relnotes 8 - en to zh translation catalogue (527 entries)

en: Red Hat, Inc. and others
zh: Red Hat, Inc. 及其他

en: Fedora Release Notes
zh: Fedora 发行注记

en: Important information about this release of Fedora
zh: 关于 Fedora 本次发布的重要信息

en: Zero-day update for F8
zh: F8 发行日更新

en: Push new version for final
zh: 为最终版更新内容

en: Update content for F8 test3
zh: 为 f8t3 更新内容

en: X Window System (Graphics)
zh: X 窗口系统 (图形界面)

en: Latest Release Notes on the Web
zh: 网上最新的发行注记

en: These release notes may be updated. Visit <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/</ulink> to view the latest release notes for Fedora.
zh: 这些发行注记也许已被更新。请访问 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/</ulink> 来查看最新的 Fedora 发行注记。

en: This section contains information related to the X Window System implementation, X.org, provided with Fedora.
zh: 这一节包含了与 Fedora 的 X 窗口系统实现有关的信息。

en: X Configuration Changes
zh: X 配置的变动

en: The X.org 7.2 X server has been modified to automatically detect and configure most hardware, eliminating the need for users or administrators to modify the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file. The only hardware configured by default in the <filename>xorg.conf</filename> file written by anaconda is:
zh: X 服务器 <application>X.org 7.2</application> 被改进，可以自动探测和配置大多数硬件。用户和系统管理员不需要再修改 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 文件。Anaconda 安装程序在 <filename>xorg.conf</filename> 中配置的硬件只包括:

en: The graphics driver
zh: 显卡驱动

en: The keyboard map
zh: 键盘映射

en: All other hardware, such as monitors (both LCD and CRT), USB mice, and touchpads should be detected and configured automatically.
zh: 所有其他设备，如显示器(包括 LCD 和 CRT)，USB 鼠标，以及触摸板都可以自动探测和配置。

en: The X server queries the attached monitor for supported resolution ranges, and attempts to pick the highest resolution available with the correct aspect ratio for the display. Users can set their preferred resolution in <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Screen Resolution</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, and the default resolution for the system can be changed with <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Administration</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Display</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: X 服务器向显示器查询所支持的分辨率范围，然后尝试选择正确的宽高比例中，最高的分辨率。用户可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>屏幕分辨率</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置首选分辨率，而系统默认分辨率可以在 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>管理</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>显示</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 中设置。

en: If the <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> configuration file is not present, X also automatically detects the appropriate driver, and assumes a 105-key US keyboard layout.
zh: 如果 <filename>/etc/X11/xorg.conf</filename> 配置文件不存在，X 仍然会自动探测合适的驱动，并且假设键盘是 105 键布局。

en: Third Party Video Drivers
zh: 第三方显卡驱动

en: If you intend to use third party video drivers, refer to the Xorg third party drivers page for detailed guidelines:
zh: 如果你想使用第三方的显卡驱动，请参阅Xorg关于第三方显卡驱动的网页，那里有详细的指导：

en: Welcome to Fedora
zh: 欢迎使用 Fedora

en: The Fedora Project is a Red Hat sponsored and community supported open source project. Its goal is the rapid progress of free and open source software and content. The Fedora Project makes use of public forums, open processes, rapid innovation, meritocracy, and transparency in pursuit of the best operating system and platform that free and open source software can provide.
zh: Fedora 项目是由 Red Hat 和社群支持的开源项目。它的目标在于快速推进自由开源软件和开源内容。Fedora 项目利用大众论坛，开放的程序，快速的革新，英明的管理以及高度的透明来完成一个完全由自由开源的软件构成的完美的操作系统和平台。

en: Older Release Notes on the Web
zh: 网上旧版本的发行注记

en: If you are migrating from a release of Fedora older than the immediately previous one, you should refer to older Release Notes for additional information. You can find older Release Notes at <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/"/>.
zh: 如果是从较旧的 Fedora 升级，而不是前一版本，应当参考过去的发行注记以获得更多信息。旧版本的发行注记可以在 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/release-notes/"/> 看到。

en: You can help the Fedora Project community continue to improve Fedora if you file bug reports and enhancement requests. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests</ulink> for more information about bugs. Thank you for your participation.
zh: 您只要提交错误报告以及功能增强请求，就可以帮助 Fedora 项目和社区不断地改进 Fedora。请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。感谢您的参与。

en: To find out more general information about Fedora, refer to the following Web pages:
zh: 想知道更多 Fedora 的信息，请访问下列页面:

en: Fedora Overview (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Overview</ulink>)
zh: Fedora 概览 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Overview"/>)

en: Fedora FAQ (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ</ulink>)
zh: 常见问题(Fedora FAQ) (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/FAQ"/>)

en: Help and Discussions (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate</ulink>)
zh: 帮助和讨论 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>)

en: Participate in the Fedora Project (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join</ulink>)
zh: 参与 Fedora 项目 (<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Join"/>)

en: Document Links
zh: 文档链接

en: Many links may not work properly from within the installation environment, due to resource constraints. The release notes are also available post-installation as part of the desktop Web browser's default home page. If you are connected to the internet, use these links to find other helpful information about Fedora and the community that creates and supports it.
zh: 如果您在 Fedora 安装过程中阅读这份发行注记，可能无法访问外部链接。安装后，仍然可以继续阅读它。它是互联网浏览器的默认首页。连接到互联网后，就可以访问这些链接，获得关于 Fedora 和创造它、支持它的社区的更多信息了。

en: Web Servers
zh: 网络服务器

en: PostgreSQL DBD Driver
zh: PostgreSQL DBD 驱动

en: Users of the <filename>mod_dbd</filename> module should note that the <filename>apr-util</filename> DBD driver for PostgreSQL is now distributed as a separate dynamically-loaded module. The driver module is now included in the <package>apr-util-pgsql</package> package. A MySQL driver is now also available, in the <package>apr-util-mysql</package> package.
zh: 使用<filename>mod_dbd</filename>的用户请注意，PostgreSQL的<filename>apr-util</filename> DBD 驱动已经被包含进发行当中。这个驱动模块是作为单独的动态载入模块包含进来的，它在<package>apr-util-pgsql</package>包中。现在也可以在<package>apr-util-mysql</package>包中找到MySQL的驱动。

en: TurboGears Applications
zh: TurboGears 应用程序

en: SQLAlchemy has been updated to 0.4.x. TurboGears Applications developed using SQLAlchemy for their database layer will need to update their startup scripts. Instead of:
zh: SQLAlchemy 更新为 0.4.x 版。使用 SQLAlchemy 作为数据库层的 TurboGears 应用程序需要更新启动脚本。不使用：

en: the start script needs to have:
zh: 启动脚本需要包含：

en: Virtualization
zh: 虚拟化

en: Virtualization in Fedora 8 supports both Xen and KVM virtualization platforms. The <systemitem class="library">libvirt</systemitem> API and its corresponding tools, <application>virt-manager</application> and <command>virsh</command>, have been updated to support both KVM and Xen. Users can choose which virtualization platform to install, and use the same tools without regard to that choice.
zh: Fedora 8 的虚拟化支持包括 Xen 和 KVM 虚拟化平台。<systemitem class="library">libvirt</systemitem> 接口(API)和相应的工具 <application>virt-manager</application> 以及 <command>virsh</command> 已被更新为同时支持 KVM 和 Xen。用户可以选择安装任一虚拟化平台，使用相同的工具，不管选择了哪一种。

en: Xen in Fedora 8 is based on version 3.1.0.
zh: Fedora 8 中的 Xen 基于 3.1.0 版本。

en: KVM in Fedora 8 is based on version 36-2.
zh: Fedora 8 中的 KVM 基于 36-2 版本。

en: For more information on the differences between Xen and KVM, refer to <ulink url="http://virt.kernelnewbies.org/TechComparison"/>. For more information on installing and using virtualization in Fedora 8, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Fedora8VirtQuickStart"/>.
zh: Xen 与 KVM 的不同之处请参考 <ulink url="http://virt.kernelnewbies.org/TechComparison"/>。关于在 Fedora 8 中安装和使用虚拟化请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Fedora8VirtQuickStart"/>。

en: Changes to the Virtualization Packages
zh: Xen 软件包的变化

en: The following improvements have been made in the virtualization packages in Fedora 8:
zh: 在 Fedora 8 中的虚拟化软件包有以下的改进：

en: Secure remote management of guest VM lifecycle
zh: 虚拟客户生命周期的安全远程管理

en: Secure remote access to the guest virtual consoles
zh: 虚拟客户终端的安全远程访问

en: For more information on secure remote management, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureVirtSecurity">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureVirtSecurity</ulink>.
zh: 关于安全远程管理的详细信息请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/FeatureVirtSecurity"/>。

en: Secure remote management of guest domains. Features include: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 客户域的安全远程管理。特性包括：<placeholder-1/>

en: Introduction of <application>Virt Viewer</application>, a lightweight, minimal UI for interacting with the graphical console of virtual machines. <application>Virt Viewer</application> serves as a replacement for <command>vncviewer</command>.
zh: 引入 <application>Virt Viewer</application>，一个轻量级的，最小化的界面，用于与虚拟机图形化终端交互。<application>Virt Viewer</application> 替换了 <command>vncviewer</command>。

en: The <systemitem class="library">LibVNCServer</systemitem> implementation has been removed from Xen and replaced with <application>QEMU</application>.
zh: Xen 中 <systemitem class="library">LibVNCServer</systemitem> 实现被移除，替换为 <application>QEMU</application>。

en: Introduction of GTK-VNC, a GTK widget which provides a VNC client. For more information on GTK-VNC refer to <ulink url="http://gtk-vnc.sourceforge.net/">http://gtk-vnc.sourceforge.net/</ulink>.
zh: 引入 GTK-VNC，一个 GTK 控件，提供了 VNC 客户功能。更多信息请访问 <ulink url="http://gtk-vnc.sourceforge.net/">http://gtk-vnc.sourceforge.net/</ulink>。

en: Security
zh: 安全

en: This section highlights various security items from Fedora.
zh: 这一章记述 Fedora 的安全措施。

en: Security Enhancements
zh: 安全增强

en: Fedora continues to improve its many proactive <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features">security features</ulink>, and FORTIFY_SOURCE has now been <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html">enhanced</ulink> to cover C++ in addition to C, which prevents many security exploits.
zh: Fedora 继续提高自身独创的 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security/Features">安全特性</ulink>， FORTIFY_SOURCE 被<ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html">增强</ulink>以在 C 之外也用于 C++，防止了许多安全隐患。

en: A brand new graphical firewall configuration tool, <package>system-config-firewall</package>, replaces <package>system-config-securitylevel</package>.
zh: 全新的防火墙配置工具，<package>system-config-firewall</package> 替换了 <package>system-config-securitylevel</package>。

en: This release offers <ulink url="http://danwalsh.livejournal.com/13376.html">Kiosk</ulink> functionality via SELinux, among many new enhancements and security policy changes.
zh: 本次发布包含 SELinux 提供的 <ulink url="http://danwalsh.livejournal.com/13376.html">Kiosk</ulink> 功能，以及其他增强及安全策略的改变。

en: The <package>glibc</package> package in Fedora 8 now has <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/drepper/sha-crypt.html">support</ulink> for passwords using SHA256 and SHA512 hashing. Before only DES and MD5 were available. The tools to create passwords have not been extended yet, but if such passwords are created in others ways, <package>glibc</package> will recognize and honor them.
zh: Fedora 8 中 <package>glibc</package> 包含了密码的 SHA256 和 SHA512 散列<ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/drepper/sha-crypt.html">支持</ulink>。过去只有 DES 和 MD5 可用。创建密码的工具尚未更新，但是如果密码已由某种方式创建，<package>glibc</package> 就可以识别和使用它们。

en: Secure remote management capability is now provided for Xen, KVM, and QEMU in Fedora 8 <ulink url="http://berrange.com/personal/diary/2007/08/fedora-8-virtualization-work-in">virtualization</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 8 <ulink url="http://berrange.com/personal/diary/2007/08/fedora-8-virtualization-work-in">虚拟化</ulink>包含了针对 Xen, KVM 和 QEMU 的安全远程管理能力。

en: General Information
zh: 一般信息

en: A general introduction to the many proactive security features in Fedora, current status, and policies is available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security</ulink>.
zh: 对 Fedora 中各种主动的安全特性的一般介绍，当前状态和策略可以在 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Security"/> 看到。

en: The SELinux project pages have troubleshooting tips, explanations, and pointers to documentation and references. Some useful links include the following:
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面包括排错提示，解释，以及到文档和参考内容的链接。一些有用的链接如下:

en: New SELinux project pages: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux</ulink>
zh: 新的 SELinux 项目页面: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux"/>

en: Troubleshooting tips: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting</ulink>
zh: 排错提示: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Troubleshooting"/>

en: Frequently Asked Questions: <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/</ulink>
zh: 常见问题: <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/selinux-faq/</ulink>

en: Listing of SELinux commands: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands</ulink>
zh:  SELinux 命令列表: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Commands"/>

en: Details of confined domains: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains</ulink>
zh: 有关受控域的细节: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SELinux/Domains"/>

en: Fedora Project
zh: Fedora 项目

en: The goal of the Fedora Project is to work with the Linux community to build a complete, general-purpose operating system exclusively from open source software. The Fedora Project is driven by the individuals that contribute to it. As a tester, developer, documenter, or translator, you can make a difference. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/join-fedora.html"/> for details. For information on the channels of communication for Fedora users and contributors, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate"/>.
zh: Fedora 项目的目的是与 Linux 社区一起构建一个完整的，通用的操作系统，仅由自由软件构成。Fedora 项目是由贡献者个人驱动的。作为测试者，开发者，文档作者或译者，你可以改变它。要加入 Fedora 项目请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Join"/>。关于 Fedora 用户和贡献者的交流渠道，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: The Fedora Project is driven by the individuals that contribute to it. As a tester, developer, documenter, or translator, you can make a difference. See <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Join</ulink> for details. For information on the channels of communication for Fedora users and contributors, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 项目是由贡献者推动的。作为测试者，开发者，文档作者或翻译人员，您能让它与众不同。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Join"/>。关于 Fedora 用户与贡献者的交流通道，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: In addition to the website, the following mailing lists are available:
zh: 在网站之外，还可以使用下列邮件列表:

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for users of Fedora releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-list@redhat.com">fedora-list@redhat.com</ulink> ， Fedora 发行版的用户邮件列表

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for testers of Fedora test releases
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-test-list@redhat.com">fedora-test-list@redhat.com</ulink> - Fedora 测试发布的测试人员

