主操作系统使用 <package>kernel-xenU</package> 而客户操作系统使用 <package>kernel-xen0</package>。在 Fedora Core 6 中只需要 <package>kernel-xen</package> 就可以了。

en: Fedora Core 6 introduces <command>virt-manager</command>, a GUI application for installing and managing virtual machines. Features of <command>virt-manager</command> include:
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含 <command>virt-manager</command>，一个图形界面的应用程序，用于安装和管理虚拟机。<command>virt-manager</command> 的特性包括：

en: Integrated graphical framebuffer. Both the GUI installer and the guest operating system's graphical environment can be accessed from <application>virt-manager</application> without the need for VNC.
zh: 集成的图形帧缓冲。<application>virt-manager</application> 可以访问客户操作系统的图形化安装程序和图形环境，不需要 VNC。

en: An embedded serial console viewer. The console can now be accessed from <application>virt-manager</application> without opening a separate terminal and using <command>xm console</command>.
zh: 内嵌的串口终端查看程序。可以在 <application>virt-manager</application> 中直接访问终端，不再需要打开单独的终端并执行 <command>xm console</command>。

en: CPU and memory management. The vCPUs and memory of active guest operating systems can be adjusted on the fly.
zh: CPU 和内存管理。活动的客户操作系统的虚拟处理器(vCPU)和内存可以即时地调整。

en: Extended RFB protocol handler. If the guest operating system changes screen resolution, the <application>virt-manager</application> graphical console adjusts its size accordingly.
zh: 扩展的 RFB 协议处理程序。如果客户操作系统改变了屏幕分辨率，<application>virt-manager</application> 图形终端也随之调整。

en: In Fedora Core 6 there are two methods to install a guest OS: via the command line using the <command>xenguest-install</command> program, or via the GUI application <application>virt-manager</application>.
zh: 在 Fedora Core 6 中有两种办法来安装客户操作系统: 使用命令行工具 <command>xenguest-install</command>，或者使用图形界面的工具 <application>virt-manager</application>。

en: xenguest-install Script Renamed
zh: xenguest-install 程序重命名

en: The <command>xenguest-install</command> script was named <command>xenguest-install.py</command> in previous versions.
zh: 命令 <command>xenguest-install</command> 是由过去版本中的 <command>xenguest-install.py</command> 重命名而来。

en: Xen log messages are stored under <filename class="directory">/var/log/xen</filename>, which separates Xen related log messages from other system messages.
zh: Xen 日志文件保存在 <filename class="directory">/var/log/xen</filename> 目录，与其他系统消息分离。

en: i386 Guest Kernels Require PAE
zh: i386 客户内核需要 PAE

en: PAE support in the CPU is required by i386 guests. Some older computers might not have this functionality.
zh: i386 客户需要 CPU 支持 PAE。一些旧机器也许不支持它。

en: Security
zh: 安全

en: This section highlights various security items from Fedora Core.
zh: 这一章记述 Fedora Core 的安全措施。

en: General Information
zh: 一般信息

en: A general introduction to the many proactive security features in Fedora, the current status, and policies is available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security"/>.
zh: 对 Fedora 中各种主动的安全特性的一般介绍，当前状态和策略可以在 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security"/> 看到。

en: This release increases usability of SELinux by providing a graphical troubleshooting tool, <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/setroubleshoot">setroubleshoot</ulink>. SELinux developer Dan Walsh explains the tool and its usage in his <ulink url="http://danwalsh.livejournal.com/7212.html">blog</ulink>. The <application>Nautilus</application> file manager has also been improved in GNOME 2.16 to display SELinux contexts.
zh: 本次发布包含新的图形化排错工具，提高了 SELinux 的可用性。细节和截屏请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/setroubleshoot"/>。SELinux 开发者 Dan Walsh 在个人专栏中记述了它，位置是 <ulink url="http://danwalsh.livejournal.com/7212.html"/>。GNOME 2.16 中 <application>Nautilus</application> 文件管理器可以显示 SELinux 上下文了。

en: The SELinux project pages have troubleshooting tips, explanations, and pointers to documentation and references. Some useful links include the following:
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面包括排错提示，解释，以及到文档和参考内容的链接。一些有用的链接如下:

en: New SELinux project pages: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux"/>
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux"/>

en: Troubleshooting tips: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting"/>
zh: 排错提示: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting"/>

en: Frequently Asked Questions: <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/selinux-faq/"/>
zh: 常见问题: <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/selinux-faq/"/>

en: Listing of SELinux commands: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands"/>
zh:  SELinux 命令列表: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands"/>

en: Details of confined domains: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains"/>
zh: 有关受控域的细节: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains"/>

en: Fedora Project - Freedom to the Core
zh: Fedora 项目 - 我心自由

en: The goal of the Fedora Project is to work with the Linux community to build a complete, general-purpose operating system exclusively from open source software. Development is done in a public forum. The project produces time-based releases of Fedora Core approximately 2-3 times a year, with a public release schedule available at <ulink url="http://fedora.redhat.com/About/schedule/"/>. The Red Hat engineering team continues to participate in building Fedora Core and invites and encourages more outside participation than was possible in the past. By using this more open process, we hope to provide an operating system more in line with the ideals of free software and more appealing to the open source community. For more information, refer to the Fedora Project website at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/"/>.
zh: Fedora Project 的目标是与 Linux 社区一同构造一个完整的，通用的操作系统，且仅由开源软件构成。开发是以开放方式进行的。Fedora Project 计划按一定的时间发布 Fedora Core，大约每年 2-3 次，可以查看公开的日程表(<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/Core/Schedule"/>)。Red Hat 工程师团队一直参与到构建 Fedora Core 过程中，同时邀请并鼓励更多其他人参与其中。通过使用这种更开放的过程，我们希望可以提供一个更加贴近自由软件理想，同时更受开源社区欢迎的操作系统。更多信息请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/"/>。

en: The Fedora Project is driven by the individuals that contribute to it. As a tester, developer, documenter, or translator, you can make a difference. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/> for details. For information on the channels of communication for Fedora users and contributors, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>.
zh: Fedora 项目是由贡献者推动的。作为测试者，开发者，文档作者或翻译人员，您能让它与众不同。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/>。关于 Fedora 用户与贡献者的交流通道，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>。

en: In addition to the website, the following mailing lists are available:
zh: 在网站之外，还可以使用下列邮件列表:

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for users of Fedora Core releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink> - Fedora Core 发行版的用户邮件列表

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for testers of Fedora Core test releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink> - Fedora Core 发行版的测试人员

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for developers, developers, developers
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 针对开发者

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for participants of the Documentation Project
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 文档项目的参与者

en: To subscribe to any of these lists, send an email with the word "subscribe" in the subject to <email><replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable>-request</email>, where <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> is one of the above list names. Alternately, you can subscribe to Fedora mailing lists through the Web interface at <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/"/>.
zh: 要订阅任何邮件列表，以 "subscribe" 为主题，发送邮件到 <emphasis><replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable>-request</emphasis>, 这里 <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> 是上面邮件列表的名字之一。或者，也可以在网页上订阅，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/"/>。

en: The Fedora Project also uses several IRC (Internet Relay Chat) channels. IRC is a real-time, text-based form of communication, similar to Instant Messaging. With it, you may have conversations with multiple people in an open channel, or chat with someone privately one-on-one. To talk with other Fedora Project participants via IRC, access the Freenode IRC network. Refer to the Freenode website at <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/"/> for more information.
zh: Fedora Project 也使用多个 IRC (Internet Relay Chat) 频道。IRC 是一个实时的，文本的交流形式。使用 IRC，您可以在一个开放的频道中与多人同时会话，也可以私下一对一地与某个人交谈。要通过 IRC 与其他 Fedora Project 贡献者，首先连接到 Freenode IRC 网络。请参考 Freenode 网站上的指引，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/"/>。

en: Fedora Project participants frequent the <systemitem>#fedora</systemitem> channel on the Freenode network, while Fedora Project developers may often be found on the <systemitem>#fedora-devel</systemitem> channel. Some of the larger projects may have their own channels as well. This information may be found on the webpage for the project, and at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>.
zh: Fedora Project 参与者通常访问 Freenode 网络的 <systemitem>#fedora</systemitem> 频道，而 Fedora Project 开发者总可以在 <systemitem>#fedora-devel</systemitem> 频道找到。一些大型项目也会有自己的频道；可以在项目网站找到，还可以访问网页 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>。中文用户可以访问 <systemitem>#fedora-cn</systemitem> 频道，请参考 <ulink url="http://www.linuxsir.org/bbs/showthread.php?t=266632"/> 的说明。

en: In order to talk on the <systemitem>#fedora</systemitem> channel, you need to register your nickname, or <firstterm>nick</firstterm>. Instructions are given when you <command>/join</command> the channel.
zh: 为了在 <systemitem>#fedora</systemitem> 频道交谈，您需要注册一个昵称 (<firstterm>nick</firstterm>)。当您第一次 <command>/join</command> 这个频道时，将看到指令。

en: IRC Channels
zh: IRC 频道

en: The Fedora Project and Red Hat have no control over the Fedora Project IRC channels or their content.
zh: Fedora Project 和 Red Hat 对 Fedora Project IRC 频道及其内容没有控制权。

en: Package Notes
zh: 特定软件包

en: The following sections contain information regarding software packages that have undergone significant changes for Fedora Core 6. For easier access, they are generally organized using the same groups that are shown in the installation system.
zh: 下列章节包含了在 Fedora Core 6 中发生了重要变化的软件包的相关信息。为了方便查找，以安装程序使用的分类进行组织。

en: GNOME Desktop Environment
zh: GNOME 桌面环境

en: The following packages have been split into several packages to improve performance and manageability as noted:
zh: 下列软件包被拆分为多个，以提高性能和可维护性:

en: <package>beagle</package>, which no longer depends on <application>Evolution</application>
zh: <package>beagle</package> 不再依赖 <application>Evolution</application>

en: <package>evince</package>, which no longer depends on <application>Nautilus</application>
zh: <package>evince</package> 不再依赖 <application>Nautilus</application>

en: <package>NetworkManager</package>, which no longer depends on <package>bind</package> and <package>caching-nameserver</package>
zh: <package>NetworkManager</package> 不再依赖 <package>bind</package> 和 <package>caching-nameserver</package>

en: Web Server
zh: Web 服务器

en: The <package>php</package> package has been split to separate the command line binary from the CGI executable.
zh: 软件包 <package>php</package> 被拆分，以区分命令行和 CGI 执行程序。

en: Ext3 File System Utilities
zh: Ext3 文件系统工具

en: A new version of <package>e2fsprogs</package> included in this release has a number of bug fixes. The <command>ext2online</command> feature has been integrated into <command>resize2fs</command>, so the <command>ext2online</command> program has been removed from this package.
zh: 本次发布包含新版本的 <package>e2fsprogs</package>，修正了很多错误。<command>ext2online</command> 特性被集成到 <command>resize2fs</command> 中，因此 <command>ext2online</command> 程序被移除。

en: Licensing Audit
zh: 授权审计

en: The <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Board">Fedora Project Board</ulink> initiated a <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FreeSoftwareAnalysis">licensing audit</ulink> to ensure all software included in Fedora Core is compliant with the package licensing guidelines. This process is now complete, and several changes were made as a result:
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Board">Fedora Project 理事会(the Board)</ulink> 发起了一次 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FreeSoftwareAnalysis">授权审计</ulink> 以确保 Fedora Core 包含的所有软件都与软件包授权准则相符合。这个过程已经结束，下面是审计的结果:

en: The <package>openmotif</package> package has been <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-list/2006-August/msg01314.html">dropped</ulink> due to a non-free license. Software packages previously dependent on the <package>openmotif</package> library have been rebuilt to use <package>lesstif</package>.
zh: 软件包 <package>openmotif</package> 被<ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-list/2006-August/msg01314.html">去除</ulink>，由于授权不自由。过去依赖于 <package>openmotif</package> 的软件包都使用 <package>lesstif</package> 重新构建。

en: The <package>macutils</package> package has been <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-maintainers/2006-August/msg00021.html">dropped</ulink> due to a non-free license.
zh: 软件包 <package>macutils</package> 被<ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-maintainers/2006-August/msg00021.html">去除</ulink>，由于授权不自由。

en: The <package>ckermit</package> package has been <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">dropped</ulink> due to a non-free license.
zh: 软件包 <package>ckermit</package> 被<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">去除</ulink>，由于授权不自由。

en: The <package>cleanfeed</package> package has been <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00401.html">dropped</ulink> due to a non-free license.
zh: 软件包 <package>cleanfeed</package> 被<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00401.html">去除</ulink>，由于授权不自由。

en: The <package>aspell-nl</package> package has been <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">changed</ulink> to include GPL licensed data.
zh: 软件包 <package>aspell-nl</package> 被<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">修改</ulink>，以包含 GPL 许可的数据。

en: The <package>crypto-utils</package> package has been <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">changed</ulink> to remove PGP licensed code in favor of new GPL licensed code.
zh: 软件包 <package>crypto-utils</package> 被<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">修改</ulink>，删除 PGP 许可的代码，使用新的 GPL 许可的代码。

en: The <package>netpbm</package> package has been <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">changed</ulink> to remove all unlicensed or improper files from the source tarball.
zh: 软件包 <package>netpbm</package> 被<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-advisory-board/2006-August/msg00271.html">修改</ulink>，从源码包中去除所有未授权或不合适的文件。

en: Kernel Headers
zh: 内核头文件

en: The process of generating kernel headers has been <ulink url="http://kernel.org/git/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=8d730cfb50cc77da6d00f941daef440918a1922f">changed</ulink>, which provides several <ulink url="http://lkml.org/lkml/2006/7/2/24">benefits</ulink> included easier maintenance and consistency.
zh: 生成内核头文件的过程进行了<ulink url="http://kernel.org/git/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=8d730cfb50cc77da6d00f941daef440918a1922f">调整</ulink>，提供了多种<ulink url="http://lkml.org/lkml/2006/7/2/24">好处</ulink>，更易于维护和保持一致。

en: Package Changes
zh: 特定软件包

en: This list is automatically generated
zh: 列表是自动生成的

en: This list is automatically generated. It is not a good choice for translation.
zh: 列表是自动生成的。不要翻译它。

en: For a list of which packages were updated since the previous release, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages"/>. You can also find a comparison of major packages between all Fedora versions at <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora"/>.
zh: 关于自前一版本以来的软件包更新列表，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages"/>。您还可以在 <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora"/> 看到所有 Fedora 每一版的主要软件包对比。

en: Release Highlights
zh: 本次发布亮点

en: Fedora Core 6 Tour
zh: Fedora Core 6 之旅

en: You can find a tour filled with pictures and videos of this exciting new release at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/FedoraCore6"/>.
zh: 您将看到这一全新发布的大量截图和视频资料，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/FedoraCore6"/>。

en: New in Fedora Core 6
zh: Fedora Core 6 新增内容

en: This release includes significant new versions of many key components and technologies. The following sections provide a brief overview of major changes from the last release of Fedora Core.
zh: 本次发布包括很多关键软件包和技术的新版本。下面的章节对自前一版本以来的主要更改做出概览。

en: Desktop
zh: 桌面

en: This release has an improved look and feel for various international languages, with a new <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Fonts/DejaVu">DejaVu</ulink> default font.
zh: 本次发布改进了多国语言的观感，包含新的默认字体 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Fonts/DejaVu">DejaVu</ulink>。

en: The <application>Compiz</application> window manager provides better visual feedback and a variety of desktop effects by using the AIGLX framework. More information is available from the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject">Fedora Rendering Project</ulink>.
zh: 软件包 <application>Compiz</application> 窗口管理器提供了更好的视觉感受和大量桌面特效。它应用了 AIGLX 框架。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject">Fedora 渲染(Rendering Project)</ulink>。

en: This release features an update applet called <application>puplet</application> that provides user notifications when software updates are available. For more information, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumApplet"/>.
zh: 本次发布包含一个更新消息小程序，称为 <application>puplet</application>，当软件包更新可用时向用户通知。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumApplet"/>。

en: This release includes a completely rewritten and enhanced <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/magazine/022aug06/features/fc6_print/">system-config-printer</ulink> that uses the latest CUPS 1.2. More technical details are available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Printing/AdminToolOutline"/> and <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Printing/AdminToolSpecifics"/>.
zh: 本次发布包含重写的 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/magazine/022aug06/features/fc6_print/">system-config-printer</ulink> 工具，使用最新的 CUPS 1.2。更多信息请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Printing/AdminToolOutline"/> 和 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Printing/AdminToolSpecifics"/>。

