Fedora Core 5 Release Summary - en to zh translation catalogue (52 entries)

en: Presenting Fedora Core 5
zh: Fedora Core 5 呈示

en: The Fedora Project is pleased to announce the release of Fedora Core 5. New desktop applications, advances in security, better localization tools, improved software installation and management facilities, and strong Java integration help to make Fedora Core 5 the most innovative Linux distribution ever.
zh: Fedora 项目引以为傲的 Fedora Core 5 宣告发布。新的桌面应用程序，增强的安全性，更好的本地化工具，改进的软件安装和维护工具，以及强大的 Java 整合，使得 Fedora Core 5 成为有史以来最具创新的 Linux 发行版。

en: For a more complete list of changes and interesting information for users, administrators, and developers, refer to the latest release notes:
zh: 更多与用户、管理员、开发者相关的变动以及信息，请参考发行注记：

en: Getting Fedora Core 5
zh: 获取 Fedora Core 5

en: Download ISO Images
zh: 下载 ISO 镜像文件

en: Users can download the ISO images of the installation DVD or CD-ROMs now from the Fedora Website.
zh: 用户可以在 Fedora 网站下载安装光盘(DVD 或 CD-ROM)的 ISO 镜像文件。

en: Online Vendors
zh: 软件发行商

en: We recognize that many people do not have sufficient bandwidth to download an entire operating system. This is one of the reasons that the Trademark Guidelines are written to allow third parties to sell physical media containing Fedora Core, as long as they comply with the guidelines.
zh: 很多人并没有足够带宽，以下载完整的操作系统。因此，在 Trademark Guidelines(商标使用条款)中，允许第三方出售包含 Fedora Core 的物理介质，只要他们遵守条款。

en: Fedora Community Free Media
zh: Fedora 社区免费光盘

en: Fedora Community Free Media, a volunteer initiative under the Fedora Ambassadors Program, aims to distribute Fedora Core media (DVDs) for free to individuals. Local Fedora Ambassadors or Contributors are invited to participate.
zh: Fedora 社区免费光盘是 Fedora 联系人计划中的志愿者活动之一。它的目标是向个人用户分发免费的 Fedora Core 光盘(DVD 等)。各地的 Fedora 联系人都被邀请参加。

en: What's New In Fedora Core 5
zh: Fedora Core 5 中的新内容

en: See Fedora Core 5 Now
zh: Fedora Core 5 是什么样子

en: Fedora Core 5 has an exciting new look and feel. The menus and user interface have been carefully crafted by the interaction designers and desktop team. Take a tour at:
zh: Fedora Core 5 的全新外观动感可人。交互设计师和桌面团队精心制作了用户界面。请参见：

en: Desktop
zh: 桌面

en: Fedora Core 5 features some great new desktop applications powered by Mono.
zh: Fedora Core 5 包含几个新的强大的桌面应用程序，它们基于 Mono 技术。

en: Tomboy is a note-taking tool; simple and handy, it has already changed the way that some Fedora users and developers work.
zh: Tomboy 是一个便笺工具，简单易用，然而它使 Fedora 用户和开发者的工作方式大为不同。

en: Thanks to F-Spot, managing digital photographs is easier than ever.
zh: F-Spot，多亏有了它，照片管理变得前所未有地简单。

en: If you are looking for something in a chat log, an email, or a web page you visited days ago, Beagle helps you find it.
zh: Beagle，如果您要查找什么，无论聊天记录、电子邮件还是很久以前浏览过的网页，Beagle 都可以帮您找到。

en: We are also pleased to introduce Accelerated Indirect GLX (AIGLX) support in Fedora Core 5. Developed in partnership with the upstream Xorg community, AIGLX provides the foundation for GLX-accelerated effects on a standard desktop. While this can mean eye-catching effects, it also provides a platform for creating a high-performance, efficient, and elegant desktop.
zh: 我们自豪地向您介绍 Fedora Core 5 中的 Accelerated Indirect GLX (AIGLX) 体系。通过与上游 Xorg 社区合作开发，AIGLX 为标准的桌面提供了 GLX 加速效果的基础。它不仅意味着更眩目的外观效果，而且为创建高性能、高效并且优雅的桌面，提供了一个平台。

en: Power management has been improved thanks to GNOME Power Manager, included in this release. The GNOME screensaver package is included, with a new Fedora screensaver to accompany it.
zh: 电源管理得到改进，因为 GNOME Power Manager 包含其中。GNOME Screensaver 也包含在内，并且有新的 Fedora 屏幕保护与之相配。