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for developers, developers, developers
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-devel-list@redhat.com">fedora-devel-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 针对开发者

en: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink>, for participants of the Documentation Project
zh: <ulink url="mailto:fedora-docs-list@redhat.com">fedora-docs-list@redhat.com</ulink> - 文档项目的参与者

en: To subscribe to any of these lists, send an email with the word "subscribe" in the subject to <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;-request</replaceable>, where <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> is one of the above list names. Alternately, you can subscribe to Fedora mailing lists through the Web interface at <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/">http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/</ulink>.
zh: 要订阅任何邮件列表，以 "subscribe" 为主题，发送邮件到 <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;-request</replaceable>，这里 <replaceable>&lt;listname&gt;</replaceable> 是上面邮件列表的名字之一。或者，也可以在网页上订阅，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/"/>。

en: The Fedora Project also uses several IRC (Internet Relay Chat) channels. IRC is a real-time, text-based form of communication, similar to Instant Messaging. With it, you may have conversations with multiple people in an open channel, or chat with someone privately one-on-one. To talk with other Fedora Project participants via IRC, access the Freenode IRC network. Refer to the Freenode website at <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/">http://www.freenode.net/</ulink> for more information.
zh: Fedora 项目也使用多个 IRC (Internet Relay Chat) 频道。IRC 是一个实时的，文本的交流形式。使用 IRC，您可以在一个开放的频道中与多人同时会话，也可以私下一对一地与某个人交谈。要通过 IRC 与其他 Fedora 项目贡献者，首先连接到 Freenode IRC 网络。请参考 Freenode 网站上的指引，位置是 <ulink url="http://www.freenode.net/">http://www.freenode.net/</ulink>。

en: Fedora Project participants frequent the #fedora channel on the Freenode network, while Fedora Project developers may often be found on the #fedora-devel channel. Some of the larger projects may have their own channels as well. This information may be found on the webpage for the project, and at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 项目参与者通常访问 Freenode 网络的 #fedora 频道，而 Fedora Project 开发者总可以在 <systemitem>#fedora-devel</systemitem> 频道找到。一些大型项目也会有自己的频道；可以在项目网站找到，还可以访问网页 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Communicate"/>。

en: In order to talk on the #fedora channel, you need to register your nickname, or <firstterm>nick</firstterm>. Instructions are given when you <command>/join</command> the channel.
zh: 为了在 #fedora  频道交谈，您需要注册一个昵称 (<firstterm>nick</firstterm>)。当您第一次 <command>/join</command> 这个频道时，将看到指令。

en: IRC Channels
zh: IRC 频道

en: The Fedora Project and Red Hat have no control over the Fedora Project IRC channels or their content.
zh: Fedora 项目和 Red Hat 对 Fedora 项目 IRC 频道及其内容没有控制权。

en: Package Notes
zh: 特定软件包

en: The following sections contain information regarding software packages that have undergone significant changes for Fedora 8. For easier access, they are generally organized using the same groups that are shown in the installation system.
zh: 下列章节包含了在 Fedora 8 中发生了重要变化的软件包的相关信息。为了方便查找，以安装程序使用的分类进行组织。

en: Yum Changes
zh: Yum 的变化

en: The <systemitem>installonlyn</systemitem> plugin functionality has been folded into the core <package>yum</package> package. The <option>installonlypkgs</option> and <option>installonly_limit</option> options are used by default to limit the system to retain only two kernel packages. You can adjust the package set or the number of packages, or disable the option entirely to match your preferences. More details are available in the man page for <filename>yum.conf</filename>.
zh: <systemitem>installonlyn</systemitem> 插件功能被整合到核心 <package>yum</package> 软件包。<option>installonlypkgs</option> 和 <option>installonly_limit</option> 选项默认被打开，以限制系统总是只保留两个内核软件包。你可以调整软件包集合或保留的数量，或者禁用选项以适应需求。细节请查看 <filename>yum.conf</filename> 手册页。

en: The <command>yum</command> command now retries when it detects a lock. This function is useful if a daemon is checking for updates, or if you are running <command>yum</command> and one of its graphical frontends simultaneously.
zh: 命令 <command>yum</command> 探测到锁定时将重试。这个功能在有守护进程检测更新时，或者如果同时运行 <command>yum</command> 和图形前端时会用到。

en: The <command>yum</command> command now understands a cost parameter in its configuration file, which is the relative cost of accessing a software repository. It is useful for weighing one software repository's packages as greater or less than any other. The cost parameter defaults to 1000.
zh: 命令 <command>yum</command> 支持配置文件中的 cost 参数，指访问软件仓库时的相对成本。它可以用来将一个仓库的软件包的权重调整为比其他要高。默认权重是 1000。

en: Utility Packages
zh: 工具包

en: The <package>cryptsetup-luks</package> package has been renamed to <package>cryptsetup</package>.
zh: 软件包 <package>cryptsetup-luks</package> 被更名为 <package>cryptsetup</package>。

en: The <package>i810switch</package> package has been removed. This functionality is now available through the <command>xrandr</command> command in the <package>xorg-x11-server-utils</package> package.
zh: 软件包 <package>i810switch</package> 被移除。它的功能可以完全由 <package>xorg-x11-server-utils</package> 软件包中的 <command>xrandr</command> 命令实现。

en: The <package>evolution-exchange</package> package replaces <package>evolution-connector</package>, and provides a capability under the old name.
zh: 软件包 <package>evolution-exchange</package> 替换了 <package>evolution-connector</package>，提供相同的能力。

en: The <package>system-config-firewall</package> and <package>system-config-selinux</package> packages replace <package>system-config-security-level</package>. The <package>system-config-selinux</package> package is part of the <package>policycoreutils-gui</package> package.
zh: 软件包 <package>system-config-firewall</package> 和 <package>system-config-selinux</package> 替换了 <package>system-config-security-level</package>. 工具 <package>system-config-selinux</package> 是 <package>policycoreutils-gui</package> 软件包的一部分

en: Package Changes
zh: 软件包改变

note: <note> <title>This list is automatically generated</title> <para> This list is automatically generated. It is not a good choice for translation. </para> </note> <emphasis>04-Apr-2007  This content is not generated for the XML output for translation. Insert this content before building the release no
en: For a list of which packages were updated since the previous release, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages</ulink>. You can also find a comparison of major packages between all Fedora versions at <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora">http://distrowatch.com/fedora</ulink>.
zh: 关于自前一版本以来的软件包更新列表，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/PackageChanges/UpdatedPackages</ulink>。您还可以在 <ulink url="http://distrowatch.com/fedora">http://distrowatch.com/fedora</ulink> 看到所有 Fedora 每一版的主要软件包对比。

en: Release Highlights
zh: 本次发布亮点

en: Fedora Tour
zh: Fedora 之旅

en: You can find a tour filled with pictures and videos of this exciting new release at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/Fedora8"/>.
zh: 您将看到这一全新发布的大量截图和视频资料，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Tours/Fedora8"/>。

en: New in Fedora
zh: Fedora 新增内容

en: This release includes significant new versions of many key components and technologies. The following sections provide a brief overview of major changes from the last release of Fedora.
zh: 本次发布包括很多关键软件包和技术的新版本。下面的章节对自前一版本以来的主要更改做出概览。

en: Spins
zh: 发布集(Spins)

en: Fedora includes several different <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/CustomSpins"><firstterm>spins</firstterm></ulink>, which are variations of Fedora built from a specific set of software packages. Each spin has a combination of software to meet the requirements of a specific kind of end user. In addition to a very small <filename>boot.iso</filename> image for network installation, users have the following spin choices:
zh: Fedora 包括多种发布集(<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/CustomSpins"><firstterm>spins</firstterm></ulink>)，这是使用特定软件包集合产生的 Fedora 变种。每个发布集都通过软件包的组合来适应特定用户的需求。除网络安装时使用的很小的 <package>boot.iso</package> 镜像之外，用户可以在下列发布集中选择：

en: A regular Fedora image for desktops, workstations, and server users. This spin provides a good upgrade path and similar environment for users of previous releases of Fedora.
zh: 通常的 Fedora 镜像，适于桌面、工作站和服务器用户。这一发布集为过去版本 Fedora 的用户提供了良好的升级路径和熟悉的环境。

en: One of four Live images that can be run from a disc or USB flash device, and can be installed to hard disk as desired. See the "Live" section for more information about the Live images.
zh: 四种 Live 镜像之一，可以在光盘或 USB 闪存设备上运行，也可以在需要时安装到硬盘。更多信息请阅读 "Live" 章节。

en: More custom spins are available at <ulink url="http://spins.fedoraproject.org"/>. Remember that these Live images can be used on USB media via the <package>livecd-iso-to-disk</package> utility available in the <package>livecd-tools</package> package.
zh: 更多自定义发布集可以在 <ulink url="http://spins.fedoraproject.org"/> 找到。任何 Live 镜像都可以运行在 USB 存储设备上，制作时需要用到 <package>livecd-tools</package> 软件包中的 <package>livecd-iso-to-disk</package> 工具。

en: Features
zh: 特性

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.20/notes/C/">GNOME 2.20</ulink>. GNOME now includes mail notification in the <application>Evolution</application> mail client, the ability to fill in PDF forms in the <application>Evince</application> document viewer, improved file management, a revamped <application>Appearance</application> control panel applet, a revised help system, and many other enhancements.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.20/notes/C/">GNOME 2.20</ulink>。GNOME 包括了 <application>Evolution</application> 邮件客户端，可以填写 PDF 表单的 <application>Evince</application> 文档查看程序，重新设计的 <application>外观</application> 控制面板程序，改写的帮助系统，以及许多其他改进。

en: Online Desktop provides a desktop experience designed around online services. A preview of Online Desktop is provided via BigBoard, which is a optional sidebar in GNOME.
zh: 在线桌面(Online Desktop)提供了一个围绕在线服务的桌面体验。在线桌面的预览版本通过 BigBoard 实现，这是 GNOME 的一个可选的侧栏。

en: KDE 3.5.8 is available in the KDE Live image as well as the regular DVD. The KDE 4 (Beta) Development Environment is available in the repository.
zh: KDE 3.5.8 在 KDE Live 镜像及 DVD 中可用。KDE 4 测试版的开发环境包含在仓库中。

en: Xfce 4.4.1 is available as part of this release.
zh: Xfce 4.4.1 作为发布的一部分。

en: NetworkManager 0.7 provides improved wireless network management support. It includes support for multiple devices and provides the capability of system-wide configuration, among many other enhancements.
zh: NetworkManager 0.7 提供改进的无线网络管理支持。它支持多个设备，也支持系统范围的配置。

en: <ulink url="http://www.pulseaudio.org/">PulseAudio</ulink> is now installed and enabled by default. PulseAudio is an advanced sound server compatible with nearly all existing Linux sound systems. PulseAudio allows for hot-switching audio outputs, individual volume controls for each audio stream, networked audio, and more.
zh: <ulink url="http://www.pulseaudio.org/">PulseAudio</ulink> 被默认安装和启用。PulseAudio 是一个高级的声音服务器，兼容于几乎所有现存 Linux 声音系统。PulseAudio 允许即时切换音频输出，单个音频流的音量控制，网络音频流和更多。

en: CodecBuddy is now included, and promotes free, superior quality, open formats to end users trying to play multimedia content under patent encumbered or proprietary formats.
zh: CodecBuddy 被加入。当用户尝试播放有专利问题的或专有格式的媒体内容时，可以向用户推广自由的，更高级的，开放的格式。

en: Compiz Fusion, the compositing window manager that re-merges Compiz and Beryl, is installed by default. To enable Compiz Fusion in GNOME, use the <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Desktop Effects</guimenuitem></menuchoice> tool. Ongoing, long term <ulink url="http://www.x.org/wiki/Events/XDS2007/Notes">Xorg work</ulink> continues to enable <ulink url="http://hoegsberg.blogspot.com/2007/08/compiz-and-fedora.html">Compiz</ulink> by default.
zh: Compiz Fusion, 混合窗口管理器，Compiz 和 Beryl 合并的成果，被默认安装。要在 GNOME 中启用 Compiz Fusion，使用 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>桌面效果</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 工具。将来，需要长期的 <ulink url="http://www.x.org/wiki/Events/XDS2007/Notes">Xorg 改进</ulink>，使 <ulink url="http://hoegsberg.blogspot.com/2007/08/compiz-and-fedora.html">Compiz</ulink> 可以默认启用。

en: The completely free and open source Java environment called IcedTea is installed by default. IcedTea is derived from OpenJDK, includes a browser plugin based on GCJ, and is available for both x86 and x86_64 architectures. GCJ is still the default on PPC architecture.
zh: 完全自由和开源的 Java 环境 IcedTea 被默认安装。IcedTea 由 OpenJDK 派生，包含基于 GCJ 的浏览器插件，可用于 x86 和 x86_64 体系。GCJ 在 PPC 体系仍是默认环境。

en: OpenOffice.org 2.3, with many <ulink url="http://wiki.services.openoffice.org/wiki/New_Features_2.3">new features</ulink>, is available as part of Fedora 8.
zh: OpenOffice.org 2.3, 包含许多 <ulink url="http://wiki.services.openoffice.org/wiki/New_Features_2.3">新特性</ulink>，也是 Fedora 8 的一部分。

en: Bluetooth devices and tools now have better graphical and system integration.
zh: Bluetooth 设备和工具有更好的图形化和系统整合。

en: Laptop users benefit from the "quirks" feature in HAL, including better suspend/resume and multimedia keyboard support.
zh: 笔记本用户可以受益于 HAL 的 "quirks" 特性，包括挂起/恢复和多媒体键盘支持。(不同的笔记本，步骤和参数大不相同，甚至同一系列的不同型号也是如此。记住这些不同之处，根据它们得到正确的/希望的结果。)

en: There is now improved power management thanks to both a tickless kernel in <systemitem>x86</systemitem> and <systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> architectures, and a reduction in unnecessary processor wakeups via <package>powertop</package>.
zh: <systemitem>x86</systemitem> 和 <systemitem>x86_64</systemitem> 体系使用无滴答内核(tickless)，实现了更好的电源管理。通过 <package>powertop</package>，减少了无谓的处理器唤醒。

en: This release of Fedora has a new look and feel, called <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork/F8Themes/Infinity/Round3Final">Infinity</ulink>, from the Fedora Art team.
zh: 本次发布的新外观叫做 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork/F8Themes/Infinity/Round3Final">Infinity</ulink>(无极)，来自 Fedora 美工团队。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork/NodokaTheme">Nodoka</ulink>, a fresh new GNOME theme created specially for Fedora, is available in this release.
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Artwork/NodokaTheme">Nodoka</ulink>，专门为 Fedora 创造的新的 GNOME 主题，包含在本次发布中。

en: A new online browser home page, <ulink url="http://start.fedoraproject.org"/>, appears in this release.
zh: 新的在线主页，<ulink url="http://start.fedoraproject.org"/> 在本次发布时上线。

en: Eclipse 3.3 (Europa), a new release of the acclaimed development platform, is available as part of this release.
zh: Eclipse 3.3 (Europa), 交口称誉的开发平台的新版本，包含在本次发布中。

en: In this release, the performance of <command>yum</command>, <application>Pirut</application>, and <application>Pup</application> have been significantly improved.
zh: 本次发布中，<command>yum</command>, <application>Pirut</application> 和 <application>Pup</application> 的性能得到极大提高。

en: The <application>Add/Remove Programs</application> tool, <package>pirut</package>, introduces a new graphical interface for managing software repositories. Use <menuchoice><guimenu>Edit</guimenu><guimenuitem>Repositories</guimenuitem></menuchoice> to enable/disable any of the installed software repositories.
zh: <application>添加/删除软件</application> 工具，<package>pirut</package>，包含了一个新的图形化的接口，来管理软件仓库。使用 <menuchoice><guimenu>编辑</guimenu><guimenuitem>仓库</guimenuitem></menuchoice> 来启用和禁用已添加的软件仓库。

en: Live installations are faster and require a smaller root filesystem. The file system layout has also changed somewhat. System files for the Live images are now under <filename class="directory">LiveOS/</filename>, and a new <filename>README</filename> file has been provided as a short introduction to the live image.
zh: Live 安装更快，需要的根文件系统更小。文件系统布局有了一些改变，Live 镜像的系统文件目前放到 <filename class="directory">LiveOS/</filename> 目录，还有一份新的自述文件 <filename>README</filename> 来介绍 Live 镜像。

en: <ulink url="https://hosted.fedoraproject.org/projects/transifex/">Transifex</ulink> provides a web-based translation interface to allow users to contribute translation work for Fedora hosted projects as well as being able to provide translations to upstream directly to any upstream project.
zh: <ulink url="https://hosted.fedoraproject.org/projects/transifex/">Transifex</ulink> 提供了基于浏览器的翻译工具，允许用户向 Fedora 网站托管的项目提交翻译，或者直接提交到任何上游项目。

en: Integration of unique build IDs into Fedora's software building infrastructure now provides enhanced debugging capabilities and core dumps.
zh: Fedora 编译服务集成了唯一的 build ID，提供了增强的调试能力和内核转储文件。

en: Fedora now offers easier rebranding of Fedora derivatives via a <package>generic-logos</package> software package. Changes in Fedora's mirror structure also make creation of derivatives easier.
zh: 通过 <package>generic-logos</package> 软件包，Fedora 现在可以更容易地创造衍生版本。Fedora 镜像结构的变化也使创建衍生版本更容易。

en: The <systemitem>pam_console</systemitem> module usage has been removed in favor of access control via HAL, which modernizes the desktop.
zh: <systemitem>pam_console</systemitem> 模块被移除，通过 HAL 的访问控制取代了它，以使桌面更加现代化。

en: Fedora 8 features a 2.6.23 based kernel.
zh: Fedora 8 包含内核的 2.6.23 版本。

en: Road Map
zh: 路线图

en: The proposed plans for the next release of Fedora are available at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RoadMap">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RoadMap</ulink>.
zh: 有关下一版 Fedora 的发布计划，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/RoadMap"/>

en: Multimedia
zh: 多媒体

en: Fedora includes applications for assorted multimedia functions, including playback, recording, and editing. Additional packages are available through the Fedora Package Collection software repository. For additional information about multimedia in Fedora, refer to the Multimedia section of the Fedora Project website at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Multimedia"/>.
zh: Fedora 包含了各种多媒体相关的应用程序，包括播放，录制和编辑程序。附加的软件包可以在 Fedora 软件仓库找到。请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Multimedia"/> 。

en: Multimedia Players
zh: 多媒体播放器

en: The default installation of Fedora includes <application>Rhythmbox</application> and <application>Totem</application> for media playback. The Fedora repositories include many other popular programs such as the <application>XMMS</application> player and KDE's <application>amaroK</application>. Both GNOME and KDE have a selection of players that can be used with a variety of formats. Third parties may offer additional programs to handle other formats.
zh: Fedora 的默认安装包含 <application>Rhythmbox</application> 和 <application>Totem</application> 执行媒体播放。Fedora 软件仓库中包含更多其他程序，例如 <application>XMMS</application> 播放器和 KDE 的 <application>amaroK</appcation>。GNOME 和 KDE 都有一整套播放器，可以播放各种格式。第三方仓库还提供其他程序以播放其他格式。