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.16/">GNOME 2.16</ulink> and KDE 3.5.4.
zh: 本次发布包含了 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.16/">GNOME 2.16</ulink> 和 KDE 3.5.4。

en: Fedora Core 6 includes a refreshing new "DNA" theme, which is part of a continuous team effort from the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork">Fedora Artwork Project</ulink>.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含全新的 "DNA" 主题，也是进行中的 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork">Fedora 美工(Artwork Project)</ulink> 项目的部分成果。

en: This release includes <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/zcerza/dogtail/">Dogtail</ulink> which provides a graphical test and automation framework for the desktop.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/zcerza/dogtail/">Dogtail</ulink>，这是一个针对桌面的图形化测试工具和自动化框架。

en: This release features the <ulink url="http://lists.gnucash.org/pipermail/gnucash-announce/2006-July/000069.html">GnuCash 2.0</ulink> accounting application, which provides major new features and interface improvements. For more information, refer to <ulink url="http://www.gnucash.org/features.phtml">GnuCash Features</ulink>.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://lists.gnucash.org/pipermail/gnucash-announce/2006-July/000069.html">GNUCash 2.0</ulink> 记账程序，特性和界面有了长足的长进。更多信息请访问 <ulink url="http://www.gnucash.org/features.phtml">GnuCash 特性</ulink>。

en: <application>Helix Player</application> has been moved to Fedora Extras, since the included <application>Totem</application> media player provides similar functionality.
zh: <application>Helix Player</application> 被移动到 Fedora Extras，因为已有的 <application>Totem</application> 提供了类似的功能。

en: Performance
zh: 性能

en: All Fedora Core applications have been rebuilt using <ulink url="http://sources.redhat.com/ml/binutils/2006-06/msg00418.html">`DT_GNU_HASH`</ulink>, which provides up to a 50% <ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/192624/">performance boost</ulink> on applications using dynamic linking.
zh: 所有 Fedora Core 应用程序都使用 <ulink url="http://sources.redhat.com/ml/binutils/2006-06/msg00418.html">`DT_GNU_HASH`</ulink> 开关编译，在动态链接时有 50% 的<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/192624/">性能提升</ulink>。

en: IMAP support for the <application>Evolution</application> personal information manager is much improved in this release.
zh: 本次发布中 <application>Evolution</application> 个人信息管理对 IMAP 支持有所改进。

en: This release improves performance and manageability by splitting up package dependencies in a much more granular way. Affected packages include <package>beagle</package>, <package>evince</package>, and <package>NetworkManager</package>. For more information on these and other related changes, refer to <xref linkend="sn-PackageNotes"/>.
zh: 本次发布通过更细粒度地拆分软件包，提高了软件包可维护性。受影响的软件包有 <package>beagle</package>, <package>evince</package>, 和 <package>NetworkManager</package>。请参考 <xref linkend="sn-PackageNotes"/>。

en: In this release, the performance of <command>yum</command>, <application>Pirut</application>, and <application>Pup</application> has been significantly improved.
zh: 本次发布中，<command>yum</command>, <application>Pirut</application> 和 <application>Pup</application> 的性能得到极大提高。

en: <ulink url="http://fontconfig.org/wiki/2_2e4_20release_20notes"><application>Fontconfig 2.4</application></ulink> improves startup performance and memory footprint significantly.
zh: <ulink url="http://fontconfig.org/wiki/2_2e4_20release_20notes"><application>Fontconfig 2.4</application></ulink> 极大优化了初始化速度和内存占用。

en: The performance of the Fedora's default ext3 filesystem has been <ulink url="http://kernel.org/git/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=89747d369d34e333b9b60f10f333a0b727b4e4e2">boosted</ulink> in recent versions of the Linux kernel.
zh: 在最近的内核中，Fedora 默认的 ext3 文件系统性能又<ulink url="http://kernel.org/git/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=89747d369d34e333b9b60f10f333a0b727b4e4e2">大大提升</ulink>。

en: A new background service caches and increases the performance of network filesystems such as AFS and NFS. This service is part of the ongoing <ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/100321/">CacheFS development</ulink> by Red Hat.
zh: 一个新的后台服务，缓存网络文件系统如 AFS 和 NFS，提高了他们的性能。这个服务是 Red Hat 开发中的 <ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articlels/100321">CacheFS</ulink> 的一部分。

en: CUPS printing service starts much more faster since it now detects devices on demand.
zh: CUPS 打印服务启动更快，因为它在需要时才检测设备。

en: System Administration
zh: 系统管理

en: The Fedora installer, <application>Anaconda</application>, can now connect to additional repositories such as Updates and Fedora Extras, and users can install applications from these repositories directly. Support for Fedora Extras is included by default on network-connected interactive installs.
zh: Fedora 安装程序 <application>Anaconda</application> 可以连接到附加仓库了，如 Updates 和 Fedora Extras 等。用户可以从这些仓库直接安装程序。交互安装时如果网络可用，Fedora Extras 仓库将默认启用。

en: <emphasis role="strong">Anaconda</emphasis> also now supports IPv6.
zh: <emphasis role="strong">Anaconda</emphasis> 现在也支持 IPv6。

en: This release features a new virtualization manager, <ulink url="http://virt-manager.et.redhat.com/"><application>virt-manager</application></ulink>, which adds a graphical management interface layer on top of <application>Xen</application>.
zh: 本次发布包含一个新的虚拟机管理程序，<ulink url="http://virt-manager.et.redhat.com"><application>virt-manager</application></ulink>，它为 <application>Xen</application> 添加了图形化的接口层。

en: This release increases usability of SELinux by providing a <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/setroubleshoot">graphical troubleshooting tool</ulink> and enhancements to the <application>Nautilus</application> file manager.
zh: 本次发布中扩充了 <application>Nautilus</application> 文件管理器功能，还包含一个<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/setroubleshoot">图形化排错工具</ulink>，提高了 SELinux 的可用性。

en: Fedora now features integrated smart card capabilities, for secure authentication out of the box using the new <ulink url="http://directory.fedora.redhat.com/wiki/CoolKey">CoolKey</ulink> system.
zh: Fedora 现在包含智能卡支持，新的 <ulink url="http://directory.fedora.redhat.com/wiki/CoolKey">Cool Key</ulink> 系统可以让安全认证在安装后立即可用。

en: This release introduces a new tool, <application>lvm2-cluster</application>, for intuitively managing cluster volumes.
zh: 本次发布包含新的工具 <application>lvm2-cluster</application>，可以直观地管理集群的文件卷。

en: System Level Changes
zh: 系统层次的改变

en: Fedora Core 6 features a 2.6.18 based kernel. There are no longer separate kernels for SMP and UP processors on any architecture. A single kernel now automatically detects your processor configuration and enables the proper bits for it.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含 2.6.18 版本的内核。在任何体系中都不再分别有针对 SMP 和单处理器的内核。单一的内核可以自动探测处理器配置，启用合适的代码。

en: <application>X.org 7.1</application> now dynamically configures monitor resolution and refresh rates to limit the amount of required user configuration.
zh: <application>X.org 7.1</application> 可以动态地调整显示器分辨率和刷新率，减少了用户配置的数量。

en: This release supports <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedoraOnMactel">Apple Macintosh systems</ulink> running the new Intel processors.
zh: 本次发布支持装有新 Intel 处理器的 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedoraOnMactel">Apple Macintosh</ulink> 系统。

en: This release includes better i18n support using the default <application>SCIM</application> input method, including more languages such as Sinhalase (Sri Lanka) and Oriya, Kannada, and Malayalam (India). Fedora now provides an easy interface to switch the input methods using <command>im-chooser</command>.
zh: 本次发布通过默认使用 <application>SCIM</application>，支持更多语言如 Sinhalase (Sri Lanka) 和 Oriya, Kannada, 以及 Malayalam (India)，实现了更好的 i18n 支持。Fedora 提供了 <command>im-chooser</command> 程序，可以更方便地切换输入法。

en: The <application>GNOME 1.x</application> legacy stack has been removed from Fedora Core, and added to Fedora Extras.
zh: GNOME 1.x 遗留部分被彻底从 Core 中移除，进入了 Fedora Extras。

en: Road Map
zh: 路线图

en: The proposed plans for the next release of Fedora are available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RoadMap"/>.
zh: 有关下一版 Fedora 的发布计划，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RoadMap"/>。

en: Multimedia
zh: 多媒体

en: Fedora Core includes applications for assorted multimedia functions, including playback, recording and editing. Additional packages are available through the Fedora Extras repository. For additional information about multimedia in Fedora, refer to the Multimedia section of the Fedora Project website at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia"/>.
zh: Fedora Core 包含了各种多媒体相关的应用程序，包括播放，录制和编辑程序。附加的软件包可以在 Fedora Extras 仓库找到。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia"/>。

en: Multimedia Players
zh: 多媒体播放器

en: The default installation of Fedora Core includes <application>Rhythmbox</application> and <application>Totem</application> for media playback. The Fedora Core and Fedora Extras repositories include many other popular programs such as the <application>XMMS</application> player and KDE's <application>amaroK</application>. Both GNOME and KDE have a selection of players that can be used with a variety of formats. Third parties may offer additional programs to handle other formats.
zh: Fedora Core 的默认安装包含 <application>Rhythmbox</application> 和 <application>Totem</application> 执行媒体播放。Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 包含更多其他程序，例如 <application>XMMS</application> 播放器和 KDE 的 <application>amaroK</appcation>。GNOME 和 KDE 都有一整套播放器，可以播放各种格式。第三方仓库还提供其他程序以播放其他格式。

en: Fedora Core also takes full advantage of the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) sound system. Many programs can play sound simultaneously, which was once difficult on Linux systems. When all multimedia software is configured to use ALSA for sound support, this limitation disappears. For more information about ALSA, visit the project website at <ulink url="http://www.alsa-project.org/"/>. Users may still experience issues when multiple users log into the system. Depending upon hardware and software configurations, multiple users may not be able to use the sound hardware simultaneously.
zh: Fedora Core 充分使用了高级 Linux 音频体系 (ALSA) 系统。多个程序可以同时播放音频，这在 Linux 系统中一度是无法做到的。如果所有多媒体软件都配置为使用 ALSA 实现音频支持，过去的限制将不复存在。请参阅此项目的网站获取更多信息: <ulink url="http://www.alsa-project.org/"/>。多用户登录时仍可能有问题。取决于硬件和软件配置，多用户也许不能同时使用声卡硬件。

en: <application>Helix Player</application> has been removed from this release since it duplicates the functionality of <application>Totem</application>. <application>Totem</application> also uses the <application>GStreamer</application> media framework, which is used by other multimedia applications in Fedora Core. With <application>GStreamer</application>, users can easily add support for additional codecs to all included applications.
zh: <application>Helix Player</application> 被去除，因为已经有了相同功能的 <application>Totem</application>。<application>Totem</application> 使用 <application>GStreamer</application> 框架，与 Fedora Core 中其他多媒体程序相同，用户可以容易地添加其他 codec 并在所有此类应用程序中使用。

en: Ogg and Xiph.Org Foundation Formats
zh: Ogg 和 Xiph.Org 基金会的文件格式

en: Fedora includes complete support for the Ogg media container format and the Vorbis audio, Theora video, Speex audio, and FLAC lossless audio formats. These freely-distributable formats are not encumbered by patent or license restrictions. They provide flexible alternatives to more popular, restricted formats. The Fedora Project encourages the use of open formats in place of restricted ones. For more information on these formats and how to use them, refer to the Xiph.Org Foundation's web site at <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/"/>.
zh: Fedora 包含了对 Ogg 媒体容器格式的完整支持，包括 Vorbis 音频，Theora 视频，Speex 音频和 FLAC 无损音频格式。这些可以自由发布的格式不受专利或许可限制的威胁，提供了强大而灵活的替代方案。Fedora Project 鼓励使用这些开源格式，代替有限制的那些。更多信息请访问 Xiph.Org 基金会的网站: <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/"/>。

en: MP3, DVD, and Other Excluded Multimedia Formats
zh: MP3, DVD 和其他被排除的多媒体格式

en: Fedora Core and Fedora Extras software repositories cannot include support for MP3 or DVD video playback or recording. The MP3 formats are patented, and the patent holders have not provided the necessary patent licenses. DVD video formats are patented and equipped with an encryption scheme. The patent holders have not provided the necessary patent licenses, and the code needed to decrypt CSS-encrypted discs may violate the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, a copyright law of the United States. Fedora also excludes other multimedia software due to patent, copyright or license restrictions, including Adobe's Flash Player and and Real Media's Real Player. For more on this subject, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems"/>.
zh: Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 不能包含支持 MP3 或 DVD 的播放或录制的支持。MP3 格式受专利保护，而专利持有人没有提供足够许可。DVD 视频格式受专利保护，还有一套加密方案。专利所有人没有提供足够许可，并且解密 CSS 加密盘片的代码可能违反了数字千年版权法案，美国的一个版权法案。Fedora 也排除由于专利、版权或许可限制无法包含的软件，例如 Adobe 的 Flash 播放器，Real Media 的 Real 播放器。相关内容请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems"/>。

en: While other MP3 options may be available for Fedora, Fluendo now offers a free MP3 plugin for GStreamer that has the necessary patent license for end users. This plugin enables MP3 support in applications that use the GStreamer framework as a backend. Fedora does not include this plugin since we prefer to support and encourage the use of patent unrestricted open formats instead. For more information about the MP3 plugin, visit Fluendo's website at <ulink url="http://www.fluendo.com/"/>.
zh: 在各种 MP3 方案之外，Fluendo 为用户提供了自由的 MP3 插件及其使用许可。插件配合 GStreamer 使用，所有以 GStreamer 为后端的应用程序都将支持 MP3。Fedora 不包含此插件，我们推荐使用无专利限制的开放格式。关于插件的更多信息，请访问 Fluendo 网站 <ulink url="http://www.fluendo.com/"/>。

en: CD and DVD Authoring and Burning
zh: CD 和 DVD 创建和烧录

en: Fedora Core and Fedora Extras software repositories includes a variety of tools for easily mastering and burning CDs and DVDs. GNOME users can burn directly from the Nautilus file manager, or choose the <filename>gnomebaker</filename> or <filename>graveman</filename> packages from Fedora Extras, or the older <filename>xcdroast</filename> package from Fedora Core. KDE users can use the robust <filename>k3b</filename> package, available in Fedora Extras, for these tasks. Console tools include <filename>cdrecord</filename>, <filename>readcd</filename>, <filename>mkisofs</filename>, and other popular applications.
zh: Fedora Core 和 Extras 包含一系列工具，用于简化烧录 CD 和 DVD。GNOME 用户可以在 Nautilus 文件管理器中直接烧录，或者选择 Fedora Extras 中的 <filename>gnomebaker</filename> 或 <filename>graveman</filename> 软件包，或者 Fedora Core 中较旧的 <filename>xcdroast</filename> 软件包。KDE 用户可以使用稳定的 <filename>k3b</filename> 软件包，包含在 Extras 中。终端工具包括 <filename>cdrecord</filename>, <filename>readcd</filename>, <filename>mkisofs</filename>, 和其他流行的 Linux 应用程序。

en: Screencasts
zh: 屏幕录像

en: You can use Fedora to create and play back <firstterm>screencasts</firstterm>, which are recorded desktop sessions, using open technologies. Fedora Extras software repository includes <filename>istanbul</filename>, which creates screencasts using the Theora video format. These videos can be played back using one of several players included in Fedora Core. This is the preferred way to submit screencasts to the Fedora Project for either developer or end-user use. For a more comprehensive how-to, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ScreenCasting"/>.
zh: 您可以使用 Fedora 来创建和回放屏幕录像(<firstterm>screencasts</firstiterm>)，也就是桌面会话的录制，使用开放的技术。Fedora Extras 包含 <filename>istanbul</filename>，它可以创建 Theora 视频格式的屏幕录像。这些视频文件可以用 Fedora Core 中各种播放器来回放。这是提交开发和最终用户屏幕录像的首选方式。具体的用法请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ScreenCasting"/>。