en: Integration, testing, and development was done to verify that suspend and hibernation features work with the largest number of hardware combinations that the Fedora community could get its hands on.
zh: 为确保休眠和待机功能可以在尽可能多的，Fedora 社区将涉及的硬件组合中顺利使用，进行了大量的整合、测试和开发工作。

en: We didn't forget our Apple hardware users and included support for the widely-used Broadcom 43xx wireless chipsets in the Fedora Core 5 kernel, which is based on the 2.6.16 kernel release.
zh: 我们没有忘记 Apple 硬件的用户，也在 Fedora Core 5 内核中包含了广泛使用的 Broadcom 43xx 无线芯片的支持。这份内核基于 2.6.16 代码树。

en: Fedora Core 5 also features updated versions of old favorites. The latest in the Firefox 1.5 series offers improvements in speed, stability, security, and accessibility. The latest OpenOffice.org 2.0.2 introduces OpenDocument support, a new enhanced database frontend, a mail merge wizard, and better PDF export capability. The latest versions of both GNOME 2.14 and KDE 3.5 bring a many new features and improvements to the Fedora desktop.
zh: Fedora Core 5 也包含了"老伙计们"的更新版本。Firefox 1.5 系列的最新版本带来了速度、稳定性和辅助特性的增强。OpenOffice.org 2.0.2 最新版本带来了 OpenDocument 支持，新的增强的数据库前端，邮件合并向导，以及更好的 PDF 导出能力。GNOME 2.14 和 KDE 3.5 最新版本为 Fedora 桌面带来了更多新的特性以及改进。

en: Finally, the Fedora Core 5 desktop features new advances in multimedia applications built around the free Xiph.org codecs. Fedora is proud to say that Chris Montgomery, the founder of Xiph.org and the genius behind the Ogg family of codecs, is now a member of the Fedora Core team. We hope that Fedora and Xiph.org form a strong and lasting partnership to further the development of free media formats.
zh: 最后，Fedora Core 5 桌面包含了以 Xiph.org codecs 为中心构建的，多媒体软件的新成就。Fedora 自豪地宣布，Xiph.org 的创始人 Chris Montgomery，同时也是 Ogg 家族的 codecs 背后的天才作者，现在是 Fedora Core 团队的一部分。我们希望，Fedora 与 Xiph.org 保持密切而长久的合作，推动自由媒体格式的发展。

en: Software Installation and Management
zh: 软件安装和维护

en: Anaconda, the Fedora Core installer, has been completely rewritten to present a more streamlined interface that matches the new look and feel of Fedora Core 5.
zh: Fedora Core 安装程序 Anaconda 被彻底重写，有更合理的外观，并且与 Fedora Core 5 的新主题匹配。

en: Fedora Core 5 also brings major advancements in software management with the introduction of Pirut, a graphical interface to replace system-config-packages. Pirut helps manage the large number of software packages available in Fedora Core and Extras repositories. The software package updater, Pup, helps users keep pace with Fedora's rapid improvements.
zh: Fedora Core 5 引入了 Pirut，一个图形界面程序，替换了 system-config-packages，改进了软件维护方式。Pirut 用来维护可以从 Fedora Core 和 Extras 仓库安装的大量软件包。Pup，软件包更新程序，帮助用户与 Fedora 的快速改进同步。

en: For the first time, all of Fedora Core's tools for software installation and management share the same strong foundation: the package management utility Yum. This tight integration will lead to dramatic improvements in software management in future Fedora releases.
zh: Fedora 中所有与软件安装和维护相关的工具首次拥有了相同的强大后端：软件包管理工具 Yum。这次紧密的整合将为软件包维护工作带来巨大的进步。

en: Xen Virtualization
zh: Xen 虚拟化

en: Xen, the leading open source virtualization project, is included in Fedora Core 5. Our version of Xen is based on the latest Xen 3.0 development branch, with support for both 32-bit and 64-bit x86 hardware. Also included is the Xen guest install script from Fedora developers, which allows users to set up virtual machines.
zh: Xen，领先的开源的虚拟化项目，也包含在 Fedora Core 5 中。我们的 Xen 版本是基于最新的 Xen 3.0 开发分支，支持 32 位和 64 位硬件。同时，还包含了 Fedora 开发者编写的 Xen 客户机安装脚本，使用户简单地建立虚拟机。