en: Fedora also takes full advantage of the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) sound system. Many programs can play sound simultaneously, which was once difficult on Linux systems. When all multimedia software is configured to use ALSA for sound support, this limitation disappears. For more information about ALSA, visit the project website at <ulink url="http://www.alsa-project.org/">http://www.alsa-project.org/</ulink>. Users may still experience issues when multiple users log into the system. Depending upon hardware and software configurations, multiple users may not be able to use the sound hardware simultaneously.
zh: Fedora 充分使用了高级 Linux 音频体系 (ALSA) 系统。多个程序可以同时播放音频，这在 Linux 系统中一度是无法做到的。如果所有多媒体软件都配置为使用 ALSA 实现音频支持，过去的限制将不复存在。请参阅此项目的网站获取更多信息: <ulink url="http://www.alsa-project.org/">http://www.alsa-project.org/</ulink>。多用户登录时仍可能有问题。取决于硬件和软件配置，多用户也许不能同时使用声卡硬件。

en: Ogg and Xiph.Org Foundation Formats
zh: Ogg 和 Xiph.Org 基金会的文件格式

en: Fedora includes complete support for the Ogg media container format and the Vorbis audio, Theora video, Speex audio, and FLAC lossless audio formats. These freely-distributable formats are not encumbered by patent or license restrictions. They provide powerful and flexible alternatives to more popular, restricted formats. The Fedora Project encourages the use of open formats in place of restricted ones. For more information on these formats and how to use them, refer to the Xiph.Org Foundation's web site at <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/">http://www.xiph.org/</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 包含了对 Ogg 媒体容器格式的完整支持，包括 Vorbis 音频，Theora 视频，Speex 音频和 FLAC 无损音频格式。这些可以自由发布的格式不受专利或许可限制的威胁，提供了强大而灵活的替代方案。Fedora 项目鼓励使用这些开源格式，代替有限制的那些。更多信息请访问 Xiph.Org 基金会的网站: <ulink url="http://www.xiph.org/">http://www.xiph.org/</ulink>.。

en: MP3, DVD, and Other Excluded Multimedia Formats
zh: MP3, DVD 和其他被排除的多媒体格式

en: Fedora software repositories cannot include support for MP3 or DVD video playback or recording. The MP3 formats are patented, and the patent holders have not provided the necessary patent licenses. DVD video formats are patented and equipped with an encryption scheme. The patent holders have not provided the necessary patent licenses, and the code needed to decrypt CSS-encrypted discs may violate the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, a copyright law of the United States. Fedora also excludes other multimedia software due to patent, copyright, or license restrictions, including Adobe's Flash Player and Real Media's Real Player. For more on this subject, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ForbiddenItems</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库不能包含支持 MP3 或 DVD 的播放或录制的支持。MP3 格式受专利保护，而专利持有人没有提供足够许可。DVD 视频格式受专利保护，还有一套加密方案。专利所有人没有提供足够许可，并且解密 CSS 加密盘片的代码可能违反了数字千年版权法案，美国的一个版权法案。Fedora 也排除由于专利、版权或许可限制无法包含的软件，例如 Adobe 的 Flash 播放器，Real Media 的 Real 播放器。相关内容请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/ForbiddenItems"/>。

en: While other MP3 options may be available for Fedora, Fluendo now offers a free MP3 plugin for GStreamer that has the necessary patent license for end users. This plugin enables MP3 support in applications that use the GStreamer framework as a backend. Fedora does not include this plugin since we prefer to support and encourage the use of patent unrestricted open formats instead. For more information about the MP3 plugin, visit Fluendo's website at <ulink url="http://www.fluendo.com/">http://www.fluendo.com/</ulink>.
zh: 在各种 MP3 方案之外，Fluendo 为用户提供了自由的 MP3 插件及其使用许可。插件配合 GStreamer 使用，所有以 GStreamer 为后端的应用程序都将支持 MP3。Fedora 不包含此插件，我们推荐使用无专利限制的开放格式。关于插件的更多信息，请访问 Fluendo 网站 <ulink url="http://www.fluendo.com/">http://www.fluendo.com/</ulink>。

en: CD and DVD Authoring and Burning
zh: CD 和 DVD 创建和烧录

en: Fedora software repositories includes a variety of tools for easily mastering and burning CDs and DVDs. GNOME users can burn directly from the Nautilus file manager, choose the <package>gnomebaker</package> or <package>graveman</package> packages, or utilize the older <package>xcdroast</package> package from Fedora. KDE users can use the robust <package>k3b</package> package for these tasks. Console tools include <package>cdrecord</package>, <package>readcd</package>, <package>mkisofs</package>, and other popular applications.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库包含一系列工具，用于简化烧录 CD 和 DVD。GNOME 用户可以在 Nautilus 文件管理器中直接烧录，或者选择<package>gnomebaker</package> 或 <package>graveman</package> 软件包，或者 Fedora 中较旧的 <filename>xcdroast</filename> 软件包。KDE 用户可以使用稳定的 <package>k3b</package> 软件包。终端工具包括 <package>cdrecord</package>, <package>readcd</package>, <package>mkisofs</package>, 和其他流行的应用程序。

en: Screencasts
zh: 屏幕录像

en: You can use Fedora to create and play back <firstterm>screencasts</firstterm>, which are recorded desktop sessions, using open technologies. Fedora Package Collection software repository includes <package>istanbul</package>, which creates screencasts using the Theora video format. These videos can be played back using one of several players included in Fedora. This is the preferred way to submit screencasts to the Fedora Project for either developer or end-user use. For a more comprehensive how-to, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ScreenCasting">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ScreenCasting</ulink>.
zh: 您可以使用 Fedora 来创建和回放屏幕录像(<firstterm>screencast</firstterm>)，也就是桌面会话的录制，使用开放的技术。Fedora 软件仓库包含 <package>istanbul</package>，它可以创建 Theora 视频格式的屏幕录像。这些视频文件可以用 Fedora 中各种播放器来回放。这是提交开发和最终用户屏幕录像的首选方式。具体的用法请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/tools/ScreenCasting"/>。

en: Extended Support through Plugins
zh: 通过插件的扩展支持

en: Most of the media players in Fedora software repositories can use plugins to add support for additional media formats and sound output systems. Some use powerful multimedia frameworks, like the <package>gstreamer</package> package, to handle media format support and sound output. Fedora software repositories offer plugin packages for these backends and for individual applications. Third parties may provide additional plugins to add even greater capabilities.
zh: Fedora 软件仓库中的大多数媒体播放器都可以通过插件，支持其他媒体格式和声音输出方式。一些程序使用强大的后端 <filename>gstreamer</filename> 来处理媒体格式支持和声音输出。Fedora 软件仓库 包含了针对这些后端和应用程序的插件软件包，更多软件包可以在第三方仓库找到，实现更多功能。

en: Mail Servers
zh: 网络服务器

en: This section concerns electronic mail servers or mail transfer agents (MTAs).
zh: 本节是关于电邮服务器和邮件转发代理（MTAs）。

en: By default, the <application>Sendmail</application> mail transport agent (MTA) does not accept network connections from any host other than the local computer. To configure <application>Sendmail</application> as a server for other clients, edit <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.mc</filename> and change the <option>DAEMON_OPTIONS</option> line to also listen on network devices, or comment out this option entirely using the <literal>dnl</literal> comment delimiter. Then install the <package>sendmail-cf</package> package and regenerate <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.cf</filename> by running the following commands:
zh: 默认情况下， <application>Sendmail</application> 邮件传输代理 (MTA) 不接受本地计算机之外的连接。要配置 <application>Sendmail</application> 作为服务器，编辑 <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.mc</filename> 并修改 <option>DAEMON_OPTIONS</option> 侦听网络设备，或者用 <literal>dnl</literal> 注释掉这一行。然后安装 <package>sendmail-cf</package> 软件包，重新生成 <filename>/etc/mail/sendmail.cf</filename>，运行下面的命令：

en: Fedora Live Images
zh: Fedora Live 镜像

en: The Fedora release includes several live ISO images in addition to the traditional installation images. These ISO images are bootable, and you can burn them to media and use them to try out Fedora. They also include a feature that allows you to install the Live image content to your hard drive for persistence and higher performance.
zh: Fedora 的这次发行中在传统安装介质基础上包含了多种 Live 镜像。这些镜像是可启动的，你可以把它们烧录成安装介质来尝试 Fedora。它们还有一种特性，允许你将 Live 镜像的内容安装到硬盘上，这样就能实现永久安装而且有更高的性能。

en: Available Images
zh: 可以获取的镜像类型

en: There are four Live images available for Fedora 8.
zh: Fedora 8 一共有四种 Live 镜像。

en: This image includes the GNOME desktop environment, integrates all supported Fedora locales, and features a basic set of productivity applications. Only the i686 version fits on a CD. The x86_64 version has the same feature set and includes multilib packages.
zh: 这个镜像包含 GNOME 桌面环境，集成了 Fedora 支持的所有语言环境，包括最基本的办公应用程序。只有 i686 版本可以容纳在一张 CD 上。x86_64 版本拥有相同的特性集，只是包含了相应 multilib 包。

en: This image includes the KDE desktop environment, with full support for English language only. Only the i686 version fits on a CD. The x86_64 version has the same feature set and includes multilib packages.
zh: 此镜像包含 KDE 桌面系统，只支持英语。只有 i686 版本可以容纳在一张 CD 上。x86_64 版本有相同的特性集，只是包含了相应 multilib 包。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FWN/Issue102#head-53444e1645ab6dc131718253c5300e6b55e60d92">Fedora Developer Live</ulink> (i686)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FWN/Issue102#head-53444e1645ab6dc131718253c5300e6b55e60d92">Fedora 开发者 Live</ulink> (i686)

en: This Live image is designed for software developers, and features the GNOME desktop environment. The toolkit includes the Eclipse integrated development environment, API documentation, and a variety of debugging and profiling utilities.
zh: 此 Live 镜像适合软件开发者，使用 GNOME 桌面环境。工具包括了 Eclipse 集成开发环境，API 文档，以及各种调试和剖析工具。

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/FedoraElectronicLab">Fedora Electronic Lab (FEL) Live</ulink> (i686)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/FedoraElectronicLab">Fedora 电子实验室(FEL) Live</ulink> (i686)

en: This Live image is designed for engineers working on electronics, and includes a toolkit for electronic component design and simulation. The image fits on a CD.
zh: 此 Live 镜像适合电子工程师，包含电子组件设计和模拟的工具。此镜像可以纳入一张 CD。

en: Usage Information
zh: 使用信息

en: To boot from the Live image, insert it into your computer and restart. To log in and use the desktop environment, enter the username <systemitem class="username">fedora</systemitem>. Hit <keycap>Enter</keycap> at the password prompt, since there is no password on this account. The Live images do not automatically login so users can select a preferred language. After logging in, if you wish to install the contents of the live image to your hard drive, click on the <guilabel>Install to Hard Drive</guilabel> icon on the desktop.
zh: 要从 Live 镜像启动，插入 CD 并重启机器。要登录并使用桌面环境，输入用户名 <systemitem class="username">Fedora</systemitem>。提示密码时按下回车，因为此用户没有密码。这份 Live 镜像不会自动登录，从而使用户有机会选择首选语言。登录后，如果想把 live 镜像上的内容安装到硬盘上，请单击桌面图标 <guilabel>Install to Hard Drive</guilabel>。

en: No i586 Support
zh: 不支持 i586

en: The i686 Live images will not boot on an i586 machine.
zh: i686 Live 镜像不能在 i586 系统中启动。

en: Text Mode Installation
zh: 文本模式安装

en: You can do a text mode installation of the Live images using the <command>liveinst</command> command in the console.
zh: 在终端下可以用 <command>liveinst</command> 命令，以文本模式安装 Live 镜像。

en: USB Booting
zh: USB 启动

en: Another way to use these Live images is to put them on a USB stick. To do this, install the <package>livecd-tools</package> package from the development repository. Then, run the <command>livecd-iso-to-disk</command> script:
zh: 另一种使用 Live 镜像的方法是把其中的内容放进 USB 中。要这样做，首先安装开发仓库中的 <package>livecd-tools</package> 软件包，然后运行 <command>livecd-iso-to-stick</command> 脚本：

en: Replace <replaceable>/dev/sdb1</replaceable> with the partition where you want to put the image.
zh: 使用你想安装镜像的分区替代 <replaceable>/dev/sdb1</replaceable>。

en: This is <emphasis>not</emphasis> a destructive process; any data you currently have on your USB stick <emphasis>is preserved</emphasis>.
zh: 这个过程<emphasis>并不会</emphasis>毁掉USB介质中的数据，你的USB中现有的数据仍然</emphasis>保存</emphasis>在其中。

en: Differences From a Regular Fedora Install
zh: 与Fedora常规安装方式的区别

en: The following items are different from a normal Fedora install with the live images.
zh: 以下列出的是使用Live镜像安装和常规安装方式的几点区别。

en: Live images provide a subset of packages available in the regular DVD image. Both connect to the same repository that has all the packages.
zh: Live 镜像提供了 DVD 镜像中软件的子集。它们连接到同一个包含所有软件的仓库。

en: SSH is disabled by default and NetworkManager is enabled by default in the Live images. SSH is disabled because the default username in the Live images does not have any password. Installation to hard disk prompts for creating a new user name and password however. NetworkManager is enabled by default since Live images target desktop users.
zh: Live 镜像中，SSH 被默认禁用，NetworkManager 被默认开启。SSH 被禁用，因为 Live 镜像的默认用户名没有密码。不过，安装到硬盘时，会提示创建新的用户和设置密码。NetworkManager 被开启，因为 Live 镜像是面向桌面用户。

en: Live image installations do not allow any package selection or upgrade capability since they copy entire the filesystem from media to hard disk or USB disks. After the installation is complete and rebooted, packages can be added and removed as desired with <command>yum</command> or the other software management tools.
zh: Live 镜像安装时不允许选择软件包或升级，因为它只是将完整的文件系统从所在介质中复制到硬盘或 USB 存储设备上。安装完成并重启后，可以用 <command>yum</command> 命令或其他软件管理工具按照需要安装软件包。

en: Live images do not work on <systemitem>i586</systemitem> architecture.
zh: Live 镜像不能在 <systemitem>i586</systemitem> 体系工作。

en: Fedora Legacy - Community Maintenance Project
zh: Fedora Legacy - 社区维护

en: The Fedora Legacy Project was a community-supported open source project to extend the lifecycle of select "maintenance mode" Red Hat Linux and Fedora Core distributions. The current model for supporting maintenance distributions has been re-examined. Fedora Legacy was unable to extend support to older Fedora Core releases as it had planned. As of now, Fedora Core 4 and earlier distributions are no longer being maintained. Fedora Core 5 will no longer be maintained 30 days after the Fedora 7 release.
zh: Fedora Legacy 项目是社区维护的开源项目，目的是延长"维护模式"下的 Red Hat Linux 和 Fedora Core 发行版的生命周期。重新考虑了当前的发行维护模式，Fedora Legacy 项目不能像先前计划的那样支持老版本的 Fedora Core 。现在 Fedora core 4 和更老的版本已经不再被维护。Fedora Core 5也将在 Fedora 7 发行后的30天取消支持。

en: Legacy Repo was included in Fedora Core 6
zh: Fedora Core 6 中包含了 Legacy Repo 配置

en: Fedora Core 6 shipped with a software repository configuration for Fedora Legacy. This repository was not enabled by default in the Fedora Core 6 release.
zh: Fedora Core 6 包含一份 Fedora Legacy 仓库的配置文件。仓库在 Fedora Core 6 发布版本中没有默认启用。

en: Linux Kernel
zh: Linux 内核

en: This section covers changes and important information regarding the 2.6.23 based kernel in Fedora 8. The 2.6.23 kernel includes:
zh: 这一节覆盖了 Fedora 8 中 2.6.23 内核的变动及重要信息。2.6.23 内核包括:

en: Tickless support for x86 64-bit systems (32-bit was added previously), which greatly improves power management.
zh: x86 64 位系统的 Tickless 支持(32 位系统早已支持)，它能显著改进电源管理。

en: Some elements of the realtime kernel project.
zh: 实时内核项目的一些元素。

en: The kernel spec file is now named <filename>kernel.spec</filename> rather than <filename>kernel-2.6.spec</filename>.
zh: 内核 spec 文件现在叫做 <filename>kernel.spec</filename> 而不是 <filename>kernel-2.6.spec</filename>。

en: The kernel spec file has new macros that ease the kernel building process. Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/> for further information.
zh: 内核 spec 增加了新的宏，以简化内核构建过程。更多信息请阅读 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>。