en: Extended Support through Plugins
zh: 通过插件的扩展支持

en: Most of the media players in Fedora Core and Fedora Extras software repositories can use plugins to add support for additional media formats and sound output systems. Some use powerful multimedia frameworks, such as the <filename>gstreamer</filename> package, to handle media format support and sound output. Fedora Core and Fedora Extras software repositories offer plugin packages for these backends and for individual applications. Third parties may provide additional plugins to add even greater capabilities.
zh: Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 中的大多数媒体播放器都可以通过插件，支持其他媒体格式和声音输出方式。一些程序使用强大的后端 <filename>gstreamer</filename> 来处理媒体格式支持和声音输出。Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 包含了针对这些后端和应用程序的插件软件包，更多软件包可以在第三方仓库找到，实现更多功能。

en: Fedora Legacy - Community Maintenance Project
zh: Fedora Legacy - 社区维护

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Fedora Legacy - Community Maintenance Project</h2>
en: The Fedora Legacy Project is a community-supported open source project to extend the lifecycle of select <firstterm>maintenance mode</firstterm> Red Hat Linux and Fedora Core distributions. The Fedora Legacy Project works with the Linux community to provide security and critical bug fix errata packages. This work extends the effective lifetime of older distributions in environments where frequent upgrades are not possible or desirable. For more information about the Fedora Legacy Project, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目是社区维护的开源项目，目的是延长"维护模式"下的 Red Hat Linux 和 Fedora Core 发行版的生命周期。 Fedora Legacy 项目与整个 Linux 社区合作，提供安全和重要更新软件包。在无法频繁升级的环境中，这些工作延长了旧发行版的有效生命周期。更多信息请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>。

en: Legacy Repo Included in Fedora Core 6
zh: Fedora Core 6 中包含了 Legacy Repo 配置

en: Fedora Core 6 ships with a software repository configuration for Fedora Legacy. This is a huge step in integrating Fedora Legacy with the Fedora Project at large and Fedora Core specifically. This repository is not enabled by default in this release.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含一份 Fedora Legacy 仓库的配置文件。这是将 Fedora Legacy 整合进 Fedora Project，与 Fedora Core 对接的重要一步。仓库在发布版本中没有默认启用。

en: Currently the Fedora Legacy Project maintains the following distributions and releases in maintenance mode:
zh: 目前 Fedora Legacy 项目管理了下列处于维护模式的发行版和发布:

en: The Fedora Legacy Project provides updates for these releases as long as there is community interest and participation. When interest is not sustained further, maintenance mode ends with the second test release for the fourth subsequent Core release. For example, maintenance mode for Fedora Core 3, if not sustained by the community, ends with the release of Fedora Core 7 test2. This provides an effective supported lifetime (Fedora Core plus Fedora Legacy Support) of about 18 months.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目将为这些版本提供支持，只要社区对此有兴趣。如果社区不再接手，维护模式将在其后第三次 Core 发布的第二次测试发布时结束。例如，Fedora Core 4 的维护模式，如果没有社区接手，将在 Fedora Core 7 test2 发布时结束。这样做提供了大约 18 个月有支持的生命周期(Fedora Core 加上 Fedora Legacy 支持)。

en: The Fedora Legacy Project always needs volunteers to perform quality assurance testing on packages waiting to be published as updates. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy/QATesting"/> for more information. Also visit our issues list at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy/QATesting#issues"/> for further information and pointers to bugs we have in the queue.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目需要志愿者，来对即将发布的软件更新进行质量检测测试。请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy/QATesting"/>。还请访问我们的问题列表，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-legacy-list/2005-August/msg00079.html"/>，查看更多信息以及到各种问题的链接。

en: If you need help in getting started, visit the project home page on the Wiki at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>, or the Mentors page at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Mentors"/>. If you are looking for others ways to participate in Fedora, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/>.
zh: 如果您需要帮助来开始，请访问项目主页，在 Wiki 页面 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Legacy"/>，或者顾问页面(Mentors) <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Mentors"/>。如果您希望以其他方式参与 Fedora 项目，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/HelpWanted"/>。

en: Linux Kernel
zh: Linux 内核

en: This section covers changes and important information regarding the 2.6.18 based kernel in Fedora Core 6. The 2.6.18 kernel includes:
zh: 这一节覆盖了 Fedora Core 6 中 2.6.18 内核的变动及重要信息。2.6.18 内核包括:

en: Lightweight user space priority inheritance support (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/178253/"/>)
zh: 轻量级用户空间优先级继承 (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/178253/"/>)

en: A "lock validator" debugging tool (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/185666/"/>)
zh: 一个 "锁校验" 调试工具 (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/185666/"/>)

en: A new power saving policy for multicore systems, SMPnice (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/186438/"/>)
zh: 针对多核系统的节电策略 SMPnice (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/186438/"/>)

en: A much improved SATA layer (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/183734/"/>)
zh: 大大改进的 SATA 层 (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/183734/"/>)

en: Swapless page migration (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/160201/"/>)
zh: 无交换的页面迁移 (<ulink url="http://lwn.net/Articles/160201/"/>)

en: Per-zone VM counters
zh: 每区域的 VM 计数器(Per-zone VM counter)

en: Per-task delay accounting
zh: 每任务的延迟审计(Per-task delay accounting)

en: A new per-packet access control for SELinux called <option>secmark</option> (<ulink url="http://james-morris.livejournal.com/11010.html"/>)
zh: 新的针对封包的 SELinux 访问控制，叫做 <option>secmark</option> (<ulink url="http://james-morris.livejournal.com/11010.html"/>)

en: Randomized i386 vDSO
zh: 随机的 i386 vDSO

en: New drivers and additional device support for many existing drivers
zh: 新的驱动和已有驱动对新设备的支持

en: Many bug fixes and other small improvements
zh: 大量错误修正和小改进

en: Version
zh: 版本

en: Fedora Core may include additional patches to the kernel for improvements, bug fixes, or additional features. For this reason, the Fedora Core kernel may not be line-for-line equivalent to the so-called <emphasis>vanilla kernel</emphasis> from the kernel.org web site:
zh: Fedora Core 可能包含了附加的补丁，来改进，修正或添加附加特性。因此，Fedora Core 内核与被称为纯正(<firstterm>vanilla kernel</firstterm>)的，来自 kernel.org 网站的内核不是完全相同的。

en: To obtain a list of these patches, download the source RPM package and run the following command against it:
zh: 要获得这些补丁的列表，下载源 RPM 软件包，运行下列命令:

en: Changelog
zh: 更新日志

en: To retrieve a log of changes to the package, run the following command:
zh: 软件包修订记录可以用下列命令看到:

en: If you need a user friendly version of the changelog, refer to <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges"/>. A short and full diff of the kernel is available from <ulink url="http://kernel.org/git"/>. The Fedora version kernel is based on the Linus tree.
zh: 如果您希望看到更友好的修订日志，请访问 <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges"/>。<ulink url="http://kernel.org/git"/> 提供了内核不同之处的摘要和完全两种版本。Fedora 基于 Linus 的内核树。

en: Customizations made for the Fedora version are available from <ulink url="http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com"/> .
zh: Fedora 版本做出的定制可以在 <ulink url="http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com"/> 找到。

en: Kernel Flavors
zh: 内核配置

en: Fedora Core 6 includes the following kernel builds:
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含了下列内核构建

en: Native kernel, for use in most systems. Configured sources are available in the <filename>kernel-devel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>.rpm</filename> package.
zh: 基本的内核，用于大多数系统，已配置的代码在 <filename>kernel-devel-<replaceable>version</replaceable>.<replaceable>arch</replaceable>.rpm</filename> 软件包中。

en: kernel-PAE, for use in 32-bit x86 systems with &gt; 4GB of RAM, or with CPUs that have a 'NX (No eXecute)' feature. This kernel support both uniprocessor and multi-processor systems.
zh: kernel-PAE，用于拥有超过 4GB RAM 的 32-bit x86 系统中，或者 CPU 带有 "NX (No eXecute)" 特性的系统中。它同时支持单/多处理器系统。

en: Virtualization kernel for use with the Xen emulator package. Configured sources are available in the <filename>kernel-xen-devel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>.rpm</filename> package.
zh: 虚拟机内核，用于 Xen 模拟器。已配置的源代码包含在 <filename>kernel-xen-devel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>.rpm</filename> 软件包中。

en: Kdump kernel for use with <systemitem>kexec</systemitem>/<systemitem>kdump</systemitem> capabilities. Configured sources are available in the <filename>kernel-kdump-devel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>.rpm</filename> package.
zh: Kdump 内核，与 <systemitem>kexec</systemitem>/<systemitem>kdump</systemitem> 搭配使用。已配置的源代码包含在 <filename>kernel-kdump-devel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>.rpm</filename> 软件包中。

en: You may install kernel headers for all kernel flavors at the same time. The files are installed in the <filename>/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>-[xen|kdump]-<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/</filename> tree. Use the following command:
zh: 各种内核配置的源代码头文件可以同时安装。文件安装位置是 <filename>/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>-[xen|kdump]]-<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/</filename>。运行命令:

en: Select one or more of these flavors, separated by commas and no spaces, as appropriate. Enter the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> password when prompted.
zh: 选择一个或多个变种，以逗号分隔，不要有空格。在提示时输入 <systemitem class=="username"root</systemitem> 密码。

en: Default Kernel Provides SMP
zh: 默认内核提供了 SMP

en: There is no separate SMP kernel available for Fedora Core 6 on i386, x86_64 and ppc64. Multiprocessor support is provided by the native kernel.
zh: Fedora Core 6 没有单独的 SMP 内核，无论是 i386, x86_64 还是 ppc64。基本内核提供了多处理器支持。

en: PowerPC Kernel Support
zh: PowerPC 内核支持

en: There is no support for Xen or kdump for the PowerPC architecture in Fedora Core 6 test3. 32-bit PowerPC does still have a separate SMP kernel.
zh: Fedora Core 6 test3 没有为 PowerPC 体系提供 Xen 或 Kdump 支持。

en: Reporting Bugs
zh: 报告错误

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html"/> for information on reporting bugs in the Linux kernel. You may also use <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com"/> for reporting bugs that are specific to Fedora.
zh: 请参考 <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html"/> 中，报告 Linux 内核错误时的注意事项。您也可以访问 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com">http://bugzilla.redhat.com</ulink> 来报告 Fedora 特有的错误。

en: Following Generic Textbooks
zh: 遵循关于内核的教科书

en: Many of the tutorials, examples, and textbooks about Linux kernel development assume the kernel sources are installed under the <filename class="directory">/usr/src/linux/</filename> directory. If you make a symbolic link, as shown below, you should be able to use those learning materials with the Fedora Core packages. Install the appropriate kernel sources, as shown earlier, and then run the following command:
zh: 关于 Linux 内核开发，很多教材，范例和教科书都假设内核源代码安装在 <filename class="directory">/usr/src/linux</filename> 目录。如果您像下面一样创建一个符号链接，就可以在 Fedora Core 中继续使用那些学习材料了。按照上面提到的方式，安装合适的内核源代码，然后:

en: Enter the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> password when prompted.
zh: 提示时输入 <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 的密码。

en: Preparing for Kernel Development
zh: 为内核开发作准备

en: Fedora Core 6 does not include the <filename>kernel-source</filename> package provided by older versions since only the <filename>kernel-devel</filename> package is required now to build external modules. Configured sources are available, as described in this kernel flavors section.
zh: Fedora Core 6 与旧版本不同，不包含 <filename>kernel-source</filename> 软件包，因为要编译外部模块，只需要 <filename>kernel-devel</filename> 软件包。已配置的源代码可以按照内核配置一节的步骤得到。

en: Instructions Refer to Current Kernel
zh: 这些步骤指的是当前运行中的内核

en: To simplify the following directions, we have assumed that you want to configure the kernel sources to match your currently-running kernel. In the steps below, the expression <literal><replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable></literal> refers to the kernel version shown by the command: <command>uname -r</command>.
zh: 为了简化下面的指令，假设您需要配置内核为使用当前运行中的内核的配置。在下面的步骤中，短语 <literal><replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable></literal> 指的是使用 <command>uname -r</command> 命令显示的内核版本。

en: Users who require access to Fedora Core original kernel sources can find them in the kernel <filename class="extension">.src.rpm</filename> package. To create an exploded source tree from this file, perform the following steps:
zh: 需要使用内核源代码的 Fedora Core 用户可以在内核 <filename class="extension">.src.rpm</filename> 软件包中找到它们。要从文件释放源码树，执行下面的命令:

en: Do Not Build Packages as Super-user (root)
zh: 不要以超级用户身份(root)构建软件包

en: Building packages as the superuser is inherently dangerous and is not required, even for the kernel. These instructions allow you to install the kernel source as a normal user. Many general information sites refer to <filename class="directory">/usr/src/linux</filename> in their kernel instructions. If you use these instructions, simply substitute <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable></filename>."]]
zh: 以超级用户身份构建软件包是极其危险的，不应当这样做，这不是必需的，即使是内核。下面的操作使您可以以普通用户身份构建内核。很多教程以 <filename class="directory">/usr/src/linux</filename> 作为内核的源码位置，如果想遵循这些操作，可以替换为 <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable></filename>。

en: Prepare a RPM package building environment in your home directory. Run the following commands:
zh: 在个人目录准备 RPM 软件包构建环境，运行下面的命令:

en: Download the <filename>kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.src.rpm</filename> file. Enable any appropriate source repositories, such as Core, Updates, or Testing, with the <option>-e</option> switch:
zh: 安装 <filename>kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.src.rpm</filename> 文件。启用合适的源代码仓库，如 Core, Updates 或 Testing，使用 <option>-e</option> 开关:

en: Install <filename>kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.src.rpm</filename> using the command:
zh: 安装 <filename>kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.src.rpm</filename>，运行命令:

en: This command writes the RPM contents into <filename class="directory">${HOME}/rpmbuild/SOURCES</filename> and <filename class="directory">${HOME}/rpmbuild/SPECS</filename>, where <varname>${HOME}</varname> is your home directory.
zh: 这个命令将 RPM 内容写到 <filename class="directory">${HOME}/rpmbuild/SOURCES</filename> 和 <filename class="directory">${HOME}/rpmbuild/SPECS</filename>, 这里 <filename>${HOME}</filename> 是您的个人目录。

en: Space Required
zh: 硬盘空间需求

en: The full kernel building process may require several gigabytes of extra space on the file system containing your home directory.
zh: 完整的内核构建过程可能需要您的个人目录有几个吉的存储空间。

en: Prepare the kernel sources using the commands:
zh: 使用这样的命令来准备内核源代码:

en: The kernel source tree is located in the <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable></filename> directory.
zh: 内核源代码位于 <filename class="directory">${HOME}/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable></filename> 目录。

en: The configurations for the specific kernels shipped in Fedora Core 6 are in the <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/configs</filename> directory. For example, the i686 configuration file is named <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/configs/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>-i686.config</filename>. Issue the following command to place the desired configuration file in the proper place for building:
zh: Fedora Core 6 附带的各种内核的配置文件位于 <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/configs</filename> 目录。例如，i686 配置文件名为 <filename class="directory">~/rpmbuild/BUILD/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>/linux-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>.<replaceable>&lt;arch&gt;</replaceable>/configs/kernel-<replaceable>&lt;version&gt;</replaceable>-i686.config</filename>。运行下列命令，将所需的配置文件放到合适的位置以用来编译:

en: Every kernel gets a name based on its version number. This is the value the <command>uname -r</command> command displays. The kernel name is defined by the first four lines of the kernel <filename>Makefile</filename>. The <filename>Makefile</filename> has been changed to generate a kernel with a <emphasis>different</emphasis> name from that of the running kernel. To be accepted by the running kernel, a module must be compiled for a kernel with the correct name. To do this, you must edit the kernel <filename>Makefile</filename>.
zh: 每个内核的名字都包含了它的版本号，这也是 <command>uname -r</command> 命令显示的值。内核 <filename>Makefile</filename> 的前四行定义了内核的名字。为了保护官方的内核不被破坏，<filename>Makefile</filename> 经过了修改，以生成一个与运行中的内核不同的名字。在一个模块插入运行中的内核前，这个模块必须针对运行中的内核进行编译。为此，您必须编辑内核的 <filename>Makefile</filename>。