en: Xen's advances in Fedora Core 5 represent a critical next step in the future of virtualization on Linux. Fedora has expanded our virtualization team with Chris Wright, one of the maintainers of the stable branch of 2.6 kernel releases, and Juan Quintela, as virtualization wizards. They are part of a large Red Hat team, headed by Brian Stein, responsible for making virtualization ubiquitous and seamless in Fedora.
zh: Fedora Core 5 中 Xen 的进步代表了 Linux 中虚拟化发展的关键一步。Fedora 的虚拟化团队吸纳了 Chris Wright，2.6 内核稳定分支的管理者之一，以及 Juan Quintela，作为虚拟化的顾问。他们是 Red Hat 团队的一部分，由 Brian Stein 领导，责任是使虚拟化在 Fedora 中无缝集成，无处不在。

en: Security
zh: 安全

en: You can always expect interesting and exciting advancements in security from Fedora Core, and this release does not disappoint. Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) is now using the reference policy, which makes it easier to create and maintain modular security policies. The introduction of a stack protector to GCC 4.1 makes it harder than ever for hackers to exploit buffer overflows, one of the most common security vulnerabilities.
zh: 您总可以在 Fedora Core 的安全特性中看到有趣而激动人心的进步，这次发布也不例外。Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) 现在使用引用策略，创建和维护模块化的安全策略更加简单。GCC 4.1 引入的栈保护程序使得破坏者更难找到缓冲区溢出的机会。

en: Fedora has switched to using the reference policy for the SELinux security framework. This supports binary modules, allowing SELinux policies to move into individual packages. Developers can use this to ship site-specific policy customizations. Fedora Core also supports the Multi Category Security (MCS) SELinux policy by default, in addition to Type Enforcement (TE), Muti Level Security (MLS), and Role Base Access Control (RBAC) security policies. These gains in security continue to make Fedora Core one of the most secure general-use operating systems in the world. Find more facts at:
zh: Fedora 转而使用 SELinux 安全框架的引用策略，它支持二进制模块，允许将 SELinux 策略移动到各个软件包中。开发者可以利用它，定制特定场合的策略。Fedora Core 也支持 Multi Category Security (MCS) SELinux，默认启用，作为 Type Enforcement (TE) 的补充，Muti Level Security (MLS), 以及 Role Base Access Control (RBAC) 安全策略。这些安全方面的进步使 Fedora Core 继续成为最安全的通用操作系统之一。请参见：

en: Linux Unified Key Support (LUKS) provides hard disk encryption support in Fedora Core 5; David Zeuthen of Red Hat, the HAL developer and maintainer, worked on the LUKS integration with HAL and GNOME, finishing just in time for the new Fedora Core release. Hard disk encryption provides one of the best physical security solutions -- protection of your data if your hard disk falls into the wrong hands.
zh: Linux Unified Key Support (LUKS) 为 Fedora Core 5 提供了硬盘加密支持。Red Hat 的 David Zeuthen，HAL 开发者和维护者，致力于将 LUKS 与 HAL 和 GNOME 集成，在 Fedora Core 发布前及时完成了。硬盘加密提供了最好的物理安全解决方案之一 -- 即使硬盘落入他人之手，仍然可以保护您的数据。

en: Internationalization and Localization
zh: 国际化和本地化

en: Fedora contributors speak many different languages besides C, C++, Python, Java, and so on. We are also humans who speak the world's languages, and we want Fedora to support as many as possible.
zh: Fedora 贡献者在 C, C++, Python, Java 等等之外，还会说更多不同的语言。作为人类，我们讲世界上几乎所有语言，我们希望 Fedora 可以支持得尽可能多。

en: In Fedora Core 5, we have come closer to that goal by adopting SCIM, in place of IIIMF, as the input method of choice for internationalization. This and other advances allow Fedora to communicate with its many users better than ever before.
zh: 在 Fedora Core 5 中，我们通过 SCIM，向这个目标靠的更近了。SCIM 替换了 IIIMF，成为了国际化的输入法选择。还有其他进展，共同使得 Fedora 与用户们可以更好地交流。

en: This release of Fedora Core represents another big step down the free Java path.
zh: 这一版的 Fedora Core 在自由 Java 之路上迈出了一大步。

en: Through the introduction of the completely free software stack java-gcj-compat that runs native and bytecode Java, Fedora can now compile and run software written in Java without relying upon proprietary and closed Java machine implementations.
zh: 通过引入完全自由的软件栈 java-gcj-compat，它可以运行本地的和字节码的 Java 程序，Fedora 现在可以编译并运行 Java 程序，不再依赖专有和闭源的 Java 虚拟机实现了。

en: The excellent Fedora Java development team of Red Hat and community hackers have built many popular Java-based or Java-using packages utilizing java-gcj-compat for this release. These packages, which include OpenOffice.org, Eclipse, Apache Tomcat, and Jakarta, are now compiled and run on a 100% free and open software stack.
zh: Red Hat 以及社区黑客组成的，杰出的 Fedora Java 开发团队，为本次发布准备了大量流行的基于 Java 或使用 Java 的软件包，利用了 java-gcj-compat。这些软件包括 OpenOffice.org, Eclipse, Apache Tomcat 以及 Jakarta，都以 100% 的自由和开源软件来编译和运行。