en: The kernel in Fedora 8 no longer loads modules by default for ISA sound cards. Load the module by hand using the command <command>modprobe module-name</command>, or put an entry in <filename>/etc/modprobe.conf</filename>. For example, for the Creative SoundBlaster AWE64, add the following entry:
zh: Fedora 8 内核不再为 ISA 声卡加载模块。使用命令 <command>modprobe module-name</command> 手动加载模块，或者在 <filename>/etc/modprobe.conf</filename> 中加一行。例如，对于 Creative SoundBlaster AWE64 声卡，添加这样一行记录：

en: Version
zh: 版本

en: Fedora may include additional patches to the kernel for improvements, bug fixes, or additional features. For this reason, the Fedora kernel may not be line-for-line equivalent to the so-called <firstterm>vanilla kernel</firstterm> from the kernel.org web site:
zh: Fedora 可能包含了附加的补丁，来改进，修正或添加附加特性。因此，Fedora 内核与被称为纯正(<firstterm>vanilla kernel</firstterm>)的，来自 kernel.org 网站的内核不是完全相同的。

en: To obtain a list of these patches, download the source RPM package and run the following command against it:
zh: 要获得这些补丁的列表，下载源 RPM 软件包，运行下列命令:

en: Changelog
zh: 更新日志

en: To retrieve a log of changes to the package, run the following command:
zh: 软件包修订记录可以用下列命令看到:

en: If you need a user friendly version of the changelog, refer to <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges">http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges</ulink>. A short and full diff of the kernel is available from <ulink url="http://kernel.org/git">http://kernel.org/git</ulink>. The Fedora version kernel is based on the Linus tree.
zh: 如果您希望看到更友好的修订日志，请访问 <ulink url="http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges">http://wiki.kernelnewbies.org/LinuxChanges</ulink> 。<ulink url="http://kernel.org/git">http://kernel.org/git</ulink>提供了内核不同之处的摘要和完全两种版本。Fedora 基于 Linus 的内核树。

en: Customizations made for the Fedora version are available from <ulink url="http://cvs.fedoraproject.org">http://cvs.fedoraproject.org</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 版本做出的定制可以在 <ulink url="http://cvs.fedoraproject.org">http://cvs.fedoraproject.org</ulink> 找到。

en: Kernel Flavors
zh: 内核配置

en: Fedora 8 includes the following kernel builds:
zh: Fedora 8 包含了下列内核构建

en: Native kernel, for use in most systems. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-devel</package> package.
zh: 基本的内核，用于大多数系统，已配置的代码在 <package>kernel-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: The kernel-PAE, for use in 32-bit x86 systems with more than 4GB of RAM, or with CPUs that have an NX (No eXecute) feature. This kernel support both uniprocessor and multi-processor systems. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-PAE-devel</package> package.
zh: kernel-PAE，用于拥有超过 4GB RAM 的 32-bit x86 系统中，或者 CPU 带有 "NX (No eXecute)" 特性的系统中。它同时支持单/多处理器系统。已配置的代码在 <package>kernel-PAE-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: Virtualization kernel for use with the Xen emulator package. Configured sources are available in the <package>kernel-xen-devel</package> package.
zh: 虚拟机内核，用于 Xen 模拟器。已配置的源代码包含在 <package>kernel-xen-devel</package> 软件包中。

en: You may install kernel headers for all kernel flavors at the same time. The files are installed in the <filename class="directory">/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>version</replaceable>[-PAE|-xen|-kdump]-<replaceable>arch</replaceable>/</filename> tree. Use the following command:
zh: 所有内核变种的内核头文件可以同时安装。文件安装在 <filename class="directory">/usr/src/kernels/<replaceable>version</replaceable>[-PAE|-xen|-kdump]-<replaceable>arch</replaceable>/</filename>。使用命令：

en: Select one or more of these flavors, separated by commas and no spaces, as appropriate. Enter the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> password when prompted.
zh: 选择一个或多个变种，以逗号分隔，不要有空格。在提示时输入系统管理员密码。

en: x86 Kernel Includes Kdump
zh: x86 内核包含了 Kdump

en: Both the x86_64 and the i686 kernels are now relocatable, so they no longer require a separate kernel for kdump capability. PPC64 still requires a separate <package>kdump</package> kernel.
zh: 32 位内核和 x86_64 内核现在可以重定位，所以不再需要单独的 kdump 内核。PPC64 系统仍然需要单独的<package>-kdump</package>内核。

en: Default Kernel Provides SMP
zh: 默认内核提供了 SMP

en: There is no separate SMP kernel available for Fedora on i386, x86_64, and ppc64. Multiprocessor support is provided by the native kernel.
zh: Fedora 没有单独的 SMP 内核，无论是 i386, x86_64 还是 ppc64。基本内核提供了多处理器支持。

en: PowerPC Kernel Support
zh: PowerPC 内核支持

en: There is no support for Xen or kdump for the PowerPC architecture in Fedora. 32-bit PowerPC does still have a separate SMP kernel.
zh: Fedora 没有为 PowerPC 体系提供 Xen 或 Kdump 支持。32位的PPC系统仍然有单独的SMP内核。

en: Reporting Bugs
zh: 报告错误

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html">http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html</ulink> for information on reporting bugs in the Linux kernel. You may also use <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com">http://bugzilla.redhat.com</ulink> for reporting bugs that are specific to Fedora.
zh: 请参考 <ulink url="http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html">http://kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/lkml/reporting-bugs.html</ulink> 中，报告 Linux 内核错误时的注意事项。您也可以访问 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.redhat.com">http://bugzilla.redhat.com</ulink> 来报告针对 Fedora 的错误。

en: Preparing for Kernel Development
zh: 为内核开发作准备

en: Fedora 8 does not include the <package>kernel-source</package> package provided by older versions since only the <package>kernel-devel</package> package is required now to build external modules. Configured sources are available, as described <xref linkend="sn-Kernel-Flavors"/>.
zh: Fedora 8 与旧版本不同，不包含 <package>kernel-source</package> 软件包，因为要编译外部模块，只需要 <filename>kernel-devel</filename> 软件包。要得到已配置的源代码，请阅读 <xref linkend="sn-Kernel-Flavors"/>。

en: Custom Kernel Building
zh: 定制内核

en: For information on kernel development and working with custom kernels, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>.
zh: 要了解更多关于内核开发以及内核定制，请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel"/>.。

en: <application>IcedTea</application> and <package>java-gcj-compat</package>
zh: <application>IcedTea</application> 和 <package>java-gcj-compat</package>

en: This release of Fedora includes the <application>IcedTea</application> environment. <application>IcedTea</application> is a build harness for Sun's OpenJDK code that replaces encumbered parts of OpenJDK with Free Software replacements. <application>IcedTea</application> provides a more complete, compatible environment than GCJ, including support for building and running bytecode up to the 1.6 level. Users of <application>IcedTea</application> should be aware of a few caveats:
zh: 本次发布包含 <application>IcedTea</application> 环境。<application>IcedTea</application> 是利用了 Sun OpenJDK 的特别版本，将 OpenJDK 中的有害部分替换成了自由软件。<application>IcedTea</application> 提供了比 GCJ 更完整、兼容的环境，包括对编译和运行 1.6 之前的字节码的支持。<application>IcedTea</application> 用户应当注意下列警告

en: There is no <systemitem>ppc</systemitem> or <systemitem>ppc64</systemitem> support. Users of ppc and ppc64 systems should continue to use GCJ.
zh: 不支持 <systemitem>ppc</systemitem> 或 <systemitem>ppc64</systemitem> 体系。ppc 和 ppc64 系统的用户应当继续使用 GCJ。

en: There is no support for the Java sound APIs.
zh: 不支持 Java 声音 API

en: There are a few missing cryptographic algorithms.
zh: 不包含某些加密算法

en: Handling Java Applets
zh: 运行 Java 小程序

en: The Fedora <application>IcedTea</application> packages also include an adaptation of <package>gcjwebplugin</package> that runs untrusted applets safely in a web browser. The plugin is packaged as <package>java-1.7.0-icedtea-plugin</package>.
zh: Fedora <application>IcedTea</application> 软件包包括 <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 的改制品，可以在 web 浏览器中安全地运行不可信的小程序。这个插件被打包为 <package>java-1.7.0-icedtea-plugin</package>。

en: The <package>gcjwebplugin</package> adaptation has <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304021">no support for the bytecode-to-Javascript bridge</ulink>, so applets that rely on this bridge will not work.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 改制品 <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304021">尚未支持二进制到 Javascript 通信</ulink>，依赖于这个特性的小程序无法运行。

en: The <package>gcjwebplugin</package> adaptation has <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304031">no support for signed applets</ulink>. Signed applets will run in untrusted mode.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 改制品 <ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=304031">不支持签名的小程序</ulink>。签名的小程序仍在不可信模式运行。

en: The <package>gcjwebplugin</package> security policy may be overly restrictive. To enable restricted applets, run <command>firefox -g</command> in a terminal window to see what is being restricted, then grant the restricted permission in <filename>/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.7.0-icedtea-1.7.0.0/jre/lib/security/java.policy</filename>.
zh: <package>gcjwebplugin</package> 安全策略可能过于严格。要启用受限小程序，在终端下运行 <command>firefox -g</command>，查看被限制的内容，然后在 <filename>/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.7.0-icedtea-1.7.0.0/jre/lib/security/java.policy</filename> 文件中授予权限。

en: This release of Fedora includes <package>java-gcj-compat</package>. The <package>java-gcj-compat</package> collection includes a tool suite and execution environment that is capable of building and running many useful programs that are written in the Java programming language.
zh: 本次发布包含 <package>java-gcj-compat</package>。<package>java-gcj-compat</package> 包含一个工具套件和执行环境，可以构建和运行很多有用的，以 Java 编程语言写成的程序。

en: The java-gcj infrastructure has three key components: a GNU Java runtime (<package>libgcj</package>), the <application>Eclipse</application> Java compiler (<command>ecj</command>), and a set of wrappers and links (<package>java-gcj-compat</package>) that present the runtime and compiler to the user in a manner similar to other Java environments.
zh: java-gcj t包含三个组件: GNU Java 运行时环境 (<package>libgcj</package>)，<application>Eclipse</application> Java 编译器 (<command>ecj</command>)，以及一些包装和链接 (<package>java-gcj-compat</package>)，使得运行时和编译器以类似其他 Java 环境的方式来呈现。

en: The Java software packages in this Fedora release use the <package>java-gcj-compat</package> environment. These packages include <application>OpenOffice.org Base</application>, <application>Eclipse</application>, and <application>Apache Tomcat</application>. Refer to the Java FAQ at <ulink url="http://www.fedoraproject.org/wiki/JavaFAQ">http://www.fedoraproject.org/wiki/JavaFAQ</ulink> for more information on the <package>java-gcj-compat</package> free Java environment in Fedora.
zh: 包含在 Fedora 本次发布中的 Java 软件使用新的集成的 <package>java-gcj-compat</package> 环境。这些软件包包括 <application>OpenOffice.org Base</application>, <application>Eclipse</application>, 和 <application>Apache Tomcat</application>。请参考 Java FAQ <ulink url="http://www.fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/JavaFAQ"/>。

en: Include Location and Version Information in Bug Reports
zh: 在错误报告中包含位置和版本信息

en: When making a bug report, be sure to include the output from these commands:
zh: 在提交错误报告时，包含这些命令的输出:

en: Handling Java and Java-like Packages
zh: 处理 Java 和类 Java 的软件包

en: In addition to the <package>java-gcj-compat</package> free software stack, Fedora lets you install multiple Java implementations and switch between them using the <command>alternatives</command> command line tool. However, every Java system you install must be packaged using the JPackage Project packaging guidelines to take advantage of <command>alternatives</command>. Once these packages are installed properly, the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> user may switch between <command>java</command> and <command>javac</command> implementations using the <command>alternatives</command> command:
zh: 除了 <package>java-gcj-compat</package> 自由软件工具链之外，Fedora 允许您安装多种 Java 实现，并使用 <command>alternatives</command> 命令行工具自由切换。但是，您安装的各种 Java 系统必须都是根据 JPackage Project 的策略打包的，使 <command>alternatives</command> 发挥作用。当这些软件包都正确安装后，<systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 用户可以在 <command>java</command> 和 <command>javac</command> 环境间切换，运行 <command>alternatives</command> 命令:

en: A simpler way to switch Java alternatives is using the <command>sytsem-switch-java</command> tool included in Fedora.
zh: 切换 Java 实现的简单方法是使用 <command>sytsem-switch-java</command>，包含在 Fedora 中。

en: Fedora and the JPackage Java Packages
zh: Fedora 与 JPackage Java 软件包

en: Fedora includes many packages derived from the JPackage Project, which provides a Java software repository. These packages are modified in Fedora to remove proprietary software dependencies and to make use of GCJ's ahead-of-time compilation feature. Use the Fedora repositories to update these packages, or use the JPackage repository for packages not provided by Fedora. Refer to the JPackage website at <ulink url="http://jpackage.org">http://jpackage.org</ulink> for more information on the project and the software it provides.
zh: Fedora 包含很多来自 JPackage Project 的软件包，那是一个 Java 软件仓库。Fedora 中这些软件都经过修改，以避免依赖于专有软件，并利用 GCJ 的先进的编译功能。使用 Fedora 仓库来更新这些软件包，使用 JPackage 仓库更新其他 Fedora 未提供的软件包。请参考 JPackage 网站 <ulink url="http://jpackage.org">http://jpackage.org</ulink> 有关网站和它提供的软件包的信息。

en: Mixing Packages from Fedora and JPackage
zh: 混合 Fedora 和 JPackage 的软件包

en: Research package compatibility before you install software from both the Fedora and JPackage repositories on the same system. Incompatible packages may cause complex issues.
zh: 在相同系统中安装 Fedora 和 JPackage 仓库的软件包前要查明软件包相容性。不相容的软件包会造成复杂的问题。

en: Refer to the latest release notes pertaining to Eclipse at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Devel/Tools/Eclipse">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Devel/Tools/Eclipse</ulink>.
zh: 参阅最新的Eclipse 发行注记，<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Devel/Tools/Eclipse">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats/Devel/Tools/Eclipse</ulink>.

en: This release of Fedora includes <package>maven2</package>, a Java project management and project comprehension tool. Maven can be invoked by the <command>mvn</command> and <command>mvn-jpp</command> commands. The former makes Maven behave just like upstream Maven, while the latter calls <command>mvn</command> with additional properties that make off-line building easier.
zh: Fedora发行中包含了<package>maven2</package>，这是一个Java的项目管理和规划的工具。可以使用 <command>mvn</command>和<command>mvn-jpp</command>命令来调用它。前一个命令调用的Maven就像以前版本的Maven，而后一个调用则是带有附加特性的Maven，它使得离线 make 更简单。

en: The <package>maven2</package> package in Fedora is modified to work in a fully off-line mode. With no additional properties defined (the <command>mvn</command> command), <command>maven2</command> works exactly like upstream Maven. Users may define additional properties to facilitate off-line builds, or call <command>mvn-jpp</command>, a wrapper that defines the most commonly used properties for off-line building. The properties and their usage details are described in the <filename>/usr/share/doc/maven2-2.0.4/maven2-jpp-readme.html</filename> file, which comes from the <package>maven2-manual</package> package.
zh: Fedora中的<package>maven2</package>软件包经过修改，它能完全在工作在离线模式下。在没有附加特性的调用（<command>mvn</command> 命令）时，<command>maven2</command>就和以前的Maven有一样的特性。

en: Installation Notes
zh: 安装要点

en: Fedora Installation Guide
zh: 安装向导

en: To learn how to install Fedora, refer to <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/</ulink>.
zh: 学习如何安装Fedora，见 <ulink url="http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/">http://docs.fedoraproject.org/install-guide/</ulink>。

en: Installation issues not covered in these release notes
zh: 发行注记未包含的安装问题。

en: If you encounter a problem or have a question during installation that is not covered in these relese notes, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FAQ</ulink> and <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common</ulink>.
zh: 如果你在安装时遇到了发行注记中没有包含的问题，请参考：<ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/FAQ"/> 以及 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common"/>

en: <application>Anaconda</application> is the name of the Fedora installer. This section outlines issues related to <application>Anaconda</application> and installing Fedora 8.
zh: <application>Anaconda</application> 是 Fedora 安装程序的名字。这一节描述与 <application>Anaconda</application> 以及与安装 Fedora 8 有关的一般话题。

en: Downloading Large Files
zh: 下载大文件

en: If you intend to download the Fedora DVD ISO image, keep in mind that not all file downloading tools can accommodate files larger than 2 GiB in size. Tools without this limitation include <command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 and above, <command>curl</command>, and <command>ncftpget</command>. <application>BitTorrent</application> is another method for downloading large files. For information about obtaining and using the torrent file, refer to <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/">http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/</ulink>.
zh: 如果您需要下载 Fedora DVD ISO 镜像文件，记住并不是所有下载工具都支持大于 2GB 的文件。<command>wget</command> 1.9.1-16 或更高版本, <command>curl</command> 和 <command>ncftpget</command> 没有此限制，可以顺利下载大于 2GB 的文件。 <application>BitTorrent</application> 也可以用来下载大文件。要下载 torrent 种子文件请访问 <ulink url="http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/">http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/</ulink>。