en: For example, if the <code>uname -r</code> returns the string <code>2.6.17-1.2345_FC6</code>, change the <code>EXTRAVERSION</code> definition from this:
zh: 例如，如果 <command>uname -r</command> 返回字符串 <computeroutput>2.6.15-1.1948_FC5</computeroutput>，就将 <varname>EXTRAVERSION</varname> 定义从:

en: to this:
zh: 修改为:

en: That is, substitute everything from the final dash onward.
zh: 也就是最后一个连字符后面的所有内容。

en: Run the following command:
zh: 执行这个命令:

en: You may then proceed as usual.
zh: 接下来就没什么差别了。

en: Building Kernel Binary RPMs
zh: 构建内核的二进制 RPM

en: Normally, kernels for Fedora are built using the <command>rpmbuild</command> utility and a specfile. Your results may vary if you use the kernel's built-in <command>make rpm</command> target.
zh: 通常，Fedora 的内核是用 <command>rpmbuild</command> 和 spec 文件编译的。如果使用内核自带的 <command>make rpm</command> 方式，得到的结果是不一样的。

en: Building Only Kernel Modules
zh: 只构建内核模块

en: An exploded source tree is not required to build a kernel module, such as your own device driver, against the currently in-use kernel. Only the <filename>kernel-devel</filename> package is required to build external modules. If you did not select it during installation, use <application>Pirut</application> to install it, going to <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice> or use <command>yum</command> to install it. Run the following command to install the <filename>kernel-devel</filename> package using <filename>yum</filename>.
zh: 编译内核模块，如设备驱动时，不需要当前运行的内核的完整源码树。为编译外部模块，只需要安装 <filename>kernel-devel</filename> 软件包。如果没有安装，就用 <application>Pirut</application> 安装它，执行 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 或者使用 <command>yum</command>。运行下面的命令来安装:

en: For example, to build the <filename>foo.ko</filename> module, create the following <filename>Makefile</filename> in the directory containing the <filename>foo.c</filename> file:
zh: 例如，要构建 <filename>foo.ko</filename> 模块，在包含 <filename>foo.c</filename> 文件的目录中创建下面的 <filename>Makefile</filename>:

en: Issue the <command>make</command> command to build the <filename>foo.ko</filename> module.
zh: 执行 <command>make</command> 命令来编译 <filename>foo.ko</filename> 模块就可以了。

en: Java and java-gcj-compat
zh: Java 和 java-gcj-compat

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Java and java-gcj-compat</h2>
en: This release of Fedora Core includes a free and open source Java environment called <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem>. The <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> collection includes a tool suite and execution environment that is capable of building and running many useful programs that are written in the Java programming language.
zh: 本次发布包含一个自由开源的类 Java 环境，称为 <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem>. <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> 包含一个工具套件和执行环境，可以构建和运行很多有用的，以 Java 编程语言写成的程序。

en: Fedora Core Does Not Include Java
zh: Fedora Core 不包含 Java

en: Java is a trademark of Sun Microsystems. <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> is an entirely free software stack that is <emphasis>not</emphasis> Java, but may run Java software.
zh: Java 是  Sun Microsystems 的商标。<systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> 是完全自由的软件，它 <emphasis>不是</emphasis> Java, 但是可以运行 Java 程序。

en: The <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> infrastructure has three key components: a <application>GNU Java</application> runtime (<systemitem class="library">libgcj</systemitem>), the <application>Eclipse Java</application> compiler (<systemitem>ecj</systemitem>), and a set of wrappers and links (<systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem>) that present the runtime and compiler to the user in a manner similar to other Java environments.
zh: <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> 包含三个组件: <application>GNU Java</application> 运行时环境 (<systemitem class="library">libgcj</systemitem>)，<application>Eclipse Java</application> 编译器 (<systemitem>ecj</systemitem>)，以及一些包装和链接 (<systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem>)，使得运行时和编译器以类似其他 Java 环境的方式来呈现。

en: The Java software packages in this Fedora release use the <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> environment. These packages include <application>OpenOffice.org Base</application>, <application>Eclipse</application>, and <application>Apache Tomcat</application>. Refer to the Java FAQ at <ulink url="http://www.fedoraproject.org/wiki/JavaFAQ"/> for more information on the <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> free Java environment in Fedora.
zh: 包含在 Fedora 本次发布中的 Java 软件使用新的集成的 <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> 环境。这些软件包包括 <emphasis>OpenOffice.org Base</emphasis>, <emphasis>Eclipse</emphasis>, 和 <emphasis>Apache Tomcat</emphasis>。请参考 Java FAQ <ulink url="http://www.fedoraproject.org/wiki/JavaFAQ"/>。

en: Include Location and Version Information in Bug Reports
zh: 在错误报告中包含位置和版本信息

en: When making a bug report, be sure to include the output from these commands:
zh: 在提交错误报告时，包含这些命令的输出:

en: Handling Java and Java-like Packages
zh: 处理 Java 和类 Java 的软件包

en: In addition to the <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> free software stack, Fedora Core lets you install multiple Java implementations and switch between them using the <command>alternatives</command> command line tool. However, every Java system you install must be packaged using the JPackage Project packaging guidelines to take advantage of <command>alternatives</command>. Once these packages are installed properly, the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> user may switch between <systemitem>java</systemitem> and <systemitem>javac</systemitem> implementations using the <command>alternatives</command> command:
zh: 除了 <systemitem>java-gcj-compat</systemitem> 自由软件工具链之外，Fedora Core 允许您安装多种 Java 实现，并使用 <command>alternatives</command> 命令行工具自由切换。但是，您安装的各种 Java 系统必须都是根据 JPackage Project 的策略打包的，使 <command>alternatives</command> 发挥作用。当这些软件包都正确安装后，<systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 用户可以在 <systemitem>java</systemitem> 和 <systemitem>javac</systemitem> 环境间切换，运行 <command>alternatives</command> 命令:

en: 64-bit JNI Libraries
zh: 64-bit JNI 库

en: The 64-bit JNI libraries shipped by default on x86_64 systems in Fedora Core and Extras do not run on 32-bit JREs. Either switch to a 64-bit Java alternative, or install the 32-bit version of the packages, if available. To install a 32-bit version, use the following command:
zh: 64 位系统默认安装的 64 位 JNI 库不能在 32 位 JRE 中运行。如果要运行，或者切换到 64 位 Java，或者安装 32 位的库。要安装 32 位的库，运行命令:

en: Likewise, the 32-bit JNI libraries shipped by default on ppc64 systems do not run with a 64-bit JRE. To install the 64-bit version, use the following command:
zh: 同样，ppc64 系统默认的 32 位 JNI 库不能在 64 位 JRE 中运行。要安装 64 位版本，执行下面的命令:

en: Handling Java Applets
zh: 运行 Java 小程序

en: This release of Fedora Core includes a preview release of <systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem>, a <application>Firefox</application> plugin for Java applets. <systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem> is not enabled by default. Although the security implementation in <application>GNU Classpath</application> is being actively developed, it is not mature enough to run untrusted applets safely. That said, the AWT and Swing implementations in <application>GNU Classpath</application> are now sufficiently mature that they can run many applets deployed on the web. Adventurous users who want to try <systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem> can read <filename>/usr/share/doc/libgcj-4.1.1/README.libgcjwebplugin.so</filename>, as installed by the <package>gcc</package> rpm. The README explains how to enable the plugin and the risks associated with doing so.
zh: 本次发布包含 <systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem> 的预览版本，这是 <application>Firefox</application> 的插件，用于 Java 小程序。<systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem> 默认未启用。尽管 <application>GNU Classpath</application> 的安全实现正在快速地开发中，它仍不够稳定，不能安全地运行不可信的小程序。然而，<application>GNU Classpath</application> 的 AWT 和 Swing 实现已足够成熟，可以运行大多数小程序。如果希望尝试 <systemitem>gcjwebplugin</systemitem>，可以阅读 <filename>/usr/share/doc/libgcj-4.1.1/README.libgcjwebplugin.so</filename>，这是 <package>gcc</package> 软件包中的。这份自述文件解释了如何启用插件，以及这样做的潜在危险。

en: Fedora and the JPackage Java Packages
zh: Fedora 与 JPackage Java 软件包

en: Fedora Core includes many packages derived from the JPackage Project, which provides a Java software repository. These packages are modified in Fedora to remove proprietary software dependencies and to make use of GCJ's ahead-of-time compilation feature. Use the Fedora repositories to update these packages, or use the JPackage repository for packages not provided by Fedora. Refer to the JPackage website at <ulink url="http://jpackage.org"/> for more information on the project and the software it provides.
zh: Fedora Core 包含很多来自 JPackage Project 的软件包，那是一个 Java 软件仓库。Fedora 中这些软件都经过修改，以避免依赖于专有软件，并利用 GCJ 的先进的编译功能。使用 Fedora 仓库来更新这些软件包，使用 JPackage 仓库更新其他 Fedora 未提供的软件包。请参考 JPackage 网站 <ulink url="http://jpackage.org"/> 有关网站和它提供的软件包的信息。

en: Mixing Packages from Fedora and JPackage
zh: 混合 Fedora 和 JPackage 的软件包

en: Research package compatibility before you install software from both the Fedora and JPackage repositories on the same system. Incompatible packages may cause complex issues.
zh: 在相同系统中安装 Fedora 和 JPackage 仓库的软件包前要查明软件包相容性。不相容的软件包会造成复杂的问题。

en: This release of Fedora Core includes Fedora Eclipse, which is based on the <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org">Eclipse</ulink> SDK version 3.2. The "New and Noteworthy" page for this release can be accessed <ulink url="http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.2-200606291905/new_noteworthy/eclipse-news.html">here</ulink>.
zh: 本次发布包含 Fedora Eclipse，基于 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org">Eclipse</ulink> SDK 版本 3.2。这一版本的特性请查看<ulink url="http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.2-200606291905/new_noteworthy/eclipse-news.html">这里</ulink>。

en: Released in June 2006, the SDK is known variously as "the Eclipse Platform," "the Eclipse IDE," and "Eclipse." The Eclipse SDK is the foundation for the combined release of ten Eclipse projects under the <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/callisto">Callisto</ulink> combined release umbrella. A few of these Callisto projects are included in Fedora Core and Extras: <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/cdt">CDT</ulink>, for C/C++ development, and <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/gef">GEF</ulink>, the Graphical Editing Framework.
zh: 2006 年 6 月发布的这套 SDK，有时被称为 "Eclipse 平台", "Eclipse IDE" 或者简单的 "Eclipse"。Eclipse SDK 是一同发布的十项 Eclipse 项目 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/callisto">Callisto</ulink> 的基础。这些成员项目中的一些已经被包含在 Fedora Core 和 Extras 中: <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/cdt">CDT</ulink>, 用于 C/C++ 开发，以及 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/gef">GEF</ulink>, Graphical Editing Framework。

en: We hope to augment these projects with others as this Fedora cycle goes on. Likely candidates for inclusion include <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/emf">EMF</ulink>, the Eclipse Modeling Framework, and <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/vep">VE</ulink>, the Visual Editor. As of this writing, it is expected that an updated version of <ulink url="http://pydev.sf.net">PyDev</ulink>, the Python development tools, is going to be available in Fedora Extras. Assistance in getting these projects packaged and tested with GCJ is always welcome. Contact the interested parties through <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/">fedora-devel-java-list</ulink> and/or #fedora-java on freenode.
zh: 我们希望在本次 Fedora 生命周期中，逐步加入其他成员项目。可能包含的有 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/emf">EMF</ulink>, Eclipse Modeling Framework, 以及 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/vep">VE</ulink>, 界面编辑器(Visual Editor)。本文档撰写之时，<ulink url="http://pydev.sf.net">PyDev</ulink>, Python 开发工具的新版本将进入 Fedora Extras。欢迎协助打包并测试在 GCJ 中的运行，请从邮件列表联系 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/">fedora-devel-java-list</ulink>，并访问 freenode 聊天网络的 #fedora-java 频道。

en: Fedora also includes plugins and features that are particularly useful to FOSS hackers: <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/ChangeLog">ChangeLog</ulink> editing with <systemitem>eclipse-changelog</systemitem> and Bugzilla interaction with <systemitem>eclipse-bugzilla</systemitem>. Our CDT package also includes work-in-progress support for the GNU Autotools. The latest information regarding these projects can be found at the <ulink url="http://sourceware.org/eclipse/">Fedora Eclipse Project</ulink> page.
zh: Fedora 中也包含了对 FOSS 程序员有用的插件和工具: <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/ChangeLog">修订日志(ChangeLog)</ulink>编辑，应用 <systemitem>eclipse-changelog</systemitem>；以及 Bugzilla 交互，应用 <systemitem>eclipse-bugzilla</systemitem>。我们的 CDT 软件包也包含开发中的对 GNU Autotools 的支持。这些项目的最新情况请访问 <ulink url="http://sourceware.org/eclipse/">Fedora Eclipse Project</ulink> 页面。

en: Non-packaged Plugins/Feature
zh: 未打包的插件/特性

en: Fedora Eclipse contains a patch to allow non-root users to make use of the Update Manager functionality for installing non-packaged plugins and features. Such plugins are installed in the user's home directory under the <filename class="directory">.eclipse</filename> directory. Please note, however, that these plugins do not have associated GCJ-compiled bits and may therefore run slower than expected.
zh: Fedora Eclipse 包含一个补丁，允许非 root 用户使用更新管理器(Update Manager)，安装未打包的插件和特性。这些插件将安装到用户的个人目录中，<filename class="directory">.eclipse</filename> 目录下。请注意这些插件没有相应的 GCJ 已编译代码，因此会运行得慢些。

en: Installation Notes
zh: 安装要点

en: <application>Anaconda</application> is the name of the Fedora Installer. This section outlines those issues that are related to <application>Anaconda</application> (the Fedora Core installation program) and installing Fedora Core 6.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 是 Fedora 安装程序的名字。这一节描述与 <application>Anaconda</application> 以及与安装 Fedora Core 6 有关的一般话题。

en: Downloading Large Files
zh: 下载大文件

en: If you intend to download the Fedora Core 6 DVD ISO image, keep in mind that not all file downloading tools can accommodate files larger than 2 GiB in size. <command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 and above, <command>curl</command> and <command>ncftpget</command> do not have this limitation, and can successfully download files larger than 2 GiB. <application>BitTorrent</application> is another method for downloading large files. For information about obtaining and using the torrent file, refer to <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/"/>.
zh: 如果您需要下载 Fedora Core 6 DVD ISO 镜像文件，记住并不是所有下载工具都支持大于 2GB 的文件。<command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 或更高版本, <command>curl</command> 和 <command>ncftpget</command> 没有此限制，可以顺利下载大于 2GB 的文件。 <application>BitTorrent</application> 也可以用来下载大文件。要下载 torrent 种子文件请访问 <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/"/>。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> tests the integrity of installation media by default. This function works with the CD, DVD, hard drive ISO, and NFS ISO installation methods. The Fedora Project recommends that you test all installation media before starting the installation process, and before reporting any installation-related bugs. Many of the bugs reported are actually due to improperly-burned CDs. To use this test, type <userinput>linux
          mediacheck</userinput> at the <computeroutput>boot:</computeroutput> prompt presented at the start of installation.
zh: 安装程序 <application>Anaconda</application> 可以检测安装媒介的完整性。它可以在 CD, DVD, 硬盘镜像文件和 NFS 镜像安装方式中工作。Fedora Project 建议您在安装过程开始前，在提交与安装有关的错误报告之前，检测安装介质。很多错误报告实际是由于 CD 烧录不正确造成的。要进行测试，在安装开始前的 <computeroutput>boot:</computeroutput> 提示符下输入 <userinput>linux mediacheck</userinput>。

en: The <option>mediacheck</option> function is highly sensitive, and may report some usable discs as faulty. This result is often caused by disc writing software that does not include padding when creating discs from ISO files. For best results with <option>mediacheck</option>, boot with the following option:
zh: <option>mediacheck</option> 功能是非常敏感的，可能将正常的光盘报告为有错。这通常是由于光盘刻录软件在从 ISO 文件刻录时，没有包含合适的 padding。要得到 <option>mediacheck</option> 的正确结果，可以尝试加上这个参数:

en: After you complete the <option>mediacheck</option> function successfully, reboot to return DMA mode to its normal state. On many systems this results in a faster installation process from disc. You may skip the <option>mediacheck</option> option when rebooting.
zh: 当 <option>mediacheck</option> 顺利完成后，重启使 DMA 模式恢复到正常的状态。很多系统中，这样做会让安装过程更快一些。重启时可以跳过 <option>mediacheck</option> 选项。