en: We included a complete set of packages and development goodies in Fedora Core 5 for Java technologies. Fedora Extras also has many Java applications: the popular BitTorrent utility Azureus, RSSowl, and others, all powered by gcj-java-compat.
zh: 在 Fedora Core 5 中为 Java 技术包含了完整的软件包和开发工具。Fedora Extras 也包含许多 Java 程序：流行的 BitTorrent 工具 Azureus, RSSowl 以及其他，都利用了 gcj-java-compat。

en: Under the Hood
zh: 底层变动

en: The software repositories for the Fedora Legacy community maintenance project are available in this release. Disabled by default, these repositories can easily be re-enabled so that users can keep up with community patches after Fedora Core 5 leaves its official maintenance window.
zh: Fedora Legacy 社区维护项目的软件仓库包含在本次发布中。它们默认禁用，当 Fedora Core 5 退出正式维护的时间段之后，可以启用它们，用户就可以继续得到安全更新了。

en: Fedora Core 5 includes the latest releases of Apache HTTP Web Server 2.2, MySQL 5.0, and PostgreSQL 8.1 with various enhancements.
zh: Fedora Core 5 包含最新版本的 Apache HTTP Web Server 2.2, MySQL 5.0, 和 PostgreSQL 8.1，包含多种增强。

en: X.Org has been completely modularized and Fedora Core includes the latest X.Org X11R7.0 in this release. The new modular architecture of R7.0 enables easier driver upgrades and simplifies development, opening the way for rapid improvement in Linux graphics.
zh: X.Org 被彻底模块化，Fedora Core 本次发布中包含最新的 X.Org X11R7.0。R7.0 的新的模块化结构简化了驱动更新和开发，使 Linux 图形界面走上快速开发的道路。

en: Gstreamer, the free desktop multimedia framework, has seen major improvements with the 0.10 release, and we made sure that applications such as Totem take full advantage of it.
zh: Gstreamer，自由桌面的多媒体框架，在 0.10 发布中得到巨大进步，而 Totem 等应用程序利用了它的新进展。

en: We have the latest version of the GNU Compiler Collection, GCC 4.1, which provides security and performance improvements. We used GCC 4.1 to compile over 6,000 packages in the Fedora Core and Fedora Extras software repositories. GCJ, a critical part of our free Java environment, is included. There is also an implementation of the OpenMP parallel programming standard (<ulink url="http://www.openmp.org/"/>) for C, C++ and Fortran. Use the compiler switch -fopenmp to enable it.
zh: 我们包含了最新版本的 GNU Compiler Collection, GCC 4.1，它带来了安全和性能的增强。我们使用 GCC 4.1 编译了 Fedora Core 和 Fedora Extras 软件仓库中超过 6,000 个软件包。GCJ，自由 Java 环境的重要组成部分，也包含其中。最后，C, C++ 和 Fortran 的 OpenMP 并行程序设计标准(<ulink url="http://www.openmp.org/"/>)的实现也包含其中。使用编译器选项 -fopenmp 来启用它。

en: Other improvements are listed at:
zh: 其他改进请参见：

en: Fedora Core 5 also offers technology previews for SystemTap and Frysk, cutting edge execution analysis tools that allow developers to troubleshoot performance issues to a degree never before possible.
zh: Fedora Core 5 也包含 SystemTap 和 Frysk 的预览版本，先进的执行分析工具，帮助开发者分析性能问题，可以达到过去不可能做到的程度。

en: The Future of Fedora
zh: Fedora 的将来

en: Fedora contributors are already working toward the next release of Fedora Core, which features advancements in Xen, and new integration work from the Fedora Rendering and One Laptop Per Child (a.k.a. $100 laptop) projects. Stateless Linux work is also progressing steadily. We are working on the ability to support Fedora Extras and other custom software repositories during installation. As usual, work continues on new releases of the best and most robust free and open source software. See our roadmap at:
zh: Fedora 贡献者已在为 Fedora Core 的下次发布而努力。它将包含 Xen 的新进展，与 Fedora Rendering 项目以及 One Laptop Per Child(即 100 美元笔记本)项目的成果整合。Stateless Linux 也在稳步前进。我们计划实现在安装中支持 Fedora Extras 以及其他第三方软件仓库。最后，是新版本的，最好的，最稳定的，自由和开源软件。请参见路线图：