en: <application>Anaconda</application> tests the integrity of installation media by default. This function works with the CD, DVD, hard drive ISO, and NFS ISO installation methods. The Fedora Project recommends that you test all installation media before starting the installation process and before reporting any installation-related bugs. Many of the bugs reported are actually due to improperly-burned CDs or DVDs.
zh: 安装程序 <application>Anaconda</application> 默认会检测安装媒介的完整性。它可以在 CD, DVD, 硬盘镜像文件和 NFS 镜像安装方式中工作。Fedora 项目建议您在安装过程开始前，在提交与安装有关的错误报告之前，检测安装介质。很多错误报告实际是由于 CD 或 DVD 烧录不正确造成的。

en: The <command>mediacheck</command> function is highly sensitive, and may report some usable discs as faulty. This result is often caused by disc writing software that does not include padding when creating discs from ISO files. To use this test, at boot time hit any key to enter the menu. Then press the <keycap>Tab</keycap> key, add the option <option>mediacheck</option> to the parameter list, and press <keycap>Enter</keycap>.
zh: <option>mediacheck</option> 功能是非常敏感的，可能将正常的光盘报告为有错。这通常是由于光盘刻录软件在从 ISO 文件刻录时，没有包含合适的 padding。要进行测试，在启动时按任意一键来进入菜单，然后按下 <keycap>Tab</keycap> 键，再添加 <option>mediacheck</option> 到参数列表，然后按回车(<keycap>Enter</keycap>)。

en: After you complete the <command>mediacheck</command> function successfully, reboot to return DMA mode to its normal state. On many systems, this results in a faster installation process from the disc. You may skip the <option>mediacheck</option> option when rebooting.
zh: 当 <command>mediacheck</command> 顺利完成后，重启使 DMA 模式恢复到正常的状态。很多系统中，这样做会让安装过程更快一些。重启时可以跳过 <option>mediacheck</option> 选项。

en: BitTorrent Automatically Verifies File Integrity
zh: BitTorrent 自动验证文件完整性

en: If you use <application>BitTorrent</application>, any files you download are automatically validated. If your file completes downloading, you do not need to check it. Once you burn your CD or DVD, however, you should still use <command>mediacheck</command> to test the integrity of the media.
zh: 如果您使用 <application>BitTorrent</application>, 您下载的文件会被自动验证。如果您的下载已完成，不必再验证它。不过，在烧录到 CD 或 DVD 后，还是应该做一下介质检测(<command>mediacheck</command)。

en: To perform memory testing before you install Fedora, press any key to enter the boot menu, then select <guimenuitem>Memory Test</guimenuitem>. This option runs the <application>Memtest86</application> stand alone memory testing software in place of <application>Anaconda</application>. <application>Memtest86</application> memory testing continues until you press the <keycap>Esc</keycap> key.
zh: 要在安装 Fedora 前进行内存测试，启动时按任意一键，选择 <guimenuitem>Memory Test</guimenuitem>。这会运行 <application>Memtest86</application> 独立内存检测工具而不是 <application>Anaconda</application>。<application>Memtest86</application> 会一直运行，直到按下了 <keycap>Esc</keycap> 键。

en: Memtest86 Availability
zh: Memtest86 可用性

en: You must boot from Installation Disc 1, the DVD, or a rescue CD in order to use this feature.
zh: 必须从第一张 CD，或者 DVD，或急救 CD-ROM 启动，才能使用这一功能。

en: Fedora 8 supports graphical FTP and HTTP installations. However, the installer image must either fit in RAM or appear on local storage, such as Installation Disc 1. Therefore, only systems with more than 192MiB of RAM, or which boot from Installation Disc 1, can use the graphical installer. Systems with 192MiB RAM or less fall back to using the text-based installer automatically. If you prefer to use the text-based installer, type <command>linux text</command> at the <prompt>boot:</prompt> prompt.
zh: Fedora 8 支持图形化的 FTP 和 HTTP 安装。但是，安装程序必须完全载入内存，或者存在于本地磁盘如安装光盘 1 上。因此，只有内存多于 192MiB 内存，或从安装光盘 1 启动的情况下，才可以使用图形安装程序。只有 192MiB 或更少内存的系统将自动进入文本安装程序。如果您首选文本安装方式，可以在 <prompt>boot:</prompt> 提示符下输入 <command>linux text</command>。

en: Changes in Anaconda
zh: Anaconda 的变化

en: Improved Live images support
zh: 增强的 Live 镜像支持

en: Ability to install from Live image running from RAM or USB stick
zh: 可以通过运行在 RAM 或 USB 移动存储器中的 Live 镜像安装系统

en: Improved IEEE-1394 (Firewire) support
zh: 增强的 IEEE-1394(火线)支持

en: Use of <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> is deprecated on i386 and x86_64 for IDE drives, and has changed to <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> except on PPC. See note about the importance of labeling devices for upgrades from FC6, and partition limitations.
zh: 在 i386 和 x86_64 体系中使用 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> 作为 IDE 设备名的作法已过时，应当使用 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> 除非是 PPC。如果从 FC6 升级，请务必注意为设备设置卷标，以及前面提到的分区限制。

en: Installation Related Issues
zh: 安装相关的问题

en: Not all IDE RAID controllers are supported. If your RAID controller is not yet supported by <package>dmraid</package>, you may combine drives into RAID arrays by configuring Linux software RAID. For supported controllers, configure the RAID functions in the computer BIOS.
zh: 并非所有 IDE RAID 控制器都得到了支持，如果您的 RAID 控制器不为 <package>dmraid</package> 软件包支持，您可以通过配置 Linux 软 RAID，将磁盘组合到 RAID 阵列中。至于直接支持的控制器，只要在计算机的 BIOS 中配置 RAID 就可以了。

en: Multiple NICs and PXE Installation
zh: 多 NIC 以及 PXE 安装

en: Some servers with multiple network interfaces may not assign eth0 to the first network interface as BIOS knows it, which can cause the installer to try using a different network interface than was used by PXE. To change this behavior, use the following in <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> config files:
zh: 一些服务器拥有多个网络接口，可能无法将 BIOS 所知的第一个网络接口设定为  eth0 ，这将导致安装程序使用与 PXE 启动时不同的网络接口。要应付这种情况，可以在 <filename>pxelinux.cfg/*</filename> 配置文件中添加下面的内容:

en: The configuration options above causes the installer to use the same network interface as BIOS and PXE use. You can also use the following option:
zh: 上面的配置选项使得安装程序使用与 BIOS 和 PXE 相同的网络接口。您也可以添加下面的内容:

en: This option causes the installer to use the first network device it finds that is linked to a network switch.
zh: 这个选项使安装程序使用连接到交换机的第一个网络设备。

en: HP ProLiant DL360 with Smart Array
zh: HP ProLiant DL360 及 Smart Array

en: If you have difficulties with this installation not detecting the Smart Array card, try entering <command>linux isa</command> on the installer prompt. This lets you manually select the card.
zh: 如果安装是遇到不能侦测到智能阵列卡的问题，试试在安装宏程序的提示符输入 <command>linux isa</command> 。这样你就能手工选择阵列卡。

en: Drivers Requiring Firmware
zh: 需要固件的驱动

en: Currently, <application>Anaconda</application> is not able to load userland firmware. This means that any devices with a driver that relies on loaded firmware will not be supported at install time. This includes all QLogic storage controllers.
zh: 当前, <application>Anaconda</application> 无法加载用户空间的固件。这意味着如果一个设备的驱动依赖于已加载的固件，安装时就无法支持。此类设备包括所有 QLogic 存储控制器。

en: Upgrade Related Issues
zh: 升级相关的问题

en: Refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades</ulink> for detailed recommended procedures for upgrading Fedora.
zh: 请访问 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DistributionUpgrades"/> 查看详细的升级步骤建议。

en: SCSI driver partition limits
zh: SCSI 驱动分区限制

en: Whereas older IDE drivers supported up to 63 partitions per device, SCSI devices are limited to 15 partitions per device. <application>Anaconda</application> uses the new <systemitem class="library">libata</systemitem> driver in the same fashion as the rest of Fedora, so it is unable to detect more than 15 partitions on an IDE disk during the installation or upgrade process.
zh: 尽管旧的 IDE 驱动支持每个设备多达 63 个分区，SCSI 设备只支持 15 个分区。<application>Anaconda</application> 使用新的 <systemitem class="library">libata</systemitem> 驱动，因此在安装或升级时无法探测到 IDE 硬盘上超过 15 个分区。

en: If you are upgrading a system with more than 15 partitions, you may need to migrate the disk to Logical Volume Management (LVM). This restriction may cause conflicts with other installed systems if they do not support LVM. Most modern Linux distributions support LVM, and drivers are available for other operating systems as well.
zh: 如果你要更新超过 15 个分区的系统，可能需要将磁盘移植到逻辑卷管理(LVM)。这个限制可能与其他已安装系统冲突，如果它们不支持 LVM 的话。较新的 Linux 发行版都支持 LVM，其他操作系统也有相应驱动。

en: Disk partitions must be labeled
zh: 磁盘分区必须有卷标

en: A change in the way that the linux kernel handles storage devices means that device names like <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> or <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> may differ from the values used in earlier releases. Anaconda solves this problem by relying on partition labels. If these labels are not present, then Anaconda presents a warning indicating that partitions need to be labelled and that the upgrade can not proceed. Systems that use Logical Volume Management (LVM) and the device mapper usually do not require relabeling.
zh: Linux 内核处理存储设备的方式如果发生变化，就意味着 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/hdX</filename> 或 <filename class="devicefile">/dev/sdX</filename> 这样的设备名可能与过去完全不同。Anaconda 使用分区卷标来应付这一问题。如果没有卷标，Anaconda 将警告分区必须有卷标，否则升级无法继续。使用逻辑卷管理 (LVM) 和 device-mapper 工具的系统无需重新标识。

en: To check disk partition labels
zh: 要设置磁盘分区卷标

en: To view partition labels, boot the existing Fedora installation, and enter the following at a terminal prompt:
zh: 要查看分区卷标，首先启动现有的 Fedora 系统，在终端中输入命令：

en: Confirm that each volume line in the list has a <option>LABEL=</option> value, as shown below:
zh: 确认列表中每个卷都有 <option>LABEL=</option> 这样的内容，如下：

en: Update the file system mount entries
zh: 更新文件系统挂载项

en: If any filesystem labels were added or modified, then the device entries in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> must be adjusted to match:
zh: 如果文件系统卷标被添加或修改，那么 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中的设备条目必须同时更新：

en: An example of a mount by label entry is:
zh: 以指定卷标方式挂载：

en: Update the <filename>grub.conf</filename> kernel root entry
zh: 更新 <filename>grub.conf</filename> 中内核的根文件系统项

en: If the label for the <filename class="partition">/</filename> (root) filesystem was modified, the kernel boot parameter in the grub configuration file must also be modified:
zh: 如果根分区 <filename class="partition">/</filename> 的卷标被修改，必须同时修改 grub 配置文件中内核的启动参数：

en: A matching example kernel grub line is:
zh: 正确的内核启动参数：

en: Test changes made to labels
zh: 测试对卷标的修改

en: If partition labels were adjusted, or the <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> file modified, then boot the existing Fedora installation to confirm that all partitions still mount normally and login is successful. When complete, reboot with the installation media to start the installer and begin the upgrade.
zh: 如果修改了分区卷标，或者修改了 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 文件，应当重启进入现有的 Fedora，保证分区正确挂载，可以成功登录。如果不可以，说明 :( 这段文档不知道是谁写的，这么烂! 全部改好之后，重启使用安装介质来开始升级过程。

en: Upgrades versus fresh installations
zh: 更新还是全新安装

en: In general, fresh installations are recommended over upgrades, particularly for systems that include software from third-party repositories. Third-party packages remaining from a previous installation may not work as expected on an upgraded Fedora system. If you decide to perform an upgrade anyway, the following information may be helpful:
zh: 一般情况下，应选择全新安装而不是升级，如果系统中有第三方仓库的软件就更应如此。如果已安装了第三方仓库的软件，升级后可能无法正常使用。一定要升级的话，请遵守下面的指示。

en: Before you upgrade, back up the system completely. In particular, preserve <filename>/etc</filename>, <filename>/home</filename>, and possibly <filename>/opt</filename> and <filename>/usr/local</filename> if customized packages are installed there. You may wish to use a multi-boot approach with a "clone" of the old installation on alternate partition(s) as a fallback. In that case, create alternate boot media, such as a GRUB boot floppy.
zh: 升级前，请备份整个系统。特别的，保留 <filename>/etc</filename> , <filename>/home</filename>, 可能还有 <filename>/opt</filename> 和 <filename>/usr/local</filename>，如果那里有定制安装的软件包的话。可以考虑使用多启动，在其他分区中复制并保留原来的系统，以备无虞。最好再准备些其他类型的启动盘，例如 GRUB 软盘。

en: System Configuration Backups
zh: 系统配置备份

en: Backups of configurations in <filename>/etc</filename> are also useful in reconstructing system settings after a fresh installation.
zh: 为 <filename>/etc</filename> 目录中的配置文件作备份，全新安装后，重建系统设置时会非常有用。

en: After you complete the upgrade, run the following command:
zh: 升级完毕，运行命令:

en: Inspect the end of the output for packages that pre-date the upgrade. Remove or upgrade those packages from third-party repositories, or otherwise deal with them as necessary. Some previously installed packages may no longer be available in any configured repository. To list all these packages, use the following command:
zh: 在输出的最后，查看升级前安装的软件包。删掉他们或者从第三方仓库升级它们，必要的话小心应付。有些软件包可能不存在于任何仓库中。要列出这样的软件包，执行命令：

en: Internationalization (i18n)
zh: 国际化(Internationalization,i18n)

en: This section includes information on language support under Fedora.
zh: 这一节包含 Fedora 中多语种支持相关的信息。

en: Localization (translation) of Fedora is coordinated by the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/L10N">Fedora Localization Project</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 的本地化(翻译)是由 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/L10N">Fedora 本地化项目</ulink>组织的。

en: Internationalization of Fedora is maintained by the <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/I18N">Fedora I18n Project</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 的国际化是由 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/I18N">Fedora I18n 项目</ulink>维护的。

en: Language Coverage
zh: 语言覆盖程度

en: Language support installation
zh: 安装语言支持

en: To install additional language support from the Languages group, use <application>Pirut</application> via <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>, or run this command:
zh: 要从语言组安装附加语种支持，通过使用<guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem>或者<application>Pirut</application>，或者运行命令:

en: In the command above, <replaceable>&lt;language&gt;</replaceable> is one of <option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>, <option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, <option>sinhala</option>, <option>tamil</option>, <option>thai</option>, or <option>telegu</option>.
zh: 在上面的命令中，<replaceable>&lt;language&gt;</replaceable> 是下列之一: <option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>,<option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, <option>sinhala</option>,<option>tamil</option>, <option>thai</option>,或 <option>telegu</option>.