en: Use the <command>sha1sum</command> utility to verify discs before carrying out an installation. This test accurately identifies discs that are not valid or identical to the ISO image files.
zh: 在安装前，使用 <command>sha1sum</command> 工具来校验磁盘。这个测试可以精确地验证光盘是否与 ISO 镜像文件相同。

en: <application>BitTorrent</application> Automatically Verifies File Integrity
zh: <application>BitTorrent</application> 自动验证文件完整性

en: If you use <application>BitTorrent</application>, any files you download are automatically validated. If your file completes downloading, you do not need to check it. Once you burn your CD, however, you should still use <option>mediacheck</option>.
zh: 如果您使用 <application>BitTorrent</application>, 您下载的文件会被自动验证。如果您的下载已完成，不必再验证它。不过，在烧录到光盘后，还是应该做一下介质检测(<option>mediacheck</option>)。

en: You may perform memory testing before you install Fedora Core by entering <userinput>memtest86</userinput> at the <computeroutput>boot:</computeroutput> prompt. This option runs the <application>Memtest86</application> standalone memory testing software in place of <application>Anaconda</application>. <application>Memtest86</application> memory testing continues until the <keycap function="escape">Esc</keycap> key is pressed.
zh: 可以在 <computeroutput>boot:</computeroutput> 提示符下输入 <userinput>memtest86</userinput>，在安装 Fedora Core 之前检测内存。这会运行 <application>Memtest86</application> 独立内存检测工具而不是 <application>Anaconda</application>。<application>Memtest86</application> 会一直运行，直到按下了 <keycap function=="escape">Esc</keycap> 键。

en: <application>Memtest86</application> Availability
zh: <application>Memtest86</application>  可用性

en: You must boot from Installation Disc 1 or a rescue CD in order to use this feature.
zh: 必须从 CD-ROM 1 (或急救 CD-ROM) 启动，才能使用这一功能。

en: Fedora Core 6 supports graphical FTP and HTTP installations. However, the installer image must either fit in RAM or appear on local storage such as Installation Disc 1. Therefore, only systems with more than 192MiB of RAM, or which boot from Installation Disc 1, can use the graphical installer. Systems with 192MiB RAM or less fall back to using the text-based installer automatically. If you prefer to use the text-based installer, type <userinput>linux
          text</userinput> at the <computeroutput>boot:</computeroutput> prompt.
zh: Fedora Core 6 支持图形化的 FTP 和 HTTP 安装。但是，安装程序必须完全载入内存，或者存在于本地磁盘如安装光盘 1 上。因此，只有内存多于 192MiB 内存，或从安装光盘 1 启动的情况下，才可以使用图形安装程序。只有 192MiB 或更少内存的系统将自动进入文本安装程序。如果您首选文本安装方式，可以在 <computeroutput>boot: </computeroutput> 提示符下输入 <userinput>linux text</userinput>。

en: Changes in Anaconda
zh: Anaconda 的变化

en: <application>Anaconda</application> now features the ability to install packages from Fedora Extras or any custom <command>yum</command>-compatible software repository. Fedora Extras is available by default on interactive installs with network connectivity.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 支持从 Fedora Extras 或任何自设的兼容 <command>yum</command> 的软件仓库中安装软件。交互安装时，如果有网络连接，默认启用 Fedora Extras 仓库。

en: Yum Repository Support
zh: Yum 仓库支持

en: Only HTTP and FTP repositories are supported; repositories on CDs or NFS are not currently supported.
zh: 只有 HTTP 和 FTP 仓库被支持，CD 或 NFS 上的仓库不被支持。

en: You can now use the installer to generate a Live CD for Kadischi. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Kadischi/"/> for more details.
zh: 您可以用安装程序来生成 Kadischi Live CD。请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Kadischi/"/>。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> uses SquashFS to compress and store packages on images.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 使用 SquashFS 压缩在镜像中存储的软件包。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> now supports installation using IPv6.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 现在支持通过 IPv6 安装。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> now supports installation from <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/FireWire">FireWire</ulink> and USB storage devices.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 支持从 <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/FireWire">FireWire</ulink> 以及 USB 存储设备安装。

en: <application>Anaconda's</application> backend, <command>yum</command>, has been updated to 2.9.x.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 的后端 <command>yum</command> 更新到了 2.9.x 版本。

en: The installer provides enhanced support for the ppc64 architecture.
zh: 安装程序对 ppc64 体系支持更好。

en: The installer now supports Apple Macintosh systems with Intel processors.
zh: 安装程序支持带有 Intel 处理器的 Apple Macintosh 系统。

en: The installer now supports multipathing.
zh: 安装程序现在支持多路(multipath)。

en: Vera fonts are retired and replaced by <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/DejaVu">DejaVu</ulink> as default for the installer.
zh: Vera 字体被 <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/DejaVu">DejaVu</ulink> 取代。

en: The installer is now translated in Greek, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi and Oriya.
zh: 安装程序新增加的翻译有 Greek, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi 和 Oriya。

en: Kickstart Changes
zh: Kickstart 的变动

en: Three new <systemitem>kickstart</systemitem> keywords have been added.
zh: 新的关键字 <systemitem>kickstart</systemitem> 被加入。

en: <option>repo</option> specifies additional package repositories to use for installation. <option>baseurl</option> specifies the URL for the repository, while <option>mirrorlist</option> specifies a list of mirrors. One and only one of these options may be specified per repository definition.
zh: <option>repo</option> 指要使用的附加软件仓库。<option>baseurl</option> 指仓库的 URL 地址，而 <option>mirrorlist</option> 指镜像的列报。每个仓库只能有一组这样的设置。

en: <option>services</option> modifies the default set of services that are started in the default runlevel. <option>enabled</option> and <option>disabled</option> take comma-separated lists, with <option>enabled</option> services taking priority.
zh: <option>services</option> 改变默认运行级启用的服务。<option>enabled</option> 和 <option>disabled</option> 参数是逗号分隔的列表，<option>enabled</option> 列表的优先级更高。

en: <option>user</option> creates a new user with the specified parameters. <option>name</option> is required; all other parameters are optional.
zh: <option>user</option> 创建新用户，使用指定的参数。<option>name</option> 是必需的，所有其他参数是可选的。

en: More documentation on <systemitem>kickstart</systemitem> is available in the <package>anaconda</package> package. To install it, run the command <command>su -c 'yum install anaconda'</command> and read the <filename>/usr/share/doc/anaconda*/kickstart-docs.txt</filename> file for more information.
zh: 关于 <systemitem>kickstart</systemitem> 的文档可以在 <package>anaconda</package> 软件包中找到。要安装它，运行命令 <command>su -c 'yum install anaconda'</command>。请阅读 <filename>/usr/share/doc/anaconda*/kickstart-docs.txt</filename> 文件。

en: Installation Related Issues
zh: 安装相关的问题

en: Sony VAIO Notebooks
zh: Sony VAIO 笔记本

en: Some Sony VAIO notebook systems may experience problems installing Fedora Core from CD-ROM. If this happens, restart the installation process and add the following option to the boot command line:
zh: 一些 Sony VAIO 笔记本系统在从光驱安装 Fedora Core 时可能会遇到问题。如果遇到这种情况，重启并在引导命令行中加入下列选项:

en: Installation should proceed normally, and any devices not detected are configured the first time Fedora Core is booted.
zh: 这一选项允许安装程序正常进行，任何由于这一选项而没有探测到的设备都会在 Fedora Core 第一次引导时加以配置。

en: Not all IDE RAID controllers are supported. If your RAID controller is not yet supported by <option>dmraid</option>, you may combine drives into RAID arrays by configuring Linux software RAID. For supported controllers, configure the RAID functions in the computer BIOS.
zh: 并非所有 IDE RAID 控制器都得到了支持，如果您的 RAID 控制器不为 <option>dmraid</option> 支持，您可以通过配置 Linux 软 RAID，将磁盘组合到 RAID 阵列中。至于直接支持的控制器，只要在计算机的 BIOS 中配置 RAID 就可以了。

en: Multiple NICs and PXE Installation
zh: 多 NIC 以及 PXE 安装

en: Some servers with multiple network interfaces may not assign <systemitem>eth0</systemitem> to the first network interface as BIOS knows it, which can cause the installer to try using a different network interface than was used by PXE. To change this behavior, use the following in <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> config files:
zh: 一些服务器拥有多个网络接口，可能无法将 BIOS 所知的第一个网络接口设定为 <systemitem>eth0</systemitem>，这将导致安装程序使用与 PXE 启动时不同的网络接口。要应付这种情况，可以在 <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> 配置文件中添加下面的内容:

en: The configuration options above cause the installer to use the same network interface as BIOS and PXE use. You can also use the following option:
zh: 上面的配置选项使得安装程序使用与 BIOS 和 PXE 相同的网络接口。您也可以添加下面的内容:

en: This option causes the installer to use the first network device it finds that is linked to a network switch.
zh: 这个选项使安装程序使用连接到交换机的第一个网络设备。

en: Upgrade Related Issues
zh: 升级相关的问题

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades"/> for detailed recommended procedures for upgrading Fedora.
zh: 请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades"/> 查看详细的升级步骤建议。

en: In general, fresh installations are recommended over upgrades, particularly for systems that include software from third-party repositories. Third-party packages remaining from a previous installation may not work as expected on an upgraded Fedora system. If you decide to perform an upgrade anyway, the following information may be helpful:
zh: 一般情况下，应选择全新安装而不是升级，如果系统中有第三方仓库的软件就更应如此。如果已安装了第三方仓库的软件，升级后可能无法正常使用。一定要升级的话，请遵守下面的指示。

en: Before you upgrade, back up the system completely. In particular, preserve <filename class="directory">/etc</filename>, <filename class="directory">/home</filename>, and possibly <filename class="directory">/opt</filename> and <filename class="directory">/usr/local</filename> if customized packages are installed there. You may wish to use a multi-boot approach with a "clone" of the old installation on alternate partition(s) as a fallback. In that case, create alternate boot media such as a GRUB boot floppy.
zh: 升级前，请备份整个系统。特别的，保留 <filename class="directory">/etc</filename>, <filename class="directory">/home</filename>, 可能还有 <filename class="directory">/opt</directory> 和 <filename class="directory">/usr/local</filename>，如果那里有定制安装的软件包的话。可以考虑使用多启动，在其他分区中复制并保留原来的系统，以备无虞。最好再准备些其他类型的启动盘，例如 GRUB 软盘。

en: System Configuration Backups
zh: 系统配置备份

en: Backups of configurations in <filename class="directory">/etc</filename> are also useful in reconstructing system settings after a fresh installation.
zh: 为 <filename class="directory">/etc</filename> 目录中的配置文件作备份，全新安装后，重建系统设置时会非常有用。

en: After you complete the upgrade, run the following command:
zh: 升级完毕，运行命令:

en: Inspect the end of the output for packages that pre-date the upgrade. Remove or upgrade those packages from third-party repositories, or otherwise deal with them as necessary.
zh: 在输出的最后，查看升级前安装的软件包，从第三方仓库升级它们或者删掉。必要的话小心应付。

en: Internationalization (i18n)
zh: 国际化(Internationalization,i18n)

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Internationalization (i18n)</h2>
en: This section includes information on language support under Fedora Core.
zh: 这一节包含 Fedora Core 中多语种支持相关的信息。

en: Input Methods
zh: 输入法

en: The default SCIM (Simple Common Input Method) GTK Input Method Module is now <code>scim-bridge</code>, written from scratch in C by Ryo Dairiki. SCIM is no longer linked against <systemitem class="library">libstdc++so7</systemitem>, and <systemitem>scim-qtimm</systemitem> works again.
zh: 默认的 SCIM GTK 输入法模块是 <code>scim-bridge</code>，由 Ryo Dairiki 用 C 写成。SCIM 不再链接到 <systemitem class="library">libstdc++so7</systemitem>，<systemitem>scim-qtimm</systemitem> 因此可用。

en: If SCIM is installed, it now runs by default for users of all locales rather than only some Asian locales as in the previous release. The following table lists the default trigger hotkeys for different languages:
zh: 如果已经安装了 SCIM，它将在所有语言环境中默认运行，不限于亚洲语种。下面列出了不同语种中的触发热键。

en: Language
zh: 语言

en: Trigger hotkeys
zh: 触发热键

en: all
zh: 全部

en: Ctrl-Space
zh: Ctrl-空格

en: Japanese
zh: 日文

en: <keycap>Zenkaku_Hankaku</keycap> or <keycombo><keycap>Alt</keycap><keycap>`</keycap></keycombo>
zh: <keycap>Zenkaku_Hankaku</keycap> 或 <keycombo><keycap>Alt</keycap><keycap>`</keycap></keycombo>

en: Korean
zh: 韩文

en: Shift
zh: 上档

en: Space
zh: 空格

en: Language Installation
zh: 安装语言支持

en: To install additional language support from the <systemitem class="groupname">Languages</systemitem> group, use <command>pirut</command> or <keycombo><keycap>Applications</keycap><keycap>Add/Remove Software</keycap></keycombo>, or run this command:
zh: 要从<systemitem class="groupname">语言(Languages)</systemitem>组安装附加语种支持，使用 <command>pirut</command> 或 <keycombo><keycap>应用程序</keycap><keycap>添加/删除软件</keycap></keycombo>，或者运行命令:

en: In the command above, <replaceable>&lt;language&gt;</replaceable> is one of <literal>assamese</literal>, <literal>bengali</literal>, <literal>chinese</literal>, <literal>gujarati</literal>, <literal>hindi</literal>, <literal>japanese</literal>, <literal>kannada</literal>, <literal>korean</literal>, <literal>malayalam</literal>, <literal>marathi</literal>, <literal>oriya</literal>, <literal>punjabi</literal>, <literal>sinhala</literal>, <literal>tamil</literal>, <literal>thai</literal>, or <literal>telegu</literal>.
zh: 在上面的命令中，<replaceable>&lt;language&gt;</replaceable> 是下列之一: <literal>assamese</literal>, <literal>bengali</literal>, <literal>chinese</literal>, <literal>gujarati</literal>, <literal>hindi</literal>, <literal>japanese</literal>, <literal>kannada</literal>, <literal>korean</literal>, <literal>malayalam</literal>, <literal>marathi</literal>, <literal>oriya</literal>, <literal>punjabi</literal>, <literal>sinhala</literal>, <literal>tamil</literal>, <literal>thai</literal>, 或 <literal>telegu</literal>。

en: A new user configuration tool called <command>im-chooser</command> has been added that allows you to disable or enable the usage of input methods on your desktop. If SCIM is installed but you do not wish to run it on your desktop, you can disable it using <command>im-chooser</command>.
zh: 一个新的用户配置工具 <command>im-chooser</command> 被加入，允许您在桌面系统中启用或禁用输入法。如果 SCIM 已安装，您不希望它在您的桌面上运行，就使用 <command>im-chooser</command> 禁用它。

en: At X startup, <command>xinput.sh</command> now sources <filename>~/.xinputrc</filename> or <filename>/etc/X11/xinit/xinputrc</filename> instead of searching config files under <filename>~/.xinput.d/</filename> or <filename>/etc/xinit/xinput.d/</filename>.
zh: 在 X 启动时，<command>xinput.sh</command> 现在会运行 <filename>~/.xinputrc</filename> 或 <filename>/etc/X11/xinit/xinputrc</filename>，而不是搜索目录 <filename class="directory">~/.xinput.d/</filename> 或 <filename class="directory">/etc/xinit/xinput.d/</filename>。

en: File Systems
zh: 文件系统

note: RAW HTML: <h2>File Systems</h2>
en: Fedora Core 6 provides basic support for encrypted swap partitions and non-root file systems. To use it, add entries to <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> and reference the created devices in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>.
zh: Fedora Core 6 支持加密的交换分区和除了根分区之外的分区。要使用它，在 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中添加条目，并在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中引用这些设备。

en: Encrypted FS Support Unavailable During Install
zh: 在安装中没有加密文件系统支持

en: Enable file system encryption after installation. Anaconda does not have support for creating encrypted block devices.
zh: 安装后再启用文件系统加密。Anaconda 安装程序不支持创建加密的块设备。

en: The following example shows an <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> entry for a swap partition:
zh: 范例: 交换分区在 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中的条目:

en: This creates an encrypted block device <filename class="devicefile">/dev/mapper/my_swap</filename>, which can be referenced in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>. The next example shows an entry for a filesystem volume:
zh: 这样创建了一个加密的块设备 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/mapper/my_swap</filename>，可以在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中引用。下一个范例是针对文件系统卷的条目:

en: The <filename>/etc/volume_key</filename> file contains a plaintext encryption key. You can also specify <option>none</option> as the key file name, and the system instead asks for the encryption key during boot.
zh: 文件 <filename>/etc/volume_key</filename> 包含明文的密钥。或者，如果指定密钥文件名为 <option>none</option>，系统在启动时将询问密钥。

en: The recommended method is to use <application>LUKS</application> for file system volumes:
zh: 对于文件系统卷，推荐使用 <application>LUKS</application>:

en: Create the encrypted volume using <command>cryptsetup luksFormat</command>
zh: 使用 <command>cryptsetup luksFormat</command> 创建加密卷

en: Add the necessary entry to <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename>
zh: 将必需的内容加入 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename>

en: Set up the volume manually using <command>cryptsetup luksOpen</command> or reboot
zh: 手动启用卷，运行 <command>cryptsetup luksOpen</command> 或者重启动:

en: Create a filesystem on the encrypted volume
zh: 在加密卷上创建文件系统

en: Set up an <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> entry
zh: 设置 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 条目

en: Feedback
zh: 反馈

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Feedback</h2>
en: Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, suggestions, and bug reports to the Fedora community. By doing so, you help improve the state of Fedora, Linux, and free software worldwide.
zh: 感谢您花时间向 Fedora 社区提出评论、建议和错误报告。通过这些，您帮助了 Fedora, Linux 乃至自由软件世界的进步。

en: Providing Feedback on Fedora Software
zh: 提交关于 Fedora 软件包的反馈

en: To provide feedback on Fedora software or other system elements, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>. A list of commonly reported bugs and known issues for this release is available from <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common"/>.
zh: 要提交关于 Fedora 软件包或其他部分的反馈，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。本次发布的常见问题和已知问题可以在这里看到 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common"/>。

en: Providing Feedback on Release Notes
zh: 提交关于发行注记的反馈

en: Feedback for Release Notes Only
zh: 仅指针对发行注记的反馈

en: This section concerns feedback on the release notes themselves.
zh: 本节是关于发行注记本身的反馈过程

en: If you feel these release notes could be improved in any way, you can provide your feedback directly to the beat writers. Here are several ways to do so, in order of preference:
zh: 如果您认为可以以某种方式改进发行注记，可以直接向作者提交反馈。这里列出了多条反馈的途径，按首选排序:

en: If you have a Fedora account, edit content directly at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats"/>
zh: 如果您有 Fedora 帐号，直接编辑 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats"/> 内容

en: Fill out a bug request using this template: <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u"/> - <emphasis role="strong">This link is ONLY for feedback on the release notes themselves</emphasis>
zh: 使用模板 <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u"/> 添加错误报告。<emphasis role="strong">本链接只用于发行注记本身的反馈</emphasis>。

en: Email <ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink>
zh: 向 <ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink> 发送电子邮件

en: Games and Entertainment
zh: 游戏和娱乐

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Games and Entertainment</h2>
en: Fedora Core and Fedora Extras provide a selection of games that cover a variety of genres. By default, Fedora Core includes a small package of games for GNOME (called <package>gnome-games</package>) and KDE (<package>kdegames</package>). Fedora Extras provides additional games that span every major genre.
zh: Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 提供了一系列游戏，包含各种类型。Fedora Core 默认包含一小部分，隶属于 GNOME(<package>gnome-games</package>) 和 KDE(<package>kdegames</package>)。Fedora Extra提供了更多的各种类型的游戏。

en: The Fedora Project website features a section dedicated to games that details many of the available games, including overviews and installation instructions. For more information, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Games"/>.
zh: Fedora Project 网站有一个介绍游戏的专区，记录了很多已有的游戏，包括了简介和安装指导，更多信息请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Games"/>。

en: Fedora Extras - Community Package Repository
zh: Fedora Extras - 社区软件包仓库

note: GetVal-macro not supported by the docbook formatter, but giving it a shot anyway
en: Fedora Extras is an extension of Fedora Core that provides many additional packages for users of the Fedora distribution.
zh: Fedora Extras 是 Fedora Core 的扩展，为 Fedora 发行版的用户提供很多附加软件包。

en: Using the Repository
zh: 使用仓库

en: Fedora Extras are Available by Default
zh: Fedora Extras 默认被启用

en: Fedora systems automatically use both the Fedora Core and Fedora Extras repositories to install and update software.
zh: Fedora 系统自动使用 Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 仓库来安装和更新软件。

en: To install software from either the Core or Extras repositories, choose <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>. Enter the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> password when prompted. Select the software you require from the list, and choose <guilabel>Apply</guilabel>.
zh: 要从 Core 或者 Extras 仓库安装软件，选择 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除程序</guimenuitem></menuchoice>. 提示时输入 <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 密码。在列表中选择要安装的软件，然后选择 <guilabel>应用</guilabel>。

en: You may also install software with the <command>yum</command> command-line utility. For example, this command automatically installs the <command>abiword</command> package, and all of the dependencies that are required:
zh: 或者，您可以使用 <command>yum</command> 命令行工具安装软件。例如，这个命令自动安装 <command>abiword</command> 软件包以及其全部依赖关系:

en: About Fedora Extras
zh: 关于 Fedora Extras

en: As of the release of Fedora Core 6, there are approximately 2,000 packages in Fedora Extras, built from 1,350 source packages. The following list includes some popular and well-known applications that are maintained by community members in Fedora Extras:
zh: 在 Fedora Core 6 发布前，Fedora Extras 中大约有 2,000 个软件包，构建自约 1,350 个源代码软件包。下面的列表是一些由 Fedora Extras 成员维护的，为人熟知的软件包:

en: <package>abiword</package> - elegant word-processing application
zh: <package>abiword</package> - 优秀的字处理程序

en: <package>balsa</package> - lightweight e-mail reader
zh: <package>balsa</package> - 轻量级电子邮件阅读器

en: <package>bash-completion</package> - advanced command-line completion for power users
zh: <package>bash-completion</package> - 为高级用户准备的高级命令行补全

en: <package>bluefish</package> - HTML editor
zh: <package>bluefish</package> - HTML 编辑器

en: <package>clamav</package> - open source anti-virus scanner for servers and desktops
zh: <package>clamav</package> - 用于桌面和服务器的开源病毒扫描程序

en: <package>exim</package> - flexible and powerful mail transfer agent
zh: <package>exim</package> - 灵活而强大的邮件传输代理

en: <package>fuse</package> - tool for attaching non-standard devices and network services as directories
zh: <package>fuse</package> - 将非标准设备和网络服务挂载为目录的工具

en: <package>fwbuilder</package> - graphical utility for building Linux and Cisco firewall rulesets
zh: <package>fwbuilder</package> - 构建 Linux 和 Cisco 防火墙规则的图形化工具

en: <package>gaim-guifications</package> - enhancements to the Gaim Instant Messenger
zh: <package>gaim-guifications</package> - 对 Gaim 即时通信程序的增强

en: <package>gdesklets</package> - widgets for the GNOME desktop
zh: <package>gdesklets</package> -  GNOME 桌面控件

en: <package>gnumeric</package> - powerful spreadsheet application
zh: <package>gnumeric</package> - 强大的电子表格软件

en: <package>gramps</package> - genealogy application
zh: <package>gramps</package> - 家谱

en: <package>inkscape</package> - illustration and vector drawing application
zh: <package>inkscape</package> - 插图和向量绘制程序

en: <package>koffice</package> - complete office suite for the KDE desktop
zh: <package>koffice</package> - KDE 桌面的完整办公套件

en: <package>mail-notification</package> - alerts you as new mail arrives
zh: <package>mail-notification</package> - 在新邮件到达时通知您

en: <package>mediawiki</package> - the Wikipedia solution for collaborative websites
zh: <package>mediawiki</package> - 合作站点的 Wikipedia 解决方案

en: <package>nautilus-open-terminal</package> - extension to the GNOME file manager
zh: <package>nautilus-open-terminal</package> -  GNOME Nautilus 文件管理器的扩展

en: <package>pan</package> - the Usenet news reader
zh: <package>pan</package> - Usenet 新闻阅读程序

en: <package>revelation</package> - password management utility
zh: <package>revelation</package> - 密码管理工具

en: <package>scribus</package> - desktop publishing (DTP) application
zh: <package>scribus</package> - 桌面出版 (DTP) 应用程序

en: <package>wine</package> - a compatibility layer to run Windows(TM) programs
zh: <package>wine</package> - 运行 Windows(TM) 程序的兼容层

en: <package>xfce</package> - lightweight desktop environment
zh: <package>xfce</package> - 轻量级桌面环境

en: <package>xmms</package> - the popular audio player
zh: <package>xmms</package> - 著名音频播放器

en: lots of Perl and Python tools and libraries
zh: 大量 Perl 和 Python 工具及库

en: ...and much more!
zh: ...还有很多！

en: Is your favorite open source application missing from Fedora Extras? Package the application as an RPM, and submit it for review to Fedora Extras. After a successful review, import it to Extras and you can maintain it there. If you don't know how to create RPM packages, there are many other ways to get involved in Fedora Extras and help the project.
zh: 您喜欢的开源程序不在 Fedora Extras 中？将这些应用程序打包为 RPM，然后提交到 Fedora Extras 中等待检视。在成功检视之后，将它导入 Extras，您就可以继续在那里维护它了。如果您不知道如何创建 RPM 软件包，还有很多其他办法可以参与 Fedora Extras 活动，推动这件事情。

en: To learn more about how to use Fedora Extras or how to get involved, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Extras"/>.
zh: 要了解更多关于如何使用 Fedora Extras 以及如何参与，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Extras"/>。

en: Package Updates
zh: 软件包更新

en: This section discusses changes in Fedora Extras packages that affect this release of Fedora Core.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora Extras 中，可能影响 Fedora Core 本次发布的软件包更新。

en: The <package>exim-sa</package> package is deprecated, and is not provided in Fedora Extras 6. It was the original implementation of <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/SpamAssassin">SpamAssassin</ulink> integration with Exim, and was functionally similar to <package>sendmail</package> milters or <package>postfix</package> filters. However, that functionality is rather limited, and Exim now has far better support for content checking, fully integrated into its general-purpose Access Control Lists.
zh: 软件包 <package>exim-sa</package> 被标为过时，不再包含在 Fedora Extras 6 中。它是 <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/SpamAssassin">SpamAssassin</ulink> 与 Exim 交互的最初的实现，与 <package>sendmail</package> milters 或 <package>postfix</package> filters 功能相仿。然而，它功能有限，Exim 现在支持更好的内容检测，与自身的通用访问控制列表集成。

en: Since the <option>sa_exim</option> feature was not enabled in the default configuration, the package can normally be safely uninstalled to allow Exim to be upgraded. Users who have modified their configuration to use <option>sa_exim</option> features should either reconfigure to use Exim's full content scanning abilities or rebuild the package for themselves to include the <package>exim-sa</package> subpackage. For further details on Exim's built-in content scanning, see the <ulink url="http://www.exim.org/exim-html-4.62/doc/html/spec_html/ch40.html">Exim documentation</ulink>.
zh: 由于 <option>sa_exim</option> 默认没有启用，大多数人可以卸载它以升级 Exim。如果改变了配置，使用了 <option>sa_exim</option>，应当重建配置，利用 Exim 的全文扫描能力，或者自行编译以得到 <package>exim-sa</package> 软件包。Exim 的内容扫描技术请参考 <ulink url="http://www.exim.org/exim-html-4.62/doc/html/spec_html/ch40.html">Exim 文档</ulink>。

en: mail-notification
zh: 邮件通知

en: The <package>mail-notification</package> package has been split. The <application>Evolution</application> plugin is now in a separate package called <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>. When you update the <package>mail-notification</package> package, the plugin is added automatically.
zh: 软件包 <package>mail-notification</package> 被拆分。<application>Evolution</application> 插件位于单独的软件包中，称为 <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>。升级 <package>mail-notification</package> 软件包时，会自动添加它。

en: Development
zh: 开发工具

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Development</h2>
en: This section covers various development tools and features.
zh: 这一节覆盖了各种开发工具和特性。

en: Runtime
zh: 运行时

en: These are the new features in <package>glibc</package>:
zh: 下面是 <package>glibc</package> 中的新特性

en: Support for priority inheriting and priority protecting mutexes. These are two features described in the POSIX standards.
zh: 支持继承优先级和保持优先级的互斥量(mutex)。这是 POSIX 标准中包含的特性。

en: Priority inheriting mutexes automatically prevent priority inversion caused by waiting for the availability of mutexes. The kernel automatically boosts the priority of the thread holding the mutex until it unlocks the mutex.
zh: 继承优先级的互斥量自动防止等待互斥量带来的优先级反转。内河自动提升持有互斥量的线程，直到互斥量被释放。

en: Priority protection allows to specify a priority that all threads that acquire the mutex will run with until the mutex is unlocked. This feature is not available for robust mutexes.
zh: 保持优先级允许为获得互斥量的线程设置优先级，直到互斥量被释放。这个特性对于 robust mutex 不适用。

en: The destination address sorting performed by the <interface>getaddrinfo()</interface> interface for hostname lookup can now be customized by rules in the <filename>/etc/gai.conf</filename> file.
zh: 用于主机名查找的 <interface>getaddrinfo()</interface> 接口在排序目标地址时可以定制规则，通过 <filename>/etc/gai.conf</filename> 文件。

en: Significant speed-ups in NIS and NIS+ processing.
zh: NIS 和 NIS+ 的速度有很大提升。

en: RFC 3542 support completed (advanced socket APIs for IPv6).
zh: 完善 RFC 3542 支持 (IPv6 的高级套接字 API)。

en: Significant speed-ups of dynamic symbol lookup.
zh: 动态符号查找的速度大大提高。

en: Tools
zh: 工具

en: The linker includes support for the new ELF symbol hash table format. Use the <option>--hash-style</option> option of the linker to select the format(s).
zh: 链接器包含对新的 ELF 符号散列表格式的支持。使用 <option>--hash-style</option> 链接器选项来应用这种格式。

en: Kernel header files
zh: 内核头文件

en: This release of Fedora has been built using Linux kernel headers exported directly from the kernel, using the new <option>headers_install</option> feature of the 2.6.18 kernel. Thus, the <package>glibc-kernheaders</package> package has been removed and replaced with <package>kernel-headers</package>, a subpackage of <package>kernel</package>.
zh: 本次发布的内核头文件是直接从内核导出的，使用 2.6.18 内核新引入的 <option>headers_install</option> 特性。因此，<package>glibc-kernheaders</package> 软件包被去除，取代它的是 <package>kernel-headers</package>，它是 <package>kernel</package> 的子软件包。

en: Developers may notice some changes between these new kernel headers and what was present before, including but not limited to the following:
zh: 开发者会看到新的内核头文件与过去有所不同，包括但不限于如下内容:

en: The <filename>&lt;linux/compiler.h&gt;</filename> header file has been removed, since it contains nothing of use to userspace.
zh: 文件 <filename>&lt;linux/compiler.h&gt;</filename> 被去除，因为它对于用户空间没有意义。

en: The <systemitem class="macro">_syscallX()</systemitem> macros are removed. Userspace should use <systemitem class="macro">syscall()</systemitem> from the C library instead.
zh: 宏 <systemitem class="macro">_syscallX()</systemitem> 被去除。用户空间应当使用 C 库中的 <systemitem class="macro">syscall()</systemitem>。

en: The <systemitem class="macro">PAGE_SIZE</systemitem> macro is removed from some architectures, since the page size is variable. Userspace should be using <systemitem class="macro">sysconf(_SC_PAGE_SIZE)</systemitem> or <systemitem class="macro">getpagesize()</systemitem> instead.
zh: 宏 <systemitem class="macro">PAGE_SIZE</systemitem> 在某些体系中被去除，因为可能是一个变量。用户空间应当使用 <systemitem class="macro">sysconf(_SC_PAGE_SIZE)</systemitem> 或 <systemitem class="macro">getpagesize()</systemitem>。