en: Users upgrading from earlier releases of Fedora are strongly recommended to install <package>scim-bridge-gtk</package>, which works well with 3rd party C++ applications linked against older versions of <systemitem class="library">libstdc++</systemitem>.
zh: 从先前版本的 Fedora 升级的用户应当安装 <package>scim-bridge-gtk</package>，它能很好兼容那些使用老版本 <systemitem class="library">libstdc++</systemitem> 的第三方 C++ 程序。

en: To add SCIM support to input a particular language, install <package>scim-lang-<replaceable>LANG</replaceable></package>, where <replaceable>LANG</replaceable> is one of <option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>dhivehi</option>, <option>farsi</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>, <option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>latin</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, sinhalese<option/>, <option>tamil</option>, <option>telugu</option>, <option>thai</option>, or <option>tibetan</option>.
zh: 要添加 SCIM 支持以输入某种语言，安装 <package>scim-lang-<replaceable>LANG</replaceable></package>, 这里 <replaceable>LANG</replaceable> 是如下之一：<option>assamese</option>, <option>bengali</option>, <option>chinese</option>, <option>dhivehi</option>, <option>farsi</option>, <option>gujarati</option>, <option>hindi</option>, <option>japanese</option>, <option>kannada</option>, <option>korean</option>, <option>latin</option>, <option>malayalam</option>, <option>marathi</option>, <option>oriya</option>, <option>punjabi</option>, sinhalese<option/>, <option>tamil</option>, <option>telugu</option>, <option>thai</option>, 或 <option>tibetan</option>。

en: This release features <ulink url="https://hosted.fedoraproject.org/projects/transifex/">Transifex</ulink>, a new tool designed to facilitate contributing translations to projects hosted on remote and disparate version control systems. Core packages in this release use Transifex to receive translations from numerous contributors.
zh: 这次发布包含 <ulink url="https://hosted.fedoraproject.org/projects/transifex/">Transifex</ulink>，一个用于向托管在其他位置，使用各种不同版本控制工具的项目贡献翻译的工具。本次发布的核心软件包使用了 Transifex 来接受很多贡献者提交的翻译。

en: Through a combination of <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/">new Web tools</ulink>, community growth, and better processes, translators can now contribute directly to any upstream project through one translator-oriented Web interface. Developers of projects with no existing translation community can easily reach out to Fedora's established community for translations. In turn, translators can reach out to numerous projects related to Fedora to easily contribute translations.
zh: 通过 <ulink url="http://translate.fedoraproject.org/">网站工具</ulink>，社区成长，以及过程改进的组合，译者可以直接向任何上游项目提交，通过单一的面向译者的网站接口。没有译者的项目开发者可以容易地从 Fedora 社区得到翻译，反过来，译者可以接触更多与 Fedora 有关的项目，容易地提交作品。

en: Fonts
zh: 字体

en: In Fedora 8 fonts for all available languages are now installed by default on the desktop to give good default language coverage. Most of the fonts in generically named font packages have been moved to their own packages to reflect the upstream name and make font choices easier.
zh: 在 Fedora 8 中，桌面用户将默认安装所有语言的字体，以覆盖尽可能多的语言。泛名的字体软件包中的字体被移到各自的软件包中，以反映上游的名称，也使字体选择更容易。

en: Arabic fonts
zh: 阿拉伯语字体

en: The <package>kacst-fonts</package> and <package>paktype-fonts</package> packages have been split out of <package>fonts-arabic</package>.
zh: <package>kacst-fonts</package> 和 <package>paktype-fonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-arabic</package> 划分出来。

en: Chinese fonts
zh: 中文字体

en: the <package>cjkunifonts-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-chinese</package> into two subpackages for the Uming and Ukai faces.
zh: <package>cjkunifonts-fonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-chinese</package> 划分出来，又分为两个子软件包，针对 Uming 和 Ukai 字体。

en: The <package>taipeifonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-chinese</package>.
zh: <package>taipeifonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-chinese</package> 划分出来。

en: The <package>wqy-bitmap-fonts</package> package is now installed by default with Chinese support.
zh: 软件包 <package>wqy-bitmap-fonts</package> 在中文支持中被默认安装。

en: The <package>wqy-unibit-fonts</package> package has been added.
zh: <package>wqy-unibit-fonts</package> 软件包被添加。

en: Hebrew fonts
zh: 希伯来语字体

en: The <package>culmus-fonts</package> fonts package has been split out of <package>fonts-hebrew</package>.
zh: <package>culmus-fonts</package> 字体软件包被从 <package>fonts-hebrew</package> 划分出来。

en: Indic fonts
zh: 印地语字体

en: The <package>lohit-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-indic</package>.
zh: <package>lohit-fonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-indic</package> 划分出来。

en: Japanese fonts
zh: 日文字体

en: The <package>sazanami-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-japanese</package> into two subpackages for the Gothic and Mincho faces.
zh: 软件包 <package>sazanami-fonts</package> 被从 <package>fonts-japanese</package> 划分出来，又分为两个子软件包，针对 Gothic 和 Mincho 字体。

en: The <package>jisksp16-1990-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-japanese</package>.
zh: <package>jisksp16-1990-fonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-japanese</package> 划分出来。

en: The <package>knm_new-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-japanese</package>.
zh: <package>knm_new-fonts</package> 软件包被从 <package>fonts-japanese</package> 划分出来。

en: <package>VLGothic-fonts</package> will become the new default Japanese font starting in Fedora 9.
zh: <package>VLGothic-fonts</package> 在 Fedora 9 中将成为新的默认日文字体。

en: Korean fonts
zh: 韩文字体

en: The <package>baekmuk-ttf-fonts</package> and <package>baekmuk-bdf-fonts</package> packages have been split out of <package>fonts-korean</package>. The <package>baekmuk-ttf-fonts</package> package provides four subpackages for Batang, Dotum, Gulim and Headline typefaces.
zh: 软件包 <package>baekmuk-ttf-fonts</package> 和 <package>baekmuk-bdf-fonts</package> 被从 <package>fonts-korean</package> 划分出来。<package>baekmuk-ttf-fonts</package> 软件包又被分为四个子软件包，针对 Batang, Dotum, Gulim 和 Headline 字体。

en: Sinhala font
zh: Sinhala 字体

en: The <package>lklug-fonts</package> package has been split out of <package>fonts-sinhala</package>.
zh: <package>lklug-fonts</package> 字体软件包被从 <package>fonts-sinhala</package> 划分出来。

en: Input Methods
zh: 输入法

en: Improved <command>im-chooser</command>
zh: 改进的 <command>im-chooser</command>

en: The user interface of <command>im-chooser</command> has been improved to be simpler and easier to understand.
zh: <command>im-chooser</command> 的界面被改进，更加简单易懂。

en: Input methods only start by default on desktops running in an Asian locale. The current list is: <systemitem>as</systemitem>, <systemitem>bn</systemitem>, <systemitem>gu</systemitem>, <systemitem>hi</systemitem>, <systemitem>ja</systemitem>, <systemitem>kn</systemitem>, <systemitem>ko</systemitem>, <systemitem>ml</systemitem>, <systemitem>mr</systemitem>, <systemitem>ne</systemitem>, <systemitem>or</systemitem>, <systemitem>pa</systemitem>, <systemitem>si</systemitem>, <systemitem>ta</systemitem>, <systemitem>te</systemitem>, <systemitem>th</systemitem>, <systemitem>ur</systemitem>, <systemitem>vi</systemitem>, <systemitem>zh</systemitem>). Use <application>im-chooser</application> via <menuchoice><guimenu>System</guimenu><guisubmenu>Preferences</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>Personal</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>Input Method</guimenuitem></menuchoice> to enable or disable SCIM on your desktop. To make changes effective, you must restart the desktop session.
zh: 输入法只有在桌面是某个亚洲语言环境时才启动。当前列表为：<systemitem>as</systemitem>, <systemitem>bn</systemitem>, <systemitem>gu</systemitem>, <systemitem>hi</systemitem>, <systemitem>ja</systemitem>, <systemitem>kn</systemitem>, <systemitem>ko</systemitem>, <systemitem>ml</systemitem>, <systemitem>mr</systemitem>, <systemitem>ne</systemitem>, <systemitem>or</systemitem>, <systemitem>pa</systemitem>, <systemitem>si</systemitem>, <systemitem>ta</systemitem>, <systemitem>te</systemitem>, <systemitem>th</systemitem>, <systemitem>ur</systemitem>, <systemitem>vi</systemitem>, <systemitem>zh</systemitem>)。可以用 <application>im-chooser</application> 位于 <menuchoice><guimenu>系统</guimenu><guisubmenu>首选项</guisubmenu><guisubmenu>个人</guisubmenu><guimenuitem>输入法</guimenuitem></menuchoice>来启用或禁用桌面的 SCIM 输入法，或者选择其他输入法。要让改变生效，需要重启桌面会话。

en: SCIM hotkeys
zh: SCIM 热键

en: The following table lists the default SCIM trigger hotkeys for different languages:
zh: 以下列表是 SCIM 针对不同语言的默认切换快捷键：

en: Language
zh: 语言

en: Trigger hotkeys
zh: 触发热键

en: all
zh: 全部

en: Space
zh: 空格

en: Japanese
zh: 日文

en: <placeholder-1/> or <keycombo><placeholder-2/><placeholder-3/></keycombo>
zh: <placeholder-1/> 或 <keycombo><placeholder-2/><placeholder-3/></keycombo>

en: Korean
zh: 韩文

en: Shift
zh: 上档

en: <keycombo><placeholder-1/><placeholder-2/></keycombo> or <placeholder-3/>
zh: <keycombo><placeholder-1/><placeholder-2/></keycombo> 或 <placeholder-3/>

en: Other input methods
zh: 其他输入法

en: This release adds support for the <systemitem>nabi</systemitem> input method for Korean Hangul.
zh: 本次发布包含 <systemitem>nabi</systemitem> 输入法，用于 Korean Hangul 文字。

en: File Systems
zh: 文件系统

en: Fedora 8 provides basic support for encrypted swap partitions and non-root file systems. To use it, add entries to <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> and reference the created devices in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>.
zh: Fedora 8 对加密交换分区和除了根分区之外的分区提供基本的支持。要使用它，在 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中添加条目，并在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中引用这些设备。

en: Encrypted FS Support Unavailable During Install
zh: 在安装中不支持加密文件系统

en: Enable file system encryption after installation. <application>Anaconda</application> does not have support for creating encrypted block devices.
zh: 安装后再启用文件系统加密。Anaconda 安装程序不支持创建加密的块设备。

en: The following example shows an <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> entry for a swap partition:
zh: 范例: 交换分区在 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中的条目:

en: This command creates an encrypted block device <filename>/dev/mapper/my_swap</filename>, which can be referenced in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>. The next example shows an entry for a filesystem volume:
zh: 这样创建了一个加密的块设备 <filename>/dev/mapper/my_swap</filename>，可以在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中引用。下一个范例是针对文件系统卷的条目:

en: The <filename>/etc/volume_key</filename> file contains a plaintext encryption key. You can also specify <filename>none</filename> as the key file name, and the system instead asks for the encryption key during boot.
zh: 文件 <filename>/etc/volume_key</filename> 包含明文的密钥。或者，如果指定密钥文件名为 <filename>none</filename>，系统在启动时将询问密钥。

en: The recommended method is to use <firstterm>LUKS</firstterm> for file system volumes. If you are using LUKS you can drop the <computeroutput>cipher=</computeroutput> declaration in <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename>).
zh: 对于文件系统卷，推荐的方式是使用 <firstterm>LUKS</firstterm>。如果使用 LUKS，可以去掉 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename> 中的 <computeroutput>cipher=</computeroutput> 声明。

en: Create the encrypted volume using <command>cryptsetup luksFormat</command>.
zh: 使用 <command>cryptsetup luksFormat</command> 创建加密卷

en: Add the necessary entry to <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename>.
zh: 将必要的内容加入 <filename>/etc/crypttab</filename>。

en: Set up the volume manually using <command>cryptsetup luksOpen</command> or reboot.
zh: 手动启用卷，运行 <command>cryptsetup luksOpen</command> 或者重启动。

en: Create a filesystem on the encrypted volume.
zh: 在加密卷上创建文件系统

en: Set up an entry in <filename>/etc/fstab</filename>.
zh: 在 <filename>/etc/fstab</filename> 中添加条目。

en: Feedback
zh: 反馈

en: Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, suggestions, and bug reports to the Fedora community. By doing so, you help improve the state of Fedora, Linux, and free software worldwide.
zh: 感谢您花时间向 Fedora 社区提出评论、建议和错误报告。通过这些，您帮助了 Fedora, Linux 乃至自由软件世界的进步。

en: Providing Feedback on Fedora Software
zh: 提交关于 Fedora 软件包的反馈

en: To provide feedback on Fedora software or other system elements, please refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests</ulink>. A list of commonly reported bugs and known issues for this release is available from <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/F8Common"/>.
zh: 要提交关于 Fedora 软件包或其他部分的反馈，请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BugsAndFeatureRequests"/>。本次发布的常见问题和已知问题可以在这里看到 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/F8Common"/>。

en: Providing Feedback on Release Notes
zh: 提交关于发行注记的反馈

en: Feedback for Release Notes Only
zh: 仅指针对发行注记的反馈

en: This section concerns feedback on the release notes themselves.
zh: 本节是关于发行注记本身的反馈过程

en: If you feel these release notes could be improved in any way, you can provide your feedback directly to the beat writers. Here are several ways to do so, in order of preference:
zh: 如果您认为可以以某种方式改进发行注记，可以直接向作者提交反馈。这里列出了多条反馈的途径，按首选排序:

en: If you have a Fedora account, edit content directly at <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats</ulink>
zh: 如果您有 Fedora 帐号，直接编辑 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Beats</ulink> 内容

en: Fill out a bug request using this template: <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u">http://tinyurl.com/nej3u</ulink> - <emphasis role="strong">This link is ONLY for feedback on the release notes themselves.</emphasis> Refer to the admonition above for details.
zh: 使用模板 <ulink url="http://tinyurl.com/nej3u">http://tinyurl.com/nej3u</ulink> - <emphasis role="strong"> 添加错误报告。<emphasis role="strong">本链接只用于发行注记本身的反馈</emphasis>。

en: Email <ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink>
zh: 向<ulink url="mailto:relnotes@fedoraproject.org">relnotes@fedoraproject.org</ulink> 发送电子邮件

en: Games and Entertainment
zh: 游戏和娱乐

en: Fedora provides a selection of games that cover a variety of genres. Users can install a small package of games for GNOME (called <package>gnome-games</package>) and KDE (<package>kdegames</package>). There are also many additional games that span every major genre available in the repositories.
zh: Fedora 提供了一系列游戏，包含各种类型。Fedora 默认包含一小部分，隶属于 GNOME(<package>gnome-games</package>) 和 KDE(<package>kdegames</package>)。仓库中有更多的各种类型的游戏。

en: The Fedora Project website features a section dedicated to games that details many of the available games, including overviews and installation instructions. For more information, refer to <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Games">http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Games</ulink>.
zh: Fedora 项目网站有一个介绍游戏的专区，记录了很多已有的游戏，包括了简介和安装指导，更多信息请参考 <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/zh_CN/Games"/>。

en: For a list of other games that are available for installation, use the <application>Pirut</application> graphical utility (<guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem>), or via the command line:
zh: 要获取可以安装的游戏列表，使用 <application>Pirut</application> 图形化工具(<guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem>)，或者通过命令行：

en: For help using <command>yum</command> to install the assorted game packages, refer to the guide available at:x
zh: 要获取使用 <command>yum</command> 安装分类游戏软件包的帮助，请参考：

en: Fedora 8 includes version 0.5.6 of the Nazghul old-school role playing game engine and its companion game Haxima. This version is not compatible with saved games from previous Nazghul versions, so those with Haxima games in progress need to restart their games after updating to Fedora 8.
zh: Fedora 8 中包含了老式角色扮演游戏引擎 Nazghul 0.5.6 版以及相应的游戏 Haxima。这个版本不能兼容先前版本 Nazghul 的存档，所以在升级到 Fedora 8 后 Haxima 游戏玩家不得不从新开始游戏。

en: Development
zh: 开发工具

en: This section covers various development tools and features.
zh: 这一节覆盖了各种开发工具和特性。

en: Tools
zh: 工具

en: GCC Compiler Collection
zh: GCC 编译器集合

en: This release of Fedora has been built with GCC 4.1.2, which is included with the distribution.
zh: 这一版本的 Fedora 使用 GCC 4.1.2 构建，同时将其包含在发行版中。

en: Code Generation
zh: 代码生成

en: Starting with <package>gcc-4.1.2-25</package> and <package>glibc-2.6.90-14</package>, the <option>-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2</option> option protects not only C code, but also C++. There have been several security issues already which would have been unexploitable if this checking was in place earlier. Refer to this <ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html">announcement</ulink> for more details.
zh: 从 <package>gcc-4.1.2-25</package> 和 <package>glibc-2.6.90-14</package> 开始，<option>-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2</option> 选项不仅保护 C 代码，也保护 C++。如果这个选项早些可用，就能让几个安全问题不会发生。细节请参考<ulink url="https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-devel-announce/2007-September/msg00015.html">公告</ulink>。

en: This release of Fedora includes Fedora Eclipse, based on the <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org">Eclipse</ulink> SDK version 3.3.0. You can read the "New and Noteworthy" page for the 3.3.x series of releases can be accessed at <ulink url="http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3-2007-06251500/whatsnew/eclipse-news.html">http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3-2007-06251500/whatsnew/eclipse-news.html</ulink>. Release notes specific to 3.3.0 are available at <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/development/readme_eclipse_3.3.html">http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/development/readme_eclipse_3.3.html</ulink>.
zh: 本次发布包含 Fedora Eclipse，基于 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org">Eclipse</ulink> SDK 版本 3.3.0。3.3.x 版本的特性请查看 <ulink url="http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3-2007-06251500/whatsnew/eclipse-news.html"/>。3.3.0 版本的发行注记在 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/development/readme_eclipse_3.3.html"/>。

en: The Eclipse SDK is known variously as "the Eclipse Platform," "the Eclipse IDE," and "Eclipse." The Eclipse SDK is the foundation for the combined release of twenty-one Eclipse projects under the Callisto combined release umbrella (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/europa">http://www.eclipse.org/europa</ulink>). A few of these Europa projects are included in Fedora:
zh: Eclipse SDK，有时被称为 "Eclipse 平台", "Eclipse IDE" 或 "Eclipse"。Eclipse SDK 是以 Europa 之名组合发布的 21 个 Eclipse 项目 <ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/europa"/> 的基础。Europa 项目中的一些已经被包含在 Fedora 中：