en: The <filename>&lt;asm/atomic.h&gt;</filename> and <filename>&lt;asm/bitops.h&gt;</filename> header files have been removed. These were not designed for use in userspace, and would fail to compile on some architectures while silently giving non-atomic behaviour on others. The C compiler provides its own <ulink url="http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.1.1/gcc/Atomic-Builtins.html#Atomic-Builtins">atomic builtin functions</ulink> that are suitable for use in userspace programs instead.
zh: 头文件 <filename>&lt;asm/atomic.h&gt;</filename> 和 <filename>&lt;asm/bitops.h&gt;</filename> 被去除。它们不是为用户空间使用的，在一些体系中会出错，而另一些体系中会悄悄执行非原子操作。C 编译器提供了自己的<ulink url="http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.1.1/gcc/Atomic-Builtins.html#Atomic-Builtins">内部原子操作</ulink>，适于在用户空间使用。

en: Content that was previously protected with <code>#ifdef __KERNEL__</code> is now elided completely with the <command>unifdef</command> tool. Defining <code>__KERNEL___</code> in order to see parts that should not be visible to userspace is no longer effective.
zh: 以 <code>#ifdef __KERNEL__</code> 保护的内容被彻底忽略，使用 <command>unifdef</command> 工具。定义 <code>__KERNEL__</code> 以访问用户空间不应可见的内容这种作法不再有效。

en: In addition, some other header files that xare not suitable for use in userspace have been removed, and still more headers have been edited to remove unsuitable content.
zh: 另外，一些其他不适于用户空间使用的头文件被去除。还有更多的头文件被修改，以去除不合适的内容。

en: Kernel header changes are not Fedora-specific
zh: 内核头文件的修改并不是 Fedora 特有的

en: These changes are inherited from the upstream kernel and are not specific to Fedora. Any distribution using the current officially-exported kernel headers would be the same.
zh: 这些修改是自上游继承的，并不是 Fedora 特有的。任何发行版如果使用最新正式导出的内核头文件，都将是这样。

en: GCC Compiler Collection
zh: GCC 编译器集合

en: This release of Fedora has been built with GCC 4.1, which is included with the distribution.
zh: 这一版本的 Fedora 使用 GCC 4.1 构建，同时将其包含在发行版中。

en: Caveats
zh: 警告

en: Fedora developers have introduced changes in the ELF <code>.hash</code> section that provides symbols for dynamic linking. This new <code>.gnu.hash</code> section, which is produced with the new default <option>--hash-style=gnu</option> option for <command>gcc</command>, serves the same purpose as previous hash sections. It provides, however, an approximately 50% increase in dynamic linking speed. Binaries and libraries produced with the new hashing function are incompatible with older <systemitem class="library">glibc</systemitem> and dynamic linker releases. To use the old-style hashing routines for compatibility with older <systemitem class="library">glibc</systemitem>-based systems, pass the <option>--hash-style=sysv</option> option instead.
zh: Fedora 开发者对 ELF 格式中，提供动态链接的符号的 <code>.hash</code> 段做了变动。新的 <code>.gnu.hash</code> 段，使用 <command>gcc</command> 的 <option>--hash-style=gnu</option> 参数来生成，提供与过去的 hash 段相同的功能，但是带来了 50% 的动态链接性能提升。使用新的 hash 函数生成的可执行程序和库与旧的 <systemitem class="library">glibc</systemitem> 以及动态链接器不兼容。要使用过去的 hash 规则，与过去基于 <systemitem class="library">glibc</systemitem> 的版本兼容，可以传递 <option>--hash-style=sysv</option> 选项。

en: You need GDB 6.1 or newer to debug binaries, unless they are compiled using the <option>-fno-var-tracking</option> compilation option.
zh: 需要  GDB 6.1 或更新的版本来调试可执行文件，除非编译时指定了 <option>-fno-var-tracking</option> 编译选项。

en: The <option>-fwritable-strings</option> option is no longer accepted.
zh: 选项 <option>-fwritable-strings</option> 不再可用。

en: English-language diagnostic messages now use Unicode quotes. If you cannot read this, set your <envar>LC_CTYPE</envar> environment variable to <systemitem class="constant">C</systemitem> or change your terminal emulator.
zh: 英语的诊断信息以 Unicode 编码，如果无法阅读，请将环境变量 <envar>LC_CTYPE</envar> 设置为 <systemitem class="constant">C</systemitem> 或者换用其他终端模拟程序。

en: The <filename>specs</filename> file is no longer installed on most systems. Ordinary users will not notice, but developers who need to alter the file can use the <option>-dumpspecs</option> option to generate the file for editing.
zh: 在大多数系统中不再安装 <filename>specs</filename> 文件。普通用户不会注意它，需要调整这个文件的开发者可以使用 <option>-dumpspecs</option> 选项来生成并用于编辑。

en: Code Generation
zh: 代码生成

en: The SSA code optimizer is now included and brings with it better constant propagation, partial redundancy elimination, load and store code motion, strength reduction, dead storage elimination, better detection of unreachable code, and tail recursion by accumulation.
zh: 包含了 <abbrev>SSA</abbrev> 代码优化程序。它提供了更好的 constant propagaion, partial redundancy elimination, load and store code motion, strength reduction, dead storage elimination, better detection of unreachable code 以及累计的尾递归。

en: Autovectorization is supported. This technique achieves higher performance for repetitive loop code, in some circumstances.
zh: 自动向量化得到支持。这一技术在某些情况下，对于重复的循环可以获得更高性能。

en: Language Extensions
zh: 语言扩展

en: The new sentinel attribute causes the compiler to issue a warning if a function such as <function>execl(char *path, const char *arg, ...)</function>, which requires a NULL list terminator, is missing the NULL.
zh: 新加入的 sentinel 属性使得编译器在遇到 <function>execl(char *path, const char *arg, ...)</function> 这样的需要一个 NULL 参数列终结符的函数中，缺失了 NULL 的情况下会发出警告。

en: The <systemitem>cast-as-lvalue</systemitem>, <systemitem>conditional-expression-as-lvalue</systemitem>, and <systemitem>compund-expression-as-lvalue</systemitem> extensions have been removed.
zh: <systemitem>cast-as-lvalue</systemitem> , <systemitem>conditional-expression-as-lvalue</systemitem> , 和 <systemitem>compund-expression-as-lvalue</systemitem> 扩展都被去除。

en: The <systemitem class="macro">#pragma pack()</systemitem> semantics are now closer to those used by other compilers.
zh: <systemitem class="macro">#pragma pack()</systemitem> 的语义被修正为更接近其他编译器。

en: Taking the address of a variable declared with the register modifier now generates an error instead of a warning.
zh: 对声明时带有 <computeroutput>register</computeroutput> 修饰符的变量取地址时，产生错误而不是警告。

en: Arrays of incomplete element types now generate an error. This implies no forward reference to structure definitions.
zh: 不完整的类型的数组会引发错误。这意味着不能对结构体的定义进行前向引用。

en: The basic compiler, without any optimization (<option>-O0</option>), has been measured as much as 25% faster in real-world code.
zh: 基本的编译器，不使用任何优化时 (<option>-O0</option>)，经测试在实际代码中速度提高了 25%。

en: Libraries may now contain function-scope static variables in multi-threaded programs. Embedded developers can use the <option>-fno-threadsafe-statics</option> to turn off this feature, but ordinary users should never do this.
zh: 在多线程程序中库可以包含函数作用域的静态变量了。嵌入式程序员可以用选项 <option>-fno-threadsafe-statics</option> 关掉这一特性，但普通用户永远不要这样做。

en: The standard search path for Ruby libraries, <code>$:</code>, has changed in accordance with <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/Packaging/Ruby">the packaging guidelines</ulink>. Changes were also made to some of the entries in <code>Config::CONFIG</code> in the <filename>rbconfig</filename> module. The most important changes include:
zh: Ruby 的默认搜索路径 <code>$:</code> 被修改，以符合 <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/Packaging/Ruby">Ruby 打包准则</ulink>。<filename>rbconfig</filename> 模块的 <code>Config::CONFIG</code> 中的一些条目也有调整。最重要的变动是:

en: <filename>sitedir</filename> and related directories (<filename>sitelibdir</filename>, <filename>sitearchdir</filename>) are now under <filename>rubylibdir</filename>. Instead of <filename>/usr/lib/site_ruby</filename> they are underneath <filename>/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby</filename>.
zh: <filename>sitedir</filename> 及相关目录 (<filename>sitelibdir</filename>, <filename>sitearchdir</filename>) 位于 <filename>rubylibdir</filename> 之下。它们在 <filename>/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby</filename> 目录中，而不是 <filename>/usr/lib/site_ruby</filename>。

en: The directories for architecture-independent pure Ruby code are always under <filename>/usr/lib</filename>, even on x86_64 architecture, where they used to be under <filename>/usr/lib64</filename>. This change affects the <code>Config::CONFIG</code> entries <filename>rubylibdir</filename> and <filename>sitelibdir</filename>.
zh: 平台无关的纯 Ruby 代码位于 <filename>/usr/lib</filename>，即使是 x86_64 体系也是如此，之前是位于 <filename>/usr/lib64</filename>。这个变动影响到 <code>Config::CONFIG</code> 中的 <filename>rubylibdir</filename> 和 <filename>sitelibdir</filename> 条目。

en: Directories that were previously in <code>$:</code> remain there for the time being, so that existing code, such as <filename>/usr/lib/site_ruby</filename>, does not need to be modified. These directories are deprecated though, and will be removed by the release of Fedora Core 8. Build Ruby RPM packages in accordance with <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/Packaging/Ruby">the packaging guidelines</ulink>. In particular, Ruby libraries should only be installed into <filename>sitelibdir</filename> and <filename>sitearchdir</filename>. You should also follow this rule for Ruby code that is not packaged as an RPM.
zh: <code>$:</code> 中列出的目录仍然不变，因此已有代码例如 <filename>/usr/lib/site_ruby</filename> 不需要修改。但是它们都标为过时，将在 Fedora Core 8 中去除。请遵照 <ulink url="http://fedora-test.fedoraproject.org/fedora-docs/fedora-docs/Packaging/Ruby">Ruby 打包准则</ulink>。特别的，Ruby 库只应当安装到 <filename>sitelibdir</filename> 和 <filename>sitearchdir</filename>。即使不是打包 RPM，也应当遵守这一规则。

en: Fedora Desktop
zh: Fedora 桌面

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Fedora Desktop</h2>
en: This section details changes that affect Fedora graphical desktop users.
zh: 本节详述影响 Fedora 图形桌面用户的改变。

en: Desktop Effects
zh: 桌面特效

en: AIGLX, from the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject">Fedora Rendering Project</ulink>, is part of the upstream <application>X.org</application> 7.1 release included in Fedora Core 6. <application>X.org</application> compositing is enabled by default in this release. Compositing features in <application>Metacity</application>, the default window manager provided in GNOME, are disabled in this release. When desktop effects are enabled, <application>Metacity</application> is replaced by <application>Compiz</application>, an OpenGL compositing window manager that uses AIGLX to provide desktop effects.
zh: AIGLX，来自 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject">Fedora 渲染(Rendering Project)</ulink>，是上游 <application>X.org</application> 7.1 的一部分，包含在 Fedora Core 6 中。本次发布默认启用 <application>X.org</application> 混合(composite)。GNOME 默认的窗口管理器 <application>Metacity</application> 的混合管理器功能被禁用。当启用桌面特效时，<application>Metacity</application> 被替换为 <application>Compiz</application>，一个 OpenGL 混合/窗口管理器，它使用 AIGLX 产生桌面特效。

en: To enable the fancy desktop effects, follow these steps:
zh: 要启用眩目的桌面特效，执行下面的步骤:

en: System
zh: 系统

en: Preferences
zh: 首选项

en: Log out
zh: 登出

en: Log back in. <command>compiz</command> should be enabled
zh: 重新登录。<command>compiz</command> 将会运行

en: If you get stuck, refer to the following thread:
zh: 如果出现问题，请参考这封邮件:

en: A list of hardware that supports these effects is available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject/aiglx"/>.
zh: 支持这些特效的硬件列表在 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject/aiglx"/>。

en: Software Management
zh: 软件包管理

en: The performance for the <command>yum</command> software management utility has been greatly improved in Fedora Core 6. The repository metadata parser has now been implemented in C. A new mirror management infrastructure also ensures better mirror selection and, in most cases, faster performance. The <application>Pirut</application> package management tool and the <application>Pup</application> software update utility are based on <command>yum</command>, so their performance is likewise improved.
zh: Fedora Core 6 中 <command>yum</command> 软件包管理工具的性能大大提高。仓库元数据解释器以 C 实现。新的镜像管理系统保证了更好的镜像选择和更好的速度。<application>Pirut</application> 软件包管理工具和 <application>Pup</application> 软件包更新工具都基于 <command>yum</command>，因此性能同样得到提升。

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.16/">GNOME 2.16</ulink>. Many of the changes in GNOME 2.16, such as <application>Tomboy</application> and the <application>GNOME Power Manager</application>, were added in Fedora Core 5. Fedora Core 6 also features the <application>Orca</application> screen reader, and the <application>Alacarte</application> menu editor previously available from Fedora Extras.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.16/">GNOME 2.16</ulink>。GNOME 2.16 中的很多变化，例如 <application>Tomboy</application> 和 <application>GNOME 电源管理程序</application> 都加入了 Fedora Core 6。Fedora Core 6 也包含 <application>Orca</application> 屏幕阅读程序，以及 <application>Alacarte</application> 菜单编辑器，这些过去都在 Fedora Extras 中。

en: The <application>GNOME Power Manager</application> utility now provides detailed, graphical information about power consumption. To access this information, right click on the applet and select the <guimenuitem>Information</guimenuitem> menu item.
zh: <application>GNOME 电源管理程序</application> 现在可以提供详细的，图形化的关于电源消耗的信息。要查看这些信息，右击小程序，然后选择 <guimenuitem>信息</guimenuitem> 一项。

en: The GNOME splash screen has been disabled upstream intentionally. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: GNOME 欢迎屏幕被上游开发者禁止了。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: The lock screen dialog theme is not connected to the selected screensaver in this release. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: 本次发布中，锁定屏幕对话框并未连接到指定的屏幕保护程序。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: Web Browsers
zh: Web 浏览器

en: There is no longer a <firstterm>browser suite</firstterm> package contained in Fedora Core 6. The <package>mozilla</package> package has been removed. For equivalent functionality, use <package>firefox</package> as a web browser and <package>thunderbird</package> as a mail client, or use <package>seamonkey</package>, a browser suite distributed in Fedora Extras.
zh: Fedora Core 6 中不再包含 <firstterm>浏览器套件</firstterm>。软件包 <package>mozilla</package> 被去除。要获得同等功能，使用 <package>firefox</package> 作为网页浏览器，以及 <package>thunderbird</package> 作为邮件客户端，或者使用 <package>seamonkey</package> 浏览器套件，位于 Fedora Extras 中。

en: To better support certain scripts (such as Indic and some CJK scripts), Fedora builds its <application>Firefox</application> using the Pango system as its text renderer. Pango is used with the permission of the Mozilla Corporation. This change may negatively impact performance on some pages. To disable the use of Pango, set <envar>MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1</envar> in your environment before launching <application>Firefox</application>.
zh: 为更好支持某些文字(例如 Indic 和一些 CJK 文字)，Fedora 中的 <application>Firefox</application> 使用 Pango 系统进行文本渲染。使用 Pango 获得了 Mozilla Coporation 的许可。这种方式对于一些页面稍有性能影响。要禁用 Pango，在启动 <application>Firefox</application> 前设置环境变量 <envar>MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1</envar>。

en: Gecko based browsers <application>Firefox</application> and <application>Epiphany</application> now properly render MathML when using the Pango text backend. Additionally, several issues with the rendering and behavior of text when using the Pango text backend have been resolved. <application>Epiphany</application> now renders using Pango by default.
zh: 基于 Gecko 的浏览器 <application>Firefox</application> 和 <application>Epiphany</application> 在使用 Pango 文本后端时，可以正确渲染 MathML 了。另外，使用 Pango 后端在文字渲染和行为中的一些问题都已解决。<application>Epiphany</application> 默认使用 Pango 渲染。

en: Mail Clients
zh: 邮件客户端

en: <application>Thunderbird</application> in Fedora now enables Pango by default for all locales with permission from the Mozilla Corporation. This change may negatively impact performance on some pages. To disable the use of Pango, set <envar>MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1</envar> in your environment before launching <application>Thunderbird</application>.
zh: Fedora 中的 <application>Thunderbird</application> 在所有语言环境中默认使用 Pango，这样做得到了 Mozilla Corporation 的许可。这样做会对一些页面的性能稍有影响。要禁用 Pango，在运行 <application>Thunderbird</application> 前设置环境变量 <envar>MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1</envar>。

en: Database Servers
zh: 数据库服务器

en: Fedora now provides <application>MySQL</application> 5.0. For a list of the enhancements provided by this version, refer to <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-5-0-nutshell.html"/>.
zh: Fedora 提供了 <application>MySQL</application> 5.0。这一版各种增强的列表请参考 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-5-0-nutshell.html"/>。

en: For more information on upgrading databases from previous releases of <application>MySQL</application>, refer to the <application>MySQL</application> web site at <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>.
zh: 从过去版本的 <application>MySQL</application> 数据库升级，请参考 <application>MySQL</application> 网站文档 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>。

en: This release of Fedora includes <application>PostgreSQL</application> 8.1. For more information on this new version, refer to <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/whatsnew"/>.
zh: 这一版的 Fedora 包含 <application>PostgreSQL</application> 8.1。关于这个新版本的更多信息，请参考 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/whatsnew"/>。

en: Upgrading Databases
zh: 升级数据库

en: Fedora Core 4 provided version 8.0 of <application>PostgreSQL</application>. If you upgrade an existing Fedora system with a <application>PostgreSQL</application> database, you must upgrade the database to access the data. To upgrade a database from a previous version of PostgreSQL, follow the procedure described at <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.1/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/>
zh: Fedora Core 4 提供了 <application>PostgreSQL</application> 的 8.0 版本。如果您升级已有的 Fedora 系统，包含 <application>PostgreSQL</application> 数据库，必须同时更新数据库才能访问数据。要升级旧版本 <application>PostgreSQL</application> 的数据库，按照 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.1/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/> 去做。

en: Colophon
zh: 文档题署

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Colophon</h2>
en: As we use the term, a <emphasis>colophon</emphasis>:
zh: 我们使用 colophon (题署)这个词的含义在于:

en: recognizes contributors and provides accountability, and
zh: 承认贡献者的努力，同时提供负责制度，以及

en: explains tools and production methods.
zh: 解释工具及创建过程。

en: Contributors
zh: 贡献者

en: ... and many more translators. Refer to the Web-updated version of these release notes as we add translators after release:
zh: ... 以及大量的翻译人员。请参考发行注记的网络更新版本，发布后将包含译者名单。

en: Production Methods
zh: 工作方式

en: Beat writers produce the release notes directly on the Fedora Project Wiki. They collaborate with other subject matter experts during the test release phase of Fedora Core to explain important changes and enhancements. The editorial team ensures consistency and quality of the finished beats, and ports the Wiki material to DocBook XML in a revision control repository. At this point, the team of translators produces other language versions of the release notes, and then they become available to the general public as part of Fedora Core. The publication team also makes them, and subsequent errata, available via the Web.
zh: 区块作者直接在 Fedora 项目的 Wiki 中撰写发行注记。他们在 Fedora Core 测试过程中与其他同主题的专家合作，解释重要的变化和增强。编辑团队保证最终文档的一致性以及品质，然后将 Wiki 内容导出为 DocBook XML，存入版本控制仓库。其后，在翻译团队帮助下，生成其他版本的发行注记，将它们作为 Fedora Core 的一部分被公众获得。发布团队也生成它们以及后续的修正版本，供网络访问之用。

en: Backwards Compatibility
zh: 向后兼容

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Backwards Compatibility</h2>
en: Fedora Core provides legacy system libraries for compatibility with older software. This software is part of the <systemitem>Legacy Software Development</systemitem> group, which is not installed by default. Users who require this functionality may select this group either during installation, or after the installation process is complete. To install the package group on a Fedora system, use <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, <application>Pirut</application>, or enter the following command in a terminal window:
zh: Fedora Core 包含兼容旧软件包的过时系统库。这些软件属于<systemitem>Legacy Software Development</systemitem>组，默认不被安装。需要这些功能的用户可以在安装时选择这个组，或者安装后再补充。要在Fedora系统上安装一个软件组，使用 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除程序</guimenuitem></menuchoice>，<application>Pirut</application>，或者在终端下执行下面的命令:

en: Enter the password for the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> account when prompted.
zh: 提示时输入 <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 密码。

en: Compiler Compatibility
zh: 编译器兼容性

en: The <code>compat-gcc-34</code> package has been included in this release for compatibility reasons:
zh: 软件包 <code>compat-gcc-34</code> 包含在内，以处理兼容性问题:

en: Architecture Specific Notes
zh: 体系相关内容

note: RAW HTML: <h2>Architecture Specific Notes</h2>
en: This section provides notes that are specific to the supported hardware architectures of Fedora Core.
zh: 本节提供 Fedora Core 所支持的特定硬件体系的信息。

en: RPM Multiarch Support on 64-bit platforms (x86_64, ppc64)
zh: 64 位平台下(x86_64, ppc64) RPM 多体系支持

en: <emphasis role="strong">RPM</emphasis> supports parallel installation of multiple architectures of the same package. A default package listing such as <command>rpm -qa</command> might appear to include duplicate packages, since the architecture is not displayed. Instead, use the <command>repoquery</command> command, part of the <package>yum-utils</package> package in Fedora Extras, which displays architecture by default. To install <package>yum-utils</package>, run the following command:
zh: <emphasis role="strong">RPM</emphasis> 支持同时安装一个软件包的多种体系。运行 <command>rpm -qa</command> 列出软件包时可能包含重复的软件包，因为体系不会被列出。不过，使用 <command>repoquery</command> 命令，这是 Fedora Extras 仓库中 <filename>yum-utils</filename> 软件包的一部分，就可以列出体系了。要安装 <filename>yum-utils</filename>，运行命令:

en: To list all packages with their architecture using <command>rpm</command>, run the following command:
zh: 要用 <code>rpm</code> 列出所有软件包以及其体系，运行命令:

en: You can add this to <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (for a system wide setting) or <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (for a per-user setting). It changes the default query to list the architecture:
zh: 您可以将它添加到 <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (系统范围的设置)或 <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (用户各自的设置)。它改变默认的查询方式，以列出体系:

en: PPC Specifics for Fedora
zh: PPC 相关

en: This section covers any specific information you may need to know about Fedora Core and the PPC hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora Core 特定于 PPC 硬件平台的信息。

en: PPC Hardware Requirements
zh: PPC 硬件需求

en: Processor and Memory
zh: 处理器及内存

en: Minimum CPU: PowerPC G3 / POWER3
zh: CPU 最小值: PowerPC G3 / POWER3

en: Fedora Core 6 supports only the "New World" generation of Apple Power Macintosh, shipped from circa 1999 onward.
zh: Fedora Core 6 只支持 Apple 在 1999 左右及其后发布的 "新生代"  Power Macintosh。

en: Fedora Core 6 also supports IBM pSeries, IBM iSeries, IBM RS/6000, Genesi Pegasos II, and IBM Cell Broadband Engine machines.
zh: Fedora Core 6 也支持 IBM eServer pSeries, IBM RS/6000, Genesi Pegasos II 和 IBM Cell Broadband Engine 机型。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 233 MHz G3 or better, 128MiB RAM.
zh: 文本模式推荐值: 233MHz G3 或更佳，128MiB 内存

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz G3 or better, 256MiB RAM.
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 400MHz G3 或更佳，256MiB 内存

en: Hard Disk Space Requirements
zh: 硬盘空间需求

en: The disk space requirements listed below represent the disk space taken up by Fedora Core 6 after installation is complete. However, additional disk space is required during installation to support the installation environment. This additional disk space corresponds to the size of <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> (on Installation Disc 1) plus the size of the files in <filename>/var/lib/rpm</filename> on the installed system.
zh: 下列给出的是 Fedora Core 6 <emphasis>安装完成后</emphasis> 的硬盘需求。但是，在安装过程中，为运行安装程序，需要更多磁盘空间。更多的磁盘空间大致等于 (安装光盘 1 中的) <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> 大小加上安装完毕的系统中 <filename>/var/lib/rpm</filename> 的大小。

en: In practical terms, additional space requirements may range from as little as 90 MiB for a minimal installation to as much as an additional 175 MiB for an installation that includes nearly all the packages. The complete installed packages can occupy over 9 GB of disk space.
zh: 实际上，这意味着，最小安装需要 90MiB 额外空间，而完全安装需要 175MiB 额外空间。所有软件包将占据 9GB 磁盘空间。

en: Additional space is also required for any user data, and at least 5% free space should be maintained for proper system operation.
zh: 另外，记住用户数据也需要额外空间存放，为使系统正常运作，还应保留至少 5% 空闲空间。

en: The Apple keyboard
zh:  Apple 键盘

en: The <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> key on Apple systems is equivalent to the <keycap function="alt">Alt</keycap> key on the PC. Where documentation and the installer refer to the <keycap function="alt">Alt</keycap> key, use the <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> key. For some key combinations you may need to use the <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> key in conjunction with the <keycap function="other">Fn</keycap> key, such as <keycombo><keycap function="option">Option</keycap><keycap function="other">Fn</keycap><keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> to switch to virtual terminal tty3.
zh: Apple 系统中的 <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> 键与 PC 中的 <keycap function="alt">Alt</keycap> 是等价的。安装过程中提到 <keycap function="alt">Alt</keycap> 键时，使用 <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> 代替。有些组合键需要用 <keycap function="option">Option</keycap> 键与 <keycap function="other">Fn</keycap> 键组合出来，例如 <keycombo><keycap function="option">Option</keycap><keycap function="other">Fn</keycap><keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> 可以切换到虚拟终端 tty3。

en: PPC Installation Notes
zh: PPC 安装

en: Fedora Core Installation Disc 1 is bootable on supported hardware. In addition, a bootable CD image appears in the <filename>images/</filename> directory of this disc. These images behave differently according to your system hardware:
zh: Fedora Core 安装盘 1 是可以在所支持的硬件平台上启动的。另外，可以在 CD 的 <filename>images/</filename> 目录找到一份可启动的 CD 镜像。硬件不同，它们的行为也不同:

en: Apple Macintosh The bootloader automatically boots the appropriate 32-bit or 64-bit installer.
zh: Apple Macintosh - 引导程序将自动引导合适的 32 位或 64 位安装程序。

en: The default <package>gnome-power-manager</package> package includes power management support, including sleep and backlight level management. Users with more complex requirements can use the <package>apmud</package> package in Fedora Extras. To install <package>apmud</package> after installation, use the following command:
zh: 默认的 <package>gnome-power-manager</package> 软件包包含电源管理支持，如休眠以及背光级别管理等。用户有更复杂的需求时可以使用 Fedora Extras 中的 <package>apmud</package> 软件包。要安装 <package>apmud</package>，运行命令:

en: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), current iSeries models
zh: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), 新近的 iSeries 机型

en: After using Open<emphasis role="strong"/>Firmware to boot the CD, the bootloader, <command>yaboot</command>, automatically boots the 64-bit installer.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 引导 CD 后，引导管理器 (<command>yaboot</command>) 自动运行 64 位的安装程序。

en: So-called "Legacy" iSeries models, which do not use Open<emphasis role="strong"/>Firmware, require use of the boot image located in the <filename>images/iSeries</filename> directory of the installation tree.
zh: 被称为 "Legacy" 的 iSeries 不使用 OpenFirmware。应当使用安装树的 <filename>images/iSeries</filename> 目录中的引导镜像。

en: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 and others)
zh: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 及其他)

en: After using Open<emphasis role="strong"/>Firmware to boot the CD, select the <filename>linux32</filename> boot image at the <prompt>boot:</prompt> prompt to start the 32-bit installer. Otherwise, the 64-bit installer starts and fails.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 启动 CD 后，在 <prompt>boot:</prompt> 提示符下选择 <filename>linux32</filename> 镜像，引导 32 位的安装程序。否则，64 位安装程序会自动引导，而它无法运行。

en: At the time of writing, firmware with full support for ISO9660 file systems has not yet been released for the Pegasos. You can use the network boot image, however. At the OpenFirmware prompt, enter the following command:
zh: 在本文档撰写时，Pegasos 完全支持 ISO9660 文件系统的固件尚未发布。但是，可以使用网络启动盘。在 OpenFirmware 提示符下，输入命令:

en: You must also configure OpenFirmware on the Pegasos manually to make the installed Fedora Core system bootable. To do this, set the <envar>boot-device</envar> and <envar>boot-file</envar> environment variables appropriately.
zh: 您还需要手动配置 Pegasos 上的 OpenFirmware 来使得装好的 Fedora Core 系统可以启动。您需要设置 <envar>boot-device</envar> 和 <envar>boot-file</envar> 环境变量为正确的值。

en: Network booting
zh: 网络启动

en: Combined images containing the installer kernel and ramdisk are located in the <filename>images/netboot/</filename> directory of the installation tree. They are intended for network booting with TFTP, but can be used in many ways.
zh: 在安装树的 <filename>images/netboot/</filename> 目录有包含安装程序内核与 ramdisk 的一组镜像文件。它们主要用途是通过 TFTP 实现网络启动，但是也有其他使用方式。

en: The <command>yaboot</command> loader supports TFTP booting for IBM pSeries and Apple Macintosh. The Fedora Project encourages the use of <command>yaboot</command> over the <command>netboot</command> images.
zh: <command>yaboot</command> 支持用 TFTP 引导 IBM eServer pSeries 和 Apple Macintosh。Fedora Project 建议结合使用 <command>yaboot</command> 和 <command>netboot</command> 镜像。

en: x86 Specifics for Fedora
zh: x86 相关

en: This section covers any specific information you may need to know about Fedora Core and the x86 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora Core 特定于 x86 硬件平台的信息。

en: x86 Hardware Requirements
zh: x86 硬件需求

en: In order to use specific features of Fedora Core 6 during or after installation, you may need to know details of other hardware components such as video and network cards.
zh: 为了在安装中或安装后使用 Fedora Core 6 的特定功能，您也许需要知道其它硬件组件如显卡和网卡的细节。

en: Processor and Memory Requirements
zh: 处理器和内存需求

en: The following CPU specifications are stated in terms of Intel processors. Other processors, such as those from AMD, Cyrix, and VIA that are compatible with and equivalent to the following Intel processors, may also be used with Fedora Core.
zh: 下列 CPU 特性是以 Intel 处理器的方式表述的。其他处理器 (主要是来自 AMD, Cyrix 和 VIA 的那些) 如果与 Intel 处理器兼容，也可以用于 Fedora Core。

en: Fedora Core 6 requires an Intel Pentium or better processor, and is optimized for Pentium 4 and later processors.
zh: Fedora Core 6 需要 Intel 奔腾或更高。它为奔腾 4 及更新的处理器优化。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 200 MHz Pentium-class or better
zh: 文本模式的推荐配置: 200 MHz 奔腾或以上

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz Pentium II or better
zh: 图形模式的推荐配置: 400 MHz 奔腾 II 或以上

en: Minimum RAM for text-mode: 128MiB
zh: 文本模式最小值: 128MiB

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 192MiB
zh: 图形模式最小值: 192MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 256MiB
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 256MiB

en: The disk space requirements listed below represent the disk space taken up by Fedora Core 6 after the installation is complete. However, additional disk space is required during the installation to support the installation environment. This additional disk space corresponds to the size of <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> on Installation Disc 1 plus the size of the files in <filename>/var/lib/rpm</filename> on the installed system.
zh: 下列给出的是 Fedora Core 6 <emphasis>安装完成后</emphasis> 的硬盘需求。但是，在安装过程中，为运行安装程序，需要更多磁盘空间。更多的磁盘空间大致等于安装光盘 1 中的 <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> 大小加上安装完毕的系统中 <filename>/var/lib/rpm</filename> 的大小。

en: x86_64 Specifics for Fedora
zh: x86 相关

en: This section covers any specific information you may need to know about Fedora Core and the x86_64 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora Core 特定于 x86_64 硬件平台的信息。

en: x86_64 Hardware Requirements
zh: x86_64 硬件需求

en: x86_64 Memory Requirements
zh: x86_64 内存需求

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 256MiB
zh: 图形模式最小值: 256MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 512MiB
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 512MiB