en: CDT (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/cdt">http://www.eclipse.org/cdt</ulink>, for C/C++ development;
zh: CDT (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/cdt">http://www.eclipse.org/cdt</ulink>，用于 C/C++ 开发；

en: GEF (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/gef">http://www.eclipse.org/gef</ulink>), the Graphical Editing Framework; and
zh: GEF (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/gef">http://www.eclipse.org/gef</ulink>)，图形化编辑框架；还有

en: Mylyn (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/mylyn">http://www.eclipse.org/mylyn</ulink>), a task-focused UI for Eclipse, along with task connectors for Bugzilla and Trac.
zh: Mylyn (<ulink url="http://www.eclipse.org/mylyn">http://www.eclipse.org/mylyn</ulink>)，一个 Eclipse 的面向任务的界面，也包含到 Bugzilla 和 Trac 的任务连接器。

en: Other Eclipse projects available in Fedora include:
zh: Fedora 中其他 Eclipse 项目有：

en: Subclipse (<ulink url="http://subclipse.tigris.org/">http://subclipse.tigris.org/</ulink>), for integrating Subversion version control;
zh: Subclipse (<ulink url="http://subclipse.tigris.org/">http://subclipse.tigris.org/</ulink>)，用于集成 Subversion 版本控制；

en: PyDev (<ulink url="http://pydev.sf.net">http://pydev.sf.net</ulink>), for developing in Python; and
zh: PyDev (<ulink url="http://pydev.sf.net">http://pydev.sf.net</ulink>)，用于开发 Python；还有

en: PHPeclipse (<ulink url="http://www.phpeclipse.de/">http://www.phpeclipse.de/</ulink>), for developing in PHP.
zh: PHPeclipse (<ulink url="http://www.phpeclipse.de/">http://www.phpeclipse.de/</ulink>)，用于开发 PHP。

en: Assistance in getting more projects packaged and tested with GCJ is always welcome. Contact the interested parties through fedora-devel-java-list (<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/">http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/</ulink>) and/or #fedora-java on freenode.
zh: 欢迎参加更多的项目的软件打包以及用 GCJ 测试项目。通过 fedora-devel-java-list 邮件列表和freenode上的#fedora-java頻道联系感兴趣的项目团体(<ulink url="http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/">http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-java-list/</ulink>)

en: Fedora also includes plugins and features that are particularly useful to FLOSS hackers, ChangeLog editing with <package>eclipse-changelog</package>, and Bugzilla interaction with <package>eclipse-mylyn-bugzilla</package>. Our CDT package, <package>eclipse-cdt</package>, includes a snapshot release of work to integrate with the GNU Autotools.
zh: Fedora 中也包含了对 FLOSS 程序员有用的插件和工具: 修订日志，使用 <package>eclipse-changelog</package>；Bugzilla 交互，使用 <package>eclipse-mylyn-bugzilla</package>。我们的 CDT 软件包，<package>eclipse-cdt</package>，包含开发中的对 GNU Autotools 的支持。

en: The latest information regarding these projects can be found at the Fedora Eclipse Project page: <ulink url="http://sourceware.org/eclipse/">http://sourceware.org/eclipse/</ulink>.
zh: 这些项目的最新信息可以在 Fedora Eclipse Project 网页<ulink url="http://sourceware.org/eclipse/">http://sourceware.org/eclipse/</ulink>找到。

en: Non-packaged Plugins/Features
zh: 未打包的插件/特性

en: Fedora Eclipse allows non-<systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> users to make use of the Update Manager functionality for installing non-packaged plugins and features. Such plugins are installed in the user's home directory under the <filename class="directory">.eclipse</filename> directory. Please note, however, that these plugins do not have associated GCJ-compiled bits and may therefore run slower than expected.
zh: Fedora Eclipse 包含一个补丁，允许非 root 用户使用更新管理器(Update Manager)，安装未打包的插件和特性。这些插件将安装到用户的个人目录中，<filename class="directory">.eclipse</filename> 目录下。请注意这些插件没有相应的 GCJ 已编译代码，因此会运行得慢些。

en: Alternative Java Runtime Environments
zh: 另一种可选的 Java 运行时环境

en: The Fedora free JREs do not satisfy every user, so Fedora does allow the installation of alternative JREs. A caveat exists, however, for installing proprietary JREs on 64-bit machines.
zh: Fedora 的自由 JRE 并不能满座所有用户的需求，因此 Fedora 允许安装其他可选用的 JRE 。但是对在64位机上安装专有的 JRE 有一项限制。

en: The 64-bit JNI libraries shipped by default on x86_64 systems in Fedora do not run on 32-bit JREs. In other words, do not try to run Fedora's x86_64 Eclipse packages on Sun's 32-bit JRE. They fail in confusing ways. Either switch to a 64-bit proprietary JRE, or install the 32-bit version of the packages, if available. To install a 32-bit version, use the following command:
zh: x86_64 Fedora 系统默认安装的 64 位 JNI 库不能在 32 位 JRE 中运行，换句话说，就是不要在 Sun 的 32 位 JRE 上运行 64 位的 Eclipse 软件包，它们会莫名其妙地出错。如果要运行，或者切换到 64 位专有 JRE，或者安装 32 位的 Eclipse。要安装 32 位的版本，运行命令：

en: Likewise, the 32-bit JNI libraries shipped by default on ppc64 systems do not run with a 64-bit JRE. To install the 64-bit version, use the following command:
zh: 同样，ppc64 系统默认的 32 位 JNI 库不能在 64 位 JRE 中运行。要安装 64 位版本，执行下面的命令:

en: KDE 4 Development Platform
zh: KDE 4 开发平台

en: Fedora 8 includes KDE 4.0 (beta) development libraries. The following new packages are provided:
zh: Fedora 8 包含 KDE 4.0(测试版)开发库。下列新软件包被提供：

en: <package>kdelibs4</package>: KDE 4 libraries
zh: <package>kdelibs4</package>: KDE 4 库

en: <package>kdepimlibs</package>: KDE 4 PIM libraries
zh: <package>kdepimlibs</package>: KDE 4 PIM 库

en: <package>kdebase4</package>: KDE 4 core runtime files
zh: <package>kdebase4</package>: KDE 4 核心运行时库

en: Use these packages to develop, build and run KDE 4 applications within KDE 3 or any other desktop environment.
zh: 在 KDE 3 或任何其他桌面环境中，可以使用这些软件包来开发、构建和运行 KDE 4 应用程序。

en: The <package>kdebase4</package> package also includes a beta version of the <application>Dolphin</application> file manager as a technology preview. As this is a beta version, some issues may still be present. If you need a stable version of <application>Dolphin</application>, please install the <package>d3lphin</package> package, which is based on KDE 3 and can be safely installed alongside <package>kdebase4</package>.
zh: 软件包 <package>kdebase4</package> 也包含 <application>Dolphin</application> 文件管理器的测试版本，作为技术预览。由于是测试版，可能会有运行错误。如果你需要稳定版本的 <application>Dolphin</application>，请安装 <package>d3lphin</package> 软件包，它基于 KDE 3，可以与 <package>kdebase4</package> 同时安装。

en: These packages are designed to:
zh: 这些软件包被设计用来：

en: comply with the Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS), and
zh: 满足文件系统层次结构标准(FHS)，以及

en: be completely safe to install in parallel with KDE 3, including the <package>-devel</package> packages.
zh: 安全地与 KDE 3 并行安装，包括 <package>-devel</package> 软件包。

en: In order to achieve this, Fedora KDE SIG members made 2 changes to the <package>-devel</package> packages:
zh: 为达到这个目标，Fedora KDE SIG 成员向 <package>-devel</package> 软件包做出如下修改：

en: The library symlinks are installed to <filename class="directory">/usr/lib/kde4/devel</filename> or <filename>/usr/lib64/kde4/devel</filename>, depending on system architecture.
zh: 库符号链接被安装到 <filename class="directory">/usr/lib/kde4/devel</filename> 或 <filename>/usr/lib64/kde4/devel</filename>，取决于系统体系。

en: The <command>kconfig_compiler</command> and <command>makekdewidgets</command> tools have been renamed <command>kconfig_compiler4</command> and <command>makekdewidgets4</command>, respectively.
zh: 工具 <command>kconfig_compiler</command> 和 <command>makekdewidgets</command> 被更名为 <command>kconfig_compiler4</command> 和 <command>makekdewidgets4</command>。

en: These changes should be completely transparent to the vast majority of KDE 4 applications that use <command>cmake</command> to build, since <command>FindKDE4Internal.cmake</command> has been patched to match these changes.
zh: 这些改变对大多数使用 <command>cmake</command> 编译的 KDE 4 应用程序来说是完全不可见的，因为 <command>FindKDE4Internal.cmake</command> 已经被修改以匹配上述改变。

en: Note that <package>kdebase4</package> does not include the KDE 4 Desktop package <package>kdebase-workspace</package> and its components such as <application>Plasma</application> and <application>KWin</application> version 4. The <package>kdebase-workspace</package> package is still too incomplete and unstable for daily use and would conflict with KDE 3.
zh: 注意 <package>kdebase4</package> 不包含 KDE 4 桌面软件包 <package>kdebase-workspace</package> 及 <application>Plasma</application> 和 <application>KWin</application> 第四版等组件。<package>kdebase-workspace</package> 软件包仍然很不完整，无法作为日常应用，也与 KDE 3 冲突。

en: Fedora Desktop
zh: Fedora 桌面

en: This section details changes that affect Fedora graphical desktop users.
zh: 本节详述影响 Fedora 图形桌面用户的改变。

en: This release features <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.20/">GNOME</ulink> 2.20.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.20/">GNOME</ulink> 2.20。

en: The GNOME splash screen has been disabled upstream intentionally. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: GNOME 欢迎屏幕被上游开发者禁止了。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: The lock screen dialog theme is not connected to the selected screensaver in this release. To enable it, use <command>gconf-editor</command> or the following command:
zh: 本次发布中，锁定屏幕对话框并未连接到指定的屏幕保护程序。要启用它，使用 <command>gconf-editor</command> 或下面的命令:

en: This release features <ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-3.5.8.php">KDE</ulink> 3.5.8. In addition, the <package>kdepim</package> package has been updated to a version from the <systemitem>kdepim/enterprise</systemitem> branch, which includes many bugfixes and enhancements beyond the stock upstream <package>kdepim</package>.
zh: 本次发布包含 <ulink url="http://kde.org/announcements/announce-3.5.8.php">KDE</ulink> 3.5.8. 另外， <package>kdepim</package> 软件包被更新为 <systemitem>kdepim/enterprise</systemitem> 分支的版本，包含许多错误修复和功能增强。

en: Fedora 8 does <emphasis>not</emphasis> include the KDE 4 Desktop because the currently available prerelease versions are not ready for daily use. It does include the KDE 4 Development Platform, which can be used to develop, build, and run KDE 4 applications within KDE 3 or any other desktop environment. See the <citetitle>Development</citetitle> section for more details about what is included.
zh: Fedora 8 <emphasis>不包含</emphasis> KDE 4 桌面，因为当前版本不适合日常应用。但是，开发平台已经包含在内，因此可以在 KDE 3 或者任何其他桌面环境中开发、编译和运行 KDE 4 应用程序。已包含的内容请阅读 <citetitle>开发</citetitle> 章节。

en: Since <package>knetworkmanager</package> does not work with the version of <application>NetworkManager</application> available in this release, the KDE Live images use <command>nm-applet</command> from <package>NetworkManager-gnome</package> as a replacement. The <command>gnome-keyring-daemon</command> facility saves passwords for these encryption technologies. The <package>knetworkmanager</package> package in this release is a script that calls <command>nm-applet</command>. The <package>knetworkmanager</package> package will be updated to provide a KDE frontend when a compatible version is available.
zh: 由于 <package>knetworkmanager</package> 不能与本次发布中的 <application>NetworkManager</application> 搭配， KDE Live 镜像使用 <command>nm-applet</command>，来自 <package>NetworkManager-gnome</package> 软件包作为替代。 <command>gnome-keyring-daemon</command> 工具为各种加密技术保存密码。 <package>knetworkmanager</package> 软件包在本次发布中以脚本方式，调用 <command>nm-applet</command>。当 <package>knetworkmanager</package> 有更新之后，将恢复之前的 KDE 前端。

en: Due to the merge of <application>compiz</application> and <application>beryl</application> into <application>compiz-fusion</application>, KDE now uses <application>compiz</application>. To switch from <application>kwin</application> to <application>compiz</application>, use the helper provided in the menu under <menuchoice><guimenu>Settings</guimenu><guimenuitem> Desktop Effects</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: 由于 <application>compiz</application> 和 <application>beryl</application> 合并为 <application>compiz-fusion</application>, KDE 也要使用 <application>compiz</application>。要从 <application>kwin</application> 切换为 <application>compiz</application>, 使用桌面效果工具，位置是 <menuchoice><guimenu>设置</guimenu><guimenuitem>桌面效果</guimenuitem></menuchoice>。

en: Web Browsers
zh: Web 浏览器

en: This release of Fedora includes version 2.0 of the popular <application>Firefox</application> web browser. Refer to <ulink url="http://firefox.com/"/> for more information about Firefox.
zh: Fedora的这次发行包含了当前流行的<application>Firefox</application>网页浏览器 的 2.0版本，更多关于Firefox 请参阅<ulink url="http://firefox.com/"/>。

en: Enabling Flash Plugin
zh: 启用 Flash 插件

en: Fedora includes an experimental free and open source implementation of Flash called <package>gnash</package>. We encourage you to experiment with <package>gnash</package> before seeking out Adobe's proprietary Flash plugin software.
zh: Fedora 包含实验性的自由和开源版本的 Flash 实现，叫做 <package>gnash</package>。我们鼓励您在安装 Adobe 的专有 Flash 插件前，先尝试 <package>gnash</package>。

en: To install Adobe Flash plugin follow this procedure:
zh: 要安装 Adobe 的 Flash 插件，遵循下面的步骤：

en: Visit <ulink url="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash">Adobe's download site</ulink>.
zh: 访问 <ulink url="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash">Adobe 的下载站</ulink>。

en: Choose option 3, <guimenuitem> Yum repository</guimenuitem>.
zh: 选择第 3 项，<guimenuitem>Yum 仓库</guimenuitem>。

en: Follow onscreen prompts to install the package.
zh: 根据屏幕提示来安装软件包。

en: Launch <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem> Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice>.
zh: 运行 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除软件</guimenuitem></menuchoice>。

en: Choose the <guilabel>Search</guilabel> tab and enter <userinput>flash-plugin</userinput>.
zh: 选择 <guilabel>搜索</guilabel> 标签，输入 <userinput>flash-plugin</userinput>。

en: Select the checkbox to install the package.
zh: 选中复选框，安装软件包。

en: Close all <application>Firefox</application> windows, and then launch <application>Firefox</application> again.
zh: 关闭所有 <application>Firefox</application> 窗口，重新运行 <application>Firefox</application>。

en: Type <userinput>about:plugins</userinput> in the URL bar to ensure the plugin is loaded.
zh: 在地址栏输入 <userinput>about:plugins</userinput>，查看插件是否已被加载。

en: Users of Fedora x86_64 must install the <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package> package to enable the 32-bit Adobe Flash plugin in x86_64 <application>Firefox</application> and the <package>pulseaudio-libs.i386</package> package to enable sound from the plugin..
zh: Fedora x86_64 用户必须安装 <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package> 软件包，以在 x86_64 版本的 <application>Firefox</application> 中使用 32 位的 Adobe Flash 插件，并安装 <package>pulseaudio-libs.i386</package> 软件包，以打开插件音效。

en: Create the 32bit mozilla plugin directory using this command:
zh: 创建 32 位的 mozilla 插件目录，使用以下命令：

en: Install the <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package>, <package>nspluginwrapper.x86_64</package>, and <package>pulseaudio-libs.i386</package> packages:
zh: 安装 <package>nspluginwrapper.i386</package>, <package>nspluginwrapper.x86_64</package>, 和 <package>pulseaudio-libs.i386</package> 软件包：

en: Install <package>flash-plugin</package> as shown above.
zh: 按照上面的步骤安装 <package>flash-plugin</package>。

en: Run <command>mozilla-plugin-config</command> to register the flash plugin:
zh: 运行 <command>mozilla-plugin-config</command> 来注册 flash 插件：

en: Close all <application>Firefox</application> windows, and then relaunch <application>Firefox</application>.
zh: 关闭所有 <application>Firefox</application> 窗口，重新运行 <application>Firefox</application>。

en: Mail Clients
zh: 邮件客户端

en: The <package>mail-notification</package> package has been split. The <application>Evolution</application> plugin is now in a separate package called <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>. When you update the <package>mail-notification</package> package, the plugin is added automatically.
zh: 软件包 <package>mail-notification</package> 被拆分。<application>Evolution</application> 插件位于单独的软件包中，称为 <package>mail-notification-evolution-plugin</package>。升级 <package>mail-notification</package> 软件包时，会自动添加它。

en: This release contains <application>Thunderbird</application> version 2.0, which has numerous performance improvements, folder viewing enhancements, and enhanced mail notification support.
zh: 本次发布包含 <application>Thunderbird</application> 版本 2.0，它包括重大的性能提升，文件夹视图改进以及更好的邮件通知。

en: Liberation Fonts
zh: Liberation 字体

en: This release of Fedora includes a set of fonts called "Liberation." These fonts are metric equivalents for well-known proprietary fonts prevalent on the Internet. With these fonts, users will find better cross-platform viewing and printing support for a variety of documents. Future versions of these fonts will be fully hinted.
zh: 本次 Fedora 发布包含了一套称为 "Liberation" 的字体。它与互联网上一些常用的专有字体尺寸相当。使用这些字体，用户可以在跨平台查看/打印某些文档时获得更好的效果。将来版本的字体将包含完整的提示(full hinted)。

en: Database Servers
zh: 数据库服务器

en: Fedora now provides MySQL 5.0.45. For a list of the enhancements provided by this version, refer to <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-5-0-nutshell.html"/>.
zh: Fedora 提供了 MySQL 5.0.45。这一版各种增强的列表请参考 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-5-0-nutshell.html"/>。

en: For more information on upgrading databases from previous releases of MySQL, refer to the MySQL website at <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>.
zh: 从过去版本的 MySQL 数据库升级，请参考 <application>MySQL</application> 网站文档 <ulink url="http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/upgrade.html"/>。

en: DBD Driver
zh: DBD 驱动

en: The MySQL DBD driver has been dual-licensed and the related licensing issues have been resolved (<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=222237"/>). The resulting <package>apr-util-mysql</package> package is now included in the Fedora software repositories.
zh: MySQL DBD驱动已经有双重许可证，监听相关的问题也已经解决。(<ulink url="https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=222237"/>)。<package>apr-util-mysql</package>软件包现在包含在 Fedora 软件仓库中。

en: This release of Fedora includes PostgreSQL 8.2.4. For more information on this new version, refer to <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/whatsnew"/>.
zh: 这一版的 Fedora 包含 PostgreSQL 8.2.4。关于这个新版本的更多信息，请参考 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/whatsnew"/>。

en: Upgrading Databases
zh: 升级数据库

en: Before upgrading an existing Fedora system with a PostgreSQL database, it could be necessary to follow the procedure described at <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.2/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/>. Otherwise the data may be not accessible by the new version of PostgreSQL.
zh: 升级包含 PostgreSQL 数据库的 Fedora 前，必须按照 <ulink url="http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.2/interactive/install-upgrading.html"/> 所描述的过程。否则新版的PostgreSQL可能无法使用原有的数据。

en: Colophon
zh: 文档题署

en: As we use the term, a <emphasis>colophon</emphasis>:
zh: 我们使用 colophon (题署)这个词的含义在于:

en: recognizes contributors and provides accountability, and
zh: 承认贡献者的努力，同时提供负责制度，以及

en: explains tools and production methods.
zh: 解释工具及创建过程。

en: Contributors
zh: 贡献者

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BobJensen">Bob Jensen</ulink> (beat writer)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/BobJensen">Bob Jensen</ulink>(beat writer)

en: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NikosCharonitakis">Nikos Charonitakis</ulink> (translator - Greek)
zh: <ulink url="http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/NikosCharonitakis">Nikos Charonitakis</ulink> (translator - Greek

en: ... and many more translators. Refer to the Web-updated version of these release notes as we add translators after release:
zh: ... 以及大量的翻译人员。请参考发行注记的网络更新版本，发布后将包含译者名单。

en: Production Methods
zh: 工作方式

en: Beat writers produce the release notes directly on the Fedora Project Wiki. They collaborate with other subject matter experts during the test release phase of Fedora to explain important changes and enhancements. The editorial team ensures consistency and quality of the finished beats, and ports the Wiki material to DocBook XML in a revision control repository. At this point, the team of translators produces other language versions of the release notes, and then they become available to the general public as part of Fedora. The publication team also makes them, and subsequent errata, available via the Web.
zh: 区块作者直接在 Fedora 项目的 Wiki 中撰写发行注记。他们在 Fedora 测试过程中与其他同主题的专家合作，解释重要的变化和增强。编辑团队保证最终文档的一致性以及品质，然后将 Wiki 内容导出为 DocBook XML，存入版本控制仓库。其后，在翻译团队帮助下，生成其他版本的发行注记，将它们作为 Fedora 的一部分被公众获得。发布团队也生成它们以及后续的修正版本，供网络访问之用。

en: Backwards Compatibility
zh: 向后兼容

en: Fedora provides legacy system libraries for compatibility with older software. This software is part of the <guilabel>Legacy Software Development</guilabel> group, which is not installed by default. Users who require this functionality may select this group either during installation or after the installation process is complete. To install the package group on a Fedora system, use <menuchoice><guimenu>Applications</guimenu><guimenuitem>Add/Remove Software</guimenuitem></menuchoice> (<application>Pirut</application>) or enter the following command in a terminal window:
zh: Fedora 包含兼容旧软件包的过时系统库。这些软件属于<guilabel>Legacy Software Development</guilabel>组，默认不被安装。需要这些功能的用户可以在安装时选择这个组，或者安装后再补充。要在Fedora系统上安装一个软件组，使用 <menuchoice><guimenu>应用程序</guimenu><guimenuitem>添加/删除程序</guimenuitem></menuchoice> (<application>Pirut</application>)，或者在终端下执行下面的命令:

en: Enter the password for the <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> account when prompted.
zh: 提示时输入 <systemitem class="username">root</systemitem> 密码。

en: Compiler Compatibility
zh: 编译器兼容性

en: The <package>compat-gcc-34</package> package has been included for compatibility reasons:
zh: 软件包 <package>compat-gcc-34</package> 包含在内，以处理兼容性问题:

en: Architecture Specific Notes
zh: 体系相关内容

en: This section provides notes that are specific to the supported hardware architectures of Fedora.
zh: 本节提供 Fedora 所支持的特定硬件体系的信息。

en: RPM multiarch support on 64-bit platforms (x86_64, ppc64)
zh: 64 位平台下(x86_64, ppc64) RPM 多体系支持

en: <application>RPM</application> supports parallel installation of multiple architectures of the same package. A default package listing such as <command>rpm -qa</command> might appear to include duplicate packages, since the architecture is not displayed. Instead, use the <command>repoquery</command> command, part of the <package>yum-utils</package> package, which displays architecture by default. To install <package>yum-utils</package>, run the following command:
zh: <application>RPM</application> 支持同时安装一个软件包的多种体系。运行 <command>rpm -qa</command> 列出软件包时可能包含重复的软件包，因为体系不会被列出。不过，使用 <command>repoquery</command> 命令，这是 <package>yum-utils</package> 软件包的一部分，就可以列出体系了。要安装 <package>yum-utils</package>,，运行命令:

en: To list all packages with their architecture using <command>rpm</command>, run the following command:
zh: 要用 <code>rpm</code> 列出所有软件包以及其体系，运行命令:

en: You can add this to <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (for a system wide setting) or <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (for a per-user setting). It changes the default query to list the architecture:
zh: 您可以将它添加到 <filename>/etc/rpm/macros</filename> (系统范围的设置)或 <filename>~/.rpmmacros</filename> (用户各自的设置)。它改变默认的查询方式，以列出体系:

en: PPC Specifics for Fedora
zh: PPC 相关

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the PPC hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora 特定于 PPC 硬件平台的信息。

en: Hardware Requirements for PPC
zh: PPC 硬件需求

en: Processor and memory
zh: 处理器及内存

en: Minimum CPU: PowerPC G3 / POWER3
zh: CPU 最小值: PowerPC G3 / POWER3

en: Fedora 8 supports only the "New World" generation of Apple Power Macintosh, shipped from circa 1999 onward.
zh: Fedora 8 只支持 Apple 在 1999 左右及其后发布的 "新生代"  Power Macintosh。

en: Fedora 8 also supports IBM pSeries, IBM iSeries, IBM RS/6000, Genesi Pegasos II, and IBM Cell Broadband Engine machines.
zh: Fedora 8 也支持 IBM pSeries, IBM iSeries, IBM RS/6000, Genesi Pegasos II 和 IBM Cell Broadband Engine 机型。

en: Fedora 8 includes new hardware support for Genesi Efika, and for the Sony PlayStation 3.
zh: Fedora 8 包含了对 Genesi Efika 和Sony PlayStation 3的新硬件支持。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 233 MHz G3 or better, 128MiB RAM.
zh: 文本模式推荐值: 233MHz G3 或更佳，128MiB 内存

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz G3 or better, 256MiB RAM.
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 400MHz G3 或更佳，256MiB 内存

en: Hard disk space
zh: 硬盘空间需求

en: The disk space requirements listed below represent the disk space taken up by Fedora 8 after installation is complete. However, additional disk space is required during installation to support the installation environment. This additional disk space corresponds to the size of <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> (on Installation Disc 1) plus the size of the files in <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> on the installed system.
zh: 下列给出的是 Fedora 8 <emphasis>安装完成后</emphasis> 的硬盘需求。但是，在安装过程中，为运行安装程序，需要更多磁盘空间。更多的磁盘空间大致等于 (安装光盘 1 中的) <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> 大小加上安装完毕的系统中 <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> 的大小。

en: In practical terms, additional space requirements may range from as little as 90 MiB for a minimal installation to as much as an additional 175 MiB for an "everything" installation. The complete packages can occupy over 9 GB of disk space.
zh: 实际上，这意味着，最小安装需要 90MiB 额外空间，而完全安装需要 175MiB 额外空间。所有软件包将占据 9GB 磁盘空间。

en: Additional space is also required for any user data, and at least 5% free space should be maintained for proper system operation.
zh: 另外，记住用户数据也需要额外空间存放，为使系统正常运作，还应保留至少 5% 空闲空间。

en: 4 KiB Pages on 64-bit machines
zh: 64位机上的4 KiB 页面文件

en: After a brief experiment with 64KiB pages in Fedora Core 6, the PowerPC64 kernel has now been switched back to 4KiB pages. The installer should reformat any swap partitions automatically during an upgrade.
zh: 通过在Fedora Core 6上对64 64KiB页面的简短实验，PowerPC 64 内核已经换回到4KiB页面。升级过程中，安装程序会自动的重新格式化所有的交换分区。

en: The Apple keyboard
zh:  Apple 键盘

en: The <keycap>Option</keycap> key on Apple systems is equivalent to the <keycap>Alt</keycap> key on the PC. Where documentation and the installer refer to the <keycap>Alt</keycap> key, use the <keycap>Option</keycap> key. For some key combinations you may need to use the <keycap>Option</keycap> key in conjunction with the <keycap>Fn</keycap> key, such as <keycombo><keycap>Option</keycap><keycap>Fn</keycap><keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> to switch to virtual terminal tty3.
zh: Apple 系统中的 <keycap>Option</keycap> 键相当于 PC 中的 <keycap>Alt</keycap>键。安装过程中提到 <keycap>Alt</keycap> 键时，使用 <keycap>Option</keycap> 代替。有些组合键需要用 <keycap>Option</keycap> 键与 <keycap>Fn</keycap> 键组合出来，例如 <keycombo><keycap>Option</keycap>
    	  <keycap>Fn</keycap>
    	  <keycap>F3</keycap></keycombo> 可以切换到虚拟终端 tty3。

en: PPC installation notes
zh: PPC 安装注记

en: Fedora Installation Disc 1 is bootable on supported hardware. In addition, a bootable CD image appears in the <filename class="directory">images/</filename> directory of this disc. These images behave differently according to your system hardware:
zh: Fedora 安装盘 1 是可以在所支持的硬件平台上启动的。另外，可以在 CD 的 <filename class="directory">images/</filename> 目录找到一份可启动的 CD 镜像。硬件不同，它们的行为也不同:

en: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), current iSeries models
zh: 64-bit IBM pSeries (POWER4/POWER5), 新近的 iSeries 机型

en: After using OpenFirmware to boot the CD, the bootloader, <command>yaboot</command>, automatically boots the 64-bit installer.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 引导 CD 后，引导管理器 (<command>yaboot</command>) 自动运行 64 位的安装程序。

en: So-called "Legacy" iSeries models, which do not use OpenFirmware, require use of the boot image located in the <filename class="directory">images/iSeries</filename> directory of the installation tree.
zh: 被称为 "Legacy" 的 iSeries 不使用 OpenFirmware。应当使用安装树的 <filename class="directory">images/iSeries</filename> 目录中的引导镜像。

en: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 and others)
zh: 32-bit CHRP (IBM RS/6000 及其他)

en: After using OpenFirmware to boot the CD, select the <filename>linux32</filename> boot image at the <prompt>boot:</prompt> prompt to start the 32-bit installer. Otherwise, the 64-bit installer starts and fails.
zh: 使用 OpenFirmware 启动 CD 后，在 <prompt>boot:</prompt> 提示符下选择 <filename>linux32</filename> 镜像，引导 32 位的安装程序。否则，64 位安装程序会自动引导，而它无法运行。

en: At the time of writing, firmware with full support for ISO9660 file systems has not yet been released for the Pegasos. You can use the network boot image, however. At the OpenFirmware prompt, enter the following command:
zh: 在本文档撰写时，Pegasos 完全支持 ISO9660 文件系统的固件尚未发布。但是，可以使用网络启动盘。在 OpenFirmware 提示符下，输入命令:

en: Network booting
zh: 网络启动

en: The <command>yaboot</command> loader supports TFTP booting for IBM pSeries and Apple Macintosh. The Fedora Project encourages the use of <command>yaboot</command> over the <command>netboot</command> images.
zh: <command>yaboot</command> 支持用 TFTP 引导 IBM eServer pSeries 和 Apple Macintosh。Fedora 项目建议结合使用 <command>yaboot</command> 和 <command>netboot</command> 镜像。

en: x86 Specifics for Fedora
zh: x86 相关

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the x86 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora 特定于 x86 硬件平台的信息。

en: Hardware requirements for x86
zh: x86 硬件需求

en: In order to use specific features of Fedora 8 during or after installation, you may need to know details of other hardware components such as video and network cards.
zh: 为了在安装中或安装后使用 Fedora 8 的特定功能，您也许需要知道其它硬件组件如显卡和网卡的细节。

en: The following CPU specifications are stated in terms of Intel processors. Other processors, such as those from AMD, Cyrix, and VIA that are compatible with and equivalent to the following Intel processors, may also be used with Fedora.
zh: 下列 CPU 特性是以 Intel 处理器的方式表述的。其他处理器 (主要是来自 AMD, Cyrix 和 VIA 的那些) 如果与 Intel 处理器兼容，也可以用于 Fedora 。

en: Fedora 8 requires an Intel Pentium or better processor, and is optimized for Pentium 4 and later processors.
zh: Fedora 8 需要 Intel 奔腾或更高。它为奔腾 4 及更新的处理器优化。

en: Recommended for text-mode: 200 MHz Pentium-class or better
zh: 文本模式的推荐配置: 200 MHz 奔腾或以上

en: Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz Pentium II or better
zh: 图形模式的推荐配置: 400 MHz 奔腾 II 或以上

en: Minimum RAM for text-mode: 128MiB
zh: 文本模式最小值: 128MiB

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 192MiB
zh: 图形模式最小值: 192MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 256MiB
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 256MiB

en: The disk space requirements listed below represent the disk space taken up by Fedora 8 after the installation is complete. However, additional disk space is required during the installation to support the installation environment. This additional disk space corresponds to the size of <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> on Installation Disc 1 plus the size of the files in <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> on the installed system.
zh: 下列给出的是 Fedora 8 安装完成后的硬盘需求。但是，在安装过程中，为运行安装程序，需要更多磁盘空间。更多的磁盘空间大致等于安装光盘 1 中的 <filename>/Fedora/base/stage2.img</filename> 大小加上安装完毕的系统中 <filename class="directory">/var/lib/rpm</filename> 的大小。

en: x86_64 Specifics for Fedora
zh: x86 相关

en: This section covers specific information about Fedora and the x86_64 hardware platform.
zh: 本节包含 Fedora 特定于 x86_64 硬件平台的信息。

en: Hardware requirements for x86_64
zh: x86 硬件需求

en: Memory requirements for x86_64
zh: x86_64 内存需求

en: Minimum RAM for text-mode: 256MiB
zh: 文本模式最小值: 256MiB

en: Minimum RAM for graphical: 384MiB
zh: 图形模式最小值: 384MiB

en: Recommended RAM for graphical: 512MiB
zh: 图形模式推荐值: 512MiB

en: Hard disk space requirements for x86_64
zh: 硬盘空间需求
